Phil Earle - Elsie and the Magic Biscuit Tin - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £4.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444013603
    • Publication date:11 Feb 2016
Books in this series

Elsie and the Magic Biscuit Tin

By Phil Earle
Illustrated by Jamie Littler

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Brand new red Early Reader about magic and biscuits from CARNEGIE MEDAL shortlisted author Phil Earle, illustrated by Jamie Littler.

Early Readers are stepping stones from picture books to reading books. A blue Early Reader is perfect for sharing and reaading together. A red Early Reader is the next step on your reading journey.

Elsie's always known that there's something a little bit magical about her Grandma's biscuit tin, and when she discovers that it can grant wishes, there's only one thing she wants - chocolate! But Elsie's wish to turn everything she touches into chocolate (even Grandma!) soon causes chaos.

Can she get the magic biscuit tin to grant her one last wish to help change everything back?

The second Early Reader story from a talented and unique voice in children's fiction. Phil Earle is a CARNEGIE MEDAL shortisted author whose hard-hitting YA novels have been widely acclaimed. His first Early Reader, ALBERT AND THE GARDEN OF DOOM, and his first middle-grade title, DEMOLITION DAD, were released in 2015.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444013610
  • Publication date: 11 Feb 2016
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Orion Children's Books

Scaredy Cat, Scaredy Cat

Phil Earle
Authors:
Phil Earle

From the author of DEMOLITION DAD, the CBBC Book of the Month June 2017, comes the fourth and final hilarious Storey Street by Phil Earle, illustrated by Waterstones Children's Book Prize-shortlisted artist, Sara Ogilvie. Perfect for fans of Roald Dahl, Liz Pichon and David Walliams.Kay Catt has a nickname - Scaredy Catt. And with good reason. You've never met a more timid, anxious girl in your life. And when you meet her dad, you'll start to understand why. But when a mysterious old man is spotted on Storey Street, it heralds the start of a great adventure for Kay. Because Wilf Wilkinson isn't your average, cardigan-wearing, sherbet lemon-sucking old codger. Oh no. Wilf wears a cloak, and a strange pointy hat, and his walking stick looks suspiciously like an over-sized wand.Wilf couldn't be a wizard ... could he?

Orion Children's Books

Grandad's Medal

Phil Earle, Sarah Horne
Contributors:
Phil Earle, Sarah Horne

Early Readers are stepping stones from picture books to reading books. A blue Early Reader is perfect for sharing and reaading together. A red Early Reader is the next step on your reading journey.Marvin loves going on his adventures with his grandad - escaping from hairy yetis, taking daytrips to Mars, and hunting ferocious tigers - all without leaving the house. Marvin thinks his grandad is the bravest person he's ever met; he even has a medal from the war to prove it. And, more than anything else, Marvin wants to be brave too.But when Grandad must go on his final adventure alone, Marvin finds he has to be braver than he's ever been before. Until he discovers that Grandad has left behind a very special surprise just for him . . . A touching and poignant Early Reader story, perfect for children coming to terms with grief for the first time.

Orion Children's Books

Demolition Dad

Phil Earle, Sara Ogilvie
Contributors:
Phil Earle, Sara Ogilvie

Carnegie Medal shortlisted author Phil Earle's first novel for younger readers, Demolition Dad is Danny the Champion of the World in Spandex - a hilarious, warm-hearted story about family, friends and wrestling, illustrated by Waterstones Children's Book Prize shortlisted artist, Sara Ogilvie, and perfect for fans of David Walliams.This is the story of Jake Biggs and his dad, George. George spends all week knocking down buildings ... and all weekend knocking down wrestlers. He's the Demolition Man, and Jake couldn't be prouder. But when Jake hears about a pro-wrestling competition in the USA, and persuades his beloved dad to apply, things don't quite turn out the way he expected...(P) Orion Children's Books 2017

Orion Children's Books

The War Next Door

Phil Earle, Sara Ogilvie
Contributors:
Phil Earle, Sara Ogilvie

Orion Children's Books

Superhero Street

Phil Earle, Sara Ogilvie
Contributors:
Phil Earle, Sara Ogilvie
Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry's Cannibal Curse

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross

The final collection of four brand new utterly horrid stories; Horrid Henry's Bake-Off sees Henry and Margaret go head-to-head in a hotly contested baking competition, Henry triumphantly reveals his top tips in Horrid Henry's Extra Horrid Guide to Perfect Parents, he reads an interesting book about Evil Evie, a really naughty girl not too dissimilar to himself in Horrid Henry's Bad Book, and conjures up an ancient cannibal's curse to deal with his enemies and small, annoying brother in Horrid Henry's Cannibal Curse.Horrid Henry is illustrated by Tony Ross, who also illustrates David Walliams' children's books, as well as his own picture books.

Orchard Books

Petal Parade

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks
Orion Children's Books

Albert and the Garden of Doom

Phil Earle, Jamie Littler
Contributors:
Phil Earle, Jamie Littler

Early Readers are stepping stones from picture books to reading books. A blue Early Reader is perfect for sharing and reading together. A red Early Reader is the next step on your reading journey.Albert LOVES football. But he HATES the Garden of Doom next door. He's always kicking his footballs into it, and he can't go and get them back - Mr Creaky lives next door, and Albert is terrified of him. But when he kicks his friend Errol's ball into the Garden of Doom, Albert knows that he has to be brave. Could there be more to Mr Creaky than meets the eye? Could he be a jewel thief? A wizard? A secret agent?Albert doesn't know... but he's about to find out!The first Early Reader story from a talented and unique voice in children's fiction. Phil Earle is a CARNEGIE MEDAL shortlisted author whose hard-hitting YA novels have been widely acclaimed.

Orion Children's Books

Anthony Ant Saves the Day

Lauren St John, Tamara Anegon
Contributors:
Lauren St John, Tamara Anegon
Hodder Children's Books

Deep Blue

Jennifer Donnelly
Authors:
Jennifer Donnelly

When Serafina, a mermaid of the Mediterranean Sea, awakens on the morning of her betrothal, her biggest worry should be about reuniting with handsome Prince Mahdi, her childhood crush. Instead she finds herself haunted by strange dreams foretelling the return of an ancient evil, and dealing with the deaths of her parents as assassins storm the betrothal ceremony, plunging the city into chaos. Led only by her shadowy dreams and pursued by the invading army, Serafina and her best friend Neela embark on a quest to avenge her parents' death and prevent a war between the mer nations. In the process they discover a plot that threatens their - and our - world's very existence.

Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry's Krazy Ketchup

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Orchard Books

Glitter Bird

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks
Orion Children's Books

Shumba's Big Adventure

Lauren St John, Lorna Hussey
Contributors:
Lauren St John, Lorna Hussey

Early Readers are stepping stones from picture books to reading books. A blue Early Reader is perfect for sharing and reading together. A red Early Reader is the next step on your reading journey.Shumba is the naughtiest lion cub in the whole of Africa. When he sneaks off one night to go exploring, he finds himself on a boat going all the way to England with gorillas, snakes, monkeys, zebras and parrots. And that's just the start of his adventure! A heartwarming Early Reader story from the author of the White Giraffe quartet, which brings Africa and its animals to life for the youngest readers.

Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry's Nightmare

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross

Four hilarious new Horrid Henry stories - HORRID HENRY'S MOTHER'S DAY, probably not the day his mum looks forward to most in the year, HORRID HENRY'S NIGHTMARE where Henry's chased by a ghost bunny with huge teeth, a wailing graveyard ghost and, for good measure, a slimy zombie, then a new story about one of his greatest enemies in THE RETURN OF THE DEMON DINNER LADY and last but not least FLUFFY STRUTS HER STUFF.Horrid Henry is illustrated by Tony Ross, who also illustrates David Walliams' children's books, as well as his own picture books.

Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry's Monster Movie

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross

Four brand new stories in which Horrid Henry makes his own scary movie, The Undead Demon Monster Who Would Not Die, persuades Peter to hand over his stash of Grump Cards (as a brilliant scheme to get him out of the punishments his parents give him) and spends a weekend at Aunt Ruby's where he has to share a bedroom with his two arch-enemies, Stuck-Up Steve and Bossy Bill. Then when Henry's school decides to have a mini-Olympics, he sets up his own Holympics, with medals for crisp-eating, TV watching, and Burping to the Beat.

Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry Rocks

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross

Four new stories:Horrid Henry's Invasion - Horrid Henry and Perfect Peter keep invading each other's rooms.Moody Margaret's Sleepover - Moody Margaret invites all the members of the Secret Club for a sleepover, with catastrophic results.Horrid Henry's Autobiography - Miss Battle-Axe's class all have to write their autobiographies, the best to be published in the local paper.Horrid Henry Rocks - Horrid Henry wants to go to the Killerboy Rats concert while his family want to go to the Daffy and her Dancing Daisies concert.

Hodder Children's Books

The Awakening

L.J. Smith
Authors:
L.J. Smith
Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry Wakes The Dead

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Hodder Children's Books

Michael Rosen's Book of Nonsense

Michael Rosen, Clare Mackie
Contributors:
Michael Rosen, Clare Mackie
Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry Robs the Bank

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross

Horrid Henry helps himself to all the money he needs to win his favourite board game, comes up with another spectacular money-making scheme for launching a newspaper with all the school gossip, vows vengeance on Perfect Peter when Peter nicks his birthday party theme and has his own Pirate Party ¿ and gets it by taking over as Head Teacher when Peter plays school with his goody-goody friends.