Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

A Storey Street novel: The War Next Door

A Storey Street novel: The War Next Door

The third hilarious children’s novel from Demolition Dad and Superhero Street author Phil Earle, illustrated by Waterstones Children’s Book Prize shortlisted artist, Sara Ogilvie. Perfect for fans of Roald Dahl, Liz Pichon and David Walliams. Winner of the Hull Children’s Book Award.

Masher is the bully of Storey Street. No one ever dares stand up to him and that’s the way he likes it. But then Jemima and her family move into the plot of land next door. Jemima isn’t afraid of him at all, and she’s making him look like a bit of a wimp. To Masher, that just means one thing: war. (At least until teatime…)
Read More

Genre: Interest Age / Level / Interest Age: From C 9 Years

On Sale: 6th October 2016

Price: £6.99

ISBN-13: 9781444013924

Reviews

These books have all the humour and slapstick you'd expect, but it's their enormous heart and genuine diversity that makes them stand out in a very crowded genre.
Fiona Noble, The Bookseller
Warm-hearted fun
The Daily Mail on SUPERHERO STREET
A laugh-out-loud read full of capes and japes! If you like Superheroes this is right down your Street!
Danny Wallace, presenter and bestselling author, on SUPERHERO STREET
Phil "BOOKCRUSHER" Earle has written one, funny, fabulous, pile driving BLAST of a book. (Read it in Lycra for full wrestling experience.)
Liz Pichon on DEMOLITION DAD
Sara Ogilvie's beautifully drawn illustrations add real life and humour
David Tazzyman, illustrator of MR GUM
Down to earth humour, somewhat silly and decidedly positive, this is a lively read that children will thoroughly enjoy
Parents In Touch
This is a hilarious book that encourages children to put themselves in someone else's shoes.
THE INDEPENDENT
This very funny story has emotive undertones that give us plenty of food for thought
Primary Times
...there's a lot of affection here, as we watch Masher's transformation over the chapters. It's very refreshing to see him presented as a rounded character. Throw into the mix Ogilvie's deliciously detailed sketches, and this is a fun read, indeed.
BookTrust
This is the third instalment of the Storey Street series by Yorkshire author Phil Earle as he expands the ever-engaging story street with a brilliant female hero
Big Issue (North)
Part of the Storey Street series, Phil Earle's book has all the usual wit, pace and silliness
Book Trust
This is Earle's best to date: the hilarity and rapid pace are balanced by the very real issues of dealing with emotions, bullying and conforming to expectations. A fun and heart-warming read, peppered with wit
Inis
Aimed at younger children, this novel has plenty of twists and intrigue to keep readers engaged but also touches on some larger issues: the unhappiness of bullies and the importance of having the courage to do the Right Thing
School Librarian
Hilarious and heartfelt it's really unusual to see the bully at the centre of the story. Instead of Masher being a one dimensional baddy, Phil allows us to see how his personality has been shaped and influenced by a dastardly, devious Dad. It has an emotional depth to it which I found really touching.
Book Lover Jo

A Storey Street novel