Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

A Storey Street novel: Superhero Street

A Storey Street novel: Superhero Street

‘A laugh-out-loud read full of capes and japes! If you like Superheroes this is right down your Street!’ – Danny Wallace, presenter and bestselling author.

Illustrated by Waterstones Children’s Book Prize shortlisted artist, Sara Ogilvie, this is the second book in Demolition Dad author Phil Earle’s children’s series, Storey Street. Perfect for fans of Roald Dahl, Liz Pichon and David Walliams, each book in this laugh-out-loud series focuses on a different neighbour.

Mouse is desperate to be a superhero. To find that power that will make him stand out in the crowd. But his every attempt ends in failure. He can’t even get any attention at home as his five brothers (triplets AND twins) take every second of mum and dad’s attention.

When mum foils a bank robbery while on duty as a lollipop lady, she and Mouse are lauded as superheroes. Joining forces with Mouse are The Z List – a group of unlikely crime-fighters. But in their midst is a traitor hell-bent on revenge.

Will Mouse be super enough to spot this danger, and is he brave enough to do anything about it?
Read More

Genre: Children's, Teenage & Educational / Children's / Teenage Fiction & True Stories / Adventure Stories (children's / Teenage)

On Sale: 25th February 2016

Price: £6.99

ISBN-13: 9781444013894

Reviews

A hilarious story that will have children giggling throughout
Parents In Touch
A laugh-out-loud read full of capes and japes! If you like Superheroes this is right down your Street!
Danny Wallace, presenter and bestselling author
Fantastically funny, this story has a very big heart
The Week Junior
It's a delight: a brilliant cast of characters (including a truly formidable mum), jokes aplenty, poignant family drama and a very big heart indeed.
The Bookseller
Mister Earle tells a terrific tale of an accidental superhero
Families South East
Phil "BOOKCRUSHER" Earle has written one, funny, fabulous, pile driving BLAST of a book. (Read it in Lycra for full wrestling experience.)
Liz Pichon on DEMOLITION DAD
Sara Ogilvie's beautifully drawn illustrations add real life and humour.
David Tazzyman, illustrator of MR GUM on DEMOLITION DAD
Superhero Street' is an absolute joy to read Phil manages to create a story which is brilliantly humorous but full of heart and emotion...I really can't recommend it enough. I felt like it offers the reader the hope that even by doing the smallest, seemly insignificant acts we can all be a Superhero in someone eyes
Jo Clarke, Book Lover Jo
Told with earthy humour and a bracing dash of silliness, Superhero Street plays an entertaining riff on the theme of finding the hero inside
James Lovegrove, Financial Times
Deliciously silly fun for seven-plus
Amanda Craig, Newstatesman.com
I think other people my age would enjoy this book and find it funny. It made me laugh and I found it easy to read once I got into it.
Jason Treneman, age 7, NG Kids
I think other people my age would enjoy this book and find it funny. It made me laugh and I found it easy to read once I got into it
Jason Treneman, aged 7, National Geographic Kids
Warm-hearted fun
Daily Mail
Demolition Dad was one of my favourite books of last year, and now Earle turns his attention to yet another troubled family in Story Street ... Warm-hearted fun
Sally Morris, Irish Daily Mail

A Storey Street novel