Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Cake the Wolf and the Witch

The Cake the Wolf and the Witch

Max doesn’t believe in happy endings. He doesn’t even like stories. So when he finds himself whisked away in a giant cake to The Land of Ever After, Max is NOT impressed.

But the people of Ever After are in trouble, and they need Max’s help.

Will Max agree to go on a dangerous quest to save their world? And if he doesn’t, how will he and his brand new brother and sister ever get home?

A mixed-up and fresh take on the fairy tale, with a sprinkle of Jacqueline Wilson and Liz Kessler, and perfect for fans of Enid Blyton’s The Magic Faraway Tree.

‘Endlessly inventive’ – Piers Torday, award-winning author of The Last Wild.
Read More

Genre: Children's, Teenage & Educational / Children's / Teenage Fiction & True Stories / Family & Home Stories (children's

On Sale: 2nd July 2015

Price: £6.99

ISBN-13: 9781444015614

Reviews

Mischief, make believe and marbles galore! Endlessly inventive.
PIERS TORDAY
Delighted by #TheCakeTheWolfTheWitch, #Sondheim for 7+. A magical quest with heart and spark.
Children's book reviewer, Amanda Craig on Twitter
[FOR OPAL MOONBABY] Now - I want you to remember the name of Opal Moonbaby - she's a brilliant comic creation ... Opal sparkles and she's totally original. I lovedher. And Maudie Smith gives us a great story too. She's pitch-perfect on the way that girls in this age group act.
Sue Magee, THE BOOKBAG
[FOR OPAL MOONBABY] Opal Moonbaby really does seem like a classic novel. It's exactly the sort of book I would have devoured as a young girl and it really did have a similar style and tone as some of my old favourites ... Maudie Smith is a great new talent in the world of middle grade fiction and I'll certainly be looking out for more of her work in future.
WRITING FROM THE TUB
[FOR OPAL MOONBABY] A touching story deliciously tinged with magic.
Julia Eccleshare, LOVEREADING4KIDS
Fast paced funny and touching...It's a story that is both funny and exciting, and it'll make you think, too, without being in any way sappy. Make sure you don't miss it.
The Bookbag
This is one of the best books I have read
Lucy Crowley, Ballinadee National School, Evening Echo (Cork)
[FOR OPAL MOONBABY] This heart-warming tale ... will appeal to those who like a little magic in their lives.
CAROUSEL
Through all the fantasticalness of the story, the character of Max and his step-siblings remain very much grounded in reality, and this makes this book a complete winner. With illustrations by the wonderful Tony Ross (of Horrid Henry fame), this is the summer's must-read for children aged 7+.
Minerva Reads