Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

King Flashypants and the Evil Emperor

King Flashypants and the Evil Emperor

“Edwin isn’t an ordinary boy. He is a king, with a throne, and his own suit of armour and a castle with secret passages and everything.”

Every Friday, King Edwin spends all his money on chocolate for the peasants. But when the money runs out, Edwin finds himself in a fix. Cue the arrival of evil Emperor Nurbison, in his pointy-collared black cloak and accompanied by scary striding music. He has had his eye on Edwin’s kingdom for a while and intends to use the peasants’ unhappiness to his advantage!

When the emperor builds a fake dragon out of a cow, green crepe paper, furry monster novelty slippers and two birthday cake candles, to scare the peasants, Edwin knows it’s time to come up with the first sneaky plan he’s ever had in his life …
Read More

Genre: Designed / Suitable For National Curriculum / For National Curriculum Key Stage 2 / Suitable For Uk Curricula & Examinations

On Sale: 14th July 2016

Price: £6.99

ISBN-13: 9781444933604

Reviews

From creating a new evil laugh to bottomless pits, the excellent variety of villainous friends, and a particularly vocal peasant girl called Natasha, there is lots to admire here.
Clare Zinkin, Mill Hill Synagogue
This book made me (and my sister) laugh out loud a lot [...] At the end of the book there is the music and lyrics for "The Emperor's Striding Theme" which I am learning to play because, like the book, it's really funny and everyone deserves a theme tune. I recommend this book to everyone because its fun, quirky and hilarious.
Myth-hill, The Guardian Children's Books Young Reviewers
A laugh-out-loud series for fans of cows disguised as dragons. Parents beware, young readers will revel in recreating the Evil Emperor's scary striding music!
Little London Magazine
...mountains of silliness, bags of inventiveness and lots of charm!
Caroline Horn, Reading Zone
...full of the most outrageous humour and brilliant detail.
Andy Seed, Hatman Reads
With illustrations and hearty laughs on every page, this is sure to keep readers in stitches.
Carrie Morris, The Best New Children's Books Guide
The funniest and most enjoyable book for this age group for quite some time. I even sang the song at the end. And apparently more to come in the series. I can't wait.
Clare Zinkin, Minerva Reads
Andy is a comic genius and we absolutely loved this, particularly loved the fact that Charlotte could dive to the back of the book and play Emperor Nurbison's evil striding music for herself on the piano...
Phil May, Read it Daddy
There are no libraries or books in King Flashypants and the Evil Emperor, written and drawn by Bunny Suicides author Andy Riley (Hachette), but this funny story does feature many other things that will appeal, especially to early and reluctant readers - not least an evil emperor with the silliest laugh and wacky illustrations. One for fans of Horrid Henry and Tom Gates.
Michelle Pauli, The Guardian : Saturday Review
An insanely funny debut children's series from Emmy award-winning writer and cartoonist, Andy Riley
Aldershot News & Mail
...this slapstick tale is sure to appeal to those who love something a bit silly. The first book in an uproarious new series for confident young readers.
Anna McKerrow, Booktrust
The book is funny and fast paced. It's a dream to read alone or to share with children ... Brilliant for 7-12 year olds. Particularly recommended for boys and reluctant readers.
Making Them Readers
...a brisk, bumptious read, full of preposterous names, surreal imagery and daft sound effects.
James Lovegrove, Financial Times
Features an evil emperor with the silliest laugh and wacky illustrations. One for fans of Horrid Henry and Tom Gates
The Guardian
An insanely funny debut
Ros Collins, Surrey Advertiser, Aldershot News & Mail, Buckinghamshire Advertiser & Examiner