Related to: 'Scaredy Cat and Scaredy Cat'

Win Rainbow Magic Goody Bags!

Competitions

In the back of all our new releases are competitions for readers to enter, with magical prizes to be won! Click "Read" to see and enter all our currently running competitions...

Orion Children's Books

Grandad's Medal

Phil Earle, Sarah Horne
Contributors:
Phil Earle, Sarah Horne

Early Readers are stepping stones from picture books to reading books. A blue Early Reader is perfect for sharing and reaading together. A red Early Reader is the next step on your reading journey.Marvin loves going on his adventures with his grandad - escaping from hairy yetis, taking daytrips to Mars, and hunting ferocious tigers - all without leaving the house. Marvin thinks his grandad is the bravest person he's ever met; he even has a medal from the war to prove it. And, more than anything else, Marvin wants to be brave too.But when Grandad must go on his final adventure alone, Marvin finds he has to be braver than he's ever been before. Until he discovers that Grandad has left behind a very special surprise just for him . . . A touching and poignant Early Reader story, perfect for children coming to terms with grief for the first time.

Orion Children's Books

The War Next Door

Phil Earle, Sara Ogilvie
Contributors:
Phil Earle, Sara Ogilvie
Orion Children's Books

Superhero Street

Phil Earle, Sara Ogilvie
Contributors:
Phil Earle, Sara Ogilvie

'A laugh-out-loud read full of capes and japes! If you like Superheroes this is right down your Street!' - Danny Wallace, presenter and bestselling author. Illustrated by Waterstones Children's Book Prize shortlisted artist, Sara Ogilvie, this is the second book in Demolition Dad author Phil Earle's children's series, Storey Street. Perfect for fans of Roald Dahl, Liz Pichon and David Walliams, each book in this laugh-out-loud series focuses on a different neighbour.Mouse is desperate to be a superhero. To find that power that will make him stand out in the crowd. But his every attempt ends in failure. He can't even get any attention at home as his five brothers (triplets AND twins) take every second of mum and dad's attention. When mum foils a bank robbery while on duty as a lollipop lady, she and Mouse are lauded as superheroes. Joining forces with Mouse are The Z List - a group of unlikely crime-fighters. But in their midst is a traitor hell-bent on revenge. Will Mouse be super enough to spot this danger, and is he brave enough to do anything about it?

Orion Children's Books

Elsie and the Magic Biscuit Tin

Phil Earle, Jamie Littler
Contributors:
Phil Earle, Jamie Littler

Early Readers are stepping stones from picture books to reading books. A blue Early Reader is perfect for sharing and reaading together. A red Early Reader is the next step on your reading journey.Elsie's always known that there's something a little bit magical about her Grandma's biscuit tin, and when she discovers that it can grant wishes, there's only one thing she wants - chocolate! But Elsie's wish to turn everything she touches into chocolate (even Grandma!) soon causes chaos.Can she get the magic biscuit tin to grant her one last wish to help change everything back? The second Early Reader story from a talented and unique voice in children's fiction. Phil Earle is a CARNEGIE MEDAL shortisted author whose hard-hitting YA novels have been widely acclaimed. His first Early Reader, ALBERT AND THE GARDEN OF DOOM, and his first middle-grade title, DEMOLITION DAD, were released in 2015.

Orion Children's Books

Demolition Dad

Phil Earle, Sara Ogilvie
Contributors:
Phil Earle, Sara Ogilvie
Orion Children's Books

Albert and the Garden of Doom

Phil Earle, Jamie Littler
Contributors:
Phil Earle, Jamie Littler

Early Readers are stepping stones from picture books to reading books. A blue Early Reader is perfect for sharing and reading together. A red Early Reader is the next step on your reading journey.Albert LOVES football. But he HATES the Garden of Doom next door. He's always kicking his footballs into it, and he can't go and get them back - Mr Creaky lives next door, and Albert is terrified of him. But when he kicks his friend Errol's ball into the Garden of Doom, Albert knows that he has to be brave. Could there be more to Mr Creaky than meets the eye? Could he be a jewel thief? A wizard? A secret agent?Albert doesn't know... but he's about to find out!The first Early Reader story from a talented and unique voice in children's fiction. Phil Earle is a CARNEGIE MEDAL shortlisted author whose hard-hitting YA novels have been widely acclaimed.

A. J. Healy

Alan Healy was born in Dublin and his life has taken many directions including jobs at Goldman Sachs in London and in a brick factory in South Africa before his life-long passion for writing culminated with his first novel - Tommy Storm. He self-published a first edition of the book in 2005 in Ireland. He now lives, happily married, back in Dublin.

Amber Lee Dodd

Amber Lee Dodd was born and grew up on the island city of Portsmouth, where she rode the waltzers, swam in the winter sea and lost her wellies in the marshes. Now she spends most of her time poking around second hand and charity shops for fabulous old hats, that's when she's not writing plays and stories.Her plays have been performed at Chichester Festival Theatre, the New Theatre Royal and the Edinburgh Fringe. Her stories have been published around the world and broadcast on BBC radio 4.

Anna McKerrow

Anna McKerrow works on arts projects for the reading charity BookTrust, which is where she became interested in Young Adult fiction. (It wasn't around when she was 15; she went straight from Judy Blume to Jackie Collins). She has also published four volumes of poetry and taught creative writing in adult education for 7 years. She also provides school workshop and book event consultancy to writers and publishers.Anna is a Pagan, reads the tarot, is a Reiki practitioner, and is a little bit obsessed with stone circles. She believes passionately, like Alan Moore, that creative activities such as writing are a kind of magic in themselves.

Caro King

Caro King was born in London and raised in Surrey where she now lives with her partner, Kevin. She studied art and now works at the Home Office. Seven Sorcerers came from a rainy lunchtime when she began mapping out the world of the Drift. Skerridge and his waistcoat came later.

David Roberts

David Roberts is a hugely successful illustrator who has illustrated books by Philip Ardagh, Julia Donaldson, Jacqueline Wilson and Chris Priestley. He's also the creator of Dirty Bertie and the NEW YORK TIMES bestselling artist of picture books IGGY PECK, ARCHITECT and ROSIE REVERE, ENGINEER. David lives in London.

Eliza Wass

Eliza Wass is a freelance writer, editor and journalist. She comes from Southern California, where she was one of nine perfect children with two perfect parents. She has thousands of friends, all of whom either arrive inside dust jackets or post obsessively on Twitter.Eliza spent 7 years in London with the most amazing man in the world, her late husband, Alan Wass of Alan Wass and The Tourniquet, who inspired her to pursue her dreams and live every day of her life.

Eoin McNamee

Eoin McNamee's first children's book THE NAVIGATOR has received critical acclaim in the US and the UK. His adult books have been shortlisted for the Irish Times Literature Prize and twice longlisted for the Man Booker Prize. He has lived in London, Dublin and New York and is now settled in Sligo on the west coast of Ireland.

Georgia Pritchett

Georgia Pritchett is a comedy writer who has written for a number of TV comedies and comedians including The Thick Of It, Veep, Miranda, Have I Got News For You, Smack the Pony, Graham Norton, Jo Brand, Paul Merton, Lenny Henry, Ronnie Corbett, Wallace and Gromit and several other real, fictional and occasionally plasticine people. Wilf the Mighty Worrier is Georgia's first work for children. She lives in London with her partner and two children.

Gregory Hughes

Gregory Hughes was born and lives in Liverpool. After being expelled from Jesuit school, he went to a home for wayward boys, where he spent some very happy times. After some madcap years in his youth, he went to University to study computers. He has worked as everything from a dishwasher to a deep sea diver, and has worked in many countries including Norway, Canada and America.

Jamie Littler

Jamie is a St. Albans-based illustrator who graduated from the Arts Institute at Bournemouth in 2008, and won a High Commendation in the Macmillan Children's Book Award in the same year. Since then Jamie has worked with many varied clients, and his debut children's book, 'MUM'S THE WORD', written by Timothy Knapman, is to be published by Hodder Children's Books in 2013.He is the creator, writer and illustrator of the on-going comic series 'COGG & SPROKIT' which is serialised in the Phoenix Comic, and his debut fiction series 'ATOMIC!', published by Scholastic Children's Books, written and created by Guy Bass, was released in 2012. When not trying to tame his un-naturally fast growing hair, he likes drawing, colouring in, cutting things out and sticking things in. Whatever medium he uses, Jamie tries to create a 'hand-made', organic and energetic feeling in his work. His interests are pretty wide and varied; although he does have a soft spot for wild animals and things that go bump in the night.Jamie is represented by Jodie Marsh at United Agents.Jamie Littler graduated from the Arts Institute at Bournemouth in 2008. He has won a High Commendation Award at the Macmillan Children's Book Awards and is the creator of 'Cogg and Sprokit', which is serialised in the PHOENIX. He has worked on high-profile projects including The Famous Five. Follow him on Twitter @jamieillustrate or visit his website at http://jamielittler.co.uk/

Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Jennifer Lynn Barnes has been a competitive cheerleader, a volley-ball player, a teen model and a primate cognition researcher. She graduated from Yale University with a degree in cognitive science and she used her research to build the werewolf world in Raised by Wolves. She is working hard on the next book in the series.

Kevin Crossley-Holland

Kevin Crossley-Holland won the Carnegie Medal in 1985 for Storm. His many notable books for adults and children include poetry, classic retellings and anthologies. He has written and presented many BBC radio programmes and is a frequent speaker at schools and libraries. For some years he held a university post in Minnesota and he is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature. The Seeing Stone won the prestigious Guardian Children's Fiction Prize, At The Crossing-Places won a Silver award at the SWPA Spoken Word Awards and Gatty's Tale was shortlisted for the 2008 Carnegie Medal.

Kiera O'Brien

Kiera O'Brien grew up in London and now lives just outside it. By day she writes about the bestseller charts for The Bookseller magazine, by late afternoon/early evening she writes about fictional robots. (At night she likes to sleep a lot) She likes cats, all food and, like every other member of her generation, is still waiting for her Hogwarts letter.

Lil Chase

Lil Chase has a first class degree in Creative Writing and works as an editor in London. Having been a pub cook and even suffered a brief stint in Disneyland Paris, she settled on a career in her first love - telling stories. BOYS FOR BEGINNERS started its life as a novel, written in pencil, complete with drawings, when Lil was just 11. Lil lives with Stella - a fox crossed with a rat, who masquerades as a dog. Visit her online at www.lilchase.com.