Related to: 'Scaredy Cat and Scaredy Cat'

Win Rainbow Magic Goody Bags!

Competitions

In the back of all our new releases are competitions for readers to enter, with magical prizes to be won! Click "Read" to see and enter all our currently running competitions...

Orion Children's Books

Grandad's Medal

Phil Earle, Sarah Horne
Contributors:
Phil Earle, Sarah Horne

Early Readers are stepping stones from picture books to reading books. A blue Early Reader is perfect for sharing and reaading together. A red Early Reader is the next step on your reading journey.Marvin loves going on his adventures with his grandad - escaping from hairy yetis, taking daytrips to Mars, and hunting ferocious tigers - all without leaving the house. Marvin thinks his grandad is the bravest person he's ever met; he even has a medal from the war to prove it. And, more than anything else, Marvin wants to be brave too.But when Grandad must go on his final adventure alone, Marvin finds he has to be braver than he's ever been before. Until he discovers that Grandad has left behind a very special surprise just for him . . . A touching and poignant Early Reader story, perfect for children coming to terms with grief for the first time.

Orion Children's Books

The War Next Door

Phil Earle, Sara Ogilvie
Contributors:
Phil Earle, Sara Ogilvie
Orion Children's Books

Superhero Street

Phil Earle, Sara Ogilvie
Contributors:
Phil Earle, Sara Ogilvie

'A laugh-out-loud read full of capes and japes! If you like Superheroes this is right down your Street!' - Danny Wallace, presenter and bestselling author. Illustrated by Waterstones Children's Book Prize shortlisted artist, Sara Ogilvie, this is the second book in Demolition Dad author Phil Earle's children's series, Storey Street. Perfect for fans of Roald Dahl, Liz Pichon and David Walliams, each book in this laugh-out-loud series focuses on a different neighbour.Mouse is desperate to be a superhero. To find that power that will make him stand out in the crowd. But his every attempt ends in failure. He can't even get any attention at home as his five brothers (triplets AND twins) take every second of mum and dad's attention. When mum foils a bank robbery while on duty as a lollipop lady, she and Mouse are lauded as superheroes. Joining forces with Mouse are The Z List - a group of unlikely crime-fighters. But in their midst is a traitor hell-bent on revenge. Will Mouse be super enough to spot this danger, and is he brave enough to do anything about it?

Orion Children's Books

Elsie and the Magic Biscuit Tin

Phil Earle, Jamie Littler
Contributors:
Phil Earle, Jamie Littler

Early Readers are stepping stones from picture books to reading books. A blue Early Reader is perfect for sharing and reaading together. A red Early Reader is the next step on your reading journey.Elsie's always known that there's something a little bit magical about her Grandma's biscuit tin, and when she discovers that it can grant wishes, there's only one thing she wants - chocolate! But Elsie's wish to turn everything she touches into chocolate (even Grandma!) soon causes chaos.Can she get the magic biscuit tin to grant her one last wish to help change everything back? The second Early Reader story from a talented and unique voice in children's fiction. Phil Earle is a CARNEGIE MEDAL shortisted author whose hard-hitting YA novels have been widely acclaimed. His first Early Reader, ALBERT AND THE GARDEN OF DOOM, and his first middle-grade title, DEMOLITION DAD, were released in 2015.

Orion Children's Books

Demolition Dad

Phil Earle, Sara Ogilvie
Contributors:
Phil Earle, Sara Ogilvie
Orion Children's Books

Albert and the Garden of Doom

Phil Earle, Jamie Littler
Contributors:
Phil Earle, Jamie Littler

Adam Blade

Adam Blade is the name for a small collective of authors who have been writing the bestselling series Beast Quest and Sea Quest for ten years! Beast Quest has now sold over 10 million copies. The newest series from the Adam Blade team is called Team Hero. You can find out more about all these amazing adventures at the series websites: beastquest.co.uk and teamherobooks.co.uk

Albert Uderzo

Albert Uderzo was born in 1927 in a small village in Marne, France. He met Rene Goscinny in 1951 and on 29 October 1959 their most famous creation, Asterix, made his first appearance on page 20 of Pilote. Asterix the Gaul, their first album, was published in 1961 and there have now been 34 Asterix albums.

Alex T. Smith

Author-illustrator Alex T. Smith is the award-winning creator of the bestselling Claude series, which is published in 16 languages worldwide, and is now a TV show on Disney Junior. Alex's newest series, Mr Penguin, launched in 2017, to widespread praise. Alex's quirky, witty writing and illustrations are instantly recognisable, critically acclaimed and as popular with adults as children. Alex is also widely praised for his work illustrating children's classics: he won Children's Book of the World Illustration Award for his illustrations in a new edition of Dodie Smith's The Hundred and One Dalmatians; he has created new art for books by Enid Blyton, Eva Ibbotson and Richmal Crompton. Alex has collaborated with Watership Down author Richard Adams on his last book, Egg Box Dragon, as well as David Almond and Juno Dawson. Alex has won the UKLA Picture Book Award and the Sainsbury's Children's Book Award, and been shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Book Award. He has also been the official World Book Day illustrator.

Alexandra Bracken

Alexandra Bracken is the No. 1 New York Times bestselling author of Passenger, Wayfarer and The Darkest Minds series, which is available throughout the world in over fifteen languages. After selling her debut novel in college, Alex worked in children's publishing for several years before leaving to write full time. She now lives in Arizona, where she was born and raised. Visit her online at www.alexandrabracken.com and on Twitter and Instagram as @alexbracken

Andy Stanton

Andy Stanton has written eight books about Mr Gum, along with further successful fiction and picture book titles. He was overall winner of the Red House Children's Book Award for You're a Bad Man, Mr Gum! and won the inaugural Roald Dahl Funny Prize for Mr Gum and the Dancing Bear. He has twice won the Blue Peter Book Award for Best Book With Pictures, and been shortlisted for a host of other awards.

Anna Claybourne

Anna Claybourne has written over 150 children's books on all kinds of subjects, from sharks, black holes and splitting the atom to how to draw, Shakespeare's life, and Greek myths and legends. She knows a lot about conservation in the rain forests of Costa Rica as she once volunteered there for three months. She likes space, sewing and music, plays the trombone and loves going camping.

C. G. Drews

C.G. Drews lives in Australia with her dog, a piano, and the goal of reading every book in existence. Consequently, her brain has overflowed with words and she spends her days writing novel after novel. She blogs at paperfury.com, never sleeps, and believes in cake for breakfast.

Claire Heuchan

Claire Heuchan is an award-winning black feminist writer who blogs under the name Sister Outrider. She writes on subjects including race, power, identity and sexual politics and her work has been featured in several publications including 404 Ink's Nasty Women.

Claire Powell

Claire is an illustrator, writer and designer who lives and works in London. She has spent several years as a design director in the world of channel rebranding working for clients such as Nickelodeon, BBC Three, CBBC and BBC One. Claire has a tendency towards humour and bright, bold use of colour and she loves creating strong typographical layouts to help tell a story.

Cressida Cowell

Cressida Cowell is the author and the illustrator of the bestselling How to Train Your Dragon and The Wizards of Once book series, and the author of the Emily Brown picture books, illustrated by Neal Layton. How to Train Your Dragon has sold over 8 million books worldwide in 38 languages. It is also an award-winning DreamWorks film series, and a TV series shown on Netflix and CBBC. The first book in Cressida's new series, The Wizards of Once (also signed by DreamWorks), is a number one bestseller.Cressida is an ambassador for the National Literacy Trust and the Reading Agency, a Trustee of World Book Day and a founder patron of the Children's Media Foundation. She has won numerous prizes, including the Gold Award in the Nestle Children's Book Prize,the 2017 Ruth Rendell Award for Championing Literacy, the Hay Festival Medal for Fiction, and Philosophy Now' magazine's 2015 Award for Contributions in the Fight Against Stupidity. She grew up in London and on a small, uninhabited island off the west coast of Scotland and she now lives in Hammersmith with her husband, three children and a dog called Pigeon.

Daisy Meadows

The Rainbow Magic and Magic Animal Friends books are written by a small collective of authors under the name Daisy Meadows. Rainbow Magic is the no.1 bestselling series for girls aged 5 and up with over 30 million copies sold worldwide!Learn more about the books at www.rainbowmagicbooks.co.uk (where you can download the Rainbow Magic Reading Challenge poster) and www.magicanimalfriends.com (where you'll find fun animal activity sheets)

Daniel Postgate

Daniel is the son of animator Oliver Postgate. He worked as a freelance cartoonist before becoming a children's book writer and illustrator. He has since been involved in more than fifty books. His book 'Smelly Bill' won the Nottingham and Norfolk children's book awards and was one of the top ten children's books of the year in Time magazine. He lives in Whitstable.Daniel Postgate is the cartoonist for the Daily Express. He has illustrated a number of children¿s books, including The Philosophy Files and The Outer Limits.

David Litchfield

David Litchfield first started to draw when he was very young, creating comics for his older brother and sister. Since then his work has appeared in magazines, newspapers, books and on T-shirts. David's first picture book The Bear and the Piano won the Waterstones Children's Book Prize. He lives in Bedfordshire.

Elizabeth Dale

Elizabeth Dale always dreamed of being a writer but somehow got side-tracked into studying for a physics degree, followed by health service management. When her children were born she finally returned to her dream, writing thousands of short stories for magazines all over the world. Re-discovering a love of children's books while reading to her daughters, she decided to turn her hand to writing them - and has now published over twenty books for children, including picture books and junior fiction. Writing is her full-time job, but also her favourite activity. She also enjoys reading, gardening, walking, and being in the country. Her favourite children's books include Walk Two Moons, The Selfish Giant, Cosmic, and Someone Else's Life. She loves watching cosy sentimental films, such as You've Got Mail, Return to Me, and While You Were Sleeping, as well as classic old films starring Cary Grant, Fred Astaire and Doris Day. Elizabeth is married, with three daughters, and lives in a village in West Sussex. Her daughters, Katie and Jenny, are also children's authors with Hachette.