Rachel Minay - Poverty - Hachette Children's Group

Poverty

By Rachel Minay

  • Hardback
  • £13.99

Comprehensive explorations of major issues affecting the global community

What is poverty? is it do to with what we have compared to others around us, or is it to do with what we need to survive? This book looks at the causes and effects of extreme poverty - defined as having less than US1.90 a day to live on - and discusses how poverty is also a serious issue in the developed or industrialised world. It looks at what is what is being done to tackle extreme poverty and asks readers to think about what they can do to help those facing poverty, for example by donating to a local food bank.

Biographical Notes

Rachel Minay is an experienced editor and author of children's non-fiction, specialising in history and the arts.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445163819
  • Publication date: 10 May 2018
  • Page count: 48
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
Wayland

What is Race? Who are Racists? Why Does Skin Colour Matter? And Other Big Questions

Nikesh Shukla, Claire Heuchan
Authors:
Nikesh Shukla, Claire Heuchan
Orion Children's Books

Wundersmith: The Calling of Morrigan Crow

Jessica Townsend
Authors:
Jessica Townsend
Orchard Books

Phantom

Leo Hunt
Authors:
Leo Hunt
Franklin Watts

At Sea

John C. Miles
Authors:
John C. Miles

How did the forces that fought at sea affect the outcome of the Second World War? This book explores the ships and submarines that slugged it out to rule the seas during the Second World War, from stealthy U-boats to mighty battleships. Along the way, readers will discover the key battles, tactics and weapons that helped the Allies to victory. The Fighting Forces of the Second World War is a must-read for all young military buffs, who enjoy poring over the tactics, uniforms, weapons, special equipment and much more of the heroic fighting forces who waged the Second World War. Key battles and notable events, told chronologically, provide a useful solid historical structure and offer key learning, while the single-topic approach allows easy comparison between the different sidesA great series for readers aged 11 and up.

Hodder Children's Books

The Love Curse: Arrowheart

Rebecca Sky
Authors:
Rebecca Sky

What if you had the power to make any boy fall in love with you? Addictive romance with a fantasy twist for fans of Holly Smale, Ally Carter, and Zoe Sugg.The gods are gone. The people have forgotten them. But sixteen-year-old Rachel Patel can't forget - the gods control her life, or more specifically, her love life.Being a Hedoness, one of a strong group of women descended from Greek God Eros, makes true love impossible for Rachel. She wields the power of that magical golden arrow, and with it, the promise to take the will of any boy she kisses. But the last thing Rachel wants is to force someone to love her . . .When seventeen-year-old Benjamin Blake's disappearance links back to the Hedonesses, Rachel's world collides with his, and her biggest fear becomes a terrifying reality. She's falling for him - a messy, magnetic, arrow-over-feet type of fall.Rachel distances herself, struggling to resist the growing attraction, but when he gives up his dream to help her evade arrest, distance becomes an insurmountable task. With the police hot on their trail, Rachel soon realises there are darker forces hunting them - a group of mortals recruited by the gods who will stop at nothing to preserve the power of the Hedonesses - not to mention Eros himself, who is desperate to reverse the curse . . .Prepare to fall under the spell of Wattpad star Rebecca Sky, in this compulsive romance.

Orion Children's Books

Escape

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay
Franklin Watts

Global Pollution

Rachel Minay
Authors:
Rachel Minay

Humans are creating more pollution than ever before and this is threatening the balance of our planet and its perfect conditions for life. This book looks at the causes and effects of different types of pollution, considers the greenouse effect and what is being done to tackle climate change. It asks readers to think about what they can do to reduce pollution and live sustainably, for example by buying locally and being energy-wise.

Franklin Watts

Suffragettes and the Fight for the Vote

Sarah Ridley
Authors:
Sarah Ridley

This book tells the story of the campaign to get women the vote in Britain through significant objects. From photos of key people in the campaign through ephemera such as force-feeding equipment, banners and medallions, Sarah Ridley brings the story to life. Beginning by looking at the role of women in the 19th Century and ending with the continuing struggle for equal rights for women in all parts of society, this is an essential read for young people aged 10 plus to understand the history of the women's movement on suffrage. It includes the suffragists' campaign.The book is published ahead of 2018 - a landmark year that marks the centenary of the Representation of the People Act. This finally gave the vote to some women for the first time (women over 30, who owned property) and also gave the vote to all men (up until then, only about two-thirds of men had the vote). The Houses of Parliament are celebrating this centenary with their 'Vote 100' project. 2018 will also be the 90th anniversary of women gaining full voting equality with men in 1928.

Wayland

Ancient Sumer

Rachel Minay
Authors:
Rachel Minay

The Sumerians lived in the southern part of Mesopotamia from around 6,000 years ago. Find out how these fantastic farmers and incredible inventors created the world's first urban civilisation. Read about inventions such as writing and the wheel, huge cities, ziggurats, tombs and treasure!Packed with fascinating information, the Explore! series inspires children's curiosity to find out more about the past. A great tool for readers age 8+ or teachers looking for books to support the new curriculum.

Franklin Watts

An Undercover History of Spies and Secret Agents

Rachel Minay
Authors:
Rachel Minay
Franklin Watts

A Heroic History of Gladiators and Ancient Warriors

Rachel Minay
Authors:
Rachel Minay
Wayland

London

Simon Holland
Authors:
Simon Holland
Wayland

Ancient Egypt

Rachel Minay
Authors:
Rachel Minay

History Detective Investigates: Ancient Egypt is a hands-on, investigative approach to history. Learn all about Ancient Egypt, its people and the story of ancient Egypt that goes back some 4,000 years. Who were the Ancient Egyptians? Ancient Egypt has a remarkable history. Discover the mysteries of the pyramids, why the Egyptians mummified their people and the gods and goddesses that ruled their way of life. It tells the story of many great kings and pharaohs, such as Tutankhamen and Cleopatra. See how the hieroglyphs offer an insight into the daily life of the Egyptian people and how the Rosetta Stone helped unravel the secrets of the hieroglyphs. Why did the ancient Egyptians rely so heavily on the river Nile. Egypt is set in the middle of the desert so Egypt depended on the Nile for food, transportation and water. Contains maps, paintings, artefacts and photographs to show how the Egyptians lived. Ideally suited for readers age 8+ or teachers who are looking for books to support the new curriculum for 2014. If you enjoy reading about the Ancient Egyptians then take a look at Stone Age to Iron Age, The Mayan Civilization, The Shang Dynasty of Ancient China and Early Islamic Civilizations.

Wayland

Ancient Greece

Rachel Minay
Authors:
Rachel Minay
Orion Children's Books

The Apple Tart of Hope

Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Authors:
Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Hodder Children's Books

One Shot Kill

Robert Muchamore
Authors:
Robert Muchamore
Orchard Books

Dark Fire

Chris d'Lacey
Authors:
Chris d'Lacey

With the Earth on the brink of recolonisation by dragons, David Rain is sent on an important mission: to seek out and destroy a trace of dark fire, the deadliest force in the universe. But with success could come a terrible price, the sacrifice of a beloved clay dragon. How much does the life of one small dragon count, when the alternative is the birth of a darkling...?

Hodder Children's Books

Bend It Like Beckham

Narinder Dhami
Authors:
Narinder Dhami

Jon Richards

Jon Richards is an award-winning author of non-fiction books for children. He specialises in visual literacy, infographics and data visualisation.

Julie Plec

Julie Plec juggles work in film and television as both a producer and a writer. She is the co-creator and executive producer of The Vampire Diaries. She created The Vampire Diaries spin-off, The Originals, which tells the story of history's first vampire family, and collaborated with Greg Berlanti and Phil Klemmer on The Tomorrow People, the story of a small group of people gifted with extraordinary paranormal abilities, making them the next evolutionary leap of mankind.Plec got her start as a television writer on the ABC Family series Kyle XY, which she also produced for its three-year run.