Rachel Minay - Poverty - Hachette Children's Group

Poverty

By Rachel Minay

  • Hardback
  • £13.99

Comprehensive explorations of major issues affecting the global community

What is poverty? is it do to with what we have compared to others around us, or is it to do with what we need to survive? This book looks at the causes and effects of extreme poverty - defined as having less than US1.90 a day to live on - and discusses how poverty is also a serious issue in the developed or industrialised world. It looks at what is what is being done to tackle extreme poverty and asks readers to think about what they can do to help those facing poverty, for example by donating to a local food bank.

Biographical Notes

Rachel Minay is an experienced editor and author of children's non-fiction, specialising in history and the arts.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445163819
  • Publication date: 10 May 2018
  • Page count: 48
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
Hodder Children's Books

Revolution

Simon Lelic
Authors:
Simon Lelic

An adrenaline-fuelled adventure, second in the Haven series, by top thriller writer Simon Lelic. Ollie Turner isn't sure he's ready to be a hero ...Our rules. Our city. Our secret. Below the city streets is the Haven, a sanctuary for kids run by kids, and the headquarters of an organisation that fights for justice everywhere. Ollie Turner is leading the Haven's investigations team, and a new threat is on the horizon. A boy has gone missing from a private boarding school nearby: it's Jack's brother, and Jack is a key part of the investigations team. But when Ollie and his friends go undercover to investigate in the school, they find much more than they'd ever bargained for ... A book for teens and above from the writer of adult thrillers THE HOUSE, THE LIAR'S ROOM and RUPTURE, this is the second in the HAVEN series.

Hodder Children's Books

Queen of Ruin

Tracy Banghart
Authors:
Tracy Banghart

The breathtaking sequel to Grace and Fury. A fierce tale of sisterhood, courtly intrigue, and heart pounding action, perfect for fans of Red Queen and The Selection.Nomi and Malachi find themselves powerless and headed towards their all-but-certain deaths. Now that Asa sits on the throne, he will stop at nothing to make sure Malachi never sets foot in the palace again. Nomi's sister, Serina, is far away on the prison island of Mount Ruin - but it is in the grip of revolution and Serina leads. The women there have their sights set on revenge beyond the confines of their island prison. They will stop at nothing to gain freedom for the entire kingdom. But first they'll have to get rid of Asa, and only Nomi knows how.Separated once again, this time by choice, Nomi and Serina must forge their own paths as they aim to tear down the world they know, to build something better in its place.

Hodder Children's Books

The Paper & Hearts Society

Lucy Powrie
Authors:
Lucy Powrie

A brand new series from "the Zoella of books" - all about what happens when you give up on trying to fit in in and let your weird out! You're invited to join The Paper & Hearts Society ... get ready to find your people! Tabby Brown is tired of trying to fit in with her classmates. She doesn't want to go to parties at the weekend - in fact, she would much rather snuggle up on the sofa with her favourite book. It's like she hasn't found her people ...That is until she moves to a new town where a book club, The Paper & Hearts Society, is recruiting. Tabby might just be in luck. Enough of her old "friends" who only talk to her when they need something. It's time for Quidditch themed fancy dress parties, games like "shut up and Shakespeare" ... and LOTS of chocolate. Perfect for fans of Holly Smale and Super Awkward.

Wayland

Ancient Sumer

Rachel Minay
Authors:
Rachel Minay

The Sumerians lived in the southern part of Mesopotamia from around 6,000 years ago. Find out how these fantastic farmers and incredible inventors created the world's first urban civilisation. Read about inventions such as writing and the wheel, huge cities, ziggurats, tombs and treasure!Packed with fascinating information, the Explore! series inspires children's curiosity to find out more about the past. A great tool for readers age 8+ or teachers looking for books to support the new curriculum.

Franklin Watts

The Somme

Sarah Ridley
Authors:
Sarah Ridley
Franklin Watts

An Undercover History of Spies and Secret Agents

Rachel Minay
Authors:
Rachel Minay
Franklin Watts

Understanding Sexuality

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head

This book looks at the issues around sexuality - what it means, being lesbian, gay or bisexual, coming out, homophobia and accepting yourself and being happy in your own skin. It includes talking and debating points and is perfect for someone starting to question their sexuality or for PSHE lessons.It is part of the series My Life, Your Life, which takes a sensitive and positive look at some of the issues that concern children aged 10+. It explores issues including sexuality, gender, self-esteem, prejudice and discrimination and promotes and encourages discussion. By thinking creatively and critically, children can learn to accept their differences, embrace diversity and improve their sense of self and how they fit into the bigger picture. Each title also provides advice in the form of practical ways to cope with distressing or difficult situations.

Franklin Watts

Overcoming Fear of Failure

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head

Lots of people suffer from a fear of failure. It is one of the biggest causes of anxiety and stress for school students. Fear of failure can make us afraid to try new things. For some it means that they have to come first at everything they do. For many fear of failure is linked with low self-esteem. It can make people feel inadequate and ruin their self-confidence. This book explores why we fear failure and how we can overcome it - from understanding that making mistakes isn't always bad to breaking out of our comfort zones. The book ties in with the 'growth mindset' theory - that success is based on hard work, trying and being prepared to fail and pick yourself up again.It is part of the series My Life, Your Life, which takes a sensitive and positive look at some of the issues that concern children aged 10+. It explores issues including sexuality, gender, self-esteem, prejudice and discrimination and promotes and encourages discussion. By thinking creatively and critically, children can learn to accept their differences, embrace diversity and improve their sense of self and how they fit into the bigger picture. Each title also provides advice in the form of practical ways to cope with distressing or difficult situations.

Wayland

Amazing Jobs: Engineering

Colin Hynson
Authors:
Colin Hynson

Discover the amazing array of jobs within the field of engineering that you never knew existed. From the structural engineers who design the concrete and steel structures that keep skyscrapers and other buildings from falling down, to the robotics engineers who construct industrial robots and walking robots and the aeronautical engineers who design aircrafts. Read about the academic and vocational routes you can take to reach these jobs and how to get ahead in these exciting professions whilst you are at school and college.

Wayland

Amazing Jobs: Maths

Colin Hynson
Authors:
Colin Hynson

Discover the amazing array of jobs within the field of maths that you never knew existed! From the cryptologists who use their coding skills to break secret codes for governments and the military, to the cosmologists working to find out how the Universe began and how it might end and the music data scientists who analyse online data to detect trends in music.Read about the academic and vocational routes you can take to reach these jobs and how to get ahead in these exciting professions whilst you are at school and college.

Franklin Watts

A Heroic History of Gladiators and Ancient Warriors

Rachel Minay
Authors:
Rachel Minay
Franklin Watts

Far From Home: Refugees and migrants fleeing war, persecution and poverty

Cath Senker
Authors:
Cath Senker
Franklin Watts

Understanding Transgender

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head

A sensitive book that explores the issue of people who feel they do belong to the gender they were born with. It looks at what this means for the person and their family, issues around school policy, bullying and discrimination and explores the journey of transitioning.It is part of the series My Life, Your Life, which takes a sensitive and positive look at some of the issues that concern children aged 10+. It explores issues including sexuality, gender, self-esteem, prejudice and discrimination and promotes and encourages discussion. By thinking creatively and critically, children can learn to accept their differences, embrace diversity and improve their sense of self and how they fit into the bigger picture. Each title also provides advice in the form of practical ways to cope with distressing or difficult situations.

Franklin Watts

Self-Esteem and Confidence

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head
Franklin Watts

Schools

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

Find out about the school life in the past and compare with schools today. Discover how and what children were taught and how everything from uniforms to school dinners has changed. For children following Book Bands, it is suitable for children reading at band 8, purple.The Info Buzz series, for age 5+, helps children develop their knowledge and understanding of the world by covering a wide range of topics in a fun, colourful and interactive way. The books have a lively design, engaging text and photos, questions to get children thinking and talking and teaching notes. Each title is written in conjunction with a literacy consultant and features book band guidance and downloadable activity sheets online.

Wayland

The Fall of the Berlin Wall

Patricia Levy
Authors:
Patricia Levy

High-drama history, describing moment-by-moment the fall of the Berlin WallThirty years ago, on 9 November 1989, the Berlin Wall came down. This historic event is described in detail, focusing not only on the day itself, but also what led to the wall being there in the first place. It looks at the history of the Wall, explaining why it was built, as well as looking at the implications of what happened in the wider context of 20th century history. Real life accounts are included in moment-in-time boxes, acting as a freeze frame of people's thoughts, emotions and experiences as those from West Germany were at last free to travel to the East and vice versa.Complete with photographs, maps and a timeline, this is a fascinating insight into 20th century history.An ideal book to support the study of modern history in schools

Franklin Watts

Food and Eating

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne
Wayland

What is Race? Who are Racists? Why Does Skin Colour Matter? And Other Big Questions

Nikesh Shukla, Claire Heuchan
Authors:
Nikesh Shukla, Claire Heuchan
Franklin Watts

Sex and relationships

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne

This book is a fantastic introduction to the tricky subject of sex for children aged 9+. In a straightforward way, it explores what sex is and what it's for, examines sexuality and identity, what healthy relationships are like and tackles modern-day issues that confront teenagers such as sexting and online pornography.Is is part of the series Healthy for Life, which gives factual information on a range of health issues so teens can get the information they need to be healthy. The books feature fun infographic style illustrations.

Franklin Watts

Suffragettes and the Fight for the Vote

Sarah Ridley
Authors:
Sarah Ridley