Enid Richemont - Arabella's Web - Hachette Children's Group

Arabella's Web

By Enid Richemont
Illustrated by Gabriele Antonini

  • Paperback
  • £4.99

Build a love of reading with these brightly illustrated first reading books. These fun stories told in under 80 words are perfect for emergent readers

Arabella the spider tries hard to spin the perfect web, but things keep going wrong! Will she ever catch anything for dinner?

The Tadpoles series contains fun, original stories told in under 80 words and accompanied by bright illustrations, perfect for beginner readers.

Biographical Notes

Although I've lived for most of my life in north London, I was born and grew up in South Wales. My mum read to me a great deal,and I think it was from her that I developed my love of language. I also enjoyed drawing and painting, and eventually won a scholarship to study at Dublin College of Art.

When I came back from Eire, I first worked as a teacher in a Rudolf Steiner school. Then I came to London and took a number of strange jobs, including reading aloud to a blind writer and typing out his manuscript. The typewriter I'd hired to do this had some paid-for time left, so I used it to write a short story which I sold to a women's magazine. It became the first of many, and the beginning of a successful career. While my children were growing up, I stopped writing, and started a small design business, making screen-printed puppet theatres, flying saucers and playhouses that looked like medieval battle tents.

Work took us to Paris, where we lived for two years, and where, incidentally, I first encountered the Romanian gipsy girl who features in my novel, FOR MARITSA WITH LOVE (Simon&Schuster).

My first children's book, THE TIME TREE (Walker Books) grew out of a story I told my daughter and her best friend to pass the time on a very long walk (the original idea came from a TV programme I'd watched about teaching children with hearing problems). The girls begged me to write it down so that they could read it for themselves - so I did. This book is currently being marketed as a film series by Wild Thyme Productions.

TO SUMMON A SPIRIT (Walker Books), was one of the Pick of the Year titles listed in the Children's Book Award. I'm now published in the USA and Australia as well as the UK, and my work has been translated into Danish, German and Japanese.

My first book for Franklin Watts was PLOP CITY, a book about bird poo which continues to be loved, especially by small boys. I have two copies of the Arabic version

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445137773
  • Publication date: 14 Jan 2016
  • Page count: 24
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
Orchard Books

Oscar the Hungry Unicorn Eats Christmas

Lou Carter, Nikki Dyson
Contributors:
Lou Carter, Nikki Dyson
Orchard Books

When the Crocodiles Came to Town

Magda Brol, Magda Brol
Contributors:
Magda Brol, Magda Brol

An exhilaratingly fresh, funny picture book with a strong message about rejecting prejudice and welcoming new arrivals from brilliantly talented debut author-illustrator Magda Brol.No one knows why the crocodiles have come to Dullsville. They look different. They act differently. And worst of all? They love messy, sticky, colourful ice cream. Yuck!But one little boy knows differently, and when two naughty thieves arrive in Dullsville one night, the whole town sees how much Dullsville needs its two brave and loyal crocs . . . A strong message about embracing difference and rejecting prejudice, delivered with bags of charm and toothy crocodile humour.

Orchard Books

Secret Agent Elephant

Eoin McLaughlin
Authors:
Eoin McLaughlin

Watch out, supervillains. There's a new spy in town . . .Secret Agent Elephant isn't much good at hiding, or disguises, or driving fast cars - but he DOES look dangerously handsome in a tuxedo. Join the world's biggest, clumsiest super spy on his first mission: to find feline supervillain Vincent le Morte and stop him from destroying the world.Good luck, Agent Elephant. The world is counting on you. AND REMEMBER: DO NOT GET DISTRACTED BY THE MINI PIZZAS!The hilariously funny new book from rising-star Eoin McLaughlin and bestselling illustrator Ross Collins.

Orchard Books

My Pet Star

Corrinne Averiss, Rosalind Beardshaw
Contributors:
Corrinne Averiss, Rosalind Beardshaw
Franklin Watts

Max is Cooking

Jackie Walter, Valentina Bandera
Contributors:
Jackie Walter, Valentina Bandera
Franklin Watts

The Peach Boy

Enid Richemont, Andy Catling
Contributors:
Enid Richemont, Andy Catling

In this retelling of a famous Japanese legend, we meet Momotaro, a boy whose mother found him inside a peach. When ogres attack his village, Momotaro bravely sets out to drive them away - with the help of his friends and some of his mother's strength-giving cakes...Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Orchard Books

Oscar the Hungry Unicorn

Lou Carter, Nikki Dyson
Contributors:
Lou Carter, Nikki Dyson

A hilariously funny tale of friendship, belonging and LOTS OF EATING from the bestselling author of There Is No Dragon in This Story. Perfect for fans of Oi Frog.WITH SUPER SPARKLY GLITTER COVER!Oscar the Unicorn has eaten his stable so he needs to find somewhere else to live. Not easy if you're a unicorn who eats everything in sight ... No one wants him around: not the pirates or the fairies or the dragons. Will Oscar ever find a place to call home? Well, it just so happens that Princess Oola has been searching for a unicorn FOR EVER ...

Franklin Watts

Double Dragons

Enid Richemont
Authors:
Enid Richemont
Franklin Watts

MORE!

Enid Richemont, Shahab Shamshirsaz
Contributors:
Enid Richemont, Shahab Shamshirsaz

When Sanjay is given a magic bowl that produces food by a kind goddess, he and his family need never be hungry again. Then the greedy Maharajah takes the bowl from him. But the Maharajah cannot control the magic and the food keeps coming... This traditional tale clearly echoes with 'The Magic Porridge Pot'.Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Franklin Watts

One Hundred Wishes

Enid Richemont, Ben Whitehouse
Contributors:
Enid Richemont, Ben Whitehouse

Miserable, old Stan lives on his own, just counting his money. And when his fairy godmother grants him three wishes, all he can think of is wishing for more wishes and greedily hoarding them. But the wishes escape, and Stan's world is about to get a whole lot brighter. This story celebrates friendship, however it may find you.Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Hodder Children's Books

Happy Easter, Tooth Fairy!

Peter Bently, Garry Parsons
Contributors:
Peter Bently, Garry Parsons
Franklin Watts

Ahmed and the New Boy

Enid Richemont, Maxine Lee
Contributors:
Enid Richemont, Maxine Lee
Wayland

I Feel Jealous

Brian Moses, Mike Gordon
Contributors:
Brian Moses, Mike Gordon

Young children experience many confusing emotions in their early years and I feel Jealous looks at the emotion jealousy, in light-hearted but ultimately reassuring way. This picture book examines how and why people get jealous, illustrates scenarios of people behaving in a jealous way, and the best way tocope with it with age-appropriate content.Ideal for home or the classroom, this book contains notes for parents and teachers with suggestions of ways to help children deal with jealousy.Filled with colourful illustrations by the every-popular, award-winning illustrator Mike Gordon.

Wayland

I'm Worried

Brian Moses, Mike Gordon
Contributors:
Brian Moses, Mike Gordon
Wayland

It Wasn't Me! - Learning About Honesty

Brian Moses
Authors:
Brian Moses
Franklin Watts

Lizzie Lizard's Long Jump

Enid Richemont
Authors:
Enid Richemont

Lizzie Lizard is great at leaping! She knows she can win the Long Jump if she can get in enough practice. Can she leap her way out of danger from some hungry animals?The Froglets series is perfect for children who are reading on their own, with fun stories of no more than 200 words.

Franklin Watts

The Night of the Were-Boy

Enid Richemont, Gustavo Mazali
Contributors:
Enid Richemont, Gustavo Mazali

There is a full moon and Frankie the cat is feeling rather strange...then something quite incredible suddenly starts to happen! Race Further with Reading is the perfect tool to build reading confidence with illustrated stories in manageable bite-size chapters, following on a level from the Race Ahead with Reading series with stories of 2,000 words.

Franklin Watts

Princess Frog

Enid Richemont
Authors:
Enid Richemont
Franklin Watts

Brownilocks and The Three Bowls of Cornflakes

Enid Richemont, Polona Lovsin
Contributors:
Enid Richemont, Polona Lovsin
Wayland

I Don't Care - Learning About Respect

Brian Moses
Authors:
Brian Moses