Siobhan Parkinson - Bruised - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444905267
    • Publication date:05 May 2011

Bruised

By Siobhan Parkinson

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

A heartbreaking story guaranteed to get into your head and your heart.

How does bruising start; is it the booze, the neglect or the slap? For Jono, it's time to act.

Julie's only little after all, and the thing is, Ma just doesn't seem capable of looking after them. Not now. Surely running is the right thing to do?

This powerful tale of one boy's mission to protect his younger sister is deftly told. Irish Children's Laureate Siobhan Parkinson is a genius wordsmith - and as a result Bruised stays within your heart long after the final confession has finished.

Biographical Notes

Siobhán Parkinson is a novelist and one of Ireland's best-known writers for children. She has won bagfuls of awards and nominations, and her books have been translated around the world. In 2010 Siobhán was appointed the first ever Irish Children's Laureate.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444903591
  • Publication date: 05 May 2011
  • Page count: 208
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
The central voice is extremely engaging. — Bookseller
'The characterisation is sharp and strong, the settings very skilfully etched, the storyline compelling ...' — Robert Dunbar
A richness and complexity. — INIS
very difficult to put down. The reader is drawn in... and needs to know how it ends. — Carousel
Believable and heart-rending story. — Independent on Sunday
**** — Books For Keeps
Hodder Children's Books

Arrowheart 2

Rebecca Sky
Authors:
Rebecca Sky
Orion Children's Books

Untitled Annabel Pitcher 1

Annabel Pitcher
Authors:
Annabel Pitcher
Hodder Children's Books

The Paper & Hearts Society

Lucy Powrie
Authors:
Lucy Powrie

A brand new series from "the Zoella of books" - all about what happens when you give up on trying to fit in in and let your weird out! You're invited to join The Paper & Hearts Society ... get ready to find your people! Tabby Brown is tired of trying to fit in with her classmates. She doesn't want to go to parties at the weekend - in fact, she would much rather snuggle up on the sofa with her favourite book. It's like she hasn't found her people ...That is until she moves to a new town where a book club, The Paper & Hearts Society, is recruiting. Tabby might just be in luck. Enough of her old "friends" who only talk to her when they need something. It's time for Quidditch themed fancy dress parties, games like "shut up and Shakespeare" ... and LOTS of chocolate. Perfect for fans of Holly Smale and Super Awkward.

Orion Children's Books

A Strange Kind of Brave

Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Authors:
Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Hodder Children's Books

The Haven

Simon Lelic
Authors:
Simon Lelic
Orchard Books

Grandma Dangerous and the Egg of Glory

Kita Mitchell
Authors:
Kita Mitchell

WARNING: DO NOT GIVE THIS BOOK TO YOUR OWN GRANDMA. SHE MIGHT GET IDEAS...Grandma demands justice!*A priceless artefact has been stolen in Russia - and Grandma Dangerous wants to find it. Nothing will stand in her way - not even some poisoned caviar, a prison break or a spot of contemporary dance. Can Ollie and Grandma return the treasure and get back home, before being caught by the politsiya? Or - worse - before Mum finds out?Praise for Book 1: "Thrills! Biscuits! This book has it all" Andy Riley, author ofKing Flashypants*And also all the teacakes

Hodder Children's Books

The Summoner's Handbook

Taran Matharu
Authors:
Taran Matharu

Delve deeper into the world of Summoner, with this beautifully designed Summoner's Handbook, complete with bumper Demonology and an exclusive new story. A must-have for all Summoner fans!Read the journal that started it all, and rediscover Vocans Academy through the eyes of the commoner, James Baker. The guide contains a fully illustrated and complete demonology and spellbook, with assorted drawings, maps, diagrams and sketches throughout! You'll learn everything a Summoner should and more.Beautifully rendered in two tone colours and full of detailed sketches, this hardback is the perfect treat for new and old fans of the New York Times bestselling SUMMONER series.

Orchard Books

Phantom

Leo Hunt
Authors:
Leo Hunt
Hodder Children's Books

The Survival Game

Nicky Singer
Authors:
Nicky Singer

In a world full of checkpoints and controls, can love and hope defy the borders? A searing, timely story, as arresting as it is beautiful. Mhairi Anne Bain owns only two things: a gun with no bullets and her identity papers. The world is a shell of what it once was. Now, you must prove yourself worthy of existence at every turn, at every border checkpoint. And if you are going to survive, your instincts will become your most valuable weapon. Mhairi has learnt the importance of living her own story, of speaking to no one. But then she meets a young boy with no voice at all, and finds herself risking everything to take him to safety. And so Mhairi and the silent boy travel the road north. But there are rumours that things in Scotland have changed since she has been away. What Mhairi finds there is shocking and heart-breaking, but might finally re-connect her to her sense of self and to the possibility of love.An extraordinary story about survival and what it costs, about the power of small kindnesses to change everything.

Hodder Children's Books

Grace and Fury

Tracy Banghart
Authors:
Tracy Banghart

Bold, brutal and beautiful, this is a must-read with the glitter and romance of The Selection and the thrilling action and intrigue of Red Queen.In a world where women have no rights, sisters Serina and Nomi face two very different fates: one in the palace, the other on an island prison where women must fight to survive. Serina has spent her whole life preparing to become a Grace - selected to stand by the heir to the throne as a shining example of the perfect woman. But her headstrong and rebellious younger sister has a dangerous secret, and one wrong move could cost both sisters everything. Can Serina fight? And will Nomi win?

Hodder Children's Books

A Boy Called Ocean

Chris Higgins
Authors:
Chris Higgins

One boy stranded at sea. One girl back on land. One ocean between them. The only thing willing him to survive is the thought of her. A romance with bite, perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Nicola Yoon.Sometimes you have to lose yourself, to find each other.Kai has always been best friends with Jen; ever since he and his mum moved to Cornwall when he was small. But now his feelings are deepening. It's ridiculous to imagine Jen would feel the same, especially since she has been hanging out with surf-pro Macca, the guy everyone fancies. Frustrated by his feelings, Kai makes a snap decision that will put his life in great danger. Stranded at sea, time is running out. With only his thoughts to occupy him, he must face some buried truths about his past. And confront his future with the girl back on shore, if he can reach it ... if the ocean doesn't take him first.

Hodder Children's Books

The Colour of the Sun

David Almond
Authors:
David Almond

This is a moving, funny and inspirational novel from the bestselling author of Skellig."The day is long, the world is wide, you're young and free."One hot summer morning, Davie steps boldly out of his front door. The world he enters is very familiar - the little Tyneside town that has always been his home - but as the day passes, it becomes ever more mysterious. A boy has been killed, and Davie thinks he might know who is responsible. He turns away from the gossip and excitement and sets off roaming towards the sunlit hills above the town.As the day goes on, the real and the imaginary start to merge, and Davie knows that neither he nor his world will ever be the same again. This an outstanding novel full of warmth and light, from a multi-award-winning author. David Almond says: 'I guess it embodies my constant astonishment at being alive in this beautiful, weird, extraordinary world.'

Orchard Books

Deception

Teri Terry
Authors:
Teri Terry

Some lies can't be forgiven ...Don't miss this startling second book in a breathtaking new trilogy from Teri Terry, queen of the teen thriller and author of the bestselling SLATED trilogy.An epidemic is sweeping the country.You are among the infected. There is no cure, and you cannot be permitted to infect others. You are now under quarantine. The 5% of the infected who survive are dangerous and will be taken into the custody of the army.As the epidemic spreads, survivors are being hunted like witches, for the authorities fear their strange new powers. Kai is desperate to trace Shay, who tricked him and disappeared. Meanwhile, Shay is searching for the truth behind the origins of the epidemic ... but danger finds them wherever they go. Can they outrun the fire? From the author of the international sensation Slated comes the second book in a powerful new story of survival and transformation; love and power.

Hodder Children's Books

Miraculous Miranda

Siobhan Parkinson
Authors:
Siobhan Parkinson

A touching new tale of hope and miracles from the award-winning Siobhan Parkinson.I love Miranda and so will you - Eoin Colfer, author of Artemis Fowl Miranda has a Big Imagination, and always wins Word of the Day at school. When her sister Gemma is taken into hospital, Miranda escapes into her own fantasy land, Magnanimous. With giraffe police, ham sandwich trees and a Crystal-Clear Glass Hospital for Getting-Better Children, Magnanimous grows and grows. As her sister gets worse, things Miranda writes seem to trigger small miracles she has been asking for: her gran stops smoking, horrible Darren Hoey is nice to her ... Can Miranda write a miracle for her sister?

Orchard Books

Contagion

Teri Terry
Authors:
Teri Terry
Orchard Books

Seven Trees of Stone

Leo Hunt
Authors:
Leo Hunt
Hodder Children's Books

Rock War

Robert Muchamore
Authors:
Robert Muchamore

Meet Jay. Summer. And Dylan. Jay plays guitar, writes songs and dreams of being a rock star. But his ambitions are stifled by seven siblings and a terrible drummer. Summer works hard at school, looks after her nan and has a one-in-a-million singing voice. But can her talent triumph over her nerves?Dylan is happiest lying on his bunk smoking, but his school rugby coach has other ideas, and Dylan reluctantly joins a band to avoid crunching tackles and icy mud.They're about to enter the biggest battle of their lives. And there's everything to play for. A spectacular start to the new series from Robert Muchamore, bestselling author of CHERUB - read on with Rock War: The Audition, a story especially written for World Book Day.

Orchard Books

Eight Rivers of Shadow

Leo Hunt
Authors:
Leo Hunt

A thrilling supernatural adventure: dark, funny, with twists at every turn. The sequel to Thirteen Days of Midnight, shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Prize 2016.Luke Manchett used to be one of the most popular boys at school.That was before his necromancer father died and left him a host of vengeful ghosts that wanted him dead.Now everyone thinks he's a freak.To make matters worse, the mysterious new girl at school is actually the daughter of his father's deadliest enemy...And she's out for revenge.

Franklin Watts

Survivors of the Holocaust

Kath Shackleton
Authors:
Kath Shackleton
Orchard Books

Thirteen Days of Midnight

Leo Hunt
Authors:
Leo Hunt