Siobhan Parkinson - Bruised - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444905267
    • Publication date:05 May 2011

Bruised

By Siobhan Parkinson

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

A heartbreaking story guaranteed to get into your head and your heart.

How does bruising start; is it the booze, the neglect or the slap? For Jono, it's time to act.

Julie's only little after all, and the thing is, Ma just doesn't seem capable of looking after them. Not now. Surely running is the right thing to do?

This powerful tale of one boy's mission to protect his younger sister is deftly told. Irish Children's Laureate Siobhan Parkinson is a genius wordsmith - and as a result Bruised stays within your heart long after the final confession has finished.

Biographical Notes

Siobhán Parkinson is a novelist and one of Ireland's best-known writers for children. She has won bagfuls of awards and nominations, and her books have been translated around the world. In 2010 Siobhán was appointed the first ever Irish Children's Laureate.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444903591
  • Publication date: 05 May 2011
  • Page count: 208
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
The central voice is extremely engaging. — Bookseller
'The characterisation is sharp and strong, the settings very skilfully etched, the storyline compelling ...' — Robert Dunbar
A richness and complexity. — INIS
very difficult to put down. The reader is drawn in... and needs to know how it ends. — Carousel
Believable and heart-rending story. — Independent on Sunday
**** — Books For Keeps
Hodder Children's Books

Devoted

Jennifer Mathieu
Authors:
Jennifer Mathieu

An empowering, feminist coming-of-age story about self-discovery, from the author of MOXIE - a Zoella Book Club book ...Rachel Walker's family and community have turned away from the world.Every part of Rachel's life is controlled, from what she reads to where she goes and what she wears. Her parents dictate how her life must be: marriage, modesty, children and obedience to her future husband. But when a former member of her community, a girl who escaped, moves back to her small Texas town, Rachel's world turns upside down.She realises that her life is her own. But can she find the courage to fight for it?

Quercus Children's Books

The Dreadful Tale of Prosper Redding

Alexandra Bracken
Authors:
Alexandra Bracken
Franklin Watts

Trans Global

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head
Wayland

Heroes of Light and Sound

Joy Lin, Alan Brown
Contributors:
Joy Lin, Alan Brown

What if you could be invisible or have super vision and hearing? You'd be a superhero BUT are these superpowers feasible in the real world? Superpower Science: Heroes of Light and Sound tells you all about the reality of these superpowers when looked at through a scientific lens.The series Superpower Science focuses on the superpowers commonly associated with superheroes and reveals just how scientifically realistic they could be to us mere humans. Each title focuses on four to seven superpowers and explains which science principles would come into action if the superpower existed and what effect these science principles would have on the body. Momentum builds through each superhero story as we question everything and clearly explain the science behind their powers as they would exist in real-life.The comic book format and vintage-looking colourful illustrations paired with quirky and humorous explanations turn what would be considered by many as dry physics principles into high interest exciting books. By pointing out the physical limitations of superpowers, the series aims to fix them, not crush children's dreams but inspire them to be interested in science. Perfect for reader aged 9 and up.

Wayland

The Superhuman Body

Joy Lin, Alan Brown
Contributors:
Joy Lin, Alan Brown
Quercus Children's Books

The Darkest Legacy

Alexandra Bracken
Authors:
Alexandra Bracken
Hodder Children's Books

Girl at Sea

Lucy Courtenay
Authors:
Lucy Courtenay
Quercus Children's Books

We Are Young

Cat Clarke
Authors:
Cat Clarke
Hodder Children's Books

The Outcast

Taran Matharu
Authors:
Taran Matharu
Wren & Rook

You Are Awesome

Matthew Syed
Authors:
Matthew Syed

This positive and empowering guide, by bestselling mindset author Matthew Syed, will help boys and girls build resilience, fulfil their potential and become successful, happy, awesome adults.I'm no good at sport ... I can't do maths ... I really struggle with exams ... Sound familiar?If you believe you can't do something, the chances are you won't try. But what if you really could get better at maths, or sport or exams? In fact, what if you could excel at anything you put your mind to?You Are Awesome can help you do just that, inspiring and empowering young readers to find the confidence to realise their potential. The first children's book from Times journalist, two-time Olympian and best-selling mindset author Matthew Syed, it uses examples of successful people from Mozart to Serena Williams to demonstrate that success really is earned rather than given, and that talent can be acquired. With hard work and determination, practice and self-belief, and, most importantly, a Growth Mindset, there's no reason why anyone can't achieve anything. Practical, insightful and positive, this is the book to help children build resilience, embrace their mistakes and grow into successful, happy adults.

Hodder Children's Books

Words in Deep Blue

Cath Crowley
Authors:
Cath Crowley
Hodder Children's Books

Movie Night

Lucy Courtenay
Authors:
Lucy Courtenay
Orchard Books

Everless

Sara Holland
Authors:
Sara Holland
Hodder Children's Books

Miraculous Miranda

Siobhan Parkinson
Authors:
Siobhan Parkinson
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Incredible Billy Wild

Joanna Nadin
Authors:
Joanna Nadin

From the author of JOE ALL ALONE - now a major CBBC series.A story about courage, sacrifice and family - and how everyone has something incredible inside of them, just waiting to be discovered. For fans of Frank Cottrell Boyce and Eva Ibbotson.This cover comes in four different colours, supplied at random. Which one will you receive?When Billy Wild's teacher asks the class to write a letter to their god, Billy's request is simple: Please send me a dog.So when he discovers a greyhound hiding in the shed, he decides someone must really be listening. With the help of his brothers, Billy sets out to hide her from Dad, who's far too stressed to add a dog to the mix. But keeping a greyhound a secret is a difficult task, and when Billy's classmate Paris enters them all in a local talent show, it becomes even harder!Billy must make a big, brave, wild decision - but it's one that might save Dog and hundreds like her. And it might just make him incredible...

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Blue Feather

Gary Crew
Authors:
Gary Crew

There's a myth in Esperance that's been around for years, apparently going as far back as the arrival of the first Europeans. Locals think there's a huge bird, big enough to carry away adult humans . . .Recurring rumours of attacks by a giant raptor lead Greg Muir to seek the truth behind the bird's existence. Is it big enough to bring down a light plane? Can it carry away human beings in its talons? Is it responsible for the mutilation of a hang-glider? A quest for a creature as fearful as it is elusive . . . Is the story of the huge bird only a myth, or is it reality? And if it is a reality, what part will it play in shaping the lives of those who search for it?Blue Feather is a stunningly crafted mystery from one of Australia's most awarded writers, Gary Crew.'A beautifully crafted novel . . . Fully satisfying.' Herald Sun

Quercus Children's Books

Wayfarer

Alexandra Bracken
Authors:
Alexandra Bracken
Quercus Children's Books

Never Fade

Alexandra Bracken
Authors:
Alexandra Bracken
Quercus Children's Books

The Darkest Minds

Alexandra Bracken
Authors:
Alexandra Bracken
Wayland

The Boys' Guide to Growing Up

Phil Wilkinson, Sarah Horne
Contributors:
Phil Wilkinson, Sarah Horne

A friendly and reassuring guide for boys as they approach puberty, explaining the changes that will happen to their bodies as they grow up and how these changes might make them feel. Covering everything from physical changes like body hair and testicle growth to emotional ones like mood swings and self-esteem, puberty and parenting expert Phil Wilkinson addresses any worries that boys might have relating to what is 'normal'. He reassures readers and boosts their confidence, encouraging them to feel positive about the changes they will experience as they go through puberty. The book also includes lifestyle advice on topics like healthy eating and exercise.Topics covered:What is puberty?Your puberty timelineHow do hormones work?The height and weight raceA deeper voiceSpotty skinHair, hair, everywhereThe art of shavingSweat, smells and personal hygieneChanges down belowMore changes down belowNew feelingsSex explainedMaking babiesKeeping your confidence upMood swingsManaging your feelingsHealthy eatingThe power of exercisePrivacy and your bodyPuberty for girlsGirls have worries, too