Caroline Lawrence - The Colossus of Rhodes - Hachette Children's Group

The Colossus of Rhodes

Book 9

By Caroline Lawrence

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The young detectives encounter their most dangerous enemy yet in this gripping ninth adventure of The Roman Mysteries.

Anxious to solve the mystery of whether his mother is still alive, and keen to follow his uncle's dying wish, Lupus and his friends sail to the island of Rhodes, site of one of the seven wonders of the ancient world - and base of a criminal mastermind!

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444003598
  • Publication date: 09 Dec 2010
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Wayland

First World War

Jon Richards, Jonathan Vipond
Contributors:
Jon Richards, Jonathan Vipond

Franklin Watts

Your Number's Up

Rob Colson
Authors:
Rob Colson

Numbers are all around us but why are they important? This book finds out what numbers are, from how we count them, to what are prime and base numbers and takes you upto the really big ones - millions, billions and to infinity and beyond. You'll also explore some really strange numbers, find out about your body in numbers and get to grips with roman numerals. Plus, there are fun quizzes to help you test your knowledge.The book is part of the Maths is Everywhere series, which demystifies all aspects of maths and shows how it relates to your everyday world with fun, colourful graphics. These are fantastic books for children aged nine plus who are studying maths, or for anyone who wants to get to grips with maths in a fun way.

Wayland

Pirates

Annalees Lim
Authors:
Annalees Lim

Franklin Watts

What are the Chances?

Rob Colson
Authors:
Rob Colson

What are statistics and how are they used? What is the golden ratio? This book explores the maths of probability and statistics and shows how it relates to the everyday world with fantastic appealing visuals.The book is part of the Maths is Everywhere series, which demystifies all aspects of maths and shows how it relates to your everyday world with fun, colourful graphics. These are fantastic books for children aged nine plus who are studying maths, or for anyone who wants to get to grips with maths in a fun way.

Wayland

Vikings

Jon Richards
Authors:
Jon Richards

History in Infographics helps children to visualise facts and statistics using a clever and appealing mix of graphics and numbers. The colourful, high-impact design will appeal to a wide range of children, from visual learners to struggling readers, capturing and then holding their attention. Infographics are a really exciting, different way to learn about core historical topics, and are ideal for fact-hungry children, revision work, and to improve the quality of presentations. History in Infographics: The Vikings allows children to explore the Viking era like never before, finding out how people lived, what they ate, what they wore, how they were ruled and the gods they worshipped. Children can discover Viking warfare, and how the Vikings traded and raided their way across Europe - travelling thousands of miles from home to found settlements in places as far away as Britain, Iceland and North America. Ideal for children of 9+, and fact and history lovers of all ages, the Vikings have never seemed more exciting!

Orion Children's Books

Emily Windsnap and the Fate of Forgotten Island

Liz Kessler
Authors:
Liz Kessler

Wayland

The Royal Family: William and Kate

Annabel Savery
Authors:
Annabel Savery
Wayland

The Royal Family: The Queen

Julia Adams
Authors:
Julia Adams

Everyone know that Britain has a Queen, but who is she and what does she do? How do you become a Queen and who will be Head of State next?This book answers these questions as well as looking at the roles of other royal family members, such as the Duke of Edinburgh, Prince Charles and William and Harry.A timeline at the back of the book shows the full history of the British Royal Family.

Hodder Children's Books

Easter Stories

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

Delight in this collection of 25 short stories, full of the buzz and excitement of spring - the perfect Easter present! This brand-new collection features a selection of twenty-five short stories, ideal for seasonal reading and sharing. Get ready for springtime adventures with these these fun, entertaining stories, ideal for newly confident readers and the perfect length for reading aloud at bedtime or in the classroom.With lots of humour and fantastic characters, these will appeal to newly confident readers as well as to younger children.Enid Blyton remains one of Britain's favourite children's authors and her bumper short story collections are perfect for introducing her to the latest generation of readers.Enid Blyton ® and Enid Blyton's signature are Registered Trademarks of Hodder and Stoughton Limited. No trademark or copyrighted material may be reproduced without the express written permission of the trademark and copyright owner.

Orion Children's Books

Dear Katie

Katie Thistleton
Authors:
Katie Thistleton

Real answers to real problems! Advice on life's tough stuff from children's TV and radio presenter Katie Thistleton.Growing up is hard. This book makes it a little bit easier. Exploring the sometimes challenging issues everyone faces as part of growing up, Katie will answer questions from real kids and teens with real issues. From falling outs with friends to disagreements with family, trouble at school to concerns about mental or physical health, Katie will cover every topic with thoughtful and emotionally sensitive advice that will resonate with readers. With additional guidance from TV and radio doctor Radha Modgil, as well as psychotherapist Sally Angel, this book is full of advice and guidance to help kids through the difficult years of growing up.

Orion Children's Books

The Trials of Morrigan Crow

Jessica Townsend
Authors:
Jessica Townsend
Orion Children's Books

The List of Real Things

Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Authors:
Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Orion Children's Books

Return to Rome

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence
Franklin Watts

Emotions and Me: A Mindfulness Guide to Exploring Emotions

Paul Christelis, Elisa Paganelli
Contributors:
Paul Christelis, Elisa Paganelli

Everyone notices the weather outside, right? But did you realise that weather occurs inside of you too? In fact, it is here right now... Outside it is hot and sunny, but Billy's internal weather is different. His gran is very sick and in the hospital. He notices that he is experiencing an emotion - sadness. Sadness, like other emotions, comes and goes. It is normal and natural, even though it might not feel pleasant. For Billy, sadness feels like a dark, cloudy day inside his body. Betty's internal weather is a little different. She also feels sad but there is a worry inside too. Worry feels like a wind that blows around in her belly making her feel scared. 'What will happen to gran? Will she get better?'The children and their friends all experience different kinds of weather: Anger (burning hot sun); Relief (a cool breeze); Delight (sun breaking through the clouds); etc.Weather is always changing. Just like emotions. And just like Billy, Betty and their friends, we can watch the changing weather inside us. Pause and look now! What's the weather doing?Mindfulness practices (exercises) are integrated into each story, and expanded on in the 'Notes to Parents and Teachers' section at the end of the books. Readers are invited to PAUSE at various points in the story to notice their own present moment experience. The four stories in the 'Mindful Me' series explore how a mindful attitude to life can enhance enjoyment, promote a sense of calm and confidence, and provide young people with a 'friend for life'. The books can be used at home or in the classroom, for storytime or as part of the PSHCE curriculum.The other titles are:Just Breathe: A Mindfulness Guide to Keeping Anger at BayIt's Beautiful Outdoors: A Mindfulness Guide to Noticing NatureSleep Easy: A Mindfulness Guide to Getting a Good Night's Sleep

Hodder Children's Books

Return to the City of Ghosts

Julian Sedgwick
Authors:
Julian Sedgwick
Hodder Children's Books

King Flashypants and the Dolls of Doom

Andy Riley
Authors:
Andy Riley

"Brilliantly original and hilarious. It's nearly as good as one of my books." DAVID WALLIAMS"Two words - such fun!" MIRANDA HART"Beautiful, inventive and laugh-out-loud funny." SUE PERKINSGreat to read aloud with children of 5+ and perfect for newly independent readers of 7+.FOO HOO HOO! King Flashypants is back for his third rib-tickling adventure. Something weird is happening in Edwinland - Emperor Nurbison isn't evil any more! He's doing stuff like smiling and making toys of himself for the peasants. Is he up to something? Probably. But what can it be?

Franklin Watts

The Ancient World

Alex Woolf
Authors:
Alex Woolf
Quercus Children's Books

The Starman and Me

Sharon Cohen
Authors:
Sharon Cohen

E.T. meets Stig of the Dump in a page-turning adventure for fans of Frank Cottrell Boyce and David Almond'A proper adventure story for all curious middle graders ... heartily recommended' The BookbagHe wasn't an alien, I was sure of that. It was more like he'd walked in through an ancient door from the past ... except he was here, in my bedroom and his misty forest was somewhere real on Planet Earth.Twelve-year-old Kofi first spots the prehistoric human on a supermarket roundabout. He is small and dark and curled into a tight ball. His name is Rorty Thrutch and he has zero memory of how he ended up in the unexceptional village of Bradborough, or why he's being hunted... Kofi soon finds out that Rorty can do amazing things. He can copy, paste and delete objects, using only the power of his mind. This is the discovery of the century and mad, greedy scientists will stop at nothing to track him down.Kofi and best friend Janie are on a mission. Not only must they protect Rorty, but they have to find his missing girlfriend Pogsy Blue, too. Our prehistoric ancestors have crashed headlong into the 21st century and time is running out to save them...THE STARMAN AND ME explores where we have come from and where we are moving to - it's about the magic of DNA, the power of identity, and the importance of caring for each other.

Franklin Watts

Fraction Frenzy

Rob Colson
Authors:
Rob Colson

What are fractions and how are they used? What is the smallest fraction ever? This book explores the maths of fractions and shows how it relates to the everyday world with fantastic appealing visuals.The book is part of the Maths is Everywhere series, which demystifies all aspects of maths and shows how it relates to your everyday world with fun, colourful graphics. These are fantastic books for children aged nine plus who are studying maths, or for anyone who wants to get to grips with maths in a fun way.

Franklin Watts

Get in Shape

Rob Colson
Authors:
Rob Colson

What is the most perfect sphere known in nature? What is pi? Why were the Great Pyramids built in that shape? Find out the answers to these questions and many more in this book about the shapes that are all around us. Once you've read all about shapes, have a go at the fun quizzes which test your knowledge.The book is part of the Maths is Everywhere series, which demystifies all aspects of maths and shows how it relates to your everyday world with fun, colourful graphics. These are fantastic books for children aged nine plus who are studying maths, or for anyone who wants to get to grips with maths in a fun way.