Rachel Bright - The Koala Who Could - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £11.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781408331637
    • Publication date:08 Sep 2016
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781408342312
    • Publication date:08 Sep 2016

The Koala Who Could

By Rachel Bright
Illustrated by Jim Field

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

Fans of The Gruffalo and Giraffes Can't Dance will love this feel-good rhyming story portraying a positive message about facing up to change

Fans of The Gruffalo and Giraffes Can't Dance will love this feelgood rhyming story portraying a positive message about facing up to change, something that young children can sometimes struggle with.

Sometimes change comes along whether we like it or not . . . but if you let it, change can be the making of you. Kevin the Koala discovers this and more in this delightful picture book from the bestselling creators of The Lion Inside!

Stylish art with Jon Klassen appeal and vibrant storytelling from two contemporary stars make this a story to shout about - it will make you laugh, cry and read it every bedtime.

WINNER of the Evening Standard Oscar's Book Prize 2017!

'Fabulous rhymes, I'm in love with Kevin and would like to buy this for all my friends' children.' Claudia Winkleman

'A feel-good rhyming tale ... Field's Australian animals are a treat' - Bookseller

Biographical Notes

Rachel Bright (Author)
Rachel Bright is a wordsmith, illustrator and professional thinker of happy thoughts. She has written several books for children, including Love Monster, The Lion Inside and The Koala Who Could - winner of the Evening Standard Oscar's Book Prize and the Sainsbury's Book Award. Her books have sold over 100,000 copies in the UK alone and been translated into over 25 languages. She is also the creator of award-winning stationery and homewares range, The Brightside. Rachel lives on a farm near the seaside, with her partner and their new baby daughter.

Jim Field (Illustrator)
Jim Field is a lead-driven, pencil-pushing, 25-frames-per-second Led Zeppelin fan. He is also a hugely talented illustrator and animation director. His first picture book Cats Ahoy! won the Booktrust Roald Dahl Funny Prize and was nominated for the Kate Greenaway award. He has since illustrated a string of bestselling, multi-award-winning children's books, including Oi Frog! and The Lion Inside, as well as young fiction series Rabbit and Bear.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781408331644
  • Publication date: 09 Feb 2017
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Orchard Books
Bright's fun rhyming narrative is perfectly complemented by Jim Field's bold illustrations in an inspiring story about Kevin the cautious koala who learns that stepping outside your comfort zone can lead to big adventures. — The Mail Online
A charming rhyming tale about a koala averse to change who discovers that taking small risks can lead to big adventures — Huffington Post
This is a joyful affirmation of adventure and is perfect for any shy, nervous readers, as well as those little ones who are a shade more rambunctious — Daily Mail
A stylish book with a reassuring message about accepting change. — Parents In Touch
This inspiring tale is about learning to let go so to discover new things. Good for bedtime, classrooms and cautious children! — South Wales Evening Post
A perfect tale for cautious children — Inis
...a wonderful, fun, joyful story to read and to share. — Caroline Horn, Reading Zone
Rachel's rhymes are sublime ... Jim Field's humorous animal illustrations are fab, fab, FAB ... a sunshiney book full of fun — ReaditDaddy
Fans of The Gruffalo and Giraffes Can't Dance will love this feelgood rhyming story portraying a positive message about facing up to change ...Stylish art with Jon Klassen appeal and vibrant storytelling from two contemporary stars make this a story to shout about - it will make you laugh, cry and read it every bedtime. — Booktopia
What delectable scenes Jim Field has created to accompany Rachel Bright's catchy, fun to read aloud, rhyming narrative — Red Reading Hub
A feel good rhyming story...good to read aloud. — Sunday Independent
The idea that you can't eradicate fear but can learn to manage it is a complex message made wodnerfully accesible. — Evening Standard