We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

A funny rhyming story about dealing with change and overcoming worries, from the bestselling creators of The Lion Inside.

In a wonderful place, at the breaking of dawn, where the breezes were soft and the sunshine was warm, a place where the creatures ran wild and played free … A Koala called Kevin clung to a tree.

Meet Kevin. A koala who likes to keep things the same. Exactly the same. But sometimes change comes along whether we like it or not… And, as Kevin discovers, if you step outside your comfort zone and try new things, you might just surprise yourself!

WINNER of the Sainsbury’s Book Award and the Evening Standard Oscar’s Book Prize!

‘Fabulous rhymes, I’m in love with Kevin and would like to buy this for all my friends’ children.’ Claudia Winkleman

‘A feel-good rhyming tale . . . Field’s Australian animals are a treat’ – Bookseller

Reviews

A stylish book with a reassuring message about accepting change.
Parents In Touch
A charming rhyming tale about a koala averse to change who discovers that taking small risks can lead to big adventures
Huffington Post
A perfect tale for cautious children
Inis
Fans of The Gruffalo and Giraffes Can't Dance will love this feelgood rhyming story portraying a positive message about facing up to change ...Stylish art with Jon Klassen appeal and vibrant storytelling from two contemporary stars make this a story to shout about - it will make you laugh, cry and read it every bedtime.
Booktopia
What delectable scenes Jim Field has created to accompany Rachel Bright's catchy, fun to read aloud, rhyming narrative
Red Reading Hub
Rachel's rhymes are sublime ... Jim Field's humorous animal illustrations are fab, fab, FAB ... a sunshiney book full of fun
ReaditDaddy
This is a joyful affirmation of adventure and is perfect for any shy, nervous readers, as well as those little ones who are a shade more rambunctious
Daily Mail
This inspiring tale is about learning to let go so to discover new things. Good for bedtime, classrooms and cautious children!
South Wales Evening Post
...a wonderful, fun, joyful story to read and to share.
Caroline Horn, Reading Zone
Bright's fun rhyming narrative is perfectly complemented by Jim Field's bold illustrations in an inspiring story about Kevin the cautious koala who learns that stepping outside your comfort zone can lead to big adventures.
The Mail Online
There was nothing I disliked in this. This is an amazing book, you should definitely try it.
Evening Echo (Cork)