Mick Manning and Brita Granström - Let's Build A House: A book about buildings and materials - Hachette Children's Group

Let's Build A House: A book about buildings and materials

By Mick Manning and Brita Granström

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

Wonderwise books bridge the gap between stories and facts, perfect for building children's love of learning and reading.

Let's Build a House! But what sort of a house should it be? And what do we need to build it? It could be a shack on a beach, or it could be a skyscraper. Try building a bungalow or even a castle! Join in the imaginative play as a group of children plan their houses and discover the materials and techniques needed to build them.

The Wonderwise series presents facts in a way that will inspire young children's imaginations about the world around them. Wonderwise is an award-winning series of information books, perfect for introducing younger children to non-fiction. The books include updated notes and activities to support the new primary curriculum.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445128993
  • Publication date: 09 Oct 2014
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
Franklin Watts

School

Sarah Ridley
Authors:
Sarah Ridley
Franklin Watts

Pastimes and Toys

Sarah Ridley
Authors:
Sarah Ridley
Franklin Watts

Heroes Who Help Us From Around the World

Liz Gogerly, Ryan Wheatcroft
Contributors:
Liz Gogerly, Ryan Wheatcroft

Think of a person who does a heroic job. Perhaps you're thinking of a firefighter who puts out burning buildings, or a doctor who makes sick people better? These people are definitely heroes, but our world is full of lots of amazing people who's job it is to help us. From police officers to park rangers, from lifeguards to librarians and from vets to volunteers, the heroes who help us are everywhere!Stunning artwork of our heroes in action is accompanied by easy-to-read text, which is great for sharing with your child as they learn to read, or for more confident readers who can read alone.A truly inclusive and positive book, Heroes Who Help Us represents the diversity of people on our planet and celebrates Earth's infinite varieties of race, gender, ethnicity and abilities. Perfect for children aged 5+ who are learning about values and citizenship, and for curious minds eager to find out a little more about the amazing people in our world.

Franklin Watts

Barack Obama

Stephen White-Thomson
Authors:
Stephen White-Thomson

Find out about the life of Barack Obama from his childhood and education to how he became President of the United States and what he achieved. For children following Book Bands, it is suitable for children reading at band 9, gold.The Info Buzz series, for age 5+, helps children develop their knowledge and understanding of the world by covering a wide range of topics in a fun, colourful and interactive way. The books have a lively design, engaging text and photos, questions to get children thinking and talking and teaching notes. Each title is written in conjunction with a literacy consultant and features book band guidance and downloadable activity sheets online.

Franklin Watts

Oprah Winfrey

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell
Orchard Books

Oscar the Hungry Unicorn

Lou Carter, Nikki Dyson
Contributors:
Lou Carter, Nikki Dyson

A hilariously funny tale of friendship, belonging and LOTS OF EATING from the bestselling author of There Is No Dragon in This Story. Perfect for fans of Oi Frog.WITH SUPER SPARKLY GLITTER COVER!Oscar the Unicorn has eaten his stable so he needs to find somewhere else to live. Not easy if you're a unicorn who eats everything in sight ... No one wants him around: not the pirates or the fairies or the dragons. Will Oscar ever find a place to call home? Well, it just so happens that Princess Oola has been searching for a unicorn FOR EVER ...

Wayland

Human Body

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Authors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Orchard Books

Shelley the Sherbet Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Franklin Watts

The Story of Paintings

Mick Manning, Brita Granström
Contributors:
Mick Manning, Brita Granström
Franklin Watts

How Should I Behave?

Mick Manning, Brita Granström
Authors:
Mick Manning, Brita Granström
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Patchwork Bike

Maxine Beneba Clarke, Van T Rudd
Contributors:
Maxine Beneba Clarke, Van T Rudd
Franklin Watts

What's My Family Tree?

Mick Manning, Brita Granström
Authors:
Mick Manning, Brita Granström

A lively, friendly introduction to the idea families by the award-winning team of Mick Manning and Brita GranströmThe book does not just explain straightforward connections like uncle or sister, but also sensitively introduces the idea of step-families, half-brothers and even adoption. The book celebrates the family in all its forms, encouraging not only a respect for your relatives but also other families around you, recognizing that no one family is the same. This book is one in a loosely-related series by award-winners Mick Manning and Brita Granstrom which takes an informative but friendly look at some of concerns of young children that relate to their immediate world and which they need to understand as part of 'growing up'. In doing so, they also provide an indispensable resource for any parent or teacher who is helping children understand these issues. Perfect for readers ages 7 and up.

Franklin Watts

How Will I Grow?

Mick Manning, Brita Granström
Authors:
Mick Manning, Brita Granström

A sensitive but straightforward introduction to how we change from a baby into an adult. Find out how bones grow; why our milk teeth fall out and what we need to do to be strong and healthy. Friendly questions and answers also explore what happens to boys and girls when they reach puberty, from how your body changes to falling in love. Sharing this book is the perfect, child-friendly way to answer those difficult questions about growing up. Perfect for readers aged 7 and up.

Franklin Watts

The Story of Britain

Mick Manning, Brita Granström
Authors:
Mick Manning, Brita Granström

This sumptious book is a wonderful first-introduction to British history. Masters of illustrated non-fiction, Mick Manning and Brita Granström tell the story of Britain from the Stone Age up to the present in a truly integrated narrative of text and illustration. It moves throughs the Iron Age, Stonehenge, the Celts, the Romans and the Anglo-Saxons and Vikings, then on to the marvels of the Medieval era, the Tudors and Stuarts, the Industrial Revolution, the Victorians and the 20th century right up to the modern day. The exciting story is supplemented by many amazing facts and introduces key figures from kings, queens and military leaders to scientists, artists and writers. History doesn't have to be horrible - here it is gripping, fascinating and fun!

Franklin Watts

The Brontës – Children of the Moors

Mick Manning, Brita Granström
Authors:
Mick Manning, Brita Granström

Produced to coincide with 200th anniversary of the birth of Charlotte Brontë, this book introduces the three extraordinary Brontë sisters: Charlotte, Emily and Anne. We also meet their brother Branwell. With a mix of strong story-telling and wonderful illustration, Mick Manning and Brita Granström relate the sister's tragically short lives in the remote village of Haworth in the Yorkshire Dales. They explore how the girls were inspired to become writers and the sensation their books caused when people realised they had been written by women. Each of the sister's greatest novels, Jane Eyre (Charlotte), The Tenant of Wildfell Hall (Anne) and Wuthering Heights (Emily), are simply retold in engaging comic-strip form.The illustrations and text of this book really capture the life of the children of the moors and how the magic and wildness of their surroundings inspired their work. It is perhaps not surprising as Mick Manning was born and brought up in Haworth and, as a child, even played a shepherd boy in a BBC adapation of Wuthering Heights.

Hodder Children's Books

Emily Brown and the Elephant Emergency

Cressida Cowell, Neal Layton
Contributors:
Cressida Cowell, Neal Layton
Franklin Watts

Yum Yum: A book about food chains

Mick Manning, Brita Granström
Authors:
Mick Manning, Brita Granström

Yum Yum! is a book about munching, scrunching and slurping - in fact it's a book about eating. It's also about being part of a chain - the food chain in which every living thing plays a part. Discover who hunts and who's hunted, who eats and who gets eaten.Wonderwise is an award-winning series of information books that present facts in a way that will inspire young children's imaginations about the world around them. A perfect introduction to non-fiction for children aged 3+ by Mick Manning and Brita Granstrom. The books include notes and activities to support the primary curriculum.

Franklin Watts

What If?: A book about recycling

Mick Manning, Brita Granström
Authors:
Mick Manning, Brita Granström

What happens to an empty bottle? It can be left on the ground where it might become a trap for small animals, or smashed into dangerous pieces of sharp glass. But what if the bottle was put into a recycling bin...? What if you had an empty bottle? What would you do with it?The Wonderwise series presents facts in a way that will inspire young children's imaginations about the world around them.

Franklin Watts

The World Is Full Of Babies: A book about human and animal babies

Mick Manning, Brita Granström
Authors:
Mick Manning, Brita Granström

The World is Full of Babies! is an enchanting look at babies everywhere, and how they grow and develop. Polar bear cubs, baby bats, piglets, even tiny turtles are all here and we learn that like human babies they make a lot of noise, get hungry and they love to play games. But, as they grow, we find out that while all babies are very alike they are also surprisingly different.The Wonderwise series presents facts in a way that will inspire young children's imaginations about the world around them.

Franklin Watts

Wild and Free: A book about animals in danger

Mick Manning, Brita Granström
Authors:
Mick Manning, Brita Granström

Imagine a world without tigers roaring and prowling in the dead of night, a world without rhinos gallumphing along the dusty African plains or a world without whales singing their song in the oceans. Wild and Free is all about animals in danger - animals that are hunted or poisoned or chased from their homes. Discover how creatures live wild and free, and then imagine a world without wildlife.The Wonderwise series presents facts in a way that will inspire young children's imaginations about the world around them.