Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Summoner: The Outcast

Summoner: The Outcast

The highly anticipated prequel to the New York Times bestselling Summoner trilogy – if you like Pokemon and wish you went to Hogwarts, you’ll love this fantasy world from Wattpad sensation Taran Matharu.

Arcturus is just an orphaned stable boy when he accidentally summons a demon. As Hominum’s first common summoner, he becomes the key to a secret that the powerful nobility would do anything to keep hidden.

He is immediately whisked away to Vocans Academy where the lost arts of summoning, spell craft and demonology are taught to the noble children of the Empire. In no time, Arcturus finds himself surrounded by enemies as noble teachers and students question his right to be there.

But before he can even attempt to make friends, his life is turned upside down once again, for the Empire is in turmoil. Rebellion is simmering among the masses, and it will not be long before it boils over. Arcturus must choose a side . . . or watch the Empire crumble

Set before the events of SUMMONER: The Novice this is the perfect introduction to the New York Times bestselling SUMMONER series.
Read More

Genre: Children's, Teenage & Educational / Children's / Teenage Fiction & True Stories / Fantasy & Magical Realism (children's

On Sale: 3rd May 2018

Price: £7.99

ISBN-13: 9781444939071

Reviews

Praise for The Summoner series: The pace is so fast and so thrilling that even less than regular readers will be hooked
Guardian
Fantasy lovers will love the demonic detail
Sunday Express
Praise for The Outcast: This prequel to the bestselling Summoner series is an excellent introduction to the world of Hominum for new readers, and a welcome "what happened before?" for fans of the trilogy. Matharu combines a tight, thrilling, page-turning battle fantasy with a sensitive consideration of class, government and corruption, and what it means to have power, both within and without wealth and privilege.Perfect for fans of Lord of the Rings, Pokemon, Skyrim and Harry Potter.
BookTrust
Brilliant and colourful...This superb story, with strong characters and a narrative which both flows with its sweeping backdrop and draws brilliant details, now deserves all the success that will come its way
The School Librarian
Influenced by Harry Potter, the Lord of the Rings and video games, it appeals to fans of all of these
The Sunday Times