Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Crystal Run: The Crystal Run

Crystal Run: The Crystal Run

The gripping children’s debut from the Sunday Times and Irish Times No. 1 bestselling author is a page-turning fantasy quest novel for fans of Cornelia Funke, Susan Cooper and Philip Pullman.

‘I am proud to die for Carcassia,’ said Kaia. ‘All Runners have a special place in our world, in our history.’

Kaia Kukura has been awarded the great honour of protecting her country, and is determined to bring wealth and glory to her family. She must travel through enemy territory to replace the precious Kerala crystals that power Carcassia’s protective shield. But no Runner is permitted to return after their mission. When Kaia has
fulfilled her Runner’s oath, she knows her life must end.

But sometimes it takes an outsider, someone from a different world, to question the truth.

Fourteen-year-old Joe can barely outrun the school bullies who torment him daily. Cornered yet again, he tries to escape – and finds himself falling through a portal into another world. There, he meets fierce and strong Kaia. Together they discover that not everyone in Carcassia can be trusted – and that there are terrible
lies at the heart of Kaia’s beloved home.

Can their combined strength and skill help Kaia save her country and herself? And will Joe ever find a way back to his own world?
Read More

Genre: Children's, Teenage & Educational / Children's / Teenage Fiction & True Stories / Science Fiction (children's

On Sale: 19th May 2016

Price: £6.99

ISBN-13: 9781444927078

Reviews

O'Flanagan's writing is crisp and concise and her plotting deft
Belfast Telegraph
This atmospheric YA debut from a bestselling novelist brims with all the hallmarks of a classic fantasy quest - a vividly evoked world, heart-rending conflict, compelling action - and the friendship that blossoms between Kaia and Joe makes their mission all the more powerful.
Joanne Owen, Love Reading 4 Kids
Intriguing hints that all it not what it seems within Kanabia
SFX Magazine
Will appeal to youngsters who enjoy reading about dangerous quests
Sunday Independent
Well-written, with a strong plot and excellent characters, this book gives us an exciting, classic-style fantasy filled with intrigue
Inis