Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Starman and Me

The Starman and Me

E.T. meets Stig of the Dump in a page-turning adventure for fans of Frank Cottrell Boyce and David Almond

‘A proper adventure story for all curious middle graders … heartily recommended’ The Bookbag

*Highly commended for the
Branford Boase Award 2018, shortlisted for the Essex Book Awards 2018, the East Sussex Children’s Book Awards 2019 and nominated for the Northern Ireland Book Award 2019*

He wasn’t an alien, I was sure of that. It was more like he’d walked in through an ancient door from the past … except he was here, in my bedroom and his misty forest was somewhere real on Planet Earth.

Twelve-year-old Kofi first spots the prehistoric human on a supermarket roundabout. He is small and dark and curled into a tight ball. His name is Rorty Thrutch and he has zero memory of how he ended up in the unexceptional village of Bradborough, or why he’s being hunted…

Kofi soon finds out that Rorty can do amazing things. He can copy, paste and delete objects, using only the power of his mind. This is the discovery of the century and mad, greedy scientists will stop at nothing to track him down.

Kofi and best friend Janie are on a mission. Not only must they protect Rorty, but they have to find his missing girlfriend Pogsy Blue, too. Our prehistoric ancestors have crashed headlong into the 21st century and time is running out to save them…

THE STARMAN AND ME explores where we have come from and where we are moving to – it’s about the magic of DNA, the power of identity, and the importance of caring for each other.
Read More

Genre: Children's, Teenage & Educational / Children's / Teenage Fiction & True Stories / Science Fiction (children's

On Sale: 10th August 2017

Price: £6.99

ISBN-13: 9781786540089

Reviews

An enjoyable read with a heart-warming ending
Peters Books
this is an astonishing story, a lyrical and beautiful work of art
Armadillo Magazine
ET and Dobby meet Stig of the Dump in this page turning adventure
Essex Book Awards 2018 - Shortlisted Title
The blend of archaeology and neuroscience makes this a compelling premise. This debut offer much food for thought for readers of nine-plus.
Irish Times
This is a really engaging book about friendship and courage that has plenty of cliffhangers. It really kept me on my toes. I finished it in a day.
Oscar, 11, National Geographic Kids
[Sharon Cohen] has woven the story of Kofi and Rorty and filled it with fabulous and inspiring information about science, the ways in which identities form us, and the importance of friendship and care for others. It's truly lovely.
The Bookbag
At no point in the stroy did I think about putting this book down! Lovers of fantasy or sc-fi will find this book out of this world!
Scoop
This is a fascinating story with quite disturbing undertones to really make us analyse the way we look at, and treat, others. With plenty of humour and pathos, it touches all our emotions and has enough twists to keep us gripped to the end.
Primary Times