Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Mariella Mystery: The Disappearing Dinner Lady

Mariella Mystery: The Disappearing Dinner Lady

The seventh novel from the MacMillan Prize for Picture Book Illustration’s winner Kate Pankhurst. The perfect book for 7-9 yr olds who love funny stories with quirky illustrations like DIARY OF A WIMPY KID, the DORK DIARIES and CLARICE BEAN.
Mariella Mystery (That’s me!) – totally amazing girl detective, aged 9 and a bit. Able to solve the most mysterious mysteries and perplexing problems, even before breakfast.

After much a loved dinner lady, Diana Dumpling, vanishes from the school kitchens, Mariella and the Mystery Girls set out to investigate. They must find Diana and save their school dinners – but will they able to get to the bottom of this bizarre disappearance?
Read More

Reviews

the stories are ideal for building stamina in newly independent readers.
BOOKS FOR KEEPS
Illustrated throughout with Kate Pankhurst's quirky, charismatic artwork, and containing lots of tips for aspiring young sleuths, covering everything from setting up your own detective headquarters to undercover surveillance, the first book in the Mariella Mystery series is perfect for children who are beginning to develop confidence with chapter books. Pankhurst puts her own fun, tongue-in-cheek spin on the coventions of the detective story to create a lively and enjoyable story that young readers will find irresistible.
BOOKTRUST
Wittily told in words and pictures, Mariella Mystery, a totally amazing nine year detective, sets about following clues in an entertaining and action packed adventure.
LOVEREADING
Fans of Clarice Bean, Dork Diaries and Tom Gates will love this seventh title in the series about young detective Mariella Mystery - there's no mystery too mysterious, no problem too perplexing!
LOVEREADING4KIDS
The Disappearing Dinner Lady is another entertaining tale in the Mariella Mystery series and is set against the backdrop of the upcoming school play, the Princess and the Pea. The book is written in the familiar quirky style, complete with extracts from Mariella's diaries, operations notes, hints and tips and very funny illustrations.
THE BOOKBAG