We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Where Do You Go, Birdy Jones?

Where Do You Go, Birdy Jones?

From the author of JOE ALL ALONE – a BAFTA winning and Emmy nominated CBBC series.

A story about finding yourself when everything changes and believing that love never runs out. Perfect for fans of A Boy called Hope and Jacqueline Wilson.

Eleven-year-old Birdy Jones is all alone. She doesn’t belong at school, at home, or even with her dad anymore. The only place she feels like herself is at her grandpa’s pigeon loft, where the familiar warmth and birdsong block out the world. It’s also where she meets Dogger – her only friend and the one person who really seems to know where she’s coming from.

Birdy used to be happy, when it was just her and Dad, but now she has a stepmum, a little sister, and another baby on the way. Worse, her growing family needs to move house, but Birdy doesn’t believe there’ll ever be enough room for her in Dad’s busy life – and she can’t leave Grandpa and the pigeons. She won’t.

Birdy dreams of a different family and future, and with Dogger’s help she decides to find one – even if it means running away from everything she’s ever known. But sometimes you need to fly away to find your way home again . . .
Read More

Genre: Children's, Teenage & Educational / Children's / Teenage Fiction & True Stories / Family & Home Stories (children's

On Sale: 12th July 2018

Price: £6.99

ISBN-13: 9781510201279

Reviews

'A tender, unsentimental adventure, filled with family ties, love and courage'
Guardian on THE INCREDIBLE BILLY WILD
'A real boy's voice, nailed hard to a tale rich with wrong decisions, hopeless plans and stabs at redemption. I loved it'
Steve Cole on JOE ALL ALONE
'An insightful, gripping, character-driven novel about peer pressure and the conflict between wanting to fit in and standing up for yourself ... As the novel builds to a tense, emotional climax, you'll be on the edge of your seat'
Joanne Owen - LoveReading4Kids - on WHITE LIES, BLACK DARE
A story about finding yourself when everything changes.
The Bookseller
I don't mind admitting that I bawled my eyes out over Where Do You Go, Birdy Jones? It's just so lovely and heartfelt and genuine [...] There's so much to love about this story [...] I won't forget Birdy Jones for a long time.
Jill Murphy, The Book Bag
A great tale of home, homing birds and belonging . . . drenched in atmosphere . . . full of heart
BITE-SIZE BOOKS
This is such a lovely story and Birdy is a wonderfully strong girl [...] It's enough to make you cry.
The Bookwitch (blog)
Insightful and perceptive, this is an excellent read about contemporary issues with superb characters and thought-provoking scenarios.
Parents in Touch
A poignant story of family, friendship and the things that matter, with an audacious heroine
Guardian