Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Black Flamingo

The Black Flamingo

“Intensely moving and heart-warming” Cosmo
“Bold” Guardian
“I loved every word” Malorie Blackman

This is not about being ready, it’s not even about being fierce, or fearless, IT’S ABOUT BEING FREE.

Michael waits in the stage wings, wearing a pink wig, pink fluffy coat and black heels.

One more step will see him illuminated by spotlight.

He has been on a journey of bravery to get here, and he is almost ready to show himself to the world in bold colours …

Can he emerge as The Black Flamingo?

WINNER OF THE STONEWALL BOOK AWARD
SHORTLISTED FOR THE CILIP CARNEGIE MEDAL
SHORTLISTED FOR THE JHALAK BOOK PRIZE

*The paperback edition has beautiful gold foil added to the striking cover design*

Read More

Genre: Children's, Teenage & Educational / Personal & Social Issues (children's

On Sale: 8th August 2019

Price: £7.99

ISBN-13: 9781444948592

Reviews

The short lines give Michael's story an epigrammatic quality and an urgent pace that is deeply involving. A compact hardback edition, it has been beautifully produced by Hodder
Financial Times
Celebratory and passionate, Atta's bold verse novel calls to its readers to find their own blazing, performative inner truth
The Guardian
Ultimately inspiring
Irish Times
A moving coming-of-age story, written with heart and panache
Irish Independent
A powerful and revealing young adult novel...bold, tender and full of blossoming moments of heartache and joy
Attitude
One of poetry's greatest modern voices...The Black Flamingo is a powerful coming-of-age story about finding who you are, all told in beautifully-written verse...with an overarching message of embracing who you are and showing your true colours in the world that often imposes mundanity, it's a book that anyone can appreciate
Gay Times
A force to be reckoned with, and a voice that demands to be heard
PRIDE magazine
A deeply moving story of love, self belief and identity. It is a wonderfully honest and moving read - perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo and Sarah Crossan. told through beautifully constructed poetry, this is the coming of age story of Michael, a mixed race gay teen. Readers will be completely absorbed by Michael's personal journey, and will laugh, cry and cheer for him
The Scotsman
Beautifully constructed poetry
Scottish Booktrust
A gorgeous and moving first person exploration of sexuality, poetry, blackness and love...a nuanced piece of freeform verse that oozes with warmth, insight and forgiveness...a beautiful piece of work, filled with love and insight and words I would have longed to read as a teenager/20-something and still to hear them again as an adult
The Queer Review
Readers won't be left disappointed
The Queerness
Uplifting and dazzlingly unique
LoveReading4Kids
Big hearted and dizzyingly flamboyant
Achuka
Beautiful, sharp, bold and utterly original
Book Riot
An excellent book to spark discussions, break down barriers, open peoples eyes to other lives
Independent Book Review
One of our top reads this year
Just Imagine
This book felt both quiet and ferociously loud and proud at the same time, tackling deep emotions and giving me frequent goosebumps. It tackles toxic masculinity, internalised homophobia and racism with thought-provoking, phenomenal writing that utterly entranced me
Suffolk Libraries
A fierce, poetic, moving coming-of-age story...There's plenty of fabulous, rousing scenes to inspire, amuse and move. Lyrical, direct, honest and witty, The Black Flamingo is a breath-taking exploration of race, identity, sexuality and gender
Pen & inc.
This incredibly raw debut novel excellently captures internal struggles of growing up and learning to find your voice. Written in verse, this is one that is sure to make you shed a tear.
Grazia