Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Summer of Us

The Summer of Us

Five friends. Five cities. Two complicated love stories . . . The perfect read for fans of Jennifer E Smith and Sara Barnard.

Aubrey and Rae have been planning their European tour since the moment they met. It was meant to be the perfect way to spend their last summer together before university, but now it’s not just the two of them . . .

There’s Jonah, Aubrey’s seemingly perfect boyfriend, and Gabe, who Aubrey may have accidentally kissed. Then there’s Clara, the friend Rae is crushing on, hard, even though there’s no hope because Clara is into guys, not girls. And on top of all that Aubrey and Rae’s friendship appears to be falling apart. Things are more complicated at eighteen than they were at ten.

Set off on a romantic adventure that embraces warm summer nights, the thrill of first kisses and the bittersweet ache of saying goodbye to the past.
Read More

Genre: Children's, Teenage & Educational / Children's / Teenage Fiction & True Stories / Romance & Relationships Stories (children's

On Sale: 14th June 2018

Price: £7.99

ISBN-13: 9781510200845

Reviews

This book is simply utter perfection. [...] beautiful, full of meaning, full of adventure and for me full of dreams.[...] The Summer of Us is the perfect YA contemporary of 2018 and one of the best ones I've read in a long time.
Never Judge a Book By It's Cover
The atmospheric descriptions of the places they visit (and drink in), such as Amsterdam, Prague, and Florence, and the nuanced characterizations lend expansiveness to a plot that might otherwise have become a simple coming-of-age romance... A transformative odyssey of self-discovery
Kirkus Reviews
This tale about a teenage road trip makes ideal holiday reading.
Sunday Express
Readers who enjoy art history are in for treat with this book. The story's setting takes on the part of a sixth character and gives worn tropes a fresh new spin. Older teens will relate to Rae and Aubrey as they are likely making some of the same life choices. The emotions play out perfectly with the backdrop of romantic monuments, gritty bars, and elegant cafes.
SLJ
'Gives worn tropes a fresh new spin . . . emotions play out perfectly with the backdrop of romantic monuments, gritty bars, and elegant cafes.'
School Librarian Journal
It's summer romance at its best [..] From the anxiety to the wonderful sense of freedom, this story captures both mood and friendship perfectly.
Read by Jess (blog)
I adore this book. It was so fun [...] The perfect book to read this summer!
Beth, The Reader's Corner
Praise for Seven Days of You: How hard am I crushing on Seven Days Of You? I'm crying, laughing, aching, and squealing all at once. I would live in this book if I could
Becky Albertalli, author of SIMON VS THE HOMOSAPIENS AGENDA
The Summer of Us is a perfect Summer read, it's all about growing up, friendships, relationships and realising that life usually has other plans, no matter how much you try to plan everything out. Life always has a different idea, doesn't it?
Autumn Frost