We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

London is at war and as the Blitz rages, children like Josie and her brother Len face the same dangers as the adults. Can they find the strength to stand up against the onslaught?

A tale of amazing bravery, inspired by the true story of the Dead End Kids of Wapping – young people who fought fires and rescued their friends and neighbours from bomb sites. Perfect for fans of Michael Morpurgo, this dramatic story brings the Second World War vividly to life.

Reviews

Award-winning author Bernard Ashley writes for young readers with such clarity, bringing the characters' lives into sharp focus
Coventry Telegraph
Superbly written, you are really drawn into the horror of the time and will marvel at the resilience shown by Londoners, young and old
Parents In Touch
Bernard Ashley's vivid descriptions take the reader into the heart of the East End in wartime
Books for Keeps