Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

They Saw Too Much

They Saw Too Much

Two teenagers witness a murder – and now they’re the next targets. An action-packed, edge-of-your-seat YA thriller from bestselling author, Alan Gibbons. Gripping and gritty, perfect for fans of Kevin Brooks, Patrice Lawrence and Malorie Blackman.

Sixteen-year-old John has moved away from the tough inner-city neighbourhood he grew up in and started afresh. Ceri James is the guarded girl from the children’s home who has captivated his attention. But when their lives are thrown together, it’s not in the way John had hoped. They witness a man die.

Not only are they eye-witnesses of the fatal shooting, but John caught the whole thing on camera – and the culprits know it. Now, John and Ceri must run for their lives in a deadly, heart-stopping chase that leads them in dark and ever more dangerous directions.

So why does John refuse to call the police? As secrets are revealed and loyalties doubted, John and Ceri’s world hinges on one question – when it’s a matter of life or death, who can you really trust?
Read More

Reviews

Alan Gibbons has written a compelling novel of courage and conscience amidst the terrors of our time.
Beverley Naidoo, Carnegie Medal-winning author on THE TRAP
Very few authors would have the expertise to so beautifully capture such difficult emotions without making the novel an explicit one.
THE GUARDIAN on HATE
Wonderfully fast paced, thrilling ... as good as it gets in British teen fiction ... Authentic and unflinching, it is a novel you have to read.
Bali Rai, award-winning author on THE TRAP
Some books can change the world for the better - this is one of them. All young people should be advised to read it.
THE SUN on HATE
This novel will take you to the edge of your comfort zone and beyond - a compelling, powerful read.
Cathy Cassidy on THE TRAP