Related to: 'Oi Duck-billed Platypus'

Author Spotlight with Graham Marks

David Melling

David Melling is the international bestselling author and illustrator who first came to our attention with the critically acclaimed The Kiss That Missed, and whose The Tale of Jack Frost went from page to animated TV feature, voiced by Hugh Laurie. Here he talks to Graham Marks about how he became a children’s book illustrator, his influences, his passions and why he loves Twitter…

Hodder Children's Books

Think Big

Kes Gray, Nathan Reed
Contributors:
Kes Gray, Nathan Reed
Hodder Children's Books

The Grerks at No. 55

Kes Gray, Chris Jevons
Contributors:
Kes Gray, Chris Jevons

Nelly isn't scared of monsters. In fact, she babysits for them. From the bestselling author of the OI FROG! and DAISY books comes this hilarious, action-packed series for fans of THE BOLDS and BARRY LOSER.'If monsters are real, how come I've never seen one?''Because they never go out.''Why don't monsters ever go out?''Because they can never get a babysitter.'Ever played catch with a six-legged Gog, or made pancakes with an oozy orange Squurm? Every time Nelly rings on a new monster family's doorbell she's up for a new challenge. Come on her monster-sitting adventures in this laugh-out-loud funny first book in the NELLY THE MONSTER SITTER series. Kes Gray is one of the Independent's top ten children's authors, and winner of the Red House Children's Book Award.This story now comes with brand-new illustrations; it was previously published in a collection entitled: Grerks, Squurms & Water Greeps.

Hodder Children's Books

The Night Before the Night Before Christmas

Kes Gray, Claire Powell
Contributors:
Kes Gray, Claire Powell

Inspired by Clement C. Moore's classic festive poem, this hilarious Christmas tale is sure to have you ho ho ho-ing - written by the bestselling author of Oi Frog!.Santa is ever so busy in the run up to Christmas - he's got presents to wrap, reindeer to wake and a sleigh to start. But has he forgotten something? And will he be ready in time?'Twas the night before the night before Christmas(That's Christmas Eve Eve)And Santa was wiping his brow on his sleeve.Green elves were sewing,Blue elves were counting,Red elves were carving,The pressure was mounting! Kes Gray is a bestselling, multi award-winning author of more than 70 books for children. Oi Frog!, Oi Dog! and Oi Cat! are a top ten bestselling series. Oi Dog! was shortlisted for the Sainsbury's Children's Book Award and the British Book Awards in 2016, amongst others. It also won the Teach Primary New Children's Fiction Award, MadeForMums Award, Bishop's Stortford Picture Book Award and Portsmouth Picture Book Award. Oi Cat! was the Independent Booksellers Children's Book of the Season and Oi Goat! is a World Book Day book in 2018.

Hodder Children's Books

Seaside Sprint!

Mo Farah, Kes Gray, Marta Kissi
Contributors:
Mo Farah, Kes Gray, Marta Kissi

From Olympic gold medal winner Mo Farah and bestselling author of Oi Frog!, Kes Gray, comes a fun fiction series which will get kids reading, and running too!Mo and his friends pack a lunch and head to the seaside for their next running adventure. It's a good job they have good trainers to run along the beach. But what's that? Could it really be a sea monster? RUN!Follow Mo on his madcap adventures as his running skills go from strength to strength.The perfect book to share and read aloud.The nation watched with bated breath as Mo Farah seized Olympic gold in the 10,000m and 5000m - he's been a national treasure ever since. In this adventurous series father of three, Mo Farah, combines two lifelong passions - literacy and exercise.Children's books by Mo Farah: Ready Steady Mo, Go Mo Go: Monster Mountain Chase!, Go Mo Go: Dinosaur Dash!, Go Mo Go: Seaside Sprint!

Hodder Children's Books

Oi Goat!

Kes Gray, Jim Field
Contributors:
Kes Gray, Jim Field
Hodder Children's Books

Ready Steady Mo!

Mo Farah, Kes Gray, Marta Kissi
Contributors:
Mo Farah, Kes Gray, Marta Kissi

From Olympic gold medal winner Mo Farah and bestselling author of Oi Frog!, Kes Gray, comes a fun and action-packed picture book that will get kids reading, and running too!So, what are you waiting for? Warm up, do the MOBOT, and then ...Run on the pavementRun on the grassRun in the playgroundPerhaps not in class!Follow Mo on his madcap adventures as his running skills go from strength to strength.The perfect book to share and read aloud. With vibrant illustrations and a rhyming text. The nation watched with bated breath as Mo Farah seized Olympic gold in the 10,000m and 5000m - he's been a national treasure ever since. In this adventurous picture book father of three, Mo Farah, combines two lifelong passions - literacy and exercise.Children's books by Mo Farah: Ready Steady Mo!, Go Mo Go: Monster Mountain Chase!, Go Mo Go: Dinosaur Dash!, Go Mo Go: Seaside Sprint!

Hodder Children's Books

Oi Frog!

Kes Gray, Jim Field
Contributors:
Kes Gray, Jim Field
Hodder Children's Books

Pedro Has a Bump!

Kes Gray, Mary Mcquillan
Contributors:
Kes Gray, Mary Mcquillan

It is a beautiful Polar morning. The sun is shining, the icebergs are glistening, and Pedro decides to start the day with an early morning swim! He gets ready to dive in, tucks in his tummy, point his beak to the sky, and dives high, high, high into the air. But oh dear. He forgot to break the ice before diving in! CRUNCH! But don't worry, with a little help from Nurse Nibbles and his Get Well Friends, he'll soon be feeling better.Get Well Friends' toys and books have real play and care values. Each loveable character comes not only with a name, but an instant personality and a humorous story to tell. Each book contains over 50 stickers.'A vibrant new set of animal characters. These are stories told with humour, but with a real sense of empathy and understanding.' - The Guardian Bookshop To find out more about children's author Kes Gray, visit www.kesgray.comFor games to play, books to read, and toys to nurse, visit www.getwellfriends.com

Hodder Children's Books

Momo Goes Flying

Kes Gray, Mary Mcquillan
Contributors:
Kes Gray, Mary Mcquillan
Hodder Children's Books

Pepe takes a Tumble

Kes Gray, Mary Mcquillan
Contributors:
Kes Gray, Mary Mcquillan
Hodder Children's Books

03: The Water Greeps

Kes Gray
Authors:
Kes Gray
Hodder Children's Books

04: The Cowcumbers

Kes Gray
Authors:
Kes Gray

Nelly's phone is still ringing with lots more monster sitting requests - and each one is full of strange surprises! From helping Altigators face their fears, battling venomous Tooth Furries, to taking care of Pipplewak eggs - Nelly's monster-sitting adventures are as unpredictable and exciting as ever!Nelly has monster sat for the Cowcumbers before. But this time petal has a loose tooth, and there'll be trouble if the tooth furry comes.

Hodder Children's Books

05: The Pipplewaks

Kes Gray
Authors:
Kes Gray
Hodder Children's Books

06: The Altigators

Kes Gray
Authors:
Kes Gray
Hodder Children's Books

Leave Me Alone

Kes Gray, Lee Wildish
Contributors:
Kes Gray, Lee Wildish

From the bestselling team behind Mum and Dad Glue comes an important story to help raise awareness at home or at school about stopping bullying.A little boy is feeling sad because every day he has to face a bully. But this story's little boy also has friends. A frog, a cat, a rabbit, a cow, and other animal friends insist on helping him, even after he tells them: "There's nothing you can do for me/ There's nothing you can say." Fortunately, he is mistaken, because the next time the bully approaches, they all join with him and shout, "LEAVE HIM ALONE!" And it works! The bully turns around and goes away.The gently clever use of rhyming verse gives a difficult subject a wonderfully light touch. A must-have for any child who has to deal with bullies.'An empowering story.' - Books for Keeps

Hodder Children's Books

Mum and Dad Glue

Kes Gray, Lee Wildish
Contributors:
Kes Gray, Lee Wildish

A little boy tries to find a pot of parent glue to stick his mum and dad back together. His parents have come undone and he wants to mend their marriage, stick their smiles back on and make them better. This rhyming story is brilliantly told with a powerful message that even though his parents may be broken, their love for him is not. 'An incredibly powerful book about a boy coming to terms with his parents' divorce.' - Kate Skipper, Waterstone's BuyerKes was voted by the Independent as one of the TOP TEN children's authors and he is the author of the award-winning Eat Your Peas and winner of the Red House Children's Book Award. Find out more about Kes at http://www.kesgray.com/ and https://twitter.com/kesgray Illustrated by the winner of the Red House Children's Book Award 2013. Follow Lee Wildish on https://twitter.com/leewildish

Hodder Children's Books

Cluck O'Clock

Kes Gray, Mary Mcquillan
Contributors:
Kes Gray, Mary Mcquillan
Hodder Children's Books

Vesuvius Poovius

Kes Gray, Chris Mould
Contributors:
Kes Gray, Chris Mould

Poo is a forbiddenus wordus. Vesuvius, the Roman inventor, has been trying to solve the pongy problem for many years - with no luck. But one night he is struck by inspiration...The pongy classic, now with a new jacket.

Hodder Children's Books

Twoo Twit

Kes Gray, Mary Mcquillan
Contributors:
Kes Gray, Mary Mcquillan
Hodder Children's Books

Ever So Ever So

Kes Gray, Sarah Nayler
Contributors:
Kes Gray, Sarah Nayler

Mum and Dad brought Susan home today. Everyone thinks she's ever so wonderful and ever so cute... But I'm ever so not sure!A delightful companion to Baby on Board by the same author / illustrator team. Perceptive and fun, this story explores the impact of a new baby's arrival home on the older sibling.