Related to: 'A Galaxy Too Far'

Robert Muchamore speaks to Graham Marks

Interview with Robert Muchamore

For official reasons the characters in Robert Muchamore’s award-winning Cherub and Henderson’s Boys series don’t exist. The man behind these worldwide bestsellers certainly does, and here he talks to Graham Marks about writing, research and how he came to create the shadowy, sometimes savage and very real world of Charles Henderson…

Orchard Books

Dark Lord: The Teenage Years

Jamie Thomson
Authors:
Jamie Thomson

Winner of the 2012 Roald Dahl Funny Prize!Thirteen-year-old schoolboy, Dirk Lloyd, has a dark secret - in fact he is a dark secret. Dirk - according to his own account - is the earthly incarnation of a Dark Lord, supreme ruler of the Darklands and leader of great armies of orcs and warriors, intent on destruction and bloody devastation. Following a colossal final battle between the forces of good and evil, the Dark Lord was defeated and hurled by his arch-foe's spells into the Pit of Uttermost Despair. At the bottom of the Pit lies...a supermarket car park in the municipal town of Whiteshields, somewhere in modern day England. And when he is found, and tries to explain that he is the Dark Lord, people think he means Dirk Lloyd. The fact that he's trapped in the puny body of a schoolboy doesn't help. And so begins Dirk's battle to recover his dignity, his power, and his lands... Along the way he faces the inconvenience of being fostered by a do-gooding family, the Purejoies; the torture of endless hours of drudgery at the Whiteshields Brainwashing Centre (aka school); a vengeful Headmaster; two interfering Psychotic Persecutors (psychotherapists); and constant laughter and disrespect when he attempts to marshall his lackeys and lickspittles (friends) to do what he wants them to.Dirk makes friends with the son of his foster family, Christopher, and the local Goth Girl, Sooz, and together they attempt to cast a spell that will transport Dirk back to his homeland. Inevitably, not everything goes to plan... But that's for book 2Roald Dahl Prize winner, 2012.

Orchard Books

Headmaster of Doom

Jamie Thomson
Authors:
Jamie Thomson

Dirk Lloyd, the Dark Lord trapped in the boy of a weedy schoolboy, returns in a darkly hilarious adventure set in the most ghoulish school you'll encounter this side of the Darklands ...Fourth in the brilliant series that began with the Roald Dahl Funny Prize-winning DARK LORD: THE TEENAGE YEARS, also chosen as one of the Sunday Times's 100 Modern Children Classics.Perfect for fans of Philip Reeve and David Walliams.

Orchard Books

The Wrong Side of the Galaxy

Jamie Thomson
Authors:
Jamie Thomson

Abducted by aliens, Harry wakes up on his birthday marooned on a spaceship. His only companions: two freaky princess clones, a weird alien-fish-kangaroo hybrid with delusions of grandeur and a ship's computer with a serious attitude problem. It's the worst birthday ever.How is he ever going to get back to Earth now?A brilliantly silly new story from the winner of the Roald Dahl Funny Prize

Franklin Watts

Free Kick Pro

Jonny Zucker
Authors:
Jonny Zucker

Leo's football skills are...well let's just say he's not his team's star player. But when he visits a football museum everything changes in a flash. He can talk to football superstars - and they help to coach him!In Free Kick Pro, Leo is transported to David Beckham's past where he is given dead ball tips by the England legend himself! Leo has to learn fast, because before he's ready he has to help David take his crucial free kick against Greece in 2001. It's a last gasp chance for England to get to the World Cup Finals! A fantasy football tale from another dimension!This title is published by Franklin Watts EDGE, which produces a range of books to get children reading with confidence. EDGE - for books children can't put down.

Orion Children's Books

The Apple Tart of Hope

Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Authors:
Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Orchard Books

Eternal Detention

Jamie Thomson
Authors:
Jamie Thomson

Dirk Lloyd, the Dark Lord trapped in the body of a weedy schoolboy, returns in another darkly hilarious adventure... Brilliantly funny and subversive, this is the Funny Prize-winning Jamie Thomson at his best.Fear me, o miserable worm!I, the Great Dirk, take up my pen once more to record the utter misery that is SCHOOL. My sworn enemy, Hasdruban the White, has infiltrated Whiteshields School and seeks vengeance on me. Naturally, I will triumph. But it is the Dirkest Hour indeed...BUY THIS BOOK OR SUFFER ONE OF THE FOLLOWING: -Being struck with a Blast of Ravening Flame-Banishment to the Slave Pits of Never Ending Toil-Torment by the Hewer of LimbsTHE CHOICE IS YOURS. MWA HA HA!

Franklin Watts

Demon Sea

Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore, Jack Lawrence
Contributors:
Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore, Jack Lawrence
Franklin Watts

City of the Dead

Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore, Jack Lawrence
Contributors:
Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore, Jack Lawrence

We dare you to take on the Red Queen in this choose-your-own-destiny Blood Crown Quest!YOU have successfully found three of the Blood Crown rubies, but now you face your toughest and most dangerous challenge.YOU must travel to Necropolis -- City of the Dead -- where the Red Queen lives, and find the last Blood Crown ruby. Only then will you have the full power of the Blood Crown. But will you decide to use it for good, or for evil? You are the hero of this book. Only you can decide your own destiny...Hot spin-off from the I HERO series, which has now sold over 80,000 copies! YOU are pitted against the evil Red Queen and her dark minions as she attempts to collect four rubies to rebuild the Blood Crown. Written by the award-winning 2Steves!

Franklin Watts

Sands of Blood

Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore, Jack Lawrence
Contributors:
Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore, Jack Lawrence

We dare you to take on the Red Queen in this choose-your-own-destiny Blood Crown Quest! The Red Queen has seized the Ruby of Death and raised an army of the dead. Now, with her husband, the necromancer Mortha, they plan to find the remaining three rubies and cast a permanent shadow over the world. YOU are a former City Guard, a member of an elite unit of highly trained warriors. Your quest is to find the rubies before the Red Queen. First you must return to the City of Alba from where you were banished...You are the hero of this book. Only you can decide your own destiny...Hot spin-off from the I HERO series, which has now sold over 80,000 copies! YOU are pitted against the evil Red Queen and her dark minions as she attempts to collect four rubies to rebuild the Blood Crown. Written by the award-winning 2Steves!

Franklin Watts

Dragon Mountain

Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore, Jack Lawrence
Contributors:
Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore, Jack Lawrence
Orchard Books

A Fiend in Need

Jamie Thomson
Authors:
Jamie Thomson
Orion Children's Books

The Mystery of the Vanishing Skeleton

Helen Moss, Leo Hartas
Contributors:
Helen Moss, Leo Hartas

A string of unusual crimes hits Castle Key and the chief suspect seems to be a skeleton! Scott, Jack, Emily and Drift the dog immediately start investigating, but nothing about the mystery makes sense.Will the friends finally be defeated by this baffling mix of crimes and the mysterious culprit, or can they uncover the sinister secret that connects them all?The sixth gripping mystery in the exciting new Adventure Island series!

Orion Children's Books

The Mystery of the Missing Masterpiece

Helen Moss, Leo Hartas
Contributors:
Helen Moss, Leo Hartas

Tony Bradman

Tony Bradman is an experienced editor, writer and anthologist in the world of children's books. He has written numerous plays, stories and poems for young children. His book 'Here come the Heebie-Jeebies and Other Scary Poems' was short-listed for The English 4-11 Awards for the Best Children's Illustrated Books of 2000.

Tony Ross

Tony Ross was born in London and studied at the Liverpool School of Art and Design. He has worked as a cartoonist, a graphic designer, as the Art Director of an advertising agency, and as Senior Lecturer in Art at Manchester Polytechnic. Tony is one of the most popular and successful children's illustrators of all time, best known for illustrating Horrid Henry and the works of David Walliams. Tony's books have been translated into 40 languages in over 100 countries. He lives in Macclesfield.

Tracey Turner

Tracey Turner has written more than 30 books for children on a variety subjects, from rude words to the entire history of the universe. Her books include the best-selling 101 Things You Need to Know, and the acclaimed Comic Strip series. She lives in Bath with Tom and their son Toby.

Victoria Munson

Victoria Munson has been fascinated by wildlife since she was 8 years old, whne she helped her parents to rescue a kestrel with a broken wing. She joined the Young Ornithologist's Club (YOC, part of the RSPB) shortly after and spend many a happy weekend visiting Wildfowl and Wetland Centres, hand-feeding Canada Geese and adopting a Wigeon (Wilbur). Since then, she has made a study of butterflies, homed hedgehogs, worms and ladybirds, and is now enjoying a second childhood through introducing her own children to rockpooling, wildlife spotting and making minibeast homes.

Vincent Vincent

Vincent Vincent is a writer, illustrator and graphic designer living in London. Vincent likes finding happiness in random places, travelling, and doodling on just about everything.

Vivian French

Vivian is a writer of both books and plays; she has written more than 250 children's books, including the very successful Tiara Club series, and is consistently one of the top 30 most borrowed authors from UK libraries. She has had plays performed both in London and throughout Scotland; her audiences include young adults as well as children. She has won many awards for her books, and is regularly invited to festivals including Cheltenham and the Edinburgh International Book Festival. (2012 Guest selector for the children's programme.) Vivian teaches part time at Edinburgh College of Art, and is one of the two founding members of the PictureHooks programme supporting Scottish illustrators. She is married with four grown up daughters and three grandchildren, and lives in Edinburgh. She'd like a cat, but lives up 66 steps and has no garden ... maybe one day. Her favourite book is an empty notebook.Since 1990, Vivian French has published more than 100 books for children of all ages. She has been a reviewer and has worked in the theatre - she is also well-known as a playwright. Among her most popular books are the Tiara Club titles for Hachette. Married with four grown-up daughters, she now lives in Edinburgh.Visit her website at www.vivianfrench.com.

Zanib Mian

Zanib Mian's books have featured on BBC's Cbeebies Bedtime Stories and The Guardian for their contribution to diversity in children's literature. Zanib studied Molecular Cell Biology at University College London and went on to teach Science in secondary schools before she made the decision to give up the career to create change within children's publishing. She felt that diverse characters from all minorities and backgrounds weren't being fully represented in books for young children. She launched Sweet Apple Publishers with a clear commitment to publishing inclusive books, many of which she has authored herself. She regularly features in the Bradford Literature Festival, was commissioned to write an opera for The Mahogany Opera Group, and is also on the panel of judges for the prestigious Young Muslim Writers Awards.