Eliza Wass - The Life and Death Parade - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781784295271
    • Publication date:12 Jul 2018

The Life and Death Parade

By Eliza Wass

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Strange rituals, hauntings and the occult collide in this darkly memorable YA thriller. Perfect for fans of Louise O'Neill, Sarah Waters and Donna Tartt.

Strange rituals, hauntings and the occult collide in this darkly memorable YA thriller. Perfect for fans of Louise O'Neill, Sarah Waters and Donna Tartt.

Kitty has had an idyllic childhood growing up alongside the wealthy Bramley family in rural England, as the daughter of the head housekeeper. But when the prophecy of a psychic leads to the death of the family's golden boy, Nikki, the house become dark, haunted by memories of the past.

One day a young boy is brought to the house to help them: a boy who can speak to the dead.

Kitty is convinced he's a charlatan - but the 'magic' seems to work. The darkness is lifting.

But there are things Kitty can't ignore - evidence of strange rituals, shadows of the boy she lost, and Kitty begins to suspect that this boy had something to do with Nikki's death. More, that he may have the very real power to bring him back...


'Haunting, unexpected, beautifully written. One of the best books I've read this year' LOUISE O'NEILL on In the Dark, In the Woods

Biographical Notes

Eliza Wass is a freelance writer, editor and journalist. She comes from Southern California, where she was one of nine perfect children with two perfect parents. She has thousands of friends, all of whom either arrive inside dust jackets or post obsessively on Twitter.
Eliza spent 7 years in London with the most amazing man in the world, her late husband, Alan Wass of Alan Wass and The Tourniquet, who inspired her to pursue her dreams and live every day of her life.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781784295288
  • Publication date: 12 Jul 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Quercus Children's Books
A breathtaking, gut-wrenching coming-of-age saga from all sides. Readers will be swept into the Cresswells' claustrophobic world and ache for them long after it's set aflame. — Kirkus
A haunting family portrait centered on the power of belief. — Publishers Weekly
Haunting, unexpected, beautifully written. In the Dark, In The Woods is one of the best books I've read this year. — Louise O'Neill
Quercus Children's Books

Miss Match: The Truth About Destiny

Crystal Cestari
Authors:
Crystal Cestari

The cute and quirky follow-up to Miss Match - fans of Geek Girl and Girl Online will love this magically messed-up romance.Amber Sand has a gift ... she can see anyone's soul mate, just by looking into their eyes. Problem is, when Amber gazes at her boyfriend, she sees him getting future loved-up with her best friend. To make matters worse, Amber has been tasked with helping Iris Chamberlain, a girl who has fallen for a mermaid. Iris is planning a dangerous transformation to join her soul mate underwater forever, but she's chosen the worst witch imaginable to perform the spell. With Iris in danger and her own love life looking far from happily ever after, there's one question plaguing Amber. Could the Fates be wrong?

Quercus Children's Books

Anassa

Josh Martin
Authors:
Josh Martin
Orchard Books

Everless

Sara Holland
Authors:
Sara Holland
Hodder Children's Books

Dinosaur Dash!

Mo Farah, Kes Gray, Marta Kissi
Contributors:
Mo Farah, Kes Gray, Marta Kissi
Hodder Children's Books

The Unicorn's Foal

Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott, Erica-Jane Waters
Contributors:
Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott, Erica-Jane Waters
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Glow of Fallen Stars

Kate Ling
Authors:
Kate Ling

Love brought them together - life is pulling them apart ... Seren and Dom's epic love story is the perfect read for fans of Beth Revis and Meg Rosoff. 'I longed so hard for all the things that make life life, and I never thought they'd be mine. But now ... now they are. Now I have something to lose.'Seren and Dom have fled their old lives on board spaceship Ventura in order to be together. They crash-land on a beautiful, uninhabited planet, which at first seems like paradise. There is no one to answer to ... but no one to ask for help. And with each new day comes the realisation of how vulnerable they truly are. This planet has secrets - lots of them. Uncovering them could be the key to survival, but at what cost?The follow-up to The Loneliness of Distant Beings, Kate Ling's second book takes us on an incredible journey through love, loss and the strength of the human spirit.

Hodder Children's Books

The Battlemage

Taran Matharu
Authors:
Taran Matharu
Franklin Watts

Elephant Learns to Share - A book about sharing

Sue Graves, Trevor Dunton
Contributors:
Sue Graves, Trevor Dunton

A lively picture book that examines the issue of not sharing in an amusing but reassuring way through animal characters - perfect for young children who don't want to share. The story offers a gentle way in to reinforce this good behaviour. At the end of the story there are notes for parents and teachers with suggestions of ways to help children deal with anger.Elephant hates sharing anything. When Gran gives him a bat and ball set, he finds it impossible to play by himself. He needs to find friends to play with, but will anyone want to join his game?It is part of a series Behaviour Matters, which is perfect for sharing with children as a gentle means of discussing their emotions, boosting self-esteem and reinforcing good behaviour. Each book has a fun story featuring fantastic characters which is backed up by suggestions for activities and ideas to talk through together. They support the Personal, Social and Emotional Development Area of Learning in the Early Years Foundation Stage.'Excellent for sharing and encouraging discussion... we can all learn from the approach taken in this series.' Parents in Touch

Orchard Books

Snowflake Sisters

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks
Quercus Children's Books

In the Dark, In the Woods

Eliza Wass
Authors:
Eliza Wass

'Haunting, unexpected, beautifully written. One of the best books I've read this year' LOUISE O'NEILLAn unforgettable thriller from an incredible new author, for fans of We Were Liars and Half Bad, reminiscent of The Virgin Suicides.Father wants sixteen-year-old Castley and her five siblings to hide from the world. Living in a falling-down house deep in the woods, he wants to bury their secrets where noone will ever find them. Father says they are destined to be together forever. In heaven. Father says the sooner they get there, the better. But Castley wants to be normal. She wants to kiss boys and wear jean shorts. CASTLEY WANTS TO LIVE. 'A breathtaking, gut-wrenching coming-of-age saga from all sides. Readers will be swept into the Cresswells' claustrophobic world and ache for them long after it's set aflame' - Kirkus'A haunting family portrait centered on the power of belief' - Publishers Weekly

Orchard Books

It's a Crazy Christmas

Giles Andreae, Spike Gerrell
Contributors:
Giles Andreae, Spike Gerrell

Meet Billy... He's Bonkers!The Christmas celebrations have begun! But when Billy gets trapped by a snowman, weed on by a puppy and burped on by his relatives, he decides... it's a totally crazy Christmas!3 side-splittingly hilarious stories in 1!

Orchard Books

I Love You, Baby

Giles Andreae, Emma Dodd
Contributors:
Giles Andreae, Emma Dodd

An adorable, heart-felt picture book about the arrival of a new baby - from the author of international bestseller, Giraffes Can't Dance.One little boy discovers all the wonderful things about his new little sibling in this joyful top-to-toe celebration of babies. A sweet, warm-hearted book that's perfect for sharing when welcoming a new baby to the family. Created by the team behind family favourites I Love My Daddy and I Love My Mummy - winner of the Booktrust Early Years Award.

Orion Children's Books

At the Crossing Places

Kevin Crossley-Holland
Authors:
Kevin Crossley-Holland

Arthur de Caldicot arrives at Holt to be squire to Lord Stephen and accompany him on crusade. It is an exciting and bewildering time for him as he finds a warhorse, is fitted with armour, and improves his fighting skills. He dreads a confrontation with his blood-father, the violent Sir William, and dreams of finding his true mother; he discovers girls ¿ including the vivacious Winnie de Verdon whom he rescues from burning to death; he has to deal with the aftermath of a murder; he sees the sea for the first time, sails to France and finally takes the Cross. And meanwhile these events are reflected in his seeing stone, in stories of King Arthur and the Knights of the Round Table.Packed with incident, wonderful characters, and fascinating historical detail, and interwoven with brilliant retellings of Arthurian legends, this is a glorious follow-up to THE SEEING STONE.

Orchard Books

Fire World

Chris d'Lacey
Authors:
Chris d'Lacey

Chris d'Lacey's wonderful storytelling takes us on a journey with familiar characters - in an unfamiliar place. Evil Aunts, intriguing firebirds and a dangerous universe await in another action-packed, compelling story.

Orion Children's Books

Puppet Master

Joanne Owen
Authors:
Joanne Owen
Orion Children's Books

Waterslain Angels

Kevin Crossley-Holland
Authors:
Kevin Crossley-Holland
Orchard Books

More Madness!

Giles Andreae, Nick Sharratt
Contributors:
Giles Andreae, Nick Sharratt
Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry's Christmas Cracker

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross

It's a gift! Four fun and festive stories from one hilariously horrid boy - a perfect addition to a cheeky child's stocking.Four fabulously funny stories full of every family's worst Christmas nightmares, as Horrid Henry sabotages the school play, tries to do his Christmas shopping without spending his pocket money, attempts to ambush Father Christmas, and endures Christmas dinner with the guests from hell. Francesca Simon's Horrid Henry series has sold over 20 million copies in the UK alone, and his antics have charmed adults and children across the globe. Don't miss out on the fun!

Orion Children's Books

Gatty's Tale

Kevin Crossley-Holland
Authors:
Kevin Crossley-Holland
Orchard Books

Billy Bonkers

Giles Andreae, Nick Sharratt
Contributors:
Giles Andreae, Nick Sharratt

Mad stuff just happens with Billy Bonkers! Billy is a bouncy, bubbly, bonkers boy. And wherever he goes, off-the-wall adventures always seem to follow. From bouncing so hard on his trampoline that he bounces up, up and away...into space, and eating so much porridge his stomach puffs up and he floats into the garden tree (and gets stuck...until he burps anyway), to a flight on a deflating lilo to biff a big, vicious shark right on the nose! Along with his wacky dad, brainy sister and down-to-earth mum, Billy's life is never boring, it's bonkers! This zany text is perfectly accompanied by Nick Sharratt's energetic illustrations.