Sue Turton - This Book Will (Help You) Change the World - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

This Book Will (Help You) Change the World

By Sue Turton
Illustrated by Alice Skinner

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

The powerhouse guide to activism and politics for young people.

Protest injustice. Campaign for change. Stand up for your future.

Political turmoil, shocks and upsets have rocked the world in the past few years, and it has never been more important to find your voice and stand up for what you believe in.

From award-winning journalist Sue Turton, with hilarious illustrations from activist illustrator Alice Skinner, this is a powerhouse guide to politics and activism for teens everywhere.

Featuring contributions from C4 anchor Jon Snow, Avaaz.com founder Jeremy Heimans, leader of Hong Kong's Umbrella Revolution Joshua Wong and more, Turton discusses the political system that rules our daily lives and exposes its flaws. She also gives readers all the inspiration and empowerment they need to get out there, challenge the status quo and change the world themselves. Be it disrupting the system from within by joining political parties or inspiring change through protest, Turton shows young activists how their actions and words really can make a difference. With a toolkit demonstrating how to avoid fake news, triumph in debates and grab the spotlight for your campaign, this is the ultimate teen guide to changing the world.

Biographical Notes

Sue Turton (Author)
Sue Turton has been a TV reporter for 27 years, breaking exclusives, dodging gunfire and, since 2010, running from the Egyptian authorities. Sue joined Al Jazeera in 2010 as a war correspondent covering conflicts in Afghanistan, Libya, Syria, Iraq and Egypt. In Egypt, she was convicted in absentia of terrorism and led a successful campaign to free her colleagues. Before her time at Al Jazeera, Sue worked for Sky and GMTV before spending 12 years at Channel 4, reporting breaking news, leading investigations and anchoring alongside Jon Snow.

Alice Skinner (Illustrator)
Alice Skinner is an activist-illustrator and visual artist based in London. She is a member of the Con Artist Collective and is currently on an artist's residency at their space in New York City.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781526360908
  • Publication date: 21 Sep 2017
  • Page count: 304
  • Imprint: Wren & Rook
Franklin Watts

An Adventurous History of Pirates

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell
Wren & Rook

Every Child A Song

Nicola Davies, Marc Martin
Contributors:
Nicola Davies, Marc Martin

When you were born, a song began...So begins this lyrical and unique non-fiction picture book by award-winning children's author Nicola Davies. With tenderness and a good deal of heart, Nicola introduces young readers to the universal rights that every child is entitled to under the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child. Using the metaphor of song, the book opens with the arrival of a newborn and its unique 'song', then pans out to explore all the essential things that every song needs to thrive - love, protection, a home, a name, the chance to explore and learn. In the latter half of the book, the issues of child labour, exploitation and war are sensitively introduced to emphasise that we all must play our part in championing children's rights and offering support to those who need it most. With beautiful and deeply moving watercolour illustrations by award-winning artist Marc Martin, this is a book that encourages children, and the adults in their lives, to speak up for young people all around the world, and to treat one another with compassion and kindness.

Franklin Watts

20th Century Russia

Heather Maisner
Authors:
Heather Maisner
Wayland

Brilliant Women

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw, Rita Petruccioli
Contributors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw, Rita Petruccioli
Hodder Children's Books

Heartstopper Volume Two

Alice Oseman
Authors:
Alice Oseman
Orchard Books

The Boy Who Steals Houses

C.G. Drews
Authors:
C.G. Drews

Can two broken boys find their perfect home? By turns heartbreaking and heartwarming, this is a gorgeously told, powerful story.Sam is only fifteen but he and his autistic older brother, Avery, have been abandoned by every relative he's ever known. Now Sam's trying to build a new life for them. He survives by breaking into empty houses when their owners are away, until one day he's caught out when a family returns home. To his amazement this large, chaotic family takes him under their wing - each teenager assuming Sam is a friend of another sibling. Sam finds himself inextricably caught up in their life, and falling for the beautiful Moxie. But Sam has a secret, and his past is about to catch up with him.Heartfelt storytelling, perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Jennifer Niven.

Orchard Books

Fated

Teri Terry
Authors:
Teri Terry
Orchard Books

When the Crocodiles Came to Town

Magda Brol, Magda Brol
Contributors:
Magda Brol, Magda Brol
Hodder Children's Books

Heartstopper Volume One

Alice Oseman
Authors:
Alice Oseman
Wayland

Vote for Me!

Louise Spilsbury, Mike Gordon
Contributors:
Louise Spilsbury, Mike Gordon
Orion Children's Books

Saint Death

Marcus Sedgwick
Authors:
Marcus Sedgwick
Wren & Rook

Doing It

Hannah Witton
Authors:
Hannah Witton
Franklin Watts

Remembering the Fallen of the First World War

Sarah Ridley
Authors:
Sarah Ridley

Remembering the Fallen of the First World War takes a fascinating and detailed look at how servicemen killed during the First World War were commemorated. Beginning during the war itself, the book investigates the options available at the time - repatriation and normal burial were intially considered, but the sheer number of the dead precluded this, so cemeteries close the battlefields became the only realistic option. The book chronicles the work of Sir Fabian Ware and the Imperial (now Commonwealth) War Graves Commission in setting up permanent and beautifully maintained cemeteries after the war as well as local war memorials, plaques in churches, books of remembrance and so forth. The book also includes poetry written and artwork created to honour the fallen, and offers advice on how young readers can find their ancestors' war graves. A must have book on World War One for ages 11 and up.

Orion Children's Books

I Am Malala

Malala Yousafzai, Patricia McCormick
Authors:
Malala Yousafzai, Patricia McCormick

'Malala is an inspiration to girls and women all over the world.' - J.K. RowlingWritten by Malala in collaboration with critically acclaimed author, Patricia McCormick, this children's edition tells the remarkable story of a girl who knew from a young age that she wanted to change the world - and did. Her journey will open your eyes to another world and will make you believe in hope, truth, miracles, and the determination of one person to inspire change. Raised in a once-peaceful area of Pakistan transformed by terrorism, Malala was taught to stand up for what she believes. So she fought for her right to be educated. And on 9 October, 2012, she nearly lost her life for the cause. She was shot point-blank on her way home from school. No one expected her to survive. Now, she is an international symbol of peaceful protest and the youngest-ever Nobel Peace Prize winner.Featuring updated material, including an exclusive interview with Malala, this book is a must-read for anyone who believes in the power of change.

Quercus Children's Books

True Power

Gary Meehan
Authors:
Gary Meehan

The WarAfter battling their way across Werlavia, Megan and her friends have found safety in the mountain city of Hil. But the army of the True are waiting.The ThreatMegan knows they can't ignore the witch menace for long. Empowered by their guns and their allies, they are coming for her, for her daughter, for their world. The PowerMegan is no longer an ordinary mill girl. Mother, Apostate, Countess: it is up to Megan to protect the people of the Realm. But she will have to risk everything she loves to do so.

Quercus Children's Books

99 Days

Katie Cotugno
Authors:
Katie Cotugno
Quercus Children's Books

True Dark

Gary Meehan
Authors:
Gary Meehan
Franklin Watts

The Open Ocean

Jinny Johnson
Authors:
Jinny Johnson
Franklin Watts

Coral Reefs

Jinny Johnson
Authors:
Jinny Johnson

Each watery environment on Earth is home to a unique variety of fish, mammals and other animals and plants. Find out about some of the incredible living things that make coral reefs in tropical seas around the world their home. Find out how they are adapted to survive, what they eat and what eats them!Six books in the series Watery Worlds is an accessible range of titles for children studying habitats at KS2.

Franklin Watts

The Deepest Sea

Jinny Johnson
Authors:
Jinny Johnson

Each watery environment on Earth is home to a unique variety of fish, mammals and other animals and plants. Find out about some of the incredible living things that make the deepest seas and oceans their home. Find out how they are adapted to survive, what they eat and what eats them!Six books in the series Watery Worlds is an accessible range of titles for children studying habitats at KS2.