Lita Judge - Mary's Monster - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781526360977
    • Publication date:08 Feb 2018

Mary's Monster

Love, Madness and How Mary Shelley Created Frankenstein

By Lita Judge

  • Hardback
  • £12.99

The dark, captivating story of one remarkable woman. And her monster.

Creative genius...?

Inventor of science fiction...?

Pregnant teenage runaway...?

Who was the real Mary Shelley?

Publishing to mark the 200th anniversary of the publication of Frankenstein, Mary's Monster is the compelling, and beautifully illustrated, story of Mary Shelley - the original rebel girl. When her fractured bond with her beloved father, and her elopement with the mercurial (and married) poet Percy Bysshe Shelley at the age of 16, led her to Switzerland, few could have imagined the consequence would be such a book. But, in the crucible of societal disapproval and tenuous circumstances, Mary Shelley created Frankenstein, and his monster, forged in the fire of her troubled and tragic life.

Part biography, part fantasy and part feminist allegory, Mary's Monster is an engrossing take on one remarkable woman. And her monster.

Biographical Notes

Lita Judge is the author and illustrator of over 20 fiction and non-fiction picture books. Her books have received numerous awards including the Sterling North Award, the Jane Addams Honor, ALA Notable and Kirkus Best of. She enjoys teaching both writing and illustration to students of all ages and shares much about her creative process in classrooms and on her blog and website. Lita lives with her husband, two cats and a little green parrot named Beatrix in Peterborough, New Hampshire. You can visit her online at LitaJudge.net

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781526360410
  • Publication date: 08 Feb 2018
  • Page count: 320
  • Imprint: Wren & Rook
Orchard Books

Phantom

Leo Hunt
Authors:
Leo Hunt
Wayland

Masters of Matter

Joy Lin, Alan Brown
Contributors:
Joy Lin, Alan Brown
Hodder Children's Books

I Am Fugitive

Sif Sigmarsdottir
Authors:
Sif Sigmarsdottir

Orchard Books

A Thousand Perfect Notes

C. G. Drews
Authors:
C. G. Drews

An emotionally charged story about the power of music, and how passion can turn to obsession.Beck hates his life. He hates his violent mother. He hates his home. Most of all, he hates the piano that his mother forces him to play hour after hour, day after day. He will never play as she did before illness ended her career and left her bitter and broken. But Beck is too scared to stand up to his mother, and tell her his true passion, which is composing his own music - because the least suggestion of rebellion on his part ends in violence.When Beck meets August, a girl full of life, energy and laughter, love begins to awaken within him and he glimpses a way to escape his painful existence. But dare he reach for it?Thrilling and powerfully written, this is an explosive debut for YA readers which tackles the dark topic of domestic abuse in an ultimately hopeful tale.

Wren & Rook

You Are Awesome

Matthew Syed
Authors:
Matthew Syed

I'm no good at sport ...I can't do maths ...I really struggle with exams ...Sound familiar?If you believe you can't do something, the chances are you won't try. But what if you really could get better at maths, or sport or exams? In fact, what if you could excel at anything you put your mind to?You Are Awesome can help you do just that, inspiring and empowering young readers to find the confidence to realise their potential. The first children's book from Times journalist, two-time Olympian and best-selling author Matthew Syed, it uses examples of successful people from Mozart to David Beckham to demonstrate that success really is earned rather than given, and that talent can be acquired. With hard work and determination, practice and self-belief, there's no reason why anyone can't achieve anything. Practical, insightful and positive, this is the book to help children build resilience, embrace their mistakes and grow into successful, happy adults.

Hodder Children's Books

Movie Night

Lucy Courtenay
Authors:
Lucy Courtenay

If you love rom-coms you'll love this sassy, funny romance that will make you fall head over heels with the help of twelve classic films and a misbehaving cat named Nigel. Perfect for fans of Zoella, Geek Girl and Holly Bourne.One: I am hopelessly in love with Hanna Bergdahl. Two: for the first time since our recent reunion Hanna Bergdahl appears to be single. And three: I am stuck in that inescapable netherworld of demons and acne - the Friend Zone.Sol and Hanna were best friends at primary school and after reuniting at college, they spend approximately seventy per cent of daylight hours together. When disaster strikes at a New Year's Eve party and Hannah sees new boyfriend Danny Dukas kissing Lizzie Banks, a New Year's Resolution is formed. Sol and Hanna will watch one film a month for twelve months until the next New Year. After all, films hold answers to life's hardest questions. Maybe they'll figure out why they are both members of the dumpee club. Only Sol Adams has a new year's resolution of his own: to kiss Hanna Bergdahl before the year is over. Will Sol ever defeat the Friend Zone?

Wren & Rook

Rebel Voices

Louise Kay Stewart, Eve Lloyd Knight
Contributors:
Louise Kay Stewart, Eve Lloyd Knight
Franklin Watts

The Children of Willesden Lane

Mona Golabek, Lee Cohen
Authors:
Mona Golabek, Lee Cohen

Fourteen-year-old Lisa Jura was a musical prodigy who hoped to become a concert pianist. But when Hitler's armies advanced on pre-war Vienna, Lisa's parents were forced to make a difficult decision. Able to secure passage for only one of their three daughters through the Kindertransport, they chose to send gifted Lisa to London for safety. As she yearned to be reunited with her family while she lived in a home for refugee children on Willesden Lane, Lisa's music became a beacon of hope. A memoir of courage, survival, and the power of music to uplift the human spirit, this compelling tribute to one special young woman and the lives she touched will both educate and inspire young readers. Based on a true story of a 14 year old girl Lisa Jura, who had to flee her home in Vienna and rebuild her life in London, the story brings home the reality of the Holocaust to readers aged 12 and up.

Hodder Children's Books

Satellite

Nick Lake
Authors:
Nick Lake

The Martian for teens - an epic, highly original space thriller with real science and heartbreaking beauty.Leo has never set foot on Earth. Born and raised with twins Orion and Libra on the Moon 2 Space Station, they have grown up together in the most extraordinary of ways. Now, they are preparing to make their first trip home - their first journey to Earth. But Leo, Orion and Libra cannot possibly imagine the irreversible consequences that their return will set into motion...

Hodder Children's Books

I Am Traitor

Sif Sigmarsdottir
Authors:
Sif Sigmarsdottir

At the end of the world, who can you trust? The story of one teen's fight against an extra-terrestrial invasion. For fans of Michael Grant, Suzanne Collins and Robert Muchamore.London has been targeted by extra-terrestrial life and victims are transported to a terrifying other world.Amy Sullivan is an unwilling hero. She runs until she can't run any more. Then, she is taken. To have a chance of saving herself, and her planet, Amy will have to put faith in those she fears the most. But what if it means becoming a traitor to everyone she has ever loved? A modern-day War of the Worlds from one of Iceland's bestselling authors.

Quercus Children's Books

A Kiss in the Dark

Cat Clarke
Authors:
Cat Clarke

Real, compulsive and intense: Cat Clarke is the queen of emotional suspense. For fans of Paula Hawkins, Gillian Flynn, Megan Abbott and Jandy Nelson.Can love survive the ultimate betrayal? A compelling story of love and identity from a bestselling author.When Alex meets Kate the attraction is instant. Alex is funny, good-looking, and a little shy - everything that Kate wants in a boyfriend. Alex can't help falling for Kate, who is pretty, charming and maybe just a little naive... But one of them is hiding an unbelievable secret, and as their love blossoms, it threatens to ruin not just their relationship, but their lives...

Quercus Children's Books

The Lost and the Found

Cat Clarke
Authors:
Cat Clarke
Hodder Children's Books

Boot Camp

Robert Muchamore
Authors:
Robert Muchamore

Jay, Summer, Dylan and their bands are headed for boot camp at uber-glamorous Rock War Manor. It's going to be six weeks of mates, music and non-stop partying as they prepare for stardom.But the rock-star life of music festivals and glitzy premieres isn't all it's cracked up to be. Can the bands hold it together long enough to make it through the last stage of the competition, or will there be meltdown?The second book in this spectacular series by the bestselling Robert Muchamore, author of CHERUB.

Franklin Watts

Puberty and Growing Up

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne

Puberty is often a confusing time with many changes both physical and emotional to deal with. This book deals with all aspects of puberty in a straightforward and sensitive way so young children and teenagers are armed with all the facts. It includes the changes that happen to boys and girls, periods, moods and stress and introduces sex and sexuality. The text is accompanied by fun, graphic illustrations suitable for any age.Is is part of the series Healthy for Life, which gives factual information on a range of health issues so teens can get the information they need to be healthy. The books feature fun infographic style illustrations.

Orchard Books

I'd Tell You I Love You, But Then I'd Have To Kill You

Ally Carter
Authors:
Ally Carter
Orchard Books

Cross My Heart And Hope To Spy

Ally Carter
Authors:
Ally Carter
Orion Children's Books

Tinder

Sally Gardner, David Roberts
Contributors:
Sally Gardner, David Roberts
Hodder Children's Books

Innocent

Anne Cassidy
Authors:
Anne Cassidy
Hodder Children's Books

Girls Only! All About Periods and Growing-Up Stuff

Victoria Parker
Authors:
Victoria Parker

The essential girl guide to growing up!Girls Only! focuses on the practicalities, social and personal implications of starting your period, and the physical and emotional developments in puberty. It tells you what happens and when, what you need to know and how to prepare. It answers all the questions girls are dying to ask, but daren't, in a clear, friendly way, using real-life examples. It's the perfect first book about periods for girls from primary school age and upwards, with a reassuring tone and fun, quirky illustrations.The perfect first book about periods for girls of primary school age, information at the right level. Family Interest Parenting

Orchard Books

Eternal Detention

Jamie Thomson
Authors:
Jamie Thomson