Anita Loughrey - Nature - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Nature

By Anita Loughrey

  • Hardback
  • £12.99

From dividing up cakes to reading timetables, this series shows how maths problem solving is needed in everyday life

Get kids engaged in maths with real-life problem solving. In each fully illustrated title maths topics are carefully explained in different scenarios. Children are then given problems to solve around the scenario.

Topics covered include measurement (inches and centimetres, to litres and millilitres and units of time and days of the week), problems with numbers (by adding, subtracting, division and multiplication and using roman numerals), how to use fractions, decimal places and percentages, shapes (2-D and 3D) and statistics, such as tables, bar graphs, pie charts, and line graphs.

The level of maths progresses as you go through the book, building a sense of achievement. It includes tips and tricks to make maths problem-solving easy.

Each book is framed around a high interest area, perfect for children aged 7-11.

Biographical Notes

Anita Loughrey was a primary school teacher for seventeen years before becoming a full-time writer. She writes teacher resources, educational fiction and non-fiction on a wide variety of subjects for a wide range of publishers with over 85 books published in the UK and many more worldwide. She writes for the national writing magazine Writers' Forum and teaches creative writing.
Anita's favourite toy as a child was the typewriter she wrote her autobiography with at the age of ten. As nothing exciting ever happened, she made most of it up. Her interests include writing, reading children's books, knitting, jive dancing and camping with her family in their VW campervan. She reckons there is nothing better than sleeping under the stars and cooking in the great outdoors, as long as it isn't raining.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781526307965
  • Publication date: 13 Sep 2018
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Wayland
Orchard Books

The Mermaid's Dolphin

Mermazing underwater adventures with adorable sea creatures! A magical new series about saving our oceans.When three girls rescue a dolphin caught in a fishing net, a young mermaid named Marina is so grateful she gives them magical shell bracelets that let them turn into mermaids! Unfortunately, the mermaids' underwater kingdom is in danger because their pollution-loving enemy, Effluvia, has scattered the precious Treasure of Atlantis across the seven seas. Can Isla, Brooke, and Nadia - the chosen Sea Keepers - get the magical pearls back for their new mermaid friends before it's too late?

Hodder Children's Books

BOOT: The Rusty Rescue

Shane Hegarty
Authors:
Shane Hegarty

For fans of WALL-E and Toy Story, the second hilarious, heart-warming story about a small robot on a big adventure. With incredible illustrations by Ben Mantle.Toy robot Boot has come a long way since it woke up in a scrapyard with only two-and-a-half glitchy memories. It has a home with its robot pals in an abandoned amusement arcade, and has discovered what true happiness is - although, it's still not sure why humans are so leaky and weird ... But when Boot and the gang stumble upon Rusty, an old, broken robot, forgotten in the back of a testing lab, it's time to spring into action. Boot knows there's something special about Rusty, but can they free the old robot and help it find its purpose?A thrill-ride of an adventure, stuffed with fun, friendship, and a warehouse full of bouncy castles.

Wayland

Investigating Magnets

Jacqui Bailey
Authors:
Jacqui Bailey
Orion Children's Books

The Lost Treasure

Abie Longstaff
Authors:
Abie Longstaff

The final book in The Trapdoor Mysteries, a series about Tally, a code-breaking, animal-loving girl and her best friend, a squirrel named Squill, who solve mysteries with the help of a secret library...Tally was once a servant girl at Mollett Manor - as well as the Secret Keeper of the magical library hidden underneath the manor's grounds. Along with Squill the squirrel, she used the enchanted books in the library to solve crimes. Then Tally finds out a secret about her past, her entire life changes. Suddenly she's travelling aboard a huge ship on her way to New York to try and find her mother. When valuable items go missing from passengers' cabins on the ship, everyone expects Tally to be able to catch the culprit. But will Tally be able to solve the mystery without the magic of the Secret Library?

Franklin Watts

Space Rap

Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Authors:
Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore

Franklin Watts

Movie Star Set-up

Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Authors:
Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Hodder Children's Books

Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets

Alex T. Smith
Authors:
Alex T. Smith
Franklin Watts

The Anglo-Saxons

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

Which genius ideas and inventions began with the Anglo-Saxons? What did they develop that we use to this day? Find out how the Anglo-Saxons farmed their land, built their houses and organised their society. Discover their brilliant developments in defence, law, language and storytelling that have influenced the way we live today.

Franklin Watts

Dinosaurs

Liz Gogerly, Rob Hunt, Oivind Hovland
Contributors:
Liz Gogerly, Rob Hunt, Oivind Hovland
Franklin Watts

We're All Equal

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw, David Broadbent
Contributors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw, David Broadbent
Wayland

When Planet Earth Was New

James Gladstone
Authors:
James Gladstone
Franklin Watts

Insects, Bugs and Other Invertebrates

Clare Hibbert, Rudolf Farkas
Contributors:
Clare Hibbert, Rudolf Farkas
Franklin Watts

The Big Countdown

Paul Rockett
Authors:
Paul Rockett
Wayland

Powerful Forces

Jon Richards, Rob Colson
Authors:
Jon Richards, Rob Colson
Wayland

Habitats

Sonya Newland
Authors:
Sonya Newland

Get outside and do some fun science experiments! From making a pond to going on a minibeast hunt, these simple activities are quick and easy to do, using easily found equipment. This book tells you all you need to know about habitats. Find out about food chains, amazing adaptations, classification keys, as well as habitats such as ponds, rock pools. Learn how to become a habitat hero!This series is perfect for Outdoor Classroom Day, but can, of course, be used at any time of year! Being outdoors helps children focus, boosts creativity and imagination, and can simply be more fun! Learning outdoors creates lasting memories, helps build a greater awareness of the environment, provides more opportunities to think independently, and gets children feeling challenged and excited by learning.Suitable for the key stage one and key stage two science curriculum.

Wayland

The Fall of the Berlin Wall

Patricia Levy
Authors:
Patricia Levy

High-drama history, describing moment-by-moment the fall of the Berlin WallThirty years ago, on 9 November 1989, the Berlin Wall came down. This historic event is described in detail, focusing not only on the day itself, but also what led to the wall being there in the first place. It looks at the history of the Wall, explaining why it was built, as well as looking at the implications of what happened in the wider context of 20th century history. Real life accounts are included in moment-in-time boxes, acting as a freeze frame of people's thoughts, emotions and experiences as those from West Germany were at last free to travel to the East and vice versa.Complete with photographs, maps and a timeline, this is a fascinating insight into 20th century history.An ideal book to support the study of modern history in schools

Franklin Watts

Coyote the Fire Thief

Mick Gowar, James Rey Sanchez
Contributors:
Mick Gowar, James Rey Sanchez
Wayland

Coding with Minecraft

Álvaro Scrivano
Authors:
Álvaro Scrivano
Wayland

Space

Anita Loughrey
Authors:
Anita Loughrey
Wayland

The International Space Station

Clive Gifford, Dan Schlitzkus
Contributors:
Clive Gifford, Dan Schlitzkus

What is the space station and how did it get into space? How do astronauts get there and what do they do once they're there? How do astronauts eat, sleep, or even breathe, in space? This book answers all of these questions and more. Find out what it takes to become an astronaut and about the essential science experiments that are being carried out there. What effect does living in space have on the human body, from making you taller to losing your muscles because of zero gravity. If everything floats, then how can you go to the toilet and where does your wee and poo go? There's no bath or shower on the space station, so astronauts clean themselves with towels made damp by adding a little soapy water from a sealed pouch or by using special wet wipes each sealed in foil and containing disinfectant. Uncover all of these fascinating facts in this beautifully illustrated and fun book for children. Written to inspire a new generation of astronauts, Clive's detailed and fact-filled text will make you think you've visited the space station yourself. Fully illustrated by self-confessed space geek illustrator, Dan Schlitzkus, the illustrations are technically accurate and provide true representations of the mechanics, modules and equipment on board the ISS.