Claire Leclerc - What is Brexit? - Hachette Children's Group

What is Brexit?

By Claire Leclerc

  • Hardback
  • £13.99

A clear, factual and accessible guide to Brexit and what it might mean for the future of Britain and the European Union

On 23 June 2016, Britain voted in a referendum to leave the European Union. Over the next few years this decision will make a difference to everyone living in Britain. The arguments about whether to stay in or leave the EU were very heated, and while many people celebrated the result of the referendum, others were left upset and fearful for the future. This book looks at the key topics and arguments surrounding Brexit and considers the facts, implications and possible outcomes of Britain's withdrawl from the EU in a balanced and unbiased way.

Biographical Notes

Claire Leclerc worked for many years as a financial journalist and in public relations before becoming a political adviser and election campaign organiser. She has also worked as a board member of a large British public sector pension fund. She studied European Politics and Policy at the London School of Economics.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781526306708
  • Publication date: 23 Nov 2017
  • Page count: 48
  • Imprint: Wayland
Orchard Books

Padma the Pirate Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

The Night Thief

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Hodder Children's Books

The Squurms at No. 322

Kes Gray, Chris Jevons
Contributors:
Kes Gray, Chris Jevons

Nelly isn't scared of monsters. In fact, she babysits for them. From the bestselling author of the OI FROG! and DAISY books comes this hilarious, action-packed series for fans of THE BOLDS and BARRY LOSER.'If monsters are real, how come I've never seen one?''Because they never go out.''Why don't monsters ever go out?''Because they can never get a babysitter.'Ever ice-skated with a baby Thermitt, or played musical chairs with one hundred and twenty Digdiggs? Every time Nelly rings on a new monster family's doorbell she's up for a new challenge. Come on her monster-sitting adventures in this laugh-out-loud funny second book in the NELLY THE MONSTER SITTER series. Kes Gray is one of the Independent's top ten children's authors, and winner of the Red House Children's Book Award.This story now comes with brand-new illustrations; it was previously published in a collection entitled: Grerks, Squurms & Water Greeps.

Franklin Watts

The Stone, Bronze and Iron Ages

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

Which genius ideas and inventions began in the Stone, Bronze and Iron Ages? This period, stretching from the first ancestors of modern humans to the start of the ancient civilisations of Greece and Rome, was a time of amazing developments. Find out how the discovery of how to make fire and tools, farm the land and form symbols to communicate in writing transformed society and had a lasting impact on the way we live today.

Orchard Books

Grandma Dangerous and the Egg of Glory

Kita Mitchell
Authors:
Kita Mitchell
Orchard Books

The Secret Jungle

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orchard Books

Ninja Strike

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

X-Men meets Beast Quest at the school for superheroes! An epic new adventure series from bestselling author Adam Blade - with amazing comic-book style illustrations. TEAM HERO ARE IN DEEP WATER! JACK, RUBY AND DANNY MUST RECOVER AN ANCIENT STATUE FROM A CURSED LAKE - WITH A SUPER-SLEEK AND SWIFT ASSASSIN ON THEIR TAIL!There are FOUR thrilling adventures to collect in this series - don't miss out! Book 1: The Secret Jungle, Book 2: Ninja Strike, Book 3: The Night Thief, Book 4: An Army AwakensAnd don't forget Adam Blade's other series: Beast Quest and Sea Quest

Orchard Books

Ivy the Worry Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel, Kirsty and Ivy as they help keep worries at bay!Ivy the Worry Fairy has a very important job - helping people manage their worries. Everyone gets worried from time to time, and it's important to know how to deal with it. But when Jack Frost steals Ivy's magical objects, her special power to help people is threatened! Can Rachel and Kirsty help get them back and help restore people's inner calm everywhere?

Franklin Watts

Werewolf

Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Authors:
Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Franklin Watts

Mutant

Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Authors:
Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Franklin Watts

Enter The Penguin

Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Authors:
Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore

Take on the role of a cartoon hero in this fully interactive, wacky, choose-your-own-destiny adventure story.YOU are a ninja penguin, and your recent travels take you to a seal village. But all is not well in town. A group of bandit bears are causing big trouble - and they might be even more than you can handle. YOU must team up with a gang of buddies - Foxy, Jagger, Snowy and Bigfoot - to battle Big Daddy Bear...Written by the award-winning duo Steve Barlow and Steve Skidmore, and illustrated by the amazing Lee Robinson.Age appropriate for 6 to 8 year olds. Also suitable for reluctant readers and less confident older readers. Printed using a font approved by the British Dyslexia Association.

Franklin Watts

Killer Custard

Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Authors:
Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore

Take on the role of a cartoon hero in this fully interactive, wacky, choose-your-own-destiny adventure story.The school cook serves up smooth custard! And if that wasn't weird enough, the yellow stuff comes alive and starts to eat everyone... YOU must stop the revenge of the killer custard, before it's dessert time for everyone.Written by the award-winning duo Steve Barlow and Steve Skidmore, and illustrated by the amazing Lee Robinson.Age appropriate for 6 to 8 year olds. Also suitable for reluctant readers and less confident older readers. Printed using a font approved by the British Dyslexia Association.

Wren & Rook

The Good Guys

Rob Kemp, Paul Blow
Contributors:
Rob Kemp, Paul Blow
Franklin Watts

Alien

Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Authors:
Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Franklin Watts

Zombie

Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Authors:
Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow

Take on the role of the Monster Hunter in this fully interactive, flick-through-the pages, choose-your-own-destiny adventure story.YOU are the Monster Hunter, protector of the living, and curse of the undead. Zombies are threatening innocent locals and it's time to break open the weapons closet...Written by the award-winning duo Steve Barlow and Steve SkidmoreAge appropriate for 8+. Also suitable for reluctant readers and less confident older readers. Printed using a font approved by the British Dyslexia Association.

Franklin Watts

Anansi and the Box of Stories

Katie Dale, Valentina Bandera
Contributors:
Katie Dale, Valentina Bandera

A beautifully illustrated retelling of this favourite African tale. Anansi the spider is a trickster and he will stop at nothing to get Nyame's story box, proving that even the littlest among us can achieve the greatest things.Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Wayland

Knights and Castles

Annalees Lim
Authors:
Annalees Lim

Join this crafty adventure in design where you can create all the things you need for a fantastic knight or castle-themed party! Brimming full of ideas for crazy costumes, glorious games and delightful decorations to perfect party food, this series ensures you'll host the perfect party, fill a rainy day, or help you create designs that last happy ever crafter. Bright and buzzing illustrations support the step-by-step instructions, plus there are fun facts and joyful jokes to boot. Perfect for all budding craft makers, but especially suited to the 7-9 age group.

Wayland

Robots and Aliens

Annalees Lim
Authors:
Annalees Lim

Join this crafty adventure in design where you can create all the things you need for a fantastic out-of-this-world party! Brimming full of ideas for crazy costumes, glorious games and delightful decorations plus perfect party food, this series ensures you'll host the perfect party, fill a rainy day, or help you create designs that last happy ever crafter. There are over 20 different craft activities in each book using a range of recyclable and easy to source materials. Bright and buzzing illustrations support the step-by-step instructions, plus there are fun facts and joyful jokes to boot. Perfect for all budding craft makers, but especially suited to the 7-9 age group.

Wayland

Transport

Anita Loughrey
Authors:
Anita Loughrey
Wayland

Gigantic Dinosaurs

Katie Woolley
Authors:
Katie Woolley