Susie Brooks - Impressionism - Hachette Children's Group

Impressionism

By Susie Brooks

  • Hardback
  • £13.99

Discover the art movements that shaped our world

Discover the art movements that shaped our world

When the Impressionists first started exhibiting, they shocked the world with their bold brushstrokes and compositions and their adventurous use of colour. Today, over 150 years later, Impressionism is celebrated as an international success story, making artists such as Monet, Renoir and Degas household names.

For readers aged 9 and up, Inside Art Movements provides an accessible and in-depth guide to some of the most popular and significant art movements.

Biographical Notes

Susie Brooks is an award-winning writer and editor of children's books. Writing on a wide range of subjects from dinosaurs to geography, she also masquerades as an artist (among other things, painting children's portraits and getting messy in classroom workshops!). In 2014, her Get into Art series won the English Association Picture Book Award, British Book Design and Production Award and the overall SLA Information Book Award. She can regularly be found walking people's dogs and in her spare time, loves to travel and explore new places!

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781526304957
  • Publication date: 12 Jul 2018
  • Page count: 48
  • Imprint: Wayland
Orchard Books

Help! I Smell a Monster

Justin Davies
Authors:
Justin Davies

This book STINKS . . . of monsters!When Alice is sent to stay with her Uncle Magnus, she soon realises that his job agency isn't quite ... normal. It helps monsters find work that makes the most of their unique talons - er, talents. Alice is shocked to discover that monsters are EVERYWHERE. There's even a Cyclops working in the castle as a pastry chef! But when he suddenly disappears, Alice smells something fishy. Can she and her uncle sniff out the missing monster before it's too late?Perfect for fans of Pamela Butchart and David Solomons.

Wayland

By Printing and Stamping

Susie Brooks
Authors:
Susie Brooks

Let's Make Art By Printing and Stamping shows you how to make bottletop balloons, broccoli jungle, cork stamps, bubblewrap dinosaurs and much, much more. Techniques include printing, stamping, monoprints and simple collographs - used in ingenious ways for fantastic results!A collection of fun, simple, inexpensive craft projects, ideal for time-poor parents and budget-challenged schools, promoting reuse and recycling. Beautifully designed, the book is clearly and appealingly illustrated with step-by-step instructions and engaging artwork. Each activity is straightforward and achievable, and as such is therapeutic for stressed or anxious children, allowing them to make things by themselves, and to have confidence in their own abilities. Other titles in the series include Let's Make Art With Hands and Feet, Let's Make Art with Everyday Things and Let's Make Art with Scrap Paper, so there's a whole load of upcycling fun to be had!

Franklin Watts

Robin Hood and the Golden Arrow

Elizabeth Dale
Authors:
Elizabeth Dale
Franklin Watts

Enter The Penguin

Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Authors:
Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore

Take on the role of a cartoon hero in this fully interactive, wacky, choose-your-own-destiny adventure story.YOU are a ninja penguin, and your recent travels take you to a seal village. But all is not well in town. A group of bandit bears are causing big trouble - and they might be even more than you can handle. YOU must team up with a gang of buddies - Foxy, Jagger, Snowy and Bigfoot - to battle Big Daddy Bear...Written by the award-winning duo Steve Barlow and Steve Skidmore, and illustrated by the amazing Lee Robinson.Age appropriate for 6 to 8 year olds. Also suitable for reluctant readers and less confident older readers. Printed using a font approved by the British Dyslexia Association.

Franklin Watts

Killer Custard

Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Authors:
Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Franklin Watts

Max and the Gladiator

Damian Harvey
Authors:
Damian Harvey

Max is on a school trip to Chester to visit some Roman ruins. As he takes a little nap after lunch he is suddenly transported back in time ... and before him stands a fully armed Roman Gladiator! This story is part of Reading Champion, a series carefully linked to book bands to encourage independent reading skills, developed with Dr Sue Bodman and Glen Franklin of UCL Institute of Education (IOE)Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Franklin Watts

Werewolf

Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Authors:
Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow

Take on the role of the Monster Hunter in this fully interactive, flick-through-the pages, choose-your-own-destiny adventure story.YOU are the Monster Hunter, protecting the world from creatures in the shadows. Werewolves are runningwild in Russia. You're sent into the snow to stop them in their tracks...Written by the award-winning duo Steve Barlow and Steve SkidmoreAge appropriate for 8+. Also suitable for reluctant readers and less confident older readers. Printed using a font approved by the British Dyslexia Association.

Franklin Watts

Comparing Countries: Games and Entertainment (English/French)

Sabrina Crewe
Authors:
Sabrina Crewe

How do children have fun in other countries? Travel the world with Games and Entertainment to see the activities that people enjoy, from sport and games to art and music. Comparing Countries is a groundbreaking non-fiction dual-language series which compares and contrasts ways of life in ten different countries around the world. Presented in two different languages, each title explores a topic common to all children, from homes to festivals, highlighting what makes us different and what we all have in common. This series provides great support to geography learning, as well as helping young language learners improve their reading skills.Perfect for readers aged 7 and up.

Franklin Watts

Mutant

Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Authors:
Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Franklin Watts

Comparing Countries: Games and Entertainment (English/Spanish)

Sabrina Crewe
Authors:
Sabrina Crewe

How do children have fun in other countries? Travel the world with Games and Entertainment to see the activities that people enjoy, from sport and games to art and music. Comparing Countries is a groundbreaking non-fiction dual-language series which compares and contrasts ways of life in ten different countries around the world. Presented in two different languages, each title explores a topic common to all children, from homes to festivals, highlighting what makes us different and what we all have in common. This series provides great support to geography learning, as well as helping young language learners improve their reading skills.Perfect for readers aged 7 and up.

Franklin Watts

Comparing Countries: Games and Entertainment (English/Polish)

Sabrina Crewe
Authors:
Sabrina Crewe

How do children have fun in other countries? Travel the world with Games and Entertainment to see the activities that people enjoy, from sport and games to art and music. Comparing Countries is a groundbreaking non-fiction dual-language series which compares and contrasts ways of life in ten different countries around the world. Presented in two different languages, each title explores a topic common to all children, from homes to festivals, highlighting what makes us different and what we all have in common. This series provides great support to geography learning, as well as helping young language learners improve their reading skills.Perfect for readers aged 7 and up.

Franklin Watts

Comparing Countries: Games and Entertainment (English/Urdu)

Sabrina Crewe
Authors:
Sabrina Crewe
Franklin Watts

Comparing Countries: Games and Entertainment (English/Arabic)

Sabrina Crewe
Authors:
Sabrina Crewe

How do children have fun in other countries? Travel the world with Games and Entertainment to see the activities that people enjoy, from sport and games to art and music. Comparing Countries is a groundbreaking non-fiction dual-language series which compares and contrasts ways of life in ten different countries around the world. Presented in two different languages, each title explores a topic common to all children, from homes to festivals, highlighting what makes us different and what we all have in common. This series provides great support to geography learning, as well as helping young language learners improve their reading skills.Perfect for readers aged 7 and up.

Wayland

Romanticism

Susie Brooks
Authors:
Susie Brooks

Beginning as a 19th century literary movement, Romanticism was all about the drama, sensation, glory, imagination and the awesome (and awful) wonders of life! Stirred by changing times across Europe, Romantic art championed humanity and emotions and celebrated nature in all its forms. As an artistic movement, Romanticism declined from the 1850s but its influence lives on in the works of JMW Turner, John Constable, Goya and Eugène Delacroix. An accessible and in-depth guide to some of the most popular and significant art movements, Inside Art Movements explores their origins, evolution and legacy in today's world.For readers aged 9 and up.

Wayland

Pop Art

Susie Brooks
Authors:
Susie Brooks
Wayland

Coastlines

Susie Brooks
Authors:
Susie Brooks
Franklin Watts

Greg Rutherford

Roy Apps
Authors:
Roy Apps

This inspirational biography for children, written by award-winning author Roy Apps, follows the jumping story of Greg Rutherford and his incredible rise to become Olympic long jump gold medalist and IAAF top-ranking Diamond League athlete. Illustrated with colour artwork by Alessandro Valdrighi, including graphic novel-style panels, this book is perfect for sport-mad girls and boys with a reading age of 7, but will work perfectly well for older readers too. Printed on off-white paper using a reading font approved by the British Dyslexia Association, the Sporting Heroes series brings to life the skill, grit and determination needed to be a world-class sportsperson today. This title is published by Franklin Watts EDGE, which produces a range of booksto get children reading with confidence. EDGE - for books kids can't put down.

Wayland

With Everyday Things

Susie Brooks
Authors:
Susie Brooks

A collection of fun, simple, inexpensive craft projects, ideal for time-poor parents and budget-challenged schools, promoting reuse and recycling. Beautifully designed, the book is clearly and appealingly illustrated with step-by-step instructions and engaging artwork. Each activity is straightforward and achievable, and as such is therapeutic for stressed or anxious children, allowing them to make things by themselves, and to have confidence in their own abilities. Let's Make Art With Everyday Things shows you how to use object found lying around, from cardboard and coins to leaves and vegetables, to make ice-cream bunting, forky faces, pasta prints, a soapy solar system, leafy insects and much, much more. Techniques include printing, collage, making rubbings and paint-scraping - used in ingenious ways for fantastic results!Other titles in the series include Let's Make Art By Printing and Stamping, Let's Make Art with Hands and Feet and Let's Make Art with Scrap Paper, so there's a whole load of upcycling fun to be had!

Wayland

With Scrap Paper

Susie Brooks
Authors:
Susie Brooks
Wayland

With Hands and Feet

Susie Brooks
Authors:
Susie Brooks