Seren Boyd - Loos Save Lives - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Loos Save Lives

How sanitation and clean water help prevent poverty, disease and death

By Seren Boyd

  • Hardback
  • £12.99

Who knew toilets were so interesting - and so important!
Biographical Notes

Seren Boyd is a journalist and writer specialising in international development and, more recently, toilets. Her love of words comes from studying languages and spending far too long in libraries as a child. Today, as a parent, she reads in the loo.

Toilet Twinning raises funds for water and sanitation work in some of the poorest, most remote communities in the world. It helps provide life-saving latrines, safe water and essential training in handwashing, to homes, schools and displacement camps in more than 20 countries.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781526303752
  • Publication date: 09 Nov 2017
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Wayland
We take loos for granted, but children need to be aware that an incredible 2.4 billion people across the world don't have somewhere they can go to the toilet safely; over 1 billion people don't have access to any kind of sanitation or clean water at all. The impact is huge, preventing children (and especially girls) from going to school, forcing people to walk miles to access safe drinking water, and causing death ... a fascinating look at a vital subject, a real eye-opener. — Parents In Touch
Orchard Books

Adventure Duck vs the Armadillo Army

Steve Cole
Authors:
Steve Cole
Hodder Children's Books

The Hottentops at No. 87

Kes Gray, Chris Jevons
Contributors:
Kes Gray, Chris Jevons

Nelly isn't scared of monsters. In fact, she babysits for them. From the bestselling author of the OI FROG! and DAISY books comes this hilarious, action-packed series for fans of THE BOLDS and BARRY LOSER.'If monsters are real, how come I've never seen one?''Because they never go out.''Why don't monsters ever go out?''Because they can never get a babysitter.'Ever swum with a Water Greep, or played hotscotch with a Hottentop? Every time Nelly rings on a new monster family's doorbell she's up for a new challenge. Come on her monster-sitting adventures in this laugh-out-loud funny third book in the NELLY THE MONSTER SITTER series. Kes Gray is one of the Independent's top ten children's authors, and winner of the Red House Children's Book Award.This is a brand-new story in the Nelly the Monster Sitter series, never before published, and illustrated by the hugely talented Chris Jevons.

Orchard Books

Grandma Dangerous 3

Kita Mitchell
Authors:
Kita Mitchell
Orion Children's Books

Hangman's Crossing

Will Mabbitt
Authors:
Will Mabbitt

The second book in a spookily funny new series, where the living meet the dead and survival is a race against time. Perfect for fans of Skulduggery Pleasant and Who Let the Gods Out. Welcome to the Embassy of the Dead. Leave your life at the door. (Thanks.) Jake may have already outrun and outwitted a grim reaper - saving his own life, as well as the soul of an innocent ghost - but his spooky adventure has only just begun . . . In return for helping ghost, Stiffkey, resolve his unfinished business and travel to the Afterworld, Jake has now been awarded an official position working for the Embassy of the Dead, protecting ghosts in need. He didn't ask for it and, to be honest, he doesn't necessarily want it, but saying 'no' to the Embassy isn't an option. Now Jake must journey even deeper into the mysterious world of ghosts where, on a rowdy night undercover at the Hangman's Social Club, he overhears a plot to destroy the very fabric between the world of the living and the dead. With his ghostly gang at his side - hockey stick-wielding Cora and Zorro the fox - Jake must do the impossible. He has to be a hero. Again. His life - and ultimately his death - depends on it.

Orion Children's Books

Emily Windsnap and the Pirate Prince

Liz Kessler
Authors:
Liz Kessler

Meet Emily Windsnap! Ordinary girl on land, magical mermaid in water... Bubbling with magic, fun, friendship and oceans of adventure. A must-read for girls aged 8+.When Emily Windsnap's boyfriend Aaron is captured by pirates there's only one option - join a rival pirate crew and persuade them to help rescue him. The Pirate Prince agrees, as long as Emily assists in finding the Trident's Treasure first.But as if boarding a pirate ship weren't dangerous enough, Emily soon discovers that pirates hate mermaids. If her true identity is revealed, her life - and Aaron's - will be at risk.How will Emily keep her secret when the only way to win the treasure is by turning into a mermaid?

Orchard Books

Aisha the Astronaut Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel and Kirsty for the biggest adventure of all - following your dreams!Rachel and Kirsty are so excited to meet the Discovery Fairies, who look after some of the most exciting jobs in the world. But when Jack Frost steals Aisha the Astronaut Fairy's magical item, the astronauts everywhere lose their mojo!Can the girls help Aisha defeat him in a truly out-of-this-world adventure?

Orchard Books

Orla the Inventor Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

Dani the Detective Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

Elsie the Engineer Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel and Kirsty for the biggest adventure of all - following your dreams!Rachel and Kirsty are so excited to meet the Discovery Fairies, who look after some of the most exciting jobs in the world. But when Jack Frost steals Elsie the Engineer Fairy's magical item, engineers everywhere lose their very special skills! Can the girls help Elsie defeat him and save the magic of engineering from being destroyed?

Hodder Children's Books

Animal Stories

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Hodder Children's Books

The Mystery of the Burnt Cottage

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

The Find-Outers is a brilliant mystery series from bestselling author Enid Blyton, perfect for fans of The Secret Seven. Someone has set fire to Mr Hick's cottage, but who could it be? Fatty, Larry, Daisy, Pip, Bets and Buster the dog have their very first case to solve. But it's not easy being detectives with policeman Mr Goon telling them to "clear orf". The Find-Outers are determined - they have to solve the mystery before Mr Goon does!In the original 1943 text, Fatty's nickname is based on the fact that his initials are F.A.T. as well as his size. All references to his size have been removed from this recording (based on the text from 2016) so that Fatty's nickname refers to his initials only.(P) 2019 Hodder Children's Books

Hodder Children's Books

The Mystery of the Disappearing Cat

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

The Find-Outers is a brilliant mystery series from bestselling author Enid Blyton, perfect for fans of The Secret Seven. A prize winning Siamese Cat has been stolen, and all evidence points to the Find-Outers' friend Luke. Fatty Larry, Daisy, Pip and Bets know Luke is innocent, but how can they prove it? The Find-Outers have another mystery to solve!In the original 1944 text, Fatty's nickname is based on the fact that his initials are F.A.T. as well as his size. All references to his size have been removed from this recording (based on the text from 2016) so that Fatty's nickname refers to his initials only.(P) 2019 Hodder Children's Books

Quercus Children's Books

The Last Life of Prince Alastor

Alexandra Bracken
Authors:
Alexandra Bracken

Every family has secrets - but not every family has a secret pact with a demon.The thrilling second book in the darkly comic PROSPER REDDING series - with enough twists and turns to make every reader dizzy. Perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket, Jonathan Stroud and Skulduggery Pleasant.Prosper is the only unexceptional Redding in his remarkable family. So, when he discovers that an 800-year-old demon called Alastor is responsible for their luck - and that this demon is currently living inside him - he's more than a little surprised.Worse luck, now Prosper needs a favour from him.Prosper's sister Prue has fallen into the clutches of evil queen Pyra, and only Prince Alastor can help him get her back. His demonic malefactor agrees to be Prosper's guide through the demon realm under one condition - Prosper must enter into a contract of eternal servitude in the afterlife. With Prue in mortal danger, Prosper has no choice but to agree. Will Prosper ever make it out again, and if he does, will his afterlife be damned for all eternity?

Orchard Books

Runaway Hamster

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels

A brilliant animal series from multi-million selling author Lucy Daniels.With exciting animal rescues and real-life care tips, this is the perfect series for young animal lovers! Amelia and Sam are helping out at Animal Ark when twin sisters come in with their pet hamster. The only thing the girls can agree on is that there's something wrong with their pet. Could the hamster's greedy brother be the problem?When the hamster escapes at the village Food Fair, Amelia and Sam enlist everyone to look for him. From big bigs to tiny hamsters, everyone needs their own space - even the twins!

Orchard Books

Querzol the Swamp Monster

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Wayland

The Fall of the Berlin Wall

Patricia Levy
Authors:
Patricia Levy
Franklin Watts

Refuse Collector

Rachel Blount
Authors:
Rachel Blount
Franklin Watts

The Seashore

Peter Riley
Authors:
Peter Riley

Have you ever looked at the objects inside a curiosity box? What did you see and what did they feel like? Did you recognise some of them or were there things in there that you'd never seen before? Books that take the magical charm of collecting curiosities, joined together with the science behind some of the wonders of the natural world. Children will be inspired to take a closer look at objects and the world around them and begin to question how and why nature designs things in certain ways.The Seashore looks at some of the different habitats along the coast and the plants, animals and objects that you will find there. From sand lizards hiding in the sand dunes, to all sorts of shells, crustaceans and seabirds. Children will love discovering a bit more about this favourite location. The mixture of full-colour photographs and illustrations ensure maximum impact and levels of detail but without feeling overly educational - even though this book is brimming with scienceBooks that encourage KS1 readers to engage with core science and nature topics, while developing other key skills in thinking and reasoning in an utterly absorbing and charming way.

Franklin Watts

Christian Church

Angela Wood, Emma Trithart
Contributors:
Angela Wood, Emma Trithart

What is a church for? Who is Jesus? What is the Bible? What happens in a church service? All these questions and more are explored in this first introduction to the religion of Christianity.The We Worship Here series introduces children aged 6+ to the main religions of the world. Each book features information about beliefs, values and the ways people worship. The books are clearly and sensitively written and the text is supported with beautiful illustrations.

Franklin Watts

Vet

James Nixon
Authors:
James Nixon

What's it like to be a vet? Perhaps one day you might like to become a vet too? In this book you will meet our vet, Nafisa - and some of her colleagues - and see what she does at work every day. Find out about the types of animals she looks after - from cats to cows! - the equipment she uses to do her job and what it is like to work with animals.Brilliant introductory books for very young readers that follow real professionals around their place of work to give a flavour of what it means to work in a particular job.