Ava Beese, Lilli Beese, and Nick Beese - Proud to be Deaf - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781526302199
    • Publication date:11 Apr 2019

Proud to be Deaf

By Ava Beese, Lilli Beese, and Nick Beese
Illustrated by Romina Martí

  • Hardback
  • £12.99

A wonderful child-led book that celebrates Deaf culture and introduces readers to British Sign Language

A wonderful child-led book that celebrates Deaf culture and introduces readers to British Sign Language

Marvellously positive and encouraging throughout, this would be a useful addition to any primary school or public library, as well as being useful to help any child understand a little more about their deaf peers. - The Carousel

Ava is like any other 7-year-old. She likes to talk and laugh with her friends, is obsessed with dogs and loves being active. Ava is also deaf - and she's proud of it. She loves her Deaf community, that she's bilingual, and that she experiences the world differently from hearing people.

In this book, Ava welcomes her hearing peers to her daily life, the way technology helps her navigate the world and explains common misconceptions about deaf people - and introduces some of her deaf heroes who have achieved amazing things. She talks about her experiences at school making friends with hearing children, and teaches readers the BSL alphabet and BSL phrases. Featuring photos of Ava, her friends and family throughout, plus illustrations of hand signs.

Biographical Notes

Lilli Beese (Author)
Ava Beese is seven years old. When she was two, her dad Nick posted a YouTube video of her signing with her mum over dinner. It went viral, was watched almost 1.5 million times, and was picked up by BBC News. The videos her family still post of their BSL dinner chats continue to receive tens of thousands of hits.

Ava's mum, Lilli Beese, is a BSL interpreter, television presenter and trainee psychologist.

Ava's dad, Nick Beese, is a designer and former captain of Great Britain's deaf football team.

Together, Nick and Lilli founded support group Deaf Parents Deaf Children. They regularly campaign on deaf issues.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781526302182
  • Publication date: 11 May 2017
  • Page count: 48
  • Imprint: Wayland
In this book, Ava welcomes her hearing peers to her daily life, the way technology helps her navigate the world and explains common misconceptions about deaf people - and introduces some of her deaf heroes who have achieved amazing things ... an excellent way to understand and empathise. — Parents In Touch
Marvellously positive and encouraging throughout this would be a useful addition to any primary school or public library, as well as being useful to help any child understand a little more about their deaf peers. — The Carousel
This book is subtitled 'Discover my community and my language' and it certainly achieves that aim. — The School Librarian
Orchard Books

Adventure Duck vs the Armadillo Army

Steve Cole
Authors:
Steve Cole

There's no ducking out - it's time for this ordinary, wise-quacking duck to become . . . A Hero!Ay, chihuahua! Adventure Duck and his zebra sidekick, Ziggy, have a spicy new mission. Their nemesis, Power Pug, has a dastardly new scheme to take over the world with a range of mind-control chocolate treats. With the help of a llama with projectile spit, Adventure Duck and Ziggy set out to foil the pug's nefarious plans to dig up the rainforest to build an enormous chocolate factory. But an army of armadillos stands in their way... Can the superhero amigos find a chink in the armadillos' armour and save the rainforest from destruction?

Orchard Books

Glitterhoof's Secret Garden

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

Sparklesplash and the Mermaid Adventure

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Hodder Children's Books

Agent Weasel and the Fiendish Fox Gang

Nick East
Authors:
Nick East
Hodder Children's Books

Claude: Anyone For Strawberries?

Alex T. Smith
Authors:
Alex T. Smith
Orchard Books

Dawnblaze Saves Summer

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

A secret world full of magic, unicorns and friendship! The brand-new series from the bestselling Daisy Meadows, author of RAINBOW MAGIC and MAGIC ANIMAL FRIENDS, and the most-borrowed children's author in UK libraries.Join best friends Lucy and Aisha as they discover a secret world full of unicorns, magic and friendship! Journey with them to the beautiful kingdom of Unicorn Valley, where the beautiful Queen Aurora rules kindly over the unicorns and all other magical creatures. But when the Dark Unicorn Selena tries to steal the throne, good magic everywhere is under threat. Can the girls and their new unicorn friends find a way to save the kingdom?

Orchard Books

Scaredy-Dog

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Hodder Children's Books

Claude Ever-So-Summery Sticker Book

Alex T. Smith
Authors:
Alex T. Smith

Meet Claude - the ordinary dog with an extraordinary life. Now the star of his very own TV show on Disney Junior with 52 episodes airing in 2018. Whether he's on Pawhaven beach or visiting Armslength Keep all sorts of wacky adventures happen to Claude and his best friend, Sir Bobblysock.It's a sunshiny summer scorcher in Pawhaven! Join in the seaside fun with Claude, Sir Bobblysock and all their friends.Packed full of fun games, amazing activities and sunny stickers galore, this activity book will keep Claude fans busy for hours! Based on the Disney Junior TV show.Praise for Alex T. Smith's Claude series:'Illustrated with humour and elegance' The Times'With quirky illustrations and plenty of humour' MetroClaude in the City was shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Book Prize and selected for the Richard and Judy Book Club. Claude Going for Gold won the Sainsbury's Children's Book Award. Alex T. Smith was the official World Book Day illustrator in 2014.Follow Alex at alextsmith.com and on Twitter: @Alex_T_Smith

Hodder Children's Books

Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets

Alex T. Smith
Authors:
Alex T. Smith
Hodder Children's Books

Claude: All About Keith

Alex T. Smith
Authors:
Alex T. Smith

Meet Claude - the ordinary dog with an extraordinary life. Now the star of his very own TV show on Disney Junior with 52 episodes airing in 2018. Whether he's on Pawhaven beach or visiting Armslength Keep all sorts of wacky adventures happen to Claude and his best friend, Sir Bobblysock.Claude and Sir Bobblysock are happily taking a stroll in sunny Pawhaven when they hear an extremely loud WAIL! A poor little duckling is lost! Can the two friends keep him happy and find his mummy?!A fantastic new storybook based on the Disney Junior TV show.Praise for Alex T. Smith's Claude series:'Illustrated with humour and elegance' The Times'With quirky illustrations and plenty of humour' MetroClaude in the City was shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Book Prize and selected for the Richard and Judy Book Club. Claude Going for Gold won the Sainsbury's Children's Book Award. Alex T. Smith was the official World Book Day illustrator in 2014.Follow Alex at alextsmith.com and on Twitter: @Alex_T_Smith

Hodder Children's Books

Claude Snazzy Dress-Up Sticker Book

Alex T. Smith
Authors:
Alex T. Smith
Wren & Rook

The Brontës

Anna Doherty
Authors:
Anna Doherty

An inspiring, empowering, fantastically feminist and totally true story, perfect for fans of Little People, Big Dreams and Goodnight Stories for Rebel Girls! Meet the incredible Brontë family - Charlotte, Emily, Anne and Branwell Brontë are no ordinary children. Growing up on the wild, lonely moors of Yorkshire, they have nothing to entertain them but their imaginations and each other. So they invent extraordinary imaginery worlds, full of wars and love stories, soldiers, heroes and villains, ruled over by powerful women. As they grow up, the Brontës discover that the real world isn't such a great place to be a girl. But they are so determined that their voices be heard, they overcome almost unbeatable odds to be bestselling authors. This is the absolutely astonishing, fantastically feminist and, best of all, totally true story of one amazing family!

Orchard Books

Aisha the Astronaut Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

Orla the Inventor Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel and Kirsty for the biggest adventure of all - following your dreams!Rachel and Kirsty are so excited to meet the Discovery Fairies, who look after some of the most exciting jobs in the world. But when Jack Frost steals Orla the Inventor Fairy's magical item, inventors everywhere stop having ideas!Can the girls help Orla defeat him and bring inspiration back to fairy and human worlds?

Orchard Books

Dani the Detective Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

Elsie the Engineer Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel and Kirsty for the biggest adventure of all - following your dreams!Rachel and Kirsty are so excited to meet the Discovery Fairies, who look after some of the most exciting jobs in the world. But when Jack Frost steals Elsie the Engineer Fairy's magical item, engineers everywhere lose their very special skills! Can the girls help Elsie defeat him and save the magic of engineering from being destroyed?

Orchard Books

Rainbow Magic Early Reader: Charlotte the Baby Princess Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

This cheerful and inviting Early Reader brings the blast of colour that Rainbow Magic's youngest fans have been waiting for!Charlotte the Baby Princess Fairy makes sure that all royal babies are happy and snug in their cribs. But when Jack Frost steals her magical lion toy, mini princes and princesses everywhere are up all night! Can Kirsty and Rachel help Charlotte stop the palace pandemonium?

Orchard Books

When the Crocodiles Came to Town

Magda Brol, Magda Brol
Contributors:
Magda Brol, Magda Brol
Orchard Books

Runaway Hamster

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels

A brilliant animal series from multi-million selling author Lucy Daniels.With exciting animal rescues and real-life care tips, this is the perfect series for young animal lovers! Amelia and Sam are helping out at Animal Ark when twin sisters come in with their pet hamster. The only thing the girls can agree on is that there's something wrong with their pet. Could the hamster's greedy brother be the problem?When the hamster escapes at the village Food Fair, Amelia and Sam enlist everyone to look for him. From big bigs to tiny hamsters, everyone needs their own space - even the twins!

Hodder Children's Books

A Bite in the Night

Julian Gough, Jim Field
Contributors:
Julian Gough, Jim Field