Janine Beacham - Rubies and Runaways - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781510201330
    • Publication date:13 Jul 2017
Books in this series

Rubies and Runaways

Book 2

By Janine Beacham

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

Rose Raventhorpe and the secret society of crime-solving butlers are at it again! When an orphan goes missing, will Rose and the butlers be able to find her before she disappears forever?

For fans of Murder Most Unladylike and The Clockwork Sparrow

The Clockwork Sparrow meets Downton Abbey

It's a bitterly cold winter in Yorke and Rose Raventhorpe and her butler Heddsworth are stuck with Rose's unpleasant cousin Herbert, and his equally horrible butler, Bixby.

When an orphan boy named Orpheus interrupts the Cathedral's Mistletoe Service, saying that his sister has been kidnapped, Rose vows to help. Solving the mystery will be a lot better than accompanying ghastly Herbert! But the investigation is more complicated than Rose has anticipated and will lead her and her butler friends through fancy tea-rooms, horrible factories, secret underground passages and more...

Fireplace pokers are much more dangerous than you might imagine . . .

Biographical Notes

A former journalist, Janine Beacham has written all her life. She has always loved fairy tales and fantasy, and as a child would make up games for her friends to play at school. Janine once entered a competition where the prize was a real-life butler - which partly inspired the secret society of butlers in the Rose Raventhorpe Investigates series. Janine lives in Western Australia with her family.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781510201316
  • Publication date: 13 Jul 2017
  • Page count: 248
  • Imprint: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
I love this book because of the adventures Rose gets up to! — Azra, aged 9, Reading Zone - Child Review
This is an excellent addition to the popular genre of historical mysteries for children. Excellently plotted, with realistic and well-rounded characters. — Parents in Touch
Hodder Children's Books

The Wizards of Once: Knock Three Times

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell
Hodder Children's Books

Toto the Ninja Cat 3

Dermot O’Leary
Authors:
Dermot O’Leary

Toto is no ordinary cat, and she can't wait for you to join her on her THIRD ninja adventure! From one of the UK's best-loved broadcasters, purrfect for fans of The Aristocats, The Secret Life of Pets and Atticus Claw Breaks the Law. Toto, the amazing ninja cat, is back and cooler than ever! Toto is almost blind, but that doesn't stop her having brilliant adventures. Ideal for reading aloud or for children to curl up with and read alone, the story features brilliant black and white illustrations throughout. With gentle themes of friendship, inclusivity and winning in the face of adversity, this is a hilarious must-read for all animal-loving kids! Dermot says: 'The idea for Toto first came to me when my wife and I rescued two stray cats from an olive grove in Italy. One of them, Toto, has been blind from birth, but we quickly realised she had ninja-like reactions. Like a lot of cat owners (or cat servants), we like to imagine our pets having secret lives when we're out or asleep. So before I knew it I was writing about Toto and her brother Silver's nocturnal adventures around London. I really hope that children who pick it up enjoy reading the adventures of our little Italian underdog (cat).'Have you read Toto's other adventures: The Great Snake Escape and The Incredible Cheese Heist?

Hodder Children's Books

Tales of Tricks and Treats

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Wayland

Cats React to Science Facts

Orchard Books

Electro the Storm Bird

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orchard Books

Fluger the Sightless Slitherer

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Battle Beasts and fight Evil with Tom and Elenna in the bestselling adventure series for boys and girls aged 7 and up!A wicked curse has been put on Tom's magical Golden Armour, turning its powers to Evil. Now he has fallen under its enchantment and is being controlled by his pirate enemy, Ria. Tom must battle a terrifying water monster - but he will need the help of his loyal companion Elenna more than ever ...There are FOUR thrilling adventures to collect in this series - don't miss out!

Hodder Children's Books

Famous Five Colour Short Stories: The Birthday Adventure

Enid Blyton, Becka Moor
Contributors:
Enid Blyton, Becka Moor
Wayland

The Tech-Head Guide: Robots

William Potter
Authors:
William Potter
Wayland

The Tech-Head Guide: Computers

William Potter
Authors:
William Potter

Explore the rise of technology that may soon rule our lives!What is a computer, how does it work, what are they being used for and what role may they play in the future? Big impactful photos fill the pages highlighting the science and technology at work. These pieces of technology are infiltrating all areas of our lives, including the home, our social life, the world of work, health and education. The supportive functions and the sinister elements are all explored.From smartphones in out pockets to weather-mapping super computers, we're now connected through these clever machines. They play an increasing role in our lives, but are we telling them what to do or will computers be controlling us one day? The Tech-Head Guide series is an essential guide to the exciting and fast-developing technology that is changing our lives. Check out the other titles in the series to learn about the technology that operates AI, robots, drones and computers and prepare for their takeover. Perfect for readers 9 and up.

Orchard Books

The Case of the Evil Engineer

Girls Excelling at Maths and Science! Four friends use their smarts to solve mysteries.Four 12-year old girls from different countries meet as room-mates at a prestigious international summer camp for young scientists in California. The camp is sponsored by Vance Tech - one of the world's biggest tech companies. At first, despite having a love of maths and science in common, the girls view each other as competitors - a big prize for the best robot will be awarded at the end of the camp, at a launch party for Vance Tech's newest wearable tech product. At first it seems exciting to be trialling the new bracelets, until the girls begin to realise that they are actually guinea pigs themselves! Someone is plotting to sabotage the award ceremony using the campers' robots. The implications aren't just mind-blowing - they are literally explosive! The girls form a secret organisation called G.E.M.S. (standing for Girls Excelling at Maths and Science - and also their initials!) and use their science smarts to expose the evil engineer behind the sabotage.

Franklin Watts

Alien Kidnap

Tony Bradman, Wil Overton
Contributors:
Tony Bradman, Wil Overton

Kid Force 3 are Jayden, Layla and Caleb. They aren't regular kids, they're super kids - each with an amazing superhero power.In this story, Emperor of the Vordar has invaded planet Earth! Can Kid Force 3 save the human race from the alien takeover?This title is published by Franklin Watts EDGE, which produces a range of books to get children reading with confidence. This series is suitable for guided reading with children aged 5+, but also for older readers with low reading confidence or struggling to enjoy books.

Franklin Watts

Beating Stress and Anxiety

Honor Head, Roberta Terracchio
Contributors:
Honor Head, Roberta Terracchio
Franklin Watts

Your Brain and Body

Honor Head, Roberta Terracchio
Contributors:
Honor Head, Roberta Terracchio

Aimed at young tweens, this book will help you to look after your brain and body and develop good mental health. How are you today? Your brain and body work as a team. What you do with your body - what you eat, how you exercise and how much sleep you get - affects your mood, while your thoughts and feelings affect how you feel physically. This book will help you to understand how your physical and mental health are closely linked. There are hints and tips on quick ways to improve your health that you can try every day or whenever you need to. The text has been approved by a consultant working in the field of young people's mental health and includes information on further sources of help and advice.

Franklin Watts

Robot Runaway

Tony Bradman, Wil Overton
Contributors:
Tony Bradman, Wil Overton

Kid Force 3 are Jayden, Layla and Caleb. They aren't regular kids, they're super kids - each with an amazing superhero power.In this story, a professor's new robot malfunctions and escapes, out of control. Can Kid Force 3 track it down and stop it from destroying anything in its path? This title is published by Franklin Watts EDGE, which produces a range of books to get children reading with confidence. This series is suitable for guided reading with children aged 5+, but also for older readers with low reading confidence or struggling to enjoy books.

Franklin Watts

Human Rights

Alice Harman, David Broadbent
Contributors:
Alice Harman, David Broadbent
Franklin Watts

Rules for Everyone

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw, David Broadbent
Contributors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw, David Broadbent

How can you be a good global citizen? By understanding the world we live in and how we can effect change. This book explores what rules are for, who makes the rules and how governments and power works in society. It helps children understand systems of democracy and how people have the ability to influence the rules of society. It features case studies on civil rights and activities to make campaign videos and organise a debate club. The consultant is Dr Synne Dyvik, Senior Lecturer in International Relations at Sussex University.The I'm a Global Citizen series explores the concept of 'Global Citizenship': recognising that the world we live in is unfair and unequal, but promoting individual and collective action to challenge and change this. Each book has information, fun activities, challenges, case studies and ideas for group and individual action presented with fun illustrations. The books promote the idea that we have power as individuals: each of us can change things, and each of us has choices about how we behave. They encourage children aged 8+ to counter ignorance and intolerance.

Franklin Watts

Plants

Clare Hibbert, Rudolf Farkas
Contributors:
Clare Hibbert, Rudolf Farkas
Franklin Watts

Dinosaurs

Clare Hibbert, Rudolf Farkas
Contributors:
Clare Hibbert, Rudolf Farkas
Wayland

The Tech-Head Guide: Drones

William Potter
Authors:
William Potter
Wayland

The Tech-Head Guide: AIs

William Potter
Authors:
William Potter

Explore the rise of technology that may soon rule our lives!What is artificial intelligence, how does it work, what is it being used for and what role may it play in the future? Big impactful photos fill the spreads with pulled out features and leader lines highlighting the science and technology at work. These pieces of technology are infiltrating all areas of our lives, including the home, our social life, the world of work, health and education. The supportive functions and the sinister elements are all explored.An essential guide to our future overlords - geek up on the technology that drives these machines and prepare for their takeover.