Jenny Colgan - The Happy Christmas - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781510200937
    • Publication date:19 Oct 2017
Books in this series

The Happy Christmas

Book 4

By Jenny Colgan
Illustrated by Thomas Docherty

  • Hardback
  • £7.99

The fourth children's book featuring Polly and her puffin Neil, from bestselling adult novelist Jenny Colgan. With gorgeous two-colour illustrations throughout, Polly is perfect for reading aloud - especially at Christmas!

The fourth children's book featuring Polly and her puffin Neil, from bestselling adult novelist Jenny Colgan. With gorgeous two-colour illustrations throughout, Polly is perfect for reading aloud - especially at Christmas!

Polly and her puffin friend Neil have wrapped presents, practised for the village nativity and written their lists for Santa. But Christmas is taking a very long time to arrive. And Polly isn't enjoying the wait.

What's worse, Neil is busy helping to keep an egg warm, so he hasn't got much time to play.

Will it EVER be Christmas? And will a tiny little puffling hatch in time for the big day?

Perfect for bedtime stories and early readers. From the bestselling author of The Little Beach Street Bakery.

Contains lots of fun festive recipes and activities in addition to the story.

Biographical Notes

Jenny Colgan (Author)
Jenny Colgan is the author of numerous bestselling novels for adults, including Meet Me at the Cupcake Café and Little Beach Street Bakery. When Neil the puffin from Little Beach Street Bakery caught her readers' attention, Jenny knew she needed a story of his own - and so the idea for Polly and the Puffin was born.

Jenny is married with three children and lives in Scotland. For more about Jenny, visit her website and her Facebook page, or follow her on Twitter: @jennycolgan.

Thomas Docherty (Illustrator)
Thomas Docherty is an acclaimed author and illustrator of children's picture books including Little Boat, Big Scary Monster, and the Driftwood Ball. The Snatchabook, which was written by his wife Helen, has been shortlisted for several awards in the UK and US and been translated into 17 languages.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781510200920
  • Publication date: 19 Oct 2017
  • Page count: 96
  • Imprint: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
This is ideal for beginner readers, and the lovely two-tone illustrations really add to the enjoyment.The book includes lots of fun festive recipes and activities. — Parents in Touch
This is a lovely festive story ideal for young readers on their own or reading together — Ed on the Web
Much as I adored Jenny Colgan's first books about Polly and her puffin, this Christmas story beats them. Illustrated by Thomas Docherty, both have caught the spirit of Polly and her Christmas wishes exactly. — The Bookwitch
Lovely two-colour illustrations on every page make this a perfect festive choice for newly confident reader. — The School Run
Hodder Children's Books

Ready, Rabbit?

Fiona Roberton
Authors:
Fiona Roberton

Little Rabbit has been invited to a party, but is not at all sure that it will be as fun as everyone says...It's nearly time to go to the party, but there are just a few small worries standing in the way... Yes, there will be cake and carrots - but what if it's too loud? And what if Rabbit gets tired and wants to come home? An empowering story about the fun you can have when you overcome your fears, from the bestselling creator of A Tale of Two Beasts. Praise for A Tale of Two Beasts: 'Roberton's premise is as sublime as it is simple, with a subtle message. Totally delightful.' - Kirkus Reviews

Orchard Books

Rita the Rollerskating Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Orchard Books

Callie the Climbing Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Hodder Children's Books

The Liars

Jennifer Mathieu
Authors:
Jennifer Mathieu

The highly anticipated new novel from Jennifer Mathieu. Two siblings wrestle with the secrets and lies that threaten to destroy their future. Perfect for fans of We Were Liars.How can one family have so many secrets?It's the summer of 1986. Joaquin and Elena, two teenage siblings live in a toxic environment with their alcoholic mother on an island off the Texas Gulf Coast. Elena falls for a new boy who has just arrived from California. Joaquin must wrestle with his decision to stay on Mariposa Island to protect his sister or flee from his mother's abuse. As both teenagers struggle to figure out who they are and want to be, they are caught in a web of family dysfunction and secrets from their mother's past. Can fierce love save them, or will their truth tear them apart?

Orchard Books

Rainbow Magic: Hazel the Librarian Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Franklin Watts

A New Home in Space

Damian Harvey, José Rubert
Contributors:
Damian Harvey, José Rubert

Theo has moved school before, but never to a space station! He is worried about how he will fit into a place where everything is so different. Join him as he makes new friends despite all his fears.Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Franklin Watts

The Wolf in Sheep's Clothing

Jenny Jinks
Authors:
Jenny Jinks

Wilf is not like other wolves. He doesn't want to scare people, he'd rather make friends with them! But the harder he tries to be nice, the more the others fear him ... so he decides to dress up as a sheep!Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Franklin Watts

Turtle Comes Out of Her Shell - A book about feeling shy

Sue Graves, Trevor Dunton
Contributors:
Sue Graves, Trevor Dunton
Hodder Children's Books

Adventure of the Goblin Dog

Enid Blyton, Mark Beech
Contributors:
Enid Blyton, Mark Beech
Franklin Watts

Dragon Dance

Sue Graves, Fátima Anaya
Contributors:
Sue Graves, Fátima Anaya
Orchard Books

Mole's Star

Britta Teckentrup, Britta Teckentrup
Contributors:
Britta Teckentrup, Britta Teckentrup

A magical, star-filled picture book about learning to share the wonders of our world.Every evening, Mole comes out of his burrow to watch the twinkling stars in the sky above. How he wishes he could have them for his very own! Then one night he sees a shooting star, and suddenly his wish comes true. There's just one problem: now that Mole's burrow is full of beautiful, shining stars, none of the other animals can enjoy them . . .Written and illustrated by the award-winning Britta Teckentrup, this beautiful picture book will spark conversations about sharing, friendship and using the resources of our world responsibly.Look out for more books from Britta Teckentrup:Little Mouse and the Red Wall The Memory TreeMy Hand in Your HandNever Take a Bear to School

Orchard Books

My Little Pony Character Guide

The ultimate guide to every character in the world of My Little Pony!The world of Equestria is filled with characters of all shapes and sizes and this is your chance to meet them all. From the newest ponies in town to the most fearsome foes, find out about all of your favourite fillies and more!

Hodder Children's Books

Goodnight, Mr Panda

Steve Antony
Authors:
Steve Antony
Orchard Books

My Little Pony Big Book of Activity Fun

Join your favourite My Little Pony friends in a jam-packed bumper book of fun!Get creative with Twilight Sparkle, Rainbow Dash, Pinkie Pie, Fluttershy, Rarity, Applejack, and of course Spike! Packed with activities and space to colour, draw and doodle this book will keep My Little Pony fans entertained for hours. Plus, there are over 250 stickers included.

Franklin Watts

Croc Needs to Wait - A book about patience

Sue Graves, Trevor Dunton
Contributors:
Sue Graves, Trevor Dunton
Franklin Watts

Cheetah Learns to Play Nicely - A book about being a good sport

Sue Graves, Trevor Dunton
Contributors:
Sue Graves, Trevor Dunton

This funny, charming story is the perfect way to introduce young children to what fair play is, and help them understand the importance of being a good sport. Also included are suggestions for activities and ideas to talk through together to help children fully understand how their behaviour can impact on others.Cheetah always wants to win - no matter what it takes. But when his friends no longer want to play with him, he decides to look at his behaviour and start playing more nicely.The Behaviour Matters series of picture books provide a gentle means of discussing emotions, boosting self-esteem and reinforcing good behaviour. Supports the Personal, Social and Emotional Development Area of Learning in the Early Years Foundation Stage, and is also suitable for use with children in KS1 and can be used to discuss values. Suitable for children under 5.

Franklin Watts

Rhino Learns to be Polite - A book about good manners

Sue Graves, Trevor Dunton
Contributors:
Sue Graves, Trevor Dunton
Wayland

The Baker's Boy and the Great Fire of London

Tom Bradman, Tony Bradman, Andy Catling
Contributors:
Tom Bradman, Tony Bradman, Andy Catling

This exciting story brings the tale of the great fire of London to life for young readers. When Will Farriner wakes to the sound of crackling flames and the smell of smoke, he knows something is terribly wrong! As his family escape the flames engulfing their bakery, Will realises he must stop the fire from spreading. But what can be done before all of London goes up in smoke?Full of adventure and danger, this short text is suitable for struggling readers but engaging enough to give confident readers a quick, fun read.Suitable for use in schools as guided reading texts or for reading independently.

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The New Friend

Jenny Colgan, Thomas Docherty
Contributors:
Jenny Colgan, Thomas Docherty
Franklin Watts

Galileo Galilei

Sarah Ridley
Authors:
Sarah Ridley