Jenny Colgan - The Happy Christmas - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781510200937
    • Publication date:19 Oct 2017
Books in this series

The Happy Christmas

Book 4

By Jenny Colgan
Illustrated by Thomas Docherty

  • Hardback
  • £7.99

The fourth children's book featuring Polly and her puffin Neil, from bestselling adult novelist Jenny Colgan. With gorgeous two-colour illustrations throughout, Polly is perfect for reading aloud - especially at Christmas!

The fourth children's book featuring Polly and her puffin Neil, from bestselling adult novelist Jenny Colgan. With gorgeous two-colour illustrations throughout, Polly is perfect for reading aloud - especially at Christmas!

Polly and her puffin friend Neil have wrapped presents, practised for the village nativity and written their lists for Santa. But Christmas is taking a very long time to arrive. And Polly isn't enjoying the wait.

What's worse, Neil is busy helping to keep an egg warm, so he hasn't got much time to play.

Will it EVER be Christmas? And will a tiny little puffling hatch in time for the big day?

Perfect for bedtime stories and early readers. From the bestselling author of The Little Beach Street Bakery.

Contains lots of fun festive recipes and activities in addition to the story.

Biographical Notes

Jenny Colgan (Author)
Jenny Colgan is the author of numerous bestselling novels for adults, including Meet Me at the Cupcake Café and Little Beach Street Bakery. When Neil the puffin from Little Beach Street Bakery caught her readers' attention, Jenny knew she needed a story of his own - and so the idea for Polly and the Puffin was born.

Jenny is married with three children and lives in Scotland. For more about Jenny, visit her website and her Facebook page, or follow her on Twitter: @jennycolgan.

Thomas Docherty (Illustrator)
Thomas Docherty is an acclaimed author and illustrator of children's picture books including Little Boat, Big Scary Monster, and the Driftwood Ball. The Snatchabook, which was written by his wife Helen, has been shortlisted for several awards in the UK and US and been translated into 17 languages.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781510200920
  • Publication date: 19 Oct 2017
  • Page count: 96
  • Imprint: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
This is ideal for beginner readers, and the lovely two-tone illustrations really add to the enjoyment.The book includes lots of fun festive recipes and activities. — Parents in Touch
This is a lovely festive story ideal for young readers on their own or reading together — Ed on the Web
Much as I adored Jenny Colgan's first books about Polly and her puffin, this Christmas story beats them. Illustrated by Thomas Docherty, both have caught the spirit of Polly and her Christmas wishes exactly. — The Bookwitch
Lovely two-colour illustrations on every page make this a perfect festive choice for newly confident reader. — The School Run
Hodder Children's Books

Devoted

Jennifer Mathieu
Authors:
Jennifer Mathieu
Franklin Watts

Police Officers

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

Hodder Children's Books

Lots of Frogs

Howard Calvert, Claudia Boldt
Contributors:
Howard Calvert, Claudia Boldt
Franklin Watts

Dad's in Prison

Jackie Walter
Authors:
Jackie Walter

Dad's gone away for a while, but I don't understand why. I miss him. This sensitively written story explores the experience of having a parent in prison from a child's point of view. Perfect for sharing with children, it promotes understanding and provides reassurance.

Wayland

Incredible Rainforests

Kay Barnham, Maddie Frost
Contributors:
Kay Barnham, Maddie Frost

Take a stroll through the rainforest! From squawking birds of paradise, to monkeys swinging through the trees and insects crawling along the forest floor, be amazed by the variety of life that lives in the rainforest.This beautifully illustrated picture book shows the glorious nature that lives in the rainforest. Find out about food chains and the web of life in the different canopies of the huge rainforest trees.'Look and Wonder' is a fresh, bold and bright, narrative non-fiction picture book series, for children aged 4 and up, introducing children to life cycles and the natural world. The eye-poppingly colourful digital illustration style will explain the scientific concepts while the light and fun text-style will make these books real home and classroom favourites.Other titles in the series:The Great Big Water Cycle AdventureThe Amazing Plant Life Cycle StoryThe Amazing Butterfly Life Cycle Story

Hodder Children's Books

Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets

Alex T. Smith
Authors:
Alex T. Smith
Wayland

Mammals Have Hair

Sarah Ridley
Authors:
Sarah Ridley

This book explores what makes an animal a mammal - how their characteristics are different from other groups of animals. It shows many examples of different types of mammals in their natural environment. The simple text, suitable for children aged 5+, is accompanied by large, attractive photographs. For children progressing through book bands it is suitable for reading at level 8: Purple.This book is part of the 'In the Animal Kingdom' which explore the classification of animals. Why not look for them all: Amphibians live on land and water; Birds have feathers; Fish live in water; Reptiles have scaly skin; Invertebrates have no backbone; Mammals drink milk.

Wayland

Birds Have Feathers

Sarah Ridley
Authors:
Sarah Ridley

This book explores what makes an animal a bird - how their characteristics are different from other groups of animals. It shows many examples of different types of birds in their natural environment. The simple text, suitable for children aged 5+, is accompanied by large, attractive photographs. For children progressing through book bands it is suitable for reading at level 8: Purple.This book is part of the 'In the Animal Kingdom' series which explores the classification of animals. Why not look for them all: Amphibians Live on Land and Water; Birds Have Feathers; Fish Live in Water; Reptiles Have Scaly Skin; Invertebrates Have No Backbone; Mammals Have Hair.

Franklin Watts

Bullying

Louise Spilsbury
Authors:
Louise Spilsbury

This hands-on picture book is designed to help children with their questions and feelings about tricky topics that can be hard to talk about. The exquisite and approachable illustrations give a comforting story book feel, particularly aimed at 5-7 year olds, while also appealing to both younger and older children. A perfect aid to help children open up and explore how they feel and give them steps they can take to help them cope.

Franklin Watts

Worries

Paul Christelis, Ximena Jeria
Contributors:
Paul Christelis, Ximena Jeria
Orchard Books

Enchantimals Magical Sticker Activity

Join the Enchantimals and their furry friends for lots of fun puzzles, colouring and activities. Plus, there are over 300 stickers to share with your bestie!The Enchantimals are a group of girls who have a special bond with their animal best friends. Keepers of their forest home, they maintain balance, peace and harmony amongst all living things.

Orchard Books

Fox Cub Danger

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Orchard Books

Puppy in Peril

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Orchard Books

Kitten Rescue

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Orchard Books

Bunny Trouble

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Hodder Children's Books

The Golden Sands

Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott, Erica-Jane Waters
Contributors:
Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott, Erica-Jane Waters

The seventh in a magical, exciting series by Olympic gold medallist Jessica Ennis-Hill. Perfect for fans of Rainbow Magic and My Little Pony!What if you had a magic bracelet that meant you could see golden magic everywhere?Evie's grandma has sent her another parcel. Inside layers of tissue and colourful ribbons is a beautiful bracelet! And when Evie and her friends find themselves on the most exciting beach holiday of their lives, they'll need all their magical know-how for their most dangerous challenge yet ... Evie shares Jessica's determination and drive - an inspiration for kids everywhere.

Hodder Children's Books

Words in Deep Blue

Cath Crowley
Authors:
Cath Crowley

A love story for everyone who loves books.'One of the loveliest, most exquisitely beautiful books I've read in a very long time ... I didn't just read the pages, I lived in them' Jennifer Niven, author of All the Bright PlacesTwo teens find their way back to each other in a bookstore full of secrets and crushes, grief and hope - and letters hidden between the pages. Years ago, Rachel had a crush on Henry Jones. The day before she moved away, she tucked a love letter into his favourite book in his family's bookshop. She waited. But Henry never came. Now Rachel has returned to the city - and to the bookshop - to work alongside the boy she'd rather not see, if at all possible, for the rest of her life. But Rachel needs the distraction. Her brother drowned months ago, and she can't feel anything anymore. As Henry and Rachel work side by side - surrounded by books, watching love stories unfold, exchanging letters between the pages - they find hope in each other. Because life may be uncontrollable, even unbearable sometimes. But it's possible that words, and love, and second chances are enough.

Hodder Children's Books

Santa Claude

Alex T. Smith
Authors:
Alex T. Smith
Hodder Children's Books

Claude All at Sea

Alex T. Smith
Authors:
Alex T. Smith

The first picture book starring the delightful canine Claude, following the much-loved fiction series. Perfect for Claude's youngest fans. Meet Claude - the extraordinary dog with an extraordinary life! Whether he's soaking up café culture in the city or taking some time out on the beach - wherever he goes, all sorts of wacky adventures befall him.Are you ready for a rollicking seafaring adventure? In true Claude style, the fearless canine swooshes out of the house via the bathtub. Out at sea and joined by trusted companion, Sir Bobblysock, Claude meets mermaids, dolphins, Captain Poopdeck, and an enormous, ferocious sea monster called Nigel! Can Claude save them all from the monster?Claude was selected for the Waterstone's Children's Book Prize, the Richard and Judy Book Club and is soon to be a TV star on Disney Junior with 52 episodes airing in 2017. Alex T. Smith is a World Book Day Illustrator. Praise for Claude:'Illustrated with humour and elegance.' Sunday Times'Quirky illustrations with plenty of humour.' The MetroFollow Alex at http://alextsmith.blogspot.co.uk and https://twitter.com/Alex_T_Smith

Franklin Watts

Monkey Needs to Listen - A book about paying attention

Sue Graves, Trevor Dunton
Contributors:
Sue Graves, Trevor Dunton