Jess Butterworth - Swimming Against the Storm - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781510105492
    • Publication date:04 Apr 2019

Swimming Against the Storm

By Jess Butterworth

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

Heartland middle-grade adventure set in the swamps of Louisiana, perfect for fans of Katherine Rundell and Lauren St John

Heartland middle-grade adventure set in the swamps of Louisiana, perfect for fans of Katherine Rundell and Lauren St John

Our land is sinking. It's disappearing into the water. And no one knows how to save it.

Twelve-year-old Eliza and her sister Avery have lived their entire lives in a small fishing village on the coast of Louisiana, growing up alongside turtles, pelicans and porpoises. But now, with sea levels rising, their home is at risk of being swept away.

Determined to save the land, Eliza and her younger sister Avery secretly go searching in the swamp for the dangerous, wolf-like loup-garou. If they can prove this legendary creature exists, they're sure that the government will have to protect its habitat - and their community.

But there's one problem: the loup-garou has never been seen before. And with a tropical storm approaching and the sisters deep, deep in the swampland, soon it's not just their home at risk, but their lives as well...

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781510105485
  • Publication date: 04 Apr 2019
  • Page count: 288
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Orchard Books

Bonnie the Bike-Riding Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel and Kirsty on their funnest fairy adventure ever!At the Tippington Leisure Centre, there are all sorts of sports to enjoy! But when Jack Frost steals Bonnie the Bike-Riding Fairy's magical object, the fun plans are knocked off balance. Kirsty and Rachel must find it, before the magic of cycling is lost forever!

Hodder Children's Books

Toto the Ninja Cat and the Superstar Catastrophe

Dermot O’Leary
Authors:
Dermot O’Leary
Franklin Watts

Ancient Greece

Anita Ganeri
Authors:
Anita Ganeri
Franklin Watts

Ancient Egypt

Anita Ganeri
Authors:
Anita Ganeri

Discover Ancient Egypt and write about it! Find out about life in ancient Egypt, from Egyptian fashion and culture, to ancient gods and important Pharaohs. Read about hieroglyphs and the Rosetta Stone and discover Tutankhamun's famous tomb. Ideal for readers aged 9+, the Writing History series combines written evidence from the past with engaging writing activities to explore the fascinating worlds of ancient civilisations. Children can learn exciting facts and be inspired to write their own historical documents including diary entries, recipes, letters, speeches and much more!

Orchard Books

The Puppy Princess

Bella Swift
Authors:
Bella Swift

A royally funny dog story from the best-selling author of THE PUG WHO WANTED TO BE UNICORN.When Holly, a stray puppy, wriggles through the palace gates, she makes a new best friend - Princess Pippa! Pippa's parents - the soon-to-be-crowned king and queen - promised her a new pet when they moved to the palace. But scruffy, street-smart Holly isn't exactly what they had in mind . . . With coronation celebrations in full swing, can Holly prove to the royal family that you don't need to be a pedigree pooch to be a princess's pet? And can she keep Princess Pippa's tiara safe from a palace intruder . . . ?

Hodder Children's Books

Accidental Trouble Magnet

Zanib Mian, Nasaya Mafaridik
Contributors:
Zanib Mian, Nasaya Mafaridik

Welcome, readers, to the imaginative brain of Omar! You might not know me yet, but once you open the pages of this book you'll laugh so hard that snot will come out of your nose (plus you might meet a dragon and a zombie - what more could you want?). My parents decided it would be a good idea to move house AND move me to a new school at the same time. As if I didn't have a hard enough time staying out of trouble at home, now I've also got to try and make new friends. What's worse, the class bully seems to think I'm the perfect target. At least Eid's around the corner which means a feast (YAY) and presents (DOUBLE YAY). Well, as long as I can stay in Mum and Dad's good books long enough...The combination of Zanib Mian's hilarious text and Nasaya Mafaridik's fantastic cartoon-style illustrations make the PLANET OMAR series perfect for fans of Tom Gates and Wimpy Kid. Previously published as 'THE MUSLIMS', this was the winner of the Little Rebels Award in June 2018. The text has been revised, expanded with new scenes and re-illustrated.

Franklin Watts

Werewolf

Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Authors:
Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Franklin Watts

Mutant

Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Authors:
Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow

Take on the role of the Monster Hunter in this fully interactive, flick-through-the pages, choose-your-own-destiny adventure story.YOU are an agent of G.H.O.S.T. - protecting the world from creatures in the shadows. Dr Omega is creating mutanthumans - turning them into monsters. Your mission is to stop her experiments.Written by the award-winning duo Steve Barlow and Steve SkidmoreAge appropriate for 8+. Also suitable for reluctant readers and less confident older readers. Printed using a font approved by the British Dyslexia Association.

Franklin Watts

Ghost

Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Authors:
Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Franklin Watts

Vampire

Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Authors:
Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Orchard Books

The Pug Who Wanted to Be a Unicorn

Bella Swift
Authors:
Bella Swift

Always be yourself. Unless you can be a unicorn . . . When she's abandoned just before Christmas, Peggy the pug puppy is taken in by a foster family with a unicorn-mad little girl named Chloe. Her older brother, Finn, doesn't little dogs. And Chloe wants a unicorn for Christmas, not a puppy. Believing that anything is possible, Peggy decides that she will somehow turn into a unicorn to make her new friends happy. All she needs is a long silky mane, a glowing horn, and the ability to do magic! Easy-peasy, right? But all of Peggy's attempts to turn into a unicorn go hilariously wrong. From knocking over the Christmas tree to getting lost in the snow and accidentally stealing the show at the nativity play, Peggy remains a pug. How will she ever find a forever home if she can't change who she is?

Franklin Watts

Alien

Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Authors:
Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow

Take on the role of the Monster Hunter in this fully interactive, flick-through-the pages, choose-your-own-destiny adventure story.YOU are the Monster Hunter, protector of the living, and nightmare of the paranormal. Aliens have landed and your specialist services are urgently required...Written by the award-winning duo Steve Barlow and Steve SkidmoreAge appropriate for 8+. Also suitable for reluctant readers and less confident older readers. Printed using a font approved by the British Dyslexia Association.

Franklin Watts

Zombie

Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Authors:
Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow

Take on the role of the Monster Hunter in this fully interactive, flick-through-the pages, choose-your-own-destiny adventure story.YOU are the Monster Hunter, protector of the living, and curse of the undead. Zombies are threatening innocent locals and it's time to break open the weapons closet...Written by the award-winning duo Steve Barlow and Steve Skidmore.Age appropriate for 8+. Also suitable for reluctant readers and less confident older readers. Printed using a font approved by the British Dyslexia Association.

Orion Children's Books

When the Mountains Roared

Jess Butterworth
Authors:
Jess Butterworth
Wayland

Dog

Pat Jacobs
Authors:
Pat Jacobs
Wayland

Be A Young Entrepreneur

Adam Sutherland, Mike Gordon
Contributors:
Adam Sutherland, Mike Gordon
Orion Children's Books

Running on the Roof of the World

Jess Butterworth
Authors:
Jess Butterworth
Wayland

Vikings

Jane Bingham
Authors:
Jane Bingham

Travel back to the time of the Vikings! Where did they come from and where did they settle? What beliefs and traditions did they bring with them? How do we know about the Vikings? Explore this ancient civilisation to understand how prehistoric people have influenced the way we live today. Discover the artefacts that give evidence of they way of life.

Orchard Books

Jasmine The Present Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

It's Queen Titania's and King Oberon's 1000th jubilee, and the seven Party Fairies are in charge of making the celebratory party extra-special! However, naughty Jack Frost has decided to sabotage the celebrations by hosting his own party, and in order to make his bigger and better than the kings and queen's he has sent his naughty goblins to steal each of the seven Party Fairies' magical party bags... if he succeeds the Fairyland celebrations will be ruined! Can Kirsty and Rachel help Jasmine the Present Fairy get her magic bag back from the pesky goblins so that she can conjure up perfect prizes for the street party...?

Orchard Books

Discord and the Ponyville Players

G M Berrow
Authors:
G M Berrow

Enjoy reading with all your My Little Pony friends!Discord was once the King of Chaos until he started trying to be good. But when Princess Celestia sets him a secret challenge to perform in the Spring Musical, Discord finds he's not the only one who likes causing trouble! Can Discord's pony friends help him find the true Magic of Friendship?This magical My Little Pony adventure comes with bonus coloured activity pages, packed with puzzles, games and more fun! Perfect to read together or for newly confident readers, these are brand-new adventures full of magic and friendship. Check out the other books in this sparkly series: Twilight Sparkle and the Crystal Heart Spell Pinkie Pie and the Rockin' Pony Party Rainbow Dash and the Daring Do Double Dare Rarity and the Curious Case of Charity Applejack and the Secret Diary SwitcherooFluttershy and the Furry Friends Fair Discord and the Ponyville Players Princess Celestia and the Royal Rescue Princess Luna and the Winter Moon Festival Lyra and the Secret Agent Ponies