Emily X. R. Pan - The Astonishing Colour of After - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781510102958
    • Publication date:22 Mar 2018

The Astonishing Colour of After

By Emily X. R. Pan

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

New York Times bestseller. Life, loss, love and art explode in a kaleidoscope of emotions as one girl must learn the truth about her family's past in order to bring peace to the present. For fans of Jandy Nelson and Nicola Yoon.

'Portrays the vast spectrum of love and grief with heart-wrenching beauty and candor. A very special book' - John Green

A New York Times bestseller.

'This brilliantly crafted novel portrays the vast spectrum of love and grief with heart-wrenching beauty and candor. A very special book' - JOHN GREEN, author of The Fault in Our Stars

Life, loss, love and art explode in a kaleidoscope of emotions as one girl must learn the truth about her family's past in order to bring peace to the present. For fans of John Green, Jennifer Niven, Jandy Nelson and Nicola Yoon.

Leigh Chen Sanders is sixteen when her mother dies by suicide, leaving only a scribbled note: 'I want you to remember'. Leigh doesn't know what it means, but when a red bird appears with a message, she finds herself travelling to Taiwan to meet her maternal grandparents for the first time.

Leigh is far away from home and far away from Axel, her best friend, who she stupidly kissed on the night her mother died - leaving her with a swell of guilt that she wasn't home, and a heavy heart, thinking she may have destroyed the one good thing left in her life.

Overwhelmed by grief, Leigh retreats into her art and into her memories, where colours collide and the rules of reality are broken. The only thing Leigh is certain about is that she must find out the truth. She must remember.

With lyrical prose and magical elements, Emily X.R. Pan's stunning debut novel alternates between past and present, romance and despair, as one girl attempts to find herself through family history, art, friendship, and love.

Biographical Notes

Emily X. R. Pan has an MFA in fiction from New York University and is the founding editor-in-chief of Bodega Magazine. The Astonishing Colour of After is her first book. She lives in New York, where she also practices and teaches yoga.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781510102965
  • Publication date: 22 Mar 2018
  • Page count: 480
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Emily X.R. Pan's brilliantly crafted, harrowing first novel portrays the vast spectrum of love and grief with heart-wrenching beauty and candor. This is a very special book — John Green, bestselling author of THE FAULT IN OUR STARS and TURTLES ALL THE WAY DOWN
Magic and mourning, love and loss, secrets kept and secrets revealed all illuminate Emily X.R. Pan's inventive and heart-wrenching debut — Gayle Forman, author of IF I STAY
This book mesmerized me from page one. With its lyrical writing and heartbreakingly real protagonist, The Astonishing Colour of After provides a poignant reminder of grief's power and the transcendence of love. Haunting at every turn, this is a glorious debut — Renee Ahdieh, New York Times bestselling author of THE WRATH AND THE DAWN
'This beautiful, magical journey into the heart of grief made my heart take flight' — Holly Black, author of THE CRUEL PRINCE
'This is a beautiful, often lyrical account of remembering and mourning a loved one; a book that will stay with you' — The Irish Times
'Delicate and thought-provoking way . . . a work of art' — Rachel Meier, Waterstones Bookseller
Emily X.R. Pan's brilliantly crafted, harrowing first novel portrays the vast spectrum of love and grief with heart-wrenching beauty and candor. This is a very special book
Magic and mourning, love and loss, secrets kept and secrets revealed all illuminate Emily X.R. Pan's inventive and heart-wrenching debut
This book mesmerized me from page one. With its lyrical writing and heartbreakingly real protagonist, The Astonishing Colour of After provides a poignant reminder of grief's power and the transcendence of love. Haunting at every turn, this is a glorious debut
'This beautiful, magical journey into the heart of grief made my heart take flight'
'This is a beautiful, often lyrical account of remembering and mourning a loved one; a book that will stay with you'
'Delicate and thought-provoking way . . . a work of art'
Hodder Children's Books

Grace and Fury

Tracy Banghart
Authors:
Tracy Banghart
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Where Do You Go, Birdy Jones?

Joanna Nadin
Authors:
Joanna Nadin
Orchard Books

Catherine the Fashion Princess Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Catherine the Fashion Princess Fairy helps make sure princesses everywhere have the perfect outfits for their royal functions. But when Jack Frost and his goblins steal her magical objects, all sorts of things start to go wrong! Can Kirsty and Rachel help get them back before fashion disasters strike the human and fairy worlds?

Orchard Books

Sianne the Butterfly Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

A Fairy Ballet

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

Tiana the Toy Fairy: The Land of Sweets

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Orchard Books

Debbie the Duckling Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

Elodie the Lamb Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

Penelope the Foal Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

Billie the Baby Goat Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Kirsty and Rachel love animals, especially cute baby ones! But when strange things start happening at the Wetherbury Petting Zoo, it's clear some magical mischief is afoot. Can the girls help their new friends The Baby Farm Animal Fairies put things right?

Orchard Books

Georgie the Royal Prince Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Rachel and Kirsty are very excited to attend a special royal weekend organised by the Queen! But when the Royal signet ring mysteriously disappears, the girls are in for another fantastic Rainbow Magic adventure!Help Kirsty and Rachel find the royal signet ring before it's too late!

Orchard Books

The Pet Keeper Fairies

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

Learning to read is fun with the Rainbow Magic Fairies! Developed in conjunction with Early Years reading consultants and based on the most up-to-date educational research, the Rainbow Magic Beginner Readers are the perfect way to introduce your child to the magical world of reading.

Orchard Books

Susie the Sister Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

Susie helps make sure the magical bond between all sisters is strong and true. But when her three special objects go missing, big and little sisters everywhere start falling out! Could this be the work of nasty Jack Frost? Rachel, Kirsty and Susie must work together to defeat him.There's a diary planner, a padlock and a mobile phone in this book. Read on to see if Rachel, Kirsty and Elsa can find them!

Orchard Books

Tiana the Toy Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

A brand-new Rainbow Magic story featuring YouTube star Tiana from Toys AndMe!Tiana's special magic looks after toys and fun times everywhere. But when naughty Jack Frost steals her shiny magical marble, toys everywhere stop working the way they should, and ruin everyone's fun! Kirsty and Rachel must travel with Tiana to the magical Land of Toys and help find Jack Frost and his goblins, and get the marble back.

Orchard Books

Kate the Royal Wedding Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Orchard Books

My Sparkling Fairies Collection

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Orchard Books

Mary the Sharing Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

Everyone knows Kirsty and Rachel are best friends. But when Jack Frost steals the Friendship Fairies' magical objects, the special bond of BFFs everywhere is at risk! Can they fight the Ice Lord and his goblin minions to restore the magic of friendship in both the Fairyland and worlds?

Orion Children's Books

Ruin and Rising

Leigh Bardugo
Authors:
Leigh Bardugo
Orion Children's Books

Siege and Storm

Leigh Bardugo
Authors:
Leigh Bardugo
Orion Children's Books

Shadow and Bone

Leigh Bardugo
Authors:
Leigh Bardugo

Enter the Grishaverse with Book One of the Shadow and Bone Trilogy by the number one New York Times-bestselling author of Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom. Perfect for fans of Laini Taylor and Sarah J. Maas. Soldier. Summoner. Saint. Orphaned and expendable, Alina Starkov is a soldier who knows she may not survive her first trek across the Shadow Fold-a swath of unnatural darkness crawling with monsters. But when her regiment is attacked, Alina unleashes dormant magic not even she knew she possessed. Now Alina will enter a lavish world of royalty and intrigue as she trains with the Grisha, her country's magical military elite - and falls under the spell of their notorious leader, the Darkling. He believes Alina can summon a force capable of destroying the Shadow Fold and reuniting their war-ravaged country, but only if she can master her untamed gift.As the threat to the kingdom mounts and Alina unlocks the secrets of her past, she will make a dangerous discovery that could threaten all she loves and the very future of a nation.Welcome to Ravka . . . a world of science and superstition where nothing is what it seems.Praise for the Grishaverse:"Utterly, extremely bewitching." The Guardian"There's a level of emotional and historical sophistication within Bardugo's original epic fantasy that sets it apart." Vanity Fair"Unlike anything I've ever read." Veronica Roth, bestselling author of Divergent"This is a great choice for teenage fans of George R.R. Martin and J.R.R. Tolkien." RT Book ReviewsRead all the books in the Grishaverse!The Shadow and Bone Trilogy (previously published as The Grisha Trilogy)Shadow and BoneSiege and StormRuin and RisingThe Six of Crows DuologySix of CrowsCrooked KingdomThe Language of Thorns: Midnight Tales and Dangerous Magic