Emily X. R. Pan - The Astonishing Colour of After - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781510102958
    • Publication date:22 Mar 2018

The Astonishing Colour of After

By Emily X. R. Pan

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

Life, loss, love and art explode in a kaleidoscope of emotions as one girl must learn the truth about her family's past in order to bring peace to the present. For fans of Jandy Nelson and Nicola Yoon.

'Portrays the vast spectrum of love and grief with heart-wrenching beauty and candor. A very special book' - John Green

Biographical Notes

Emily X. R. Pan has an MFA in fiction from New York University and is the founding editor-in-chief of Bodega Magazine. The Astonishing Colour of After is her first book. She lives in New York, where she also practices and teaches yoga.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781510102965
  • Publication date: 22 Mar 2018
  • Page count: 480
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Emily X.R. Pan's brilliantly crafted, harrowing first novel portrays the vast spectrum of love and grief with heart-wrenching beauty and candor. This is a very special book — John Green, bestselling author of THE FAULT IN OUR STARS and TURTLES ALL THE WAY DOWN
Magic and mourning, love and loss, secrets kept and secrets revealed all illuminate Emily X.R. Pan's inventive and heart-wrenching debut — Gayle Forman, author of IF I STAY
This book mesmerized me from page one. With its lyrical writing and heartbreakingly real protagonist, The Astonishing Colour of After provides a poignant reminder of grief's power and the transcendence of love. Haunting at every turn, this is a glorious debut — Renee Ahdieh, New York Times bestselling author of THE WRATH AND THE DAWN
'This beautiful, magical journey into the heart of grief made my heart take flight' — Holly Black, author of THE CRUEL PRINCE
Orchard Books

Camilla the Christmas Present Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Franklin Watts

Sam's Super Family

Damian Harvey, Paul Davidson
Contributors:
Damian Harvey, Paul Davidson

Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.Independent Reading Yellow stories are perfect for children aged 4+ who are reading at book band 3 (Yellow) in classroom reading lessons.Sam's family is anything but ordinary - in fact, it is super! But what about Sam?

Franklin Watts

Positively Teenage

Nicola Morgan
Authors:
Nicola Morgan
Orchard Books

The New Age

Chris d'Lacey
Authors:
Chris d'Lacey

The third in the stunning new fantasy series from the New York Times bestselling author, Chris d'Lacey.On Erth, a dark dragon has risen. His return ripples throughout the universe, from the firebirds at the Great Librarium to the dragons on the home world K:imera.Will human boy Ren be able to control the dragon's power? Or will it destroy everything?The epic finale to the Erth Dragons trilogy will take you to new and beautiful worlds and make you see dragons as never before.

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Game Over!

Frank Lampard
Authors:
Frank Lampard
Hodder Children's Books

Origami Heart

Binny
Authors:
Binny

A heartfelt celebration of love and friendship in the big city, perfect for Valentine's Day - including origami activities!Kabuki is a neat little rabbit who likes everything to be just so, from his bow tie to his cup of snow pea tea. But one thing is missing from Kabuki's perfect life: someone to share it with. A heartfelt celebration of love and friendship in the bustling big city. Includes make-your-own origami activities!Readers of all ages will fall in love with Kabuki and his exquisitely illustrated world, inspired by Japanese art and culture.The award-winning author-illustrator debut book from rising star Binny.Find Binny online: Instagram @binnyillustrationTwitter @binnytalibwww.binny.com.au

Hodder Children's Books

Return to the City of Ghosts

Julian Sedgwick
Authors:
Julian Sedgwick

'The thing about ghosts is sometimes we create our own. And sometimes they find us, no matter what we do.' The thrilling conclusion to the Ghosts of Shanghai by the award-winning author of the Mysterium trilogy, for fans of Philip Pullman, Susan Hill and Robin Stevens.Ruby is on a mission to rescue the boy she loves: Charlie has been swept away in the powerful waters of the River Yangtze. But the world she loves is now broken by danger and fear, and Ruby is lost and surrounded by ghosts. Can Ruby trust herself, and those around her, to find Charlie and return to Shanghai? Or has she ventured too deep into the realm of spirits?On an amazing journey down the Yangtze, crossing from one world to the other, Ruby must follow the 'red thread of destiny' to find Charlie and home, before she loses herself . . .

Orchard Books

Bella Tabbypaw

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

The much-loved series from the creator of Rainbow Magic - abridged for younger readers and illustrated in full colour!Welcome to a magical world where animals talk and play - just like you and me!Best friends Jess and Lily love all animals. But when they follow a mysterious golden cat into Friendship Forest - a place where animals live in tiny cottages and sip dandelion tea at the Toadstool Cafe - their animal friends suddenly become much more magical!Goldie has invited Lily, Jess and kitten Bella Tabbypaw for a sleepover! The girls can't wait to spend a night in Friendship Forest, but brave little Bella decides to go exploring on her own - with the Boggits! Lily and Jess must head into the tunnels underneath the forest to find her, but will Grizelda the witch get there first?

Orchard Books

Fight for the Hidden City

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orchard Books

Scorpion Strike

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

X-Men meets Beast Quest at the school for superheroes! An epic new adventure series from bestselling author Adam Blade - with amazing comic-book style illustrations. Welcome to Hero Academy! Join Jack and your other new classmates at this secret school, where the lessons are more exciting than Maths and PE. When a portal from the evil underground realm of Noxx is discovered beneath the school, Team Hero needs your powers. The next invasion is upon us ...There are FOUR thrilling adventures to collect in this series - don't miss out! Book 1: Fight for the Hidden City, Book 2: Scorpion Strike, Book 3: Falcon of Fury, Book 4: Rise of the Shadow SnakesAnd don't forget Adam Blade's other series: Beast Quest and Sea Quest

Orchard Books

Falcon of Fury

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

X-Men meets Beast Quest at the school for superheroes! An epic new adventure series from bestselling author Adam Blade - with amazing comic-book style illustrations. Welcome to Hero Academy! Join Jack and your other new classmates at this secret school, where the lessons are more exciting than Maths and PE. When a portal from the evil underground realm of Noxx is discovered beneath the school, Team Hero needs your powers. The next invasion is upon us ...There are FOUR thrilling adventures to collect in this series - don't miss out! Book 1: Fight for the Hidden City, Book 2: Scorpion Strike, Book 3: Falcon of Fury, Book 4: Rise of the Shadow SnakesAnd don't forget Adam Blade's other series: Beast Quest and Sea Quest

Orchard Books

Rise of the Shadow Snakes

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orchard Books

Sir Lance-a-Little and the Big Bad Wolf

Rose Impey, Katharine McEwen
Contributors:
Rose Impey, Katharine McEwen

Sir Lance-a-Little is the bravest, cleverest knight in all the whole kingdom of Notalot - or so he likes to think ... Now available in paperback, a fantastic new series for younger readers from the creators of Titchy Witch.All Sir Lance-a-Little really wants is to defeat his Number One enemy, the dragon Huffalot. But something always seems to get in the way - whether it's his pesky cousin Princess Plum or a Big Bad Wolf!Featuring a delightful cast of fairy-tale characters, these hilarious stories from a much-loved author will charm children and parents alike. Illustrated in full colour throughout and designed with beginner readers in mind.Read all the Sir Lance-a-Little books:Sir Lance-a-Little and the Big Bad WolfSir Lance-a-Little and the Three Angry BearsSir Lance-a-Little and the Most Annoying FairySir Lance-a-Little and the Terribly Ugly TrollSir Lance-a-Little and the Very Wicked WitchSir Lance-a-Little and the Ginormous Giant

Orchard Books

Sir Lance-a-Little and the Three Angry Bears

Rose Impey, Katharine McEwen
Contributors:
Rose Impey, Katharine McEwen
Hodder Children's Books

The Battlemage

Taran Matharu
Authors:
Taran Matharu
Orchard Books

Abigail The Breeze Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

Jack Frost has promised not to trouble the Rainbow Fairies again, but he didn't say anything about the weather fairies! Now he has stolen the feathers from Doodle, the weather-vane cockerel in charge of the weather. It's up to Rachel and Kirsty to get each of the feathers back from Jack Frost's goblins, with a little bit of help from the weather fairies: Crystal the Snow Fairy, Abigail the Wind Fairy, Pearl the Cloud Fairy, Goldy the Sunshine Fairy, Evie the Mist Fairy, Storm the Lightning Fairy and Hayley the Rain Fairy. In this book, Abigail the Breeze Fairy needs to find her wispy wind feather before the wind causes chaos in Fairyland and the human world!

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Trapdoor Mysteries: A Sticky Situation

Abie Longstaff, James Brown
Contributors:
Abie Longstaff, James Brown
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

An Author's Odyssey

Chris Colfer
Authors:
Chris Colfer

The 5th book in the No.1 New York Times bestselling series by Chris ColferIn the highly anticipated continuation of the Land of Stories series, Conner learns that the only place to fight the Masked Man's literary army is inside his own short stories! When the twins and their friends enter worlds crafted from Conner's imagination, finding allies no one else could have ever dreamed of, the race begins to put an end to the Masked Man's reign of terror. Can the twins finally restore peace in the fairy tale world?

Orchard Books

Koraka the Winged Assassin

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Koraka was a gentle shepherdess until evil Wizard Malvel transformed her into a hideous winged Beast! If Tom is to stop Malvel reaching the Eternal Flame, he must outwit this bloodthirsty creature. Can he survive?

Hodder Children's Books

Dark Tide

Jennifer Donnelly
Authors:
Jennifer Donnelly