Emily X. R. Pan - The Astonishing Colour of After - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781510102965
    • Publication date:22 Mar 2018

The Astonishing Colour of After

By Emily X. R. Pan

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

New York Times bestseller. Life, loss, love and art explode in a kaleidoscope of emotions as one girl must learn the truth about her family's past in order to bring peace to the present. For fans of Jandy Nelson and Nicola Yoon.

'Portrays the vast spectrum of love and grief with heart-wrenching beauty and candor. A very special book' - John Green

A New York Times bestseller.

'This brilliantly crafted novel portrays the vast spectrum of love and grief with heart-wrenching beauty and candor. A very special book' - JOHN GREEN, author of The Fault in Our Stars

Life, loss, love and art explode in a kaleidoscope of emotions as one girl must learn the truth about her family's past in order to bring peace to the present. For fans of John Green, Jennifer Niven, Jandy Nelson and Nicola Yoon.

Leigh Chen Sanders is sixteen when her mother dies by suicide, leaving only a scribbled note: 'I want you to remember'. Leigh doesn't know what it means, but when a red bird appears with a message, she finds herself travelling to Taiwan to meet her maternal grandparents for the first time.

Leigh is far away from home and far away from Axel, her best friend, who she stupidly kissed on the night her mother died - leaving her with a swell of guilt that she wasn't home, and a heavy heart, thinking she may have destroyed the one good thing left in her life.

Overwhelmed by grief, Leigh retreats into her art and into her memories, where colours collide and the rules of reality are broken. The only thing Leigh is certain about is that she must find out the truth. She must remember.

With lyrical prose and magical elements, Emily X.R. Pan's stunning debut novel alternates between past and present, romance and despair, as one girl attempts to find herself through family history, art, friendship, and love.

Biographical Notes

Emily X. R. Pan has an MFA in fiction from New York University and is the founding editor-in-chief of Bodega Magazine. The Astonishing Colour of After is her first book. She lives in New York, where she also practices and teaches yoga.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781510102958
  • Publication date: 22 Mar 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Emily X.R. Pan's brilliantly crafted, harrowing first novel portrays the vast spectrum of love and grief with heart-wrenching beauty and candor. This is a very special book — John Green, bestselling author of THE FAULT IN OUR STARS and TURTLES ALL THE WAY DOWN
Magic and mourning, love and loss, secrets kept and secrets revealed all illuminate Emily X.R. Pan's inventive and heart-wrenching debut — Gayle Forman, author of IF I STAY
This book mesmerized me from page one. With its lyrical writing and heartbreakingly real protagonist, The Astonishing Colour of After provides a poignant reminder of grief's power and the transcendence of love. Haunting at every turn, this is a glorious debut — Renee Ahdieh, New York Times bestselling author of THE WRATH AND THE DAWN
'This beautiful, magical journey into the heart of grief made my heart take flight' — Holly Black, author of THE CRUEL PRINCE
'This is a beautiful, often lyrical account of remembering and mourning a loved one; a book that will stay with you' — The Irish Times
'Delicate and thought-provoking way . . . a work of art' — Rachel Meier, Waterstones Bookseller
This is one of the most emotional YA books I've ever read. From the very first page, I knew it would be special to me. [...] This is unlike any other story and one I would massively recommend for its portrayal of grief. — Read by Jess (blog)
Hodder Children's Books

The Wizards of Once 3

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell
Hodder Children's Books

The Liars

Jennifer Mathieu
Authors:
Jennifer Mathieu
Hodder Children's Books

The Wizards of Once: Twice Magic

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell
Orchard Books

Aisha the Astronaut Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

Orla the Inventor Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel and Kirsty for the biggest adventure of all - following your dreams!Rachel and Kirsty are so excited to meet the Discovery Fairies, who look after some of the most exciting jobs in the world. But when Jack Frost steals Orla the Inventor Fairy's magical item, inventors everywhere stop having ideas!Can the girls help Orla defeat him and bring inspiration back to fairy and human worlds?

Orchard Books

Dani the Detective Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel and Kirsty for the biggest adventure of all - following your dreams!Rachel and Kirsty are so excited to meet the Discovery Fairies, who look after some of the most exciting jobs in the world. But when Jack Frost steals Dani the Detective Fairy's magical item, detectives everywhere run out of clues! Can the girls help Dani get it back and help solve mysteries everywhere?

Orchard Books

Elsie the Engineer Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel and Kirsty for the biggest adventure of all - following your dreams!Rachel and Kirsty are so excited to meet the Discovery Fairies, who look after some of the most exciting jobs in the world. But when Jack Frost steals Elsie the Engineer Fairy's magical item, engineers everywhere lose their very special skills! Can the girls help Elsie defeat him and save the magic of engineering from being destroyed?

Hodder Children's Books

How to Train Your Dragon

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell
Orion Children's Books

Wundersmith

Jessica Townsend
Authors:
Jessica Townsend
Franklin Watts

My Dad's in Prison

Jackie Walter
Authors:
Jackie Walter

Dad's gone away for a while, but I don't understand why. I miss him. Every year in the UK, over 200,000 children suffer the trauma of parental imprisonment. Children with a parent in prison feel isolated, ashamed - unable to talk about their situation because they are scared of being bullied and judged. They often feel that they are to blame and having a parent in prison marks them as an outcast. Children with parents in prison are: - twice as likely to experience conduct and mental health problems, and less likely to do well at school- three times more likely to be involved in offending- sixty-five per cent of boys with a convicted father will go on to offend This sensitively written picture book explores the experience of having a parent in prison from a child's point of view. Perfect for sharing with children, it promotes understanding and provides reassurance. It has been written with the advice and support of Storybook Dads, a charity that seeks to help children and parents maintain their relationship during imprisonment by providing CD recordings of fathers reading bedtime stories to their children.

Hodder Children's Books

The Adventures of Egg Box Dragon

Richard Adams, Alex T. Smith
Contributors:
Richard Adams, Alex T. Smith
Hodder Children's Books

The Survival Game

Nicky Singer
Authors:
Nicky Singer

'A wonderful, surprisingly delicate story about a teenager making her way home to Scotland in a world remade by climate change (aimed at YA readers but, like all good children's books, good for adults too)' Lucy Mangan, i WeekendIn a world full of checkpoints and controls, can love and hope defy the borders? A searing, timely story, as arresting as it is beautiful. Imagine a world ... Where there are too many people on a too-hot earth and your only chance of salvation is to journey north.Where you must prove yourself worthy of existence at every turn, at every checkpoint.Where your instincts become your most powerful weapon - even more than the gun in your pocket.Where you find out what it takes to survive.An extraordinary story about survival and what it costs, about the power of small kindnesses to change everything.

Quercus Children's Books

We Are Young

Cat Clarke
Authors:
Cat Clarke
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Summer Holiday Showdown

Frank Lampard
Authors:
Frank Lampard

Magic meets football in this fun-filled series from legendary footballer Frank Lampard, for readers aged 5 and up.Frankie and his team love playing football. There's always time for a game - especially during the summer holidays!So Frankie and his friends can't believe it when the magic football sends them back in time to a boarding school . . . they're supposed to be on holiday! But there they meet George - the previous owner of their magic football. His brother got lost when they were on a desert island adventure. Can Frankie help to find him - and some buried treasure?

Hodder Children's Books

How to Train Your Dragon: How to Break a Dragon's Heart

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell
Orchard Books

Contagion

Teri Terry
Authors:
Teri Terry
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Seven Days of You

Cecilia Vinesse
Authors:
Cecilia Vinesse

It's Sophia's last week in Tokyo, and she's going to make it count...Sophia has spent her life ping-ponging between different countries and schools, so, in theory, saying goodbye should be easy. But now she's leaving Tokyo - the place that finally felt like home. The only way she can get through this is to make her final week perfect.Then Jamie Foster-Collins shows up, just in time to ruin everything. Jamie and Sophia used to be friends . . . and his return stirs up feelings she thought she'd forgotten.Suddenly, hours and minutes become meaningless. Only time spent together, exploring the hidden streets of the city they love, is real.

Orchard Books

Take The Key And Lock Her Up

Ally Carter
Authors:
Ally Carter
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Olympic Flame Chase

Frank Lampard
Authors:
Frank Lampard

A fantastic series for 5+ readers combining magic and football, by superstar footballer Frank Lampard.Frankie and his team love playing football. There's always time for a game.Frankie and his friends are at their school sports day when the magic football sends them back through time, to the original Olympic Games in ancient Greece! The team join in, but the mischievous god Hermes is causing chaos... and when they accidentally bring Hermes back with them, their own sports day might be ruined too.How will Frankie stop Hermes before the Games are ruined for ever?Features inside printing with a message from Frank Lampard, and collector cards to cut out and keep.

Franklin Watts

Lion's in a Flap - A book about feeling worried

Sue Graves, Trevor Dunton
Contributors:
Sue Graves, Trevor Dunton

A lively picture book that examines the issue of being worried in an amusing but reassuring way through animal characters - perfect for young children who have feelings of anxiety and worry. The story offers a gentle way in to discussing the things children worry about. At the end of the story there are notes for parents and teachers with suggestions of ways to help children deal with anger.Lion is off on a school trip to Jungle Land - the most exciting theme park EVER! He should be thrilled, but he cannot stop worrying and it's ruining the trip for him. Can Miss Bird and his friends help him to relax and have fun?It is part of a series Behaviour Matters, which is perfect for sharing with children as a gentle means of discussing their emotions, boosting self-esteem and reinforcing good behaviour. Each book has a fun story featuring fantastic characters which is backed up by suggestions for activities and ideas to talk through together. They support the Personal, Social and Emotional Development Area of Learning in the Early Years Foundation Stage.'Excellent for sharing and encouraging discussion... we can all learn from the approach taken in this series.' Parents in Touch