Jess Butterworth - When the Mountains Roared - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781510102125
    • Publication date:05 Apr 2018

When the Mountains Roared

By Jess Butterworth

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

A vivid, warm and atmospheric adventure set in the mountains of India, about a girl who is determined to protect the wild leopards of the mountain from poachers, perfect for fans of Katherine Rundell.

A vivid, warm and atmospheric adventure set in the mountains of India, about a girl who is determined to protect the wild leopards of the mountain from poachers, perfect for fans of Katherine Rundell.

I thought we'd live here forever ... but then, I thought Mum would be here forever too.

When Ruby's dad uproots her from Australia to set up a hotel in the mountains of India, Ruby is devastated. Not only are they living in a run-down building in the middle of the wilderness surrounded by scorpions, bears and leopards, but Ruby is sure that India will never truly feel like home - not without her mum there.

Ever since her mum died, Ruby has been afraid. Of cars. Of the dark. Of going to sleep and never waking up.

But then the last remaining leopards of the mountain are threatened and everything changes. Ruby vows to do all she can to protect them - if she can only overcome her fears...

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781510102118
  • Publication date: 05 Apr 2018
  • Page count: 288
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
A stunningly compelling & evocative tale [...] carrying with it an all-important message of preservation; of the potency of poaching; and of being at peace with the wild & the world; that will live long not only in the minds, but also in the hearts of its readers. — Scott Evans, The Reader Teacher
Ruby is brave and gutsy, standing up for what she believes in. — A Little but a Lot
Just finished this absolutely mesmerising novel set in the Himalayas, about family, grief, the importance of preserving our wildlife, and a baby kangaroo called Joey. Can't wait for this book to be out in the wild in April! — Mariana Mouzinho - Seven Stories

PRAISE FOR RUNNING ON THE ROOF OF THE WOLD

Daring kids, sidekick yaks, Himalayan setting - all the ingredients of a smashing adventure.

— Abi Elphinstone
There's inevitably a political element to the story, pitched at just the right level, but this is also an exciting adventures with vivid descriptions of the landscape. A story relevant to the world that we live in today, told with compassion and understanding. — The Guardian
A wonderful story of courage and hope. — Amy Wilson, author of A GIRL CALLED OWL
A cracking adventure and survival novel set in the Himalayas which really makes you think about the plight of the Tibetan people. — Sarah Webb, Irish Independent
A powerful, compelling story of hope, wisdom and compassion — Steve Voake
This is a wonderfully fast-paced read that's a celebration of courage and integrity in the face of danger, and the importance of standing up for what you believe in. — Scoop
This is an excellent story it maintains a good pace throughout and is filled with insights into both Tibetan and Indian culture. — The School Librarian
Hodder Children's Books

The Big Race

David Barrow
Authors:
David Barrow

Aardvark is only small and the Big Race is long and hard. But Aardvark is going to join in and give it everything she's got!A heart-warming, stylish and delightfully funny celebration of taking part rather than winning from Sebastian Walker Award winner David Barrow.Visit David at davebarrowillustration.co.uk and follow him at @DaveBarrow3.

Hodder Children's Books

Claude Adventures

Alex T. Smith
Authors:
Alex T. Smith
Hodder Children's Books

Bombs and Blackberries

Julia Donaldson, Thomas Docherty
Contributors:
Julia Donaldson, Thomas Docherty
Hodder Children's Books

King Flashypants

Andy Riley
Authors:
Andy Riley

"Brilliantly original and hilarious. It's nearly as good as one of my books." DAVID WALLIAMS"Two words - such fun!" MIRANDA HART"Beautiful, inventive and laugh-out-loud funny." SUE PERKINSGreat to read aloud with children of 5+ and perfect for newly independent readers of 7+.King Edwin Flashypants is back for his fifth hilarious adventure!(P) Hodder Children's Group 2018

Hodder Children's Books

Emily Brown and Father Christmas

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell

Emily Brown and her side-kick rabbit, Stanley, are back! And who's that outside the window ... it's Father Christmas!With an important message about cherishing traditions that children will understand, this is storytelling at its best, from an exciting creative team in children's books.'Will both delight fans, and give them something to reflect on. Layton's illustrations are a joy, matching the text perfectly.' - BooksellerWritten by Cressida Cowell, the bestselling author of the How to Train Your Dragon series. http://www.cressidacowell.co.uk/Illustrated by award winning Neal Layton, creator of Stanley's Stick and illustrator of Danny McGee Drinks The Sea, shortlisted for the 2017 Laugh Out Loud Picture Book Award.http://www.neallayton.co.uk/

Hodder Children's Books

Oi Duck-billed Platypus

Kes Gray, Jim Field
Contributors:
Kes Gray, Jim Field
Orion Children's Books

Escape

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay

Don't stop running . . . the second edge-of-your-seat thriller with bite from international bestselling author Linwood Barclay for ages 9+12-year-old Jeff and genetically engineered spy dog Chipper are on the run from the mysterious and sinister government organisation knows only as The Institute. Due to a combination of bravery, luck and some of Chipper's more useful modifications, they've managed to evade their pursuers so far. But The Institute is closing in and Chipper and Jeff will have to be stay one step ahead if they want to stay alive..Danger, secrets and thrilling suspense collide in Linwood Barclay's action-packed series for children.

Orchard Books

Daisy Tappytoes Dares to Dance

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

Rae the Rollercoaster Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel and Kirsty on their sweetest-ever fairy adventure!Rae the Rollercoaster Fairy makes sure that rollercoasters everywhere are lots of fun. But when Jack Frost steals her magical object, she's in for a bumpy ride! Can Kirsty and Rachel help get things running smoothly again?

Hodder Children's Books

Whoever You Are

Diana Hendry
Authors:
Diana Hendry

From the Costa award-winning author of Harvey Angell, comes the sequel to Out of the Clouds.Pa is off again to work on his world-changing scientific discovery, leaving the rest of the Coggins family behind at their hidden clifftop home, Dizzy Perch. Oliver is in charge, with strict instructions about no visitors, in order to protect Pa's top-secret location. But Ma doesn't listen, and invites her favourite author to say.When a woman arrives at Dizzy Perch claiming to be the author, the whole family are enchanted by their guest. All apart from Oliver, that is. A good job too, because the woman is really the sister of Pa's Sworn Enemy Mac, whose mission it is to bring Pa down and steal his research. How is Oliver going to be able to keep his promise to Pa and protect his family, when they simply refuse to listen to him...?A classic mystery adventure perfect for fans of Enid Blyton.

Wren & Rook

Wonders of the World's Museums

Molly Oldfield, Harriet Taylor Seed, Peter Malone
Contributors:
Molly Oldfield, Harriet Taylor Seed, Peter Malone

Open up this treasure trove of wonders to visit 43 museums and 50 exhibits! Discover the most fascinating and mysterious objects found in museums, from star attractions to unsung exhibits. With Molly Oldfield, research elf of hit television show QI, unearth the astonishing stories of how these treasures were created, found and finally displayed. Travel back in time to discover an ancient Egyptian pharaoh, encounter China's mysterious Terracotta Army, sail the seas in a Viking ship, take flight in the world's first aeroplane, defend World War Two Britain in Churchill's siren suit, journey to the Moon with Neil Armstrong in the Apollo 11 Command Module and even play in a World Cup Final wearing Pelé's victory shirt. Through stunning photography and glorious illustration, these wonders and many more will bring history, science and culture to life for readers aged 10+, as well as the whole family!

Hodder Children's Books

Swapsies

Fiona Roberton
Authors:
Fiona Roberton
Hodder Children's Books

Oi Goat!

Kes Gray, Jim Field
Contributors:
Kes Gray, Jim Field
Orion Children's Books

Running on the Roof of the World

Jess Butterworth
Authors:
Jess Butterworth

Join 12-year-old Tash and her best friend Sam in a story of adventure, survival and hope, set in the vivid Himalayan landscape of Tibet and India. Filled with friendship, love and courage, this young girl's thrilling journey to save her parents is an ideal read for children aged 9-12. There are two words that are banned in Tibet. Two words that can get you locked in prison without a second thought. I watch the soldiers tramping away and call the words after them. 'Dalai Lama.' Tash has to follow many rules to survive in Tibet, a country occupied by Chinese soldiers. But when a man sets himself on fire in protest and soldiers seize Tash's parents, she and her best friend Sam must break the rules. They are determined to escape Tibet - and seek the help of the Dalai Lama himself in India. And so, with a backpack of Tash's father's mysterious papers and two trusty yaks by their side, their extraordinary journey across the mountains begins.

Wayland

London

Simon Holland
Authors:
Simon Holland
Franklin Watts

British Birds

Clare Collinson
Authors:
Clare Collinson
Franklin Watts

British Insects and other Minibeasts

Clare Collinson
Authors:
Clare Collinson

There are more insects and other minibeasts in British neighbourhoods than any other kind of animal. Whether you are at home, walking down the street, in a meadow or by a river, there's plenty of minibeasts to discover! In this book discover a range of minibeasts from bees, butterflies and bugs to worm and woodlice. It is full of great nature-spotting tips and includes information about the classification of insects.The book is part of the 'Nature in your neighbourhood' series - find out all about the plants and animals that live all around you!

Orchard Books

Glitter Bird

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks
Orchard Books

Rainbow Lion

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks

Ellie, Summer and Jasmine have found three of the Animal Keepers, but the magical lion is still missing - and no one is brave enough to stand up to Queen Malice while his power is reversed! Can the three friends overcome their fears and return the bravery charm to the Lion Keeper, before the evil queen takes over the Secret Kingdom once and for all?

Wayland

Ancient Greeks

Bob Fowke
Authors:
Bob Fowke