Richard Platt - In the Age of Industry - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

In the Age of Industry

By Richard Platt
Illustrated by David Lawrence

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Fun informative guides on how people in the past solved technological problems.

Written by award-winning author Richard Platt, How They Made Things Work: Age of Industry examines aspects of technology in Victorian times, including ship-building, weapons, motion pictures, photography, railways and telegraphy.

Suitable for Key Stages 2-3, How They Made Things Work looks at how people in history advanced their societies by pushing the boundaries of technology.

Biographical Notes

Richard Platt is one of the best-known children\'s non-fiction authors working in the UK today. Beginning his publishing career at Dorling Kindersley, he has written dozens of books for DK, Walker Books, Kingfisher and Franklin Watts.

He authored the immensely successful Stephen Biesty\'s Cross-Sections series for DK in the 1990s, following this up with Castle Diary and Pirate Diary for Walker Books. He has won numerous awards for his work.

Richard lives in Kent.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445164311
  • Publication date: 24 May 2018
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
Orchard Books

The Dark Wizard

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Long ago, the Beasts of Avantia crossed over into our world and have been lying in wait for three special children to bring them back to life... That time is now.Amy, Charlie and Sam have known each other all their lives, happily unaware of the powerful legacy that binds them together. In fact, they are direct descendants of the Guardians of Avantia - an elite group of heroes, trained by Tom, Master of the Beasts, himself.Nearly a hundred years ago, the Guardians escaped from the evil wizard Malvel and sought refuge in our world, along with their hoard of magical Beast eggs. Living among non-magical humankind, the Guardians adapted to Earth society, knowing that one day, their descendants would unlock the power to release the Beasts... and have to face Malvel once more.For Amy, Charlie and Sam, that time has come.Join a new generation of heroes as they discover their destiny, and experience the awesome power of Beast Quest as never before!

Franklin Watts

Earthquakes and Tsunamis

Ben Hubbard
Authors:
Ben Hubbard

Franklin Watts

Human Rights

Alice Harman, David Broadbent
Contributors:
Alice Harman, David Broadbent
Wayland

The Ancient Olympic Games

Orchard Books

Help! I Smell a Monster

Justin Davies, Kim Geyer
Contributors:
Justin Davies, Kim Geyer

This book STINKS . . . of monsters! A hilariously funny debut, perfect for fans of Pamela Butchart and David Solomons.When Alice is sent to stay with her Uncle Magnus, she soon realises that his job agency isn't quite ... normal. It helps monsters find work that makes the most of their unique talons - er, talents. Alice is shocked to discover that monsters are EVERYWHERE. There's even a Cyclops working in the castle as a pastry chef! But when he suddenly disappears, Alice smells something fishy. Can she and her uncle sniff out the missing monster before it's too late?

Franklin Watts

The Ancient Egyptians

Sonya Newland
Authors:
Sonya Newland

Which genius ideas and inventions began with the ancient Egyptians? What did they develop that we use to this day? In this book, aimed at readers aged nine and over, find out how the ancient Egyptians built their temples and pyramids, irrigated and farmed their land, and took care of their people during life and after death. Discover their brilliant developments in farming, paper-making, time-keeping and medicine and how they have influenced the way we live today. The 'Genius Of' series explores the major discoveries, inventions, influence and legacies of key periods in history.

Franklin Watts

Volcanoes and Avalanches

Ben Hubbard
Authors:
Ben Hubbard
Franklin Watts

Cultural Issues

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head
Franklin Watts

Family Differences

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head
Franklin Watts

Space

Paul Calver, Toby Reynolds
Authors:
Paul Calver, Toby Reynolds

Hodder Children's Books

The Squurms at No. 322

Kes Gray, Chris Jevons
Contributors:
Kes Gray, Chris Jevons

Nelly isn't scared of monsters. In fact, she babysits for them. From the bestselling author of the OI FROG! and DAISY books comes this hilarious, action-packed series for fans of THE BOLDS and BARRY LOSER.'If monsters are real, how come I've never seen one?''Because they never go out.''Why don't monsters ever go out?''Because they can never get a babysitter.'Ever ice-skated with a baby Thermitt, or played musical chairs with one hundred and twenty Digdiggs? Every time Nelly rings on a new monster family's doorbell she's up for a new challenge. Come on her monster-sitting adventures in this laugh-out-loud funny second book in the NELLY THE MONSTER SITTER series. Kes Gray is one of the Independent's top ten children's authors, and winner of the Red House Children's Book Award.This story now comes with brand-new illustrations; it was previously published in a collection entitled: Grerks, Squurms & Water Greeps.

Wayland

A Guide to Space

Kevin Pettman
Authors:
Kevin Pettman
Wayland

Meet the Minibeasts

Sarah Ridley
Authors:
Sarah Ridley

Become a minibeast expert with this easy-to-understand guide to the wonderful and important creatures that live beside us. Have you ever wondered what the difference between a moth and a butterfly is? Or have you ever thought about how bees live together? This fascinating and comprehensive book for children aged 6+ is full of interesting facts and brilliant photographs. It also features guides to spotting your favourite minibeast in their natural habitats.Minibeasts covered: ants, aphids, bees, beetles, bugs, butterflies, centipedes, cicadas, crickets, damselflies, dragonflies, earwigs, flies, grasshoppers, harvestmen, millipedes, mites, moths, pond skaters, slugs, snails, spiders, termites, ticks, wasps, woodlice, worms.

Franklin Watts

The Seaside

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell
Franklin Watts

Buildings, Bridges and Tunnels

Jon Richards
Authors:
Jon Richards
Wayland

First Man on the Moon

Ben Hubbard
Authors:
Ben Hubbard

A gripping illustrated account of the historic first moon landingsAn exciting narrative non-fiction account of the first moon landing, designed to publish in time for the 50th anniversary of this historic milestone in space exploration Pacey, accessible text recounts the story of the first moon landing, from its beginnings in the Space Race, to early missions, the successful Apollo 11 voyage, Armstrong's legendary first steps on the moon and the astronauts' heart-stopping return to EarthFully illustrated throughout, with fresh, modern artwork breathing new life into this famous story. Perfect for readers aged 8 and up.

Franklin Watts

Teen Pioneers

Ben Hubbard
Authors:
Ben Hubbard

Powerful and inspiring profiles of young people who have changed the world for the better A look at some amazing young people, from activists to entrepreneurs, whose lives and achievements have had a big impact on the world around them. Designed to inspire and empower today's readers and show them that anyone, no matter how old, can make a big difference.

Franklin Watts

Plastic Planet

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Authors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw

A powerful look at how plastic pollution is becoming the biggest environmental disaster of a generation Once hailed as a miraculous invention, plastic has become the indestructible scourge of our Earth. It has infiltrated every part of our planet, from the deepest oceans to most remote ice fields. It chokes our wildlife, litters our beaches and even pollutes our drinking water. The world is reaching a crisis point.Plastic Planet looks at plastic through the ages, exploring what it is, how it's made and how we have become so dependent on it in a single-use, disposable world. It highlights the social inequality of plastic pollution and explores how plastic has become a widespread and dangerous pollutant that is inextricably linked to climate change. The book looks ahead to possible solutions to our plastic crisis, from global changes such as changing people's mindsets, to innovations such as compostable plastics, to practical solutions such as recycling and bottle return schemes.

Franklin Watts

Transport

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

Find out about the transport people used in the past and compare it with what we use today. Discover how cars, planes, bicycles and other vehicles have changed. For children following Book Bands, this book is suitable for children reading at band 8, purple.The Info Buzz series, for age 5+, helps children develop their knowledge and understanding of the world by covering a wide range of topics in a fun, colourful and interactive way. The books have a lively design, engaging text and photos, questions to get children thinking and talking and teaching notes. Each title is written in conjunction with a literacy consultant and features book band guidance and downloadable activity sheets online.

Franklin Watts

Overcoming Fear of Failure

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head