Jane Lacey - My Stepfamily - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781445157962
    • Publication date:14 Mar 2019
Books in this series

My Stepfamily

By Jane Lacey
Illustrated by Venitia Dean

  • Hardback
  • £12.99

Guides to helping young children deal with difficult issues

This book helps young children aged 7+ find out about and understand life in a stepfamily.

When a child's parent remarries, that child gains a new parent, and often, new siblings. This can be great, but it can also come with its own unique set of challenges. This informative book is designed to help readers navigate and learn from these challenges. Relatable stories are presented through the use of colourful illustrations and accessible text. This book is an excellent resource for readers who have recently become or are currently preparing to become part of a new stepfamily.

It features seven stories from children who have a range of stepfamily issues from a girl who doesn't want to share to a boy who is worried because he likes his stepdad more than his 'real' dad. The end of the book features a short playscript to act out and discuss.

In this series case studies combine with sensible, practical advice to help children find out what to do in difficult situations.

Biographical Notes

Jane Lacey (Author)
Jane Lacey was a primary school teacher for ten years before she became a full-time writer of non-fiction books for children between the ages of three and eleven.

Venitia Dean (Illustrator)
Venitia Dean is a freelance illustrator who grew up in Brighton. She has always loved drawing, ever since she could hold a pencil! As a teenager she discovered a passion for figurative illustration and then when she turned 19 she was given a digital drawing tablet for her birthday and started transferring her work to the computer. She hasn't looked back since! As well as illustration, Venitia loves reading graphic novels, and walking her dog Peanut.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445157955
  • Publication date: 14 Dec 2017
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
Orchard Books

Teri the Trampolining Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

Bonnie the Bike-Riding Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel and Kirsty on their funnest fairy adventure ever!At the Tippington Leisure Centre, there are all sorts of sports to enjoy! But when Jack Frost steals Bonnie the Bike-Riding Fairy's magical object, the fun plans are knocked off balance. Kirsty and Rachel must find it, before the magic of cycling is lost forever!

Orchard Books

Rita the Rollerskating Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Hodder Children's Books

The Liars

Jennifer Mathieu
Authors:
Jennifer Mathieu

The highly anticipated new novel from Jennifer Mathieu. Two siblings wrestle with the secrets and lies that threaten to destroy their future. Perfect for fans of We Were Liars.How can one family have so many secrets?It's the summer of 1986. Joaquin and Elena, two teenage siblings live in a toxic environment with their alcoholic mother on an island off the Texas Gulf Coast. Elena falls for a new boy who has just arrived from California. Joaquin must wrestle with his decision to stay on Mariposa Island to protect his sister or flee from his mother's abuse. As both teenagers struggle to figure out who they are and want to be, they are caught in a web of family dysfunction and secrets from their mother's past. Can fierce love save them, or will their truth tear them apart?

Franklin Watts

Sandy Cove Rescue

Sue Graves, Noémie Gionet Landry
Contributors:
Sue Graves, Noémie Gionet Landry

Jess and Spencer have been learning all about their local environment. When they go on a beach clean one Saturday, they are horrified to find a seal cub entangled in plastic. Their quick thinking ensures that the seal is soon in the best place to recover.Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Hodder Children's Books

Mystery of the Theatre Ghost

Pamela Butchart, Enid Blyton, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Pamela Butchart, Enid Blyton, Tony Ross
Wren & Rook

Turn Off, Live On

Vincent Vincent
Authors:
Vincent Vincent

The ultimate remedy to your all-consuming phone addiction.The hustle and bustle of online life can be overwhelming, but this book is here to remedy all the negative effects of too much screen time.Brimming with clever exercises, puzzles, life hacks and relaxation techniques, this interactive journal will help you unleash your creativity, build your confidence, boost your brain cells, find your inner unicorn and have you living in the here and now!Turn Off.Live On.

Wayland

Submarines

Tim Cooke
Authors:
Tim Cooke

Submarines lurk unseen beneath the waves. They circle the globe, even sailing beneath the North Pole. This silent patrol can be deadly. Modern submarines are launch platforms for long-range missiles that can be armed with nuclear warheads. But sailing under the water places unique demands on vessels and their crews. Find out about leading submarines from around the world - including their technical specifications. Learn about the history of submarines - from their first use - through incredible developments, right up to the latest, cleverest machines around today. Ultimate Military Machines delves into the incredible world of fighting machines and takes an upclose look at the latest technology used by the army, navy and air forces today. Each title takes an indepth look at one type of military vehicle - from its first use in warfare up to recent conflicts.

Wayland

Warships

Tim Cooke
Authors:
Tim Cooke
Franklin Watts

Keep Off the Grass

Katie Dale, Liam Darcy
Contributors:
Katie Dale, Liam Darcy
Hodder Children's Books

The Secret Seven

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Franklin Watts

Double Dragons

Enid Richemont
Authors:
Enid Richemont
Franklin Watts

Light

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Authors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Wren & Rook

You Are Awesome

Matthew Syed
Authors:
Matthew Syed
Hodder Children's Books

The Wizards of Once

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell
Franklin Watts

Bullying

Jane Lacey, Venitia Dean
Contributors:
Jane Lacey, Venitia Dean

Sometimes you can sort out a problem on your own. But sometimes you need to ask for help. This book helps young children to make this decision and find out about and understand bullying. It features seven case studies from children who have a range of bullying problems from a girl who is being left out by her friends to a boy bullied for the way he speaks. It features both verbal and physical bullying. The end of the book features a short playscript to act out and discuss. The book has engaging illustrations throughout.In this series case studies combine with sensible, practical advice to help children find out what to do in difficult situations.

Wayland

Bombers

Tim Cooke
Authors:
Tim Cooke
Wayland

Tanks

Tim Cooke
Authors:
Tim Cooke
Wayland

Helicopters

Tim Cooke
Authors:
Tim Cooke

Helicopters can deliver soldiers or supplies where no other transportation can. This makes them key on remote battlefields. Choppers carry special forces into warzones, perform search and rescue, and carry out reconnaissance. They also pack a punch: Helicopter gunships carry a fearsome load of guns, bombs and missiles. Find out about leading helicopters from around the world - including their technical specifications.Learn about the history of military helicopters - from their first use, through incredible developments in technology, right up to the latest, cleverset machines around today. Ultimate Military Machines delves into the incredible world of fighting machines and takes an upclose look at the latest technology used by the army, navy and air forces today. Each title takes an indepth look at one type of military vehicle - from its first use in warfare up to recent conflicts.

Wayland

Fighter Aircraft

Tim Cooke
Authors:
Tim Cooke