Simon Chapman - African Savannah - Hachette Children's Group

African Savannah

By Simon Chapman

  • Hardback
  • £13.99

Get stuck into exploring, and find out more about savannah, desert and grassland biomes, in this expedition diary.

Get stuck into exploring, and find out more about the world's amazing biomes, in these expedition diaries.

Simon is journeying through Botswana, in southern Africa, through the wetlands of the Okavango Delta towards the open savannah and semi-desert of Namibia. The whole area is a biodiversity hotspot. Simon is documenting his journey, and there's one animal that he particularly wants to see more than any other: a black rhino.

This series, taken from Simon's real-life diaries, is written in a narrative non-fiction style and illustrated by Simon's own field sketches and expedition photos. It's a great way to introduce readers aged 8+ to biomes and ecosystems.

Biographical Notes

Simon Chapman is a British children's writer. His books include the Explorers Wanted! series, of which Explorers Wanted! At the North Pole won a Blue Peter Book Award inn 2005. Simon teaches physics at Morecambe Community High School in Lancashire.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445156866
  • Publication date: 12 Apr 2018
  • Page count: 48
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
Franklin Watts

Borneo Rainforest

Simon Chapman
Authors:
Simon Chapman

Simon is flying to the island of Borneo in the South China Sea. He plans to travel by boat and plane, and trek through one of the world's oldest rainforests to find orangutans in their natural equitorial habitat. He'll be sketching some of the island's 1,000s of species of tree, mammal and bird along the way.Simon Chapman, winner of the Blue Peter Book Award, brings geography to life, and his Expedition Diaries are a great way to introduce the world's biomes and habitats to children, direct from someone who's actually been in them - sometimes up to his neck! These books are perfect for sparking interest in this key school topic.

Franklin Watts

Cars

Rita Storey
Authors:
Rita Storey
Franklin Watts

Aircraft

Rita Storey
Authors:
Rita Storey

So you want to build your own aircraft models? Real ones that you can power and fly?Well now you can, with How to Build. Inside you'll find simple instructions, equipment lists and templates to help you make working models, including a hot-air balloon, hammer glider, Bernoulli glider, roto-copter, rubber-band aeroplane and a catapult glider.This series is aimed at budding inventors and engineers of the future, and contains builds which require adult supervision. It supports design and technology skills and learning, and is ideal for use at home, school and at STEM clubs.

Franklin Watts

Indian Lowlands

Simon Chapman
Authors:
Simon Chapman

Simon has arrived in New Delhi, India,on the start of his journey to Corbett National Park and intowetlands, desert, and low-lying dry forest beyond. He's searching for the endangered Bengal tiger. But early on, the trip doesn't go according to plan, when Simon is involved in a car crash ...Simon Chapman, winner of the Blue Peter Book Award, brings geography to life, and his Expedition Diaries are a great way to introduce the world's biomes and habitats to children, direct from someone who's actually been in them - sometimes up to his neck! These books are perfect for sparking interest in this key school topic.

Franklin Watts

Australian Outback

Simon Chapman
Authors:
Simon Chapman
Franklin Watts

Romans

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason

Franklin Watts

Greeks

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason
Franklin Watts

Amazon Basin

Simon Chapman
Authors:
Simon Chapman
Franklin Watts

Himalayan Mountains

Simon Chapman
Authors:
Simon Chapman
Wayland

Mountains

Louise Spilsbury, Richard Spilsbury
Authors:
Louise Spilsbury, Richard Spilsbury

Discover how animals and plants in mountain environments survive in these often hostile and challenging places. Learn what each organism eats, the techniques it uses to survive in the mountain and how it has cleverly adapted to make a life in its beautiful but sometimes deadly home.

Wayland

Events That Changed the World

Cath Senker
Authors:
Cath Senker

For thousands of years, humans and their actions have shaped our history. But some events are so profound, they not only change the course of history, they also manage to leave a legacy so powerful, it can be called world-changing. This book looks at 10 of these events - from the discovery of the Americas by Christopher Columbus which brought about a radical change to the face of those continents, to the attacks of 9/11, which ushered in a new era of warfare and terrorism.Each of the 10 world-changing events is examined in detail - what were the circumstances; who was involved and why; what kind of a legacy has it left; and how is it still relevant to us today? Spanning a significant portion of human history, from the age of discovery in the 15th century, to both World Wars, the birth of modern science and the end of Apartheid, this book not only examines the events themselves, but also places them in the context of other historical events and developments. Perfect for course work and cross-curricular activities spanning history, politics and science; the book includes 10 further momentous events, as well as a timeline that places them in the context of world history.

Wayland

Coral Reef

Louise Spilsbury, Richard Spilsbury
Authors:
Louise Spilsbury, Richard Spilsbury

With their stunning colours and array of life, coral reefs seem lush, inviting and beautiful. However, like all biomes around the world, coral reefs present challenges to the plants and organisms that live there. Discover how organisms survive on coral reefs and how they have cleverly adapted to their wild and watery home.

Wayland

Loos Save Lives

Seren Boyd
Authors:
Seren Boyd
Franklin Watts

The Medieval World

Alex Woolf
Authors:
Alex Woolf

What developments in government and society, food and farming, architecture, science and technology, art and literature, medicine, education and entertainment were there in the medieval world of Europe and how did these compare with those made during the same time period in the Islamic world and elsewhere in Africa and Asia? What was happening at the same time in the Americas? Packed with beautiful illustrations, this book, in the Parallel History series for readers upwards of age nine, will help you to explore the medieval world chronologically, with timelines to show you when major events and achievements took place.

Franklin Watts

The Early Modern World

Alex Woolf
Authors:
Alex Woolf

What developments in government and society, food and farming, exploration and discovery, science and technology, art and literature, religion, education and entertainment were there in the early modern world of Europe between the years 1500 and 1789, and how did these compare with those made during the same time period in the Islamic world and elsewhere in Africa and Asia? What was happening at the same time in the Americas? Packed with beautiful illustrations, this book, in the Parallel History series for readers upwards of age nine, will help you to explore the early modern world chronologically, with timelines to show you when major events and achievements took place.

Wayland

Out of This World

Rob Colson
Authors:
Rob Colson
Wayland

Forces in Action

Rob Colson
Authors:
Rob Colson

How does gravity make Earth spin around the Sun? How do racing cars slow down? What can reduce friction? This book explores all about mass, machines and forces. Using engaging visuals, see how they govern what we do and how they can make our lives easier. This book is part of the Science is Everywhere series, which demystifies the key science topics and shows how they relate to the world around us with fun, colourful graphics. These books are ideal for children aged 9 plus who are studying science, or for young readers who want to get to grips with science in a fun way.

Hodder Children's Books

I Am Traitor

Sif Sigmarsdottir
Authors:
Sif Sigmarsdottir

At the end of the world, who can you trust? The story of one teen's fight against an extra-terrestrial invasion. For fans of Michael Grant, Suzanne Collins and Robert Muchamore.London has been targeted by extra-terrestrial life and victims are transported to a terrifying other world.Amy Sullivan is an unwilling hero. She runs until she can't run any more. Then, she is taken. To have a chance of saving herself, and her planet, Amy will have to put faith in those she fears the most. But what if it means becoming a traitor to everyone she has ever loved? A modern-day War of the Worlds from one of Iceland's bestselling authors.

Wren & Rook

Women in Science

Rachel Ignotofsky
Authors:
Rachel Ignotofsky

A gloriously illustrated celebration of trailblazing women. Women in Science highlights the contributions of fifty notable women to the STEM fields of science, technology, engineering and mathematics, from both the ancient and modern worlds. The book also contains fascinating infographics and an illustrated scientific glossary. The extraordinary women profiled include well-known figures like the physicist and chemist Marie Curie, as well as lesser-known pioneers such as Katherine Johnson, the African-American mathematician who calculated the trajectory of the Apollo 11 mission to the moon. Women in Science celebrates the achievements of the intrepid women who have paved the way for the next generation of female engineers, biologists, mathematicians, doctors, astronauts, physicists and beyond ...

Franklin Watts

Shipwrecked! - Explore floating and sinking and use science to survive

Richard Spilsbury, Louise Spilsbury
Authors:
Richard Spilsbury, Louise Spilsbury