Deborah Chancellor - Champion Gran - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £11.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781445156507
    • Publication date:14 Sep 2017
Books in this series

Champion Gran

Kara Learns About Respect

By Deborah Chancellor
Illustrated by Elif Balta Parks

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

A series of picture books that explore British values through fun stories

This story expores the issue of respect - if we don't respect other people we miss the chance to learn from them and enjoy their friendship. In the story, seven-year old Kara doesn't want to visit her gran because she thinks it will be boring. But Sally at the care home takes Kara on a tour and she learns all about the lives of the residents - which are not boring at all. Kara even finds out that she and her gran have something in common. The story is suitable for children aged 5+ who are learning to read or for sharing with an adult. For children following Book Bands, it is suitable for children reading at band 5: green.

The book is a part of the British Values series which explores tricky subjects such as democracy, the rule of law, mutual respect and tolerance through fun illustrated stories. Each book includes teacher notes for discussing the theme of the story.

Biographical Notes

Deborah Chancellor (Author)
Deborah Chancellor is a writer of fiction and non-fiction books for children. She has written nearly 100 books and worked with many leading publishers. Deborah is a prolific writer of children's non-fiction on a wide range of subjects. She is a versatile author who has written biographies for teenagers, adapted Bible stories for pre-school children, and written teenage fiction for older children with reading difficulties. Her books have been translated into many languages and sold all over the world. An Associate Fellow of the Royal Literary Fund, Deborah appears at Literary Festivals and runs writing workshops for young people.

Elif Balta Parks (Illustrator)
Elif Balta Parks is a business graduate who's love of drawing lead her to change her life and become an illustrator. She studied independently for several years, developing her style and then attended Central Saint Martins college before beginning her career as an illustrator. Since 2012 Elif has illustrated over 30 children's books and is passionate about engaging young readers' imaginations with her work.
She lives in more than one place but always has her sketchbook at her side.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445156514
  • Publication date: 23 May 2019
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
Wayland

Save the Animals

Deborah Chancellor, Diane Ewen
Contributors:
Deborah Chancellor, Diane Ewen

Good to be Green is a series of six environment education books that help children age 6+ explore green issues and find out what they can do to help the planet. Each book features the story of a child who is exploring their world and learning why it's important to think green. Alongside the stories are fact boxes with extra information and at the end of each story there are activity ideas, teaching notes and a quiz. Each story is accompanied by bright illustrations by Diane Ewen.

Wayland

Save and Mend

Deborah Chancellor, Diane Ewen
Contributors:
Deborah Chancellor, Diane Ewen

Good to be Green is a series of six environment education books that help children age 6+ explore green issues and find out what they can do to help the planet. Each book features the story of a child who is exploring their world and learning why it's important to think green. Alongside the stories are fact boxes with extra information and at the end of each story there are activity ideas, teaching notes and a quiz. Each story is accompanied by bright illustrations by Diane Ewen.

Wayland

Let's Walk to School

Deborah Chancellor, Diane Ewen
Contributors:
Deborah Chancellor, Diane Ewen
Wayland

Don't Waste Your Food

Deborah Chancellor, Diane Ewen
Contributors:
Deborah Chancellor, Diane Ewen
Orchard Books

When the Crocodiles Came to Town

Magda Brol, Magda Brol
Contributors:
Magda Brol, Magda Brol

An exhilaratingly fresh, funny picture book with a strong message about rejecting prejudice and welcoming new arrivals from brilliantly talented debut author-illustrator Magda Brol.No one knows why the crocodiles have come to Dullsville. They look different. They act differently. And worst of all? They love messy, sticky, colourful ice cream. Yuck!But one little boy knows differently, and when two naughty thieves arrive in Dullsville one night, the whole town sees how much Dullsville needs its two brave and loyal crocs . . . A strong message about embracing difference and rejecting prejudice, delivered with bags of charm and toothy crocodile humour.

Wayland

Turn off the Tap

Deborah Chancellor, Diane Ewen
Contributors:
Deborah Chancellor, Diane Ewen

This environment education story follows Tia who is always being told by her mum to turn off the tap to save water - but why is this important? Through the story, Tia learns why water is precious and the small steps she can take to help to save it.Good to be Green is a series of six environment education books that help children age 6+ explore green issues and find out what they can do to help the planet. Each book features the story of a child who is exploring their world and learning why it's important to think green. Alongside the stories are fact boxes with extra information and at the end of each story there are activity ideas, teaching notes and a quiz. Each story is accompanied by bright illustrations by Diane Ewen.

Wayland

Rubbish or Recycling?

Deborah Chancellor, Diane Ewen
Contributors:
Deborah Chancellor, Diane Ewen
Franklin Watts

The Class Vote

Deborah Chancellor, Elif Balta Parks
Contributors:
Deborah Chancellor, Elif Balta Parks

The book is a part of the British Values series which explores tricky subjects such as democracy, the rule of law, mutual respect and tolerance through fun illustrated stories. Each book includes teacher notes for discussing the theme of the story.

Orchard Books

Oscar the Hungry Unicorn

Lou Carter, Nikki Dyson
Contributors:
Lou Carter, Nikki Dyson

A hilariously funny tale of friendship, belonging and LOTS OF EATING from the bestselling author of There Is No Dragon in This Story. Perfect for fans of Oi Frog.WITH SUPER SPARKLY GLITTER COVER!Oscar the Unicorn has eaten his stable so he needs to find somewhere else to live. Not easy if you're a unicorn who eats everything in sight ... No one wants him around: not the pirates or the fairies or the dragons. Will Oscar ever find a place to call home? Well, it just so happens that Princess Oola has been searching for a unicorn FOR EVER ...

Franklin Watts

The Red Flag

Deborah Chancellor, Elif Balta Parks
Contributors:
Deborah Chancellor, Elif Balta Parks
Franklin Watts

Who Did That?

Deborah Chancellor, Elif Balta Parks
Contributors:
Deborah Chancellor, Elif Balta Parks

This story expores the issue of responsibility and owning up to our actions. In the story, seven-year old Sasha smashes a window by accident but blames her little brother Henry. When Henry runs away Sasha has to confess and say how sorry she is. Sasha's grandma explains how we should always face the consequences of what we've done and things will turn out better that way. The story is suitable for children aged 5+ who are learning to read or for sharing with an adult.The book is a part of the British Values series which explores tricky subjects such as democracy, the rule of law, mutual respect and tolerance through fun illustrated stories. Each book includes teacher notes for discussing the theme of the story.

Franklin Watts

The Town Makeover

Deborah Chancellor, Elif Balta Parks
Contributors:
Deborah Chancellor, Elif Balta Parks
Franklin Watts

Dinosaurs

Deborah Chancellor
Authors:
Deborah Chancellor

Explore the amazing world of the dinosaurs, from peaceful plant-eaters to fierce meat-eaters. Discover the facts and Share the learning in these fun books.A series of differentiated text books on topics that children really want to read about. The lower level text is ideal for emerging readers and the higher level text will suit more able readers. The large, square format encourages sharing, and spectacular photos are featured on every page. Perfect for readers aged 4 and up.

Franklin Watts

Making Friends

Deborah Chancellor, Elif Balta Parks
Contributors:
Deborah Chancellor, Elif Balta Parks
Wayland

I Feel Jealous

Brian Moses, Mike Gordon
Contributors:
Brian Moses, Mike Gordon

Young children experience many confusing emotions in their early years and I feel Jealous looks at the emotion jealousy, in light-hearted but ultimately reassuring way. This picture book examines how and why people get jealous, illustrates scenarios of people behaving in a jealous way, and the best way tocope with it with age-appropriate content.Ideal for home or the classroom, this book contains notes for parents and teachers with suggestions of ways to help children deal with jealousy.Filled with colourful illustrations by the every-popular, award-winning illustrator Mike Gordon.

Wayland

I'm Worried

Brian Moses, Mike Gordon
Contributors:
Brian Moses, Mike Gordon

This classic picture book, illustrated by award-winning Mike Gordon, helps young children with feelings of anxiety and worry they may feel in their early years. From feeling left out when playing with friends, taking a test, or speaking in a school assembly, to a stay in hospital or seeing other family members worry during anxious times, this book suggests ways that can help children put their worries into perspective.This book is part of the Your Feelings series, which examines feelings in an amusing but ultimately reassuring way. Each book contains notes for parents and teachers with suggestions of ways to help children deal with their emotions.Other titles in the series: I Feel Bullied and It's Not Fair

Wayland

It Wasn't Me! - Learning About Honesty

Brian Moses
Authors:
Brian Moses

This classic picture book, illustrated by internationally-renowned artist, Mike Gordon, explains to young children why it's good to be a champion truth teller and have the courage to own up when they do something wrong. This book is part of a series called Values, which helps children to develop their own value system and make responsible decisions. Notes for parents and teachers show how ideas in the books can be used as starting points for further discussion at home and in the classroom or in assemblies. Other titles in the Values series: Learning About Respect and Taking Responsibility

Franklin Watts

Human Body

Deborah Chancellor
Authors:
Deborah Chancellor
Franklin Watts

Our Seaside School

Deborah Chancellor
Authors:
Deborah Chancellor

A group of friends from Carlton Hill Primary School in Brighton, East Sussex are going on a walk. The children have planned their walk carefully and have a list of questions they want to answer about their local area. We then follow them as they explore thier local area and answer their questions. This book is part of 'A walk from' series which explores different geographical environments using maps and photos. It helps young children understand geographical similarities and differences through studying the human and physical geography of a small area of the United Kingdom. The books feature key physical and human geographical vocabulary and skills such as compass directions, map reading and recognising landmarks and features.

Franklin Watts

A Walk From Our City School

Deborah Chancellor
Authors:
Deborah Chancellor