Anna Claybourne - Killer Plants and Other Green Gunk - Hachette Children's Group

Killer Plants and Other Green Gunk

By Anna Claybourne

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Quirky, colourful guides to the horrible, shocking and disgusting aspects of science

Killer Plants investigates all things green and gross, from insect-eating pitcher plants to giant lilies that smell of rotting corpses.

Disgusting and Dreadful Science features a look at the weird, revolting and shocking aspects of science for children at KS2. From plants and life cycles to the human body and animal adaptations, the books offer fascinating facts, fun examples and true-life stories to provide ways in to understanding solid scientific principles. Perfect for readers aged 9 and up.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445152486
  • Publication date: 26 Oct 2017
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
Enjoyable introduction to the subject of gravity. This will make an attractive acquisition for introductory science. — School Librarian
Anna Claybourne is a prolific author of non fiction for children and she knows just the right level to pitch the text and to make it interesting — Parents In Touch
Anna Claybourne is a prolific author of non fiction for children and she knows just the right level to pitch the text and to make it interesting
Orchard Books

The Dark Wizard

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Long ago, the Beasts of Avantia crossed over into our world and have been lying in wait for three special children to bring them back to life... That time is now.Amy, Charlie and Sam have known each other all their lives, happily unaware of the powerful legacy that binds them together. In fact, they are direct descendants of the Guardians of Avantia - an elite group of heroes, trained by Tom, Master of the Beasts, himself.Nearly a hundred years ago, the Guardians escaped from the evil wizard Malvel and sought refuge in our world, along with their hoard of magical Beast eggs. Living among non-magical humankind, the Guardians adapted to Earth society, knowing that one day, their descendants would unlock the power to release the Beasts... and have to face Malvel once more.For Amy, Charlie and Sam, that time has come.Join a new generation of heroes as they discover their destiny, and experience the awesome power of Beast Quest as never before!

Franklin Watts

Earthquakes and Tsunamis

Ben Hubbard
Authors:
Ben Hubbard
Wayland

The Ancient Olympic Games

Orchard Books

Help! I Smell a Monster

Justin Davies, Kim Geyer
Contributors:
Justin Davies, Kim Geyer
Franklin Watts

The Ancient Egyptians

Sonya Newland
Authors:
Sonya Newland

Which genius ideas and inventions began with the ancient Egyptians? What did they develop that we use to this day? In this book, aimed at readers aged nine and over, find out how the ancient Egyptians built their temples and pyramids, irrigated and farmed their land, and took care of their people during life and after death. Discover their brilliant developments in farming, paper-making, time-keeping and medicine and how they have influenced the way we live today. The 'Genius Of' series explores the major discoveries, inventions, influence and legacies of key periods in history.

Franklin Watts

Volcanoes and Avalanches

Ben Hubbard
Authors:
Ben Hubbard
Hodder Children's Books

The Squurms at No. 322

Kes Gray, Chris Jevons
Contributors:
Kes Gray, Chris Jevons

Nelly isn't scared of monsters. In fact, she babysits for them. From the bestselling author of the OI FROG! and DAISY books comes this hilarious, action-packed series for fans of THE BOLDS and BARRY LOSER.'If monsters are real, how come I've never seen one?''Because they never go out.''Why don't monsters ever go out?''Because they can never get a babysitter.'Ever ice-skated with a baby Thermitt, or played musical chairs with one hundred and twenty Digdiggs? Every time Nelly rings on a new monster family's doorbell she's up for a new challenge. Come on her monster-sitting adventures in this laugh-out-loud funny second book in the NELLY THE MONSTER SITTER series. Kes Gray is one of the Independent's top ten children's authors, and winner of the Red House Children's Book Award.This story now comes with brand-new illustrations; it was previously published in a collection entitled: Grerks, Squurms & Water Greeps.

Wayland

A Guide to Space

Kevin Pettman
Authors:
Kevin Pettman

Think you know everything there is to know about space? Think again! This fact-packed bumper book is filled with everything you ever wanted to know about space ... and more! Using vivid colours, graphic visuals and bold designs, this guide brings space to life on the page with a modern and engaging approach to information.

Wayland

Meet the Minibeasts

Sarah Ridley
Authors:
Sarah Ridley

Become a minibeast expert with this easy-to-understand guide to the wonderful and important creatures that live beside us. Have you ever wondered what the difference between a moth and a butterfly is? Or have you ever thought about how bees live together? This fascinating and comprehensive book for children aged 6+ is full of interesting facts and brilliant photographs. It also features guides to spotting your favourite minibeast in their natural habitats.Minibeasts covered: ants, aphids, bees, beetles, bugs, butterflies, centipedes, cicadas, crickets, damselflies, dragonflies, earwigs, flies, grasshoppers, harvestmen, millipedes, mites, moths, pond skaters, slugs, snails, spiders, termites, ticks, wasps, woodlice, worms.

Wayland

First Man on the Moon

Ben Hubbard
Authors:
Ben Hubbard
Franklin Watts

Plastic Planet

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Authors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Orchard Books

The Frozen Fortress

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

X-Men meets Beast Quest at the school for superheroes! An epic adventure series from bestselling author Adam BladeOrdinary kids with extraordinary powers gather in a secret school to be trained to fight the forces of darkness.

Franklin Watts

Ten Diggers and Digging Machines

JP Percy
Authors:
JP Percy
Franklin Watts

Family Differences

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head

This book looks at different family set-ups including single parents and step-families and examines issues that can arise within families - sibling fall-outs, poverty, abuse, illness and child carers, and getting on with parents.It is part of the series My Life, Your Life, which takes a sensitive and positive look at some of the issues that concern children aged 10+. It explores issues including sexuality, gender, self-esteem, prejudice and discrimination and promotes and encourages discussion. By thinking creatively and critically, children can learn to accept their differences, embrace diversity and improve their sense of self and how they fit into the bigger picture. Each title also provides advice in the form of practical ways to cope with distressing or difficult situations.

Franklin Watts

Overcoming Fear of Failure

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head

Lots of people suffer from a fear of failure. It is one of the biggest causes of anxiety and stress for school students. Fear of failure can make us afraid to try new things. For some it means that they have to come first at everything they do. For many fear of failure is linked with low self-esteem. It can make people feel inadequate and ruin their self-confidence. This book explores why we fear failure and how we can overcome it - from understanding that making mistakes isn't always bad to breaking out of our comfort zones. The book ties in with the 'growth mindset' theory - that success is based on hard work, trying and being prepared to fail and pick yourself up again.It is part of the series My Life, Your Life, which takes a sensitive and positive look at some of the issues that concern children aged 10+. It explores issues including sexuality, gender, self-esteem, prejudice and discrimination and promotes and encourages discussion. By thinking creatively and critically, children can learn to accept their differences, embrace diversity and improve their sense of self and how they fit into the bigger picture. Each title also provides advice in the form of practical ways to cope with distressing or difficult situations.

Franklin Watts

Cultural Issues

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head

This book looks at cultural issues between family and school friends including religion, diet, clothes and attitudes. It looks at family expectations and the desire to blend in with peers. It emphasises respect for cultural differences in and out of school and tolerance and an acceptance of a different way of behaving. The book includes practical advice and links to organisations that can help. The consultant is the chief executive of the Race Equality Foundation.It is part of the series My Life, Your Life, which takes a sensitive and positive look at some of the issues that concern children aged 10+. It explores issues including sexuality, gender, self-esteem, prejudice and discrimination and promotes and encourages discussion. By thinking creatively and critically, children can learn to accept their differences, embrace diversity and improve their sense of self and how they fit into the bigger picture. Each title also provides advice in the form of practical ways to cope with distressing or difficult situations.

Franklin Watts

A Noble History of Knights

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell
Franklin Watts

In the Home

Jon Richards
Authors:
Jon Richards
Franklin Watts

Buildings, Bridges and Tunnels

Jon Richards
Authors:
Jon Richards

Have you ever wondered what made human beings want to reach for the skies by building higher and higher? And how they did it? Learn all about the the history of construction in It'll Never Work: Buildings, Bridges and Tunnels, a book that explores the medieval castles, underwater hotels, tunnels under the sea and the successes and failures that have led to the building feats that we know today.Each title in this exciting, high-interest series looks at a different area of technology and engineering and reveals the pioneering ideas and scientific thinking that enabled its development, as well as exposing those that proved to be a dead end. Each spread examines a particular example in depth, bringing in other similar ideas where relevant, and revealing that experimentation and failure often pave the way to technology success. Beautifully designed and illustrated with infographic-style artwork, this series is an excellent technology resource for readers aged 9 and up.

Franklin Watts

Space

Paul Calver, Toby Reynolds
Authors:
Paul Calver, Toby Reynolds