Sam Hay - Too Many Nightingales! - Hachette Children's Group

Too Many Nightingales!

By Sam Hay
Illustrated by Roger Simó

  • Hardback
  • £8.99

Inventive and amusing twists on classic fairy tales for 5-7 year olds told by top authors

Follow this fabulous twist on the Hans Christian Andersen classic ' The Nightingale'. Maybe you can have too much of a good thing ... when the King and Queen discover a beautiful nightingale singing in their garden, they adore it. But whatever the King and Queen like, the people love! Suddenly the kingdom has gone nightingale crazy! There is only one thing to do - the nightingales must go!

Hopscotch Twisty Tales combine carefully controlled text levels and a word count of under 500 words with highly entertaining and original stories. They are perfect for children starting to read independently aged 5 or who read book bands 7-8. Each book also contains fun puzzles at the back to reinforce story sequencing and character and dialogue work.

Biographical Notes

Sam Hay is the author of the UNDEAD PETS series for Stripes/Penguin US and the SCREAMING SANDS series for Catnip. Her first book with Franklin Watts will publish in Race Ahead with Reading in October 2015, her first picture book will publish in 2015 with Egmont, as well as a chapter book series STELLA AND THE NIGHT SPRITES, with Scholastic US. Previously, Sam has written some animal short stories and early readers for Macmillan, and young novels for A&C Black. All her published books can be viewed on her website - www.samhayauthor.com . Sam worked in television and now works closely with primary school children, visiting schools to encourage literacy. Sam lives in Wales with her husband and kids.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445147550
  • Publication date: 28 Apr 2016
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
Orchard Books

Adventure Duck vs the Armadillo Army

Steve Cole
Authors:
Steve Cole
Orchard Books

Glitterhoof's Secret Garden

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

Sparklesplash and the Mermaid Adventure

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

A secret world full of magic, unicorns and friendship! The brand-new series from the bestselling Daisy Meadows, author of RAINBOW MAGIC and MAGIC ANIMAL FRIENDS, and the most-borrowed children's author in UK libraries.Join best friends Lucy and Aisha as they discover a secret world full of unicorns, magic and friendship! Journey with them to the beautiful kingdom of Unicorn Valley, where the beautiful Queen Aurora rules kindly over the unicorns and all other magical creatures. But when the Dark Unicorn Selena tries to steal the throne, good magic everywhere is under threat. Can the girls and their new unicorn friends find a way to save the kingdom?

Hodder Children's Books

Agent Weasel and the Fiendish Fox Gang

Nick East
Authors:
Nick East
Orchard Books

Oscar the Hungry Unicorn Eats Christmas

Lou Carter, Nikki Dyson
Contributors:
Lou Carter, Nikki Dyson

Oscar the Hungry Unicorn saves Christmas in this brilliantly funny second book from Lou Carter, the bestselling author of There Is No Dragon in This Story.It's Christmas Eve and Oscar the Unicorn is hungry.He's eaten the Christmas tree, the stockings and is about to make a start on the presents. But at least he hasn't eaten the magic reindeer food that allows the reindeer to fly . . . has he?! Oh. He has. All of it. How is Santa going to deliver presents to the rest of fairyland with his trusty reindeer unable to fly? Luckily, Princess Oola has an idea . . . Oscar will make the best reindicorn EVER! The brilliantly funny sequel to the Oscar the Hungry Unicorn, full of Christmas fun and silliness!

Orchard Books

When the Crocodiles Came to Town

Magda Brol, Magda Brol
Contributors:
Magda Brol, Magda Brol
Hodder Children's Books

Summer Adventure Stories

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Hodder Children's Books

Claude: Anyone For Strawberries?

Alex T. Smith
Authors:
Alex T. Smith
Orchard Books

Dawnblaze Saves Summer

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

Scaredy-Dog

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels

With exciting animal rescues and real-life care tips, this is the perfect series for young animal lovers! Amelia and Sam are looking after chocolate labrador puppy named Coco for a week. They take the playful little pup to dog training classes, but their classmate Tiffany doesn't want to join in - even though her own puppy, Sparkle, is scared of everything from loud noises to other dogs. When Tiffany hosts a birthday party with loud fireworks, Sparkle gets frightened and bites Coco. Can Sam and Amelia help the poor little scaredy-dog overcome his fears? And will the two puppies ever become friends?Two stories in one for even more animal adventures!

Hodder Children's Books

Claude: All About Keith

Alex T. Smith
Authors:
Alex T. Smith

Meet Claude - the ordinary dog with an extraordinary life. Now the star of his very own TV show on Disney Junior with 52 episodes airing in 2018. Whether he's on Pawhaven beach or visiting Armslength Keep all sorts of wacky adventures happen to Claude and his best friend, Sir Bobblysock.Claude and Sir Bobblysock are happily taking a stroll in sunny Pawhaven when they hear an extremely loud WAIL! A poor little duckling is lost! Can the two friends keep him happy and find his mummy?!A fantastic new storybook based on the Disney Junior TV show.Praise for Alex T. Smith's Claude series:'Illustrated with humour and elegance' The Times'With quirky illustrations and plenty of humour' MetroClaude in the City was shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Book Prize and selected for the Richard and Judy Book Club. Claude Going for Gold won the Sainsbury's Children's Book Award. Alex T. Smith was the official World Book Day illustrator in 2014.Follow Alex at alextsmith.com and on Twitter: @Alex_T_Smith

Wren & Rook

The Brontës

Anna Doherty
Authors:
Anna Doherty

An inspiring, empowering, fantastically feminist and totally true story, perfect for fans of Little People, Big Dreams and Goodnight Stories for Rebel Girls! Meet the incredible Brontë family - Charlotte, Emily, Anne and Branwell Brontë are no ordinary children. Growing up on the wild, lonely moors of Yorkshire, they have nothing to entertain them but their imaginations and each other. So they invent extraordinary imaginery worlds, full of wars and love stories, soldiers, heroes and villains, ruled over by powerful women. As they grow up, the Brontës discover that the real world isn't such a great place to be a girl. But they are so determined that their voices be heard, they overcome almost unbeatable odds to be bestselling authors. This is the absolutely astonishing, fantastically feminist and, best of all, totally true story of one amazing family!

Orchard Books

Aisha the Astronaut Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

Orla the Inventor Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel and Kirsty for the biggest adventure of all - following your dreams!Rachel and Kirsty are so excited to meet the Discovery Fairies, who look after some of the most exciting jobs in the world. But when Jack Frost steals Orla the Inventor Fairy's magical item, inventors everywhere stop having ideas!Can the girls help Orla defeat him and bring inspiration back to fairy and human worlds?

Orchard Books

Dani the Detective Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Orchard Books

Elsie the Engineer Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel and Kirsty for the biggest adventure of all - following your dreams!Rachel and Kirsty are so excited to meet the Discovery Fairies, who look after some of the most exciting jobs in the world. But when Jack Frost steals Elsie the Engineer Fairy's magical item, engineers everywhere lose their very special skills! Can the girls help Elsie defeat him and save the magic of engineering from being destroyed?

Hodder Children's Books

The Queen's Lift-Off

Steve Antony
Authors:
Steve Antony

From the award-winning creator of The Queen's Hat, The Queen's Handbag and The Queen's Present comes a fourth hilarious tale taking the reader on a whirlwind royal tour of space!The Queen has been round the UK, and the world - twice! - and now she's off to space!Perfectly ties in with the 50th anniversary of the first moon landing in 2019.A witty and stylish celebration of the Queen, created by Steve Antony, winner of the Oscar's First Book Prize, nominated for the Kate Greenaway Medal and shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Book Prize. Praise for The Queen's Hat: 'This is a wonderful romp of a read that's a great introduction to London, royalty and all that makes Britain great.' - Sun'This picture book is hard to beat for its sweet simplicity and charming monochromatic drawings.' - The Times

Orchard Books

Rainbow Magic Early Reader: Charlotte the Baby Princess Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

This cheerful and inviting Early Reader brings the blast of colour that Rainbow Magic's youngest fans have been waiting for!Charlotte the Baby Princess Fairy makes sure that all royal babies are happy and snug in their cribs. But when Jack Frost steals her magical lion toy, mini princes and princesses everywhere are up all night! Can Kirsty and Rachel help Charlotte stop the palace pandemonium?

Hodder Children's Books

A Bite in the Night

Julian Gough, Jim Field
Contributors:
Julian Gough, Jim Field

Gorgeously illustrated and with a classic feel, this is a brilliantly funny story of a rabbit and a bear who discover that things are always better when they're shared with a friend. Ideal for readers moving on from picture books. 'A perfect animal double-act.' (The Times, Book of the Week)Rabbit is surprised: some of the trees in the valley seem to be flying south for the winter. His friend Bear is sure that trees can't fly.Then there's a loud CRUNCH! from Very Near By. It sounds like the world's largest rabbit, eating the world's largest carrot. There's a new creature in Rabbit and Bear's valley, and he's trying to Change Everything. From novelist and playwright Julian Gough, and the winner of the Roald Dahl Funny Prize, Jim Field, this is a tale of friendship, Progess, and all kinds of getting muddy.'Rabbit's Bad Habits is a breath of fresh air in children's fiction, a laugh-out-loud story of rabbit and wolf and bear, of avalanches and snowmen. The sort of story that makes you want to send your children to bed early, so you can read it to them.' Neil Gaiman

Hodder Children's Books

Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets

Alex T. Smith
Authors:
Alex T. Smith