Sam Hay - Too Many Nightingales! - Hachette Children's Group

Too Many Nightingales!

By Sam Hay
Illustrated by Roger Simó

  • Hardback
  • £8.99

Inventive and amusing twists on classic fairy tales for 5-7 year olds told by top authors

Follow this fabulous twist on the Hans Christian Andersen classic ' The Nightingale'. Maybe you can have too much of a good thing ... when the King and Queen discover a beautiful nightingale singing in their garden, they adore it. But whatever the King and Queen like, the people love! Suddenly the kingdom has gone nightingale crazy! There is only one thing to do - the nightingales must go!

Hopscotch Twisty Tales combine carefully controlled text levels and a word count of under 500 words with highly entertaining and original stories. They are perfect for children starting to read independently aged 5 or who read book bands 7-8. Each book also contains fun puzzles at the back to reinforce story sequencing and character and dialogue work.

Biographical Notes

Sam Hay is the author of the UNDEAD PETS series for Stripes/Penguin US and the SCREAMING SANDS series for Catnip. Her first book with Franklin Watts will publish in Race Ahead with Reading in October 2015, her first picture book will publish in 2015 with Egmont, as well as a chapter book series STELLA AND THE NIGHT SPRITES, with Scholastic US. Previously, Sam has written some animal short stories and early readers for Macmillan, and young novels for A&C Black. All her published books can be viewed on her website - www.samhayauthor.com . Sam worked in television and now works closely with primary school children, visiting schools to encourage literacy. Sam lives in Wales with her husband and kids.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445147550
  • Publication date: 28 Apr 2016
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
Franklin Watts

Pip the Different Penguin

A H Benjamin, Bruno Robert
Contributors:
A H Benjamin, Bruno Robert
Hodder Children's Books

The Masterpiece Colouring Book

Paul Thurlby
Authors:
Paul Thurlby

Get creative with one of the world's most-visited museums and discover more about masterpieces and the stories behind them.This wonderful colouring book will encourage creativity and help bring masterpieces to life in fun and interesting ways. It's a fantastic platform for children developing a lifelong love of art as well as their creative skills.Created in consultation with the National Gallery, this engaging book introduces children to one of the richest collections of paintings in the world, including famous works by the greatest painters - Rembrandt, Rubens, Velázquez, Degas and many others - and masterpieces by less familiar artists. Praise for Numbers: 'Stunning collection.' Guardian'Paul Thurlby's prints are so ludicrously beautiful that I am seriously tempted to blow the budget, order the whole lot and paper a wall with them.' India Knight, journalist and author

Orchard Books

A Purrfect Sleepover

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels

A bumper long special book full of even more animal fun! Amelia and Sam love helping out at Animal Ark vets, especially when they get to look after adorable kittens! But when Amelia cat-sits troublesome kitten Luna, the little cat causes a big problem ...With the naughty kitten, Amelia's new cat Star AND a cat event at Animal Ark, everything's going cat crazy!

Wayland

Incredible Rainforests

Kay Barnham, Maddie Frost
Contributors:
Kay Barnham, Maddie Frost
Wayland

Amazing Animal Babies

Kay Barnham, Maddie Frost
Contributors:
Kay Barnham, Maddie Frost
Orchard Books

Oscar the Hungry Unicorn

Lou Carter, Nikki Dyson
Contributors:
Lou Carter, Nikki Dyson

Oscar the Unicorn will eat ANYTHING ...Oscar the Unicorn has eaten his stable so he needs to find somewhere else to live. Not easy if you're a unicorn who eats everything in sight ... No one wants him around: not the pirates or the fairies or the dragons. Will Oscar ever find a place to call home? Well, it just so happens that Princess Oola has been searching for a unicorn FOR EVER ...A hilariously funny tale of friendship, belonging and LOTS OF EATING from the bestselling author of There Is No Dragon in This Story. Perfect for fans of Oi Frog.

Orchard Books

The Official Pokémon Pokédex Sticker Book

Learn all about the Pokémon of Alola in this exciting new sticker book. Read key facts and stats then find the stickers to complete your Alola Pokédex. Can you catch them all?

Orchard Books

Fox Cub Danger

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Orchard Books

Puppy in Peril

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Orchard Books

Kitten Rescue

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels

A brilliant animal series from multi-million selling author Lucy Daniels.With exciting animal rescues and real-life care tips, this is the perfect series for young animal lovers!Animal-mad Amelia is sad about moving house, until she discovers Animal Ark, where vets look after all kinds of animals in need. When they discover some baby kittens, Amelia and her new friend Sam are determined to help. But the kittens need thier mum, and she's gone missing! Can Amelia and Sam track her down in time?

Orchard Books

Bunny Trouble

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Wayland

What are Forces?

Kay Barnham, Mike Gordon
Contributors:
Kay Barnham, Mike Gordon

This lovely picturebook story tells the story of two children who find out what forces are.Ideal for home or classroom, this book contains notes for parents and teachers with suggestions of ways to explore scientific topicsIllustrated by the ever-popular and award-winning illustrator Mike Gordon.This book is part of a series of stories about feelings and emotions for children aged between 4 and 8. Other titles are: What are plants? What is light and sound? What is electricity? What are materials?

Hodder Children's Books

1001 Really Ridiculously Silly Jokes

Clive Gifford
Authors:
Clive Gifford

Know any good jokes? Here are 1001 (yes, one thousand and one!) for the whole family to enjoy!A hilarious bumper book created by the bestselling author of Teenage Kicks and Eye Benders, and winner of the Royal Society Young People's Book Prize.With jokes galore, puns, one-liners, visual gags, play on words and hilarious illustrations. Divided into sections such as 'Hilarious Holidays', 'Teacher Titters' and 'Football Funnies', this book will never get old and will have your friends and whole family laughing.

Wayland

The Wonderful World of Weather

Kay Barnham, Maddie Frost
Contributors:
Kay Barnham, Maddie Frost

Find out about the weather, from clouds and rain to snow and sleet and fog and hail. How does weather work and how does it affect people's lives.This beautifully illustrated picture book shows the glorious nature of our weather.'Look and Wonder' is a fresh, bold and bright, narrative non-fiction picture book series, for children aged 4 and up, introducing children to life cycles and the natural world. The eye-poppingly colourful digital illustration style will explain the scientific concepts while the light and fun text-style will make these books real home and classroom favourites.Other titles in the series:A Stroll Through the SeasonsA Wonderful World of WeatherIncredible RainforestsThe Amazing Butterfly Life Cycle StoryThe Amazing Plant Life Cycle StoryThe Awesome Night SkyThe Great Big Water Cycle Adventure

Wayland

The Awesome Night Sky

Kay Barnham, Maddie Frost
Contributors:
Kay Barnham, Maddie Frost

Look up into the night sky and learn all about constellations, shooting stars and satellites.This beautifully illustrated picture book shows the glorious night sky.'Look and Wonder' is a fresh, bold and bright, narrative non-fiction picture book series, for children aged 4 and up, introducing children to life cycles and the natural world. The eye-poppingly colourful digital illustration style will explain the scientific concepts while the light and fun text-style will make these books real home and classroom favourites.Other titles in the series:A Stroll Through the SeasonsA Wonderful World of WeatherIncredible RainforestsThe Amazing Butterfly Life Cycle StoryThe Amazing Plant Life Cycle StoryThe Awesome Night SkyThe Great Big Water Cycle Adventure

Franklin Watts

One Hundred Wishes

Enid Richemont, Ben Whitehouse
Contributors:
Enid Richemont, Ben Whitehouse
Orchard Books

Bertie Bigroar Finds his Voice

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

An enchanting series full of adorable animals, magic and friendship - from the creator of RAINBOW MAGIC, the UK's bestselling series for girls aged 5-7.Welcome to a magical world where animals talk and play - just like you and me!Best friends Jess and Lily love all animals. But when they follow a mysterious golden cat into Friendship Forest - a place where animals live in tiny cottages and sip dandelion tea at the Toadstool Cafe - their animal friends suddenly become much more magical!Join Lily and Jess as they make a very special friend - Bertie Bigroar the lion cub! Little Bertie has a big heart, but can be shy sometimes. Can the girls help Bertie be brave like his big brothers, and together defeat the wicked witch Grizelda!

Orion Children's Books

The Sleepover

Lauren Pearson, Richard Watson
Contributors:
Lauren Pearson, Richard Watson

A red Early Reader full of humour, fun and a surprising friendship from Lauren Pearson, illustrated by Richard Watson. Perfect for children who are feeling a little nervous or anxious.Clark is desperate to have his very first sleepover. His sister Camilla has them ALL the time! But he's a little bit nervous about it, too ... until the night he meets his unlikely new friend, Johnny. Would you have a sleepover with a spider? Early Readers are stepping stones from picture books to reading books. A blue Early Reader is perfect for sharing and reading together. A red Early Reader is the next step on your reading journey.

Orchard Books

Kat the Jungle Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Kat the Jungle Fairy looks after tropical jungles in the fairy and human worlds. But when Jack Frost and his goblins steal her magical objects, jungles everywhere are in danger! Can Kirsty and Rachel help get them back and save all the tropical plants and animals?

Hodder Children's Books

The Arrival

Shaun Tan, Shaun Tan
Authors:
Shaun Tan, Shaun Tan