Sam Hay - Too Many Nightingales! - Hachette Children's Group

Too Many Nightingales!

By Sam Hay
Illustrated by Roger Simó

  • Hardback
  • £8.99

Inventive and amusing twists on classic fairy tales for 5-7 year olds told by top authors

Follow this fabulous twist on the Hans Christian Andersen classic ' The Nightingale'. Maybe you can have too much of a good thing ... when the King and Queen discover a beautiful nightingale singing in their garden, they adore it. But whatever the King and Queen like, the people love! Suddenly the kingdom has gone nightingale crazy! There is only one thing to do - the nightingales must go!

Hopscotch Twisty Tales combine carefully controlled text levels and a word count of under 500 words with highly entertaining and original stories. They are perfect for children starting to read independently aged 5 or who read book bands 7-8. Each book also contains fun puzzles at the back to reinforce story sequencing and character and dialogue work.

Biographical Notes

Sam Hay is the author of the UNDEAD PETS series for Stripes/Penguin US and the SCREAMING SANDS series for Catnip. Her first book with Franklin Watts will publish in Race Ahead with Reading in October 2015, her first picture book will publish in 2015 with Egmont, as well as a chapter book series STELLA AND THE NIGHT SPRITES, with Scholastic US. Previously, Sam has written some animal short stories and early readers for Macmillan, and young novels for A&C Black. All her published books can be viewed on her website - www.samhayauthor.com . Sam worked in television and now works closely with primary school children, visiting schools to encourage literacy. Sam lives in Wales with her husband and kids.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445147550
  • Publication date: 28 Apr 2016
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
Wayland

Unusual Pets

Pat Jacobs
Authors:
Pat Jacobs
Franklin Watts

King Midas

Damian Harvey, Sonya Abby Soekarno
Contributors:
Damian Harvey, Sonya Abby Soekarno
Wayland

The Garden

Lisa Regan
Authors:
Lisa Regan
Orchard Books

The Wizard of Oz

L. Frank Baum, Júlia Sardà
Contributors:
L. Frank Baum, Júlia Sardà

Franklin Watts

Computers and Coding

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

The Info Buzz series, for age 5+, helps children develop their knowledge and understanding of the world by covering a wide range of topics in a fun, colourful and interactive way. The books have a lively design, engaging text and photos, questions to get children thinking and talking and teaching notes. Each title is written in conjunction with a literacy consultant and features book band guidance and downloadable activity sheets online.

Franklin Watts

Robots

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

The Info Buzz series, for age 5+, helps children develop their knowledge and understanding of the world by covering a wide range of topics in a fun, colourful and interactive way. The books have a lively design, engaging text and photos, questions to get children thinking and talking and teaching notes. Each title is written in conjunction with a literacy consultant and features book band guidance and downloadable activity sheets online.

Franklin Watts

Drones

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

The Info Buzz series, for age 5+, helps children develop their knowledge and understanding of the world by covering a wide range of topics in a fun, colourful and interactive way. The books have a lively design, engaging text and photos, questions to get children thinking and talking and teaching notes. Each title is written in conjunction with a literacy consultant and features book band guidance and downloadable activity sheets online.

Franklin Watts

Engineering

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell
Orchard Books

When the Crocodiles Came to Town

Magda Brol, Magda Brol
Contributors:
Magda Brol, Magda Brol

An exhilaratingly fresh, funny picture book with a strong message about rejecting prejudice and welcoming new arrivals from brilliantly talented debut author-illustrator Magda Brol.No one knows why the crocodiles have come to Dullsville. They look different. They act differently. And worst of all? They love messy, sticky, colourful ice cream. Yuck!But one little boy knows differently, and when two naughty thieves arrive in Dullsville one night, the whole town sees how much Dullsville needs its two brave and loyal crocs . . . A strong message about embracing difference and rejecting prejudice, delivered with bags of charm and toothy crocodile humour.

Hodder Children's Books

Agent Weasel and the Fiendish Fox Gang

Nick East
Authors:
Nick East

Meet Agent Weasel: woodland super-spy. Can he foil the dastardly Fiendish Fox Gang once and for all? And will he still be home in time for tea and biscuits? Perfect for reading alone or sharing together, for fans of The Bolds and Toto the Ninja Cat.Strange things are happening in the United Woodlands. Rabbit warrens have been peppered with itching powder. Squirrels' nuts are missing. Even Badger's bottom has been shaved! All the clues point to the Fiendish Fox Gang. It's time to call Agent Weasel, woodland super-spy. But before they can even finish their stakeout picnic, Weasel and his trusty dormouse friend Doorkins are captured by the villainous Vixen von Fluff. Can our heroes escape? Can peace be made in the United Woodlands? Will they get afternoon tea and biscuits? Does Agent Weasel have a clue what's going on? All these very important questions will be answered in this rib-ticklingly funny adventure, with glorious illustrations throughout.

Orchard Books

Ivy the Worry Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

The Llama Bridesmaid

Bella Swift
Authors:
Bella Swift
Wayland

Being a Ladybird

Annabelle Lynch
Authors:
Annabelle Lynch
Orchard Books

Shannon the Ocean Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

Shannon the Ocean Fairy needs Rachel and Kirsty's help! Naughty Jack Frost has stolen her three enchanted pearls, and this is causing chaos in the oceans. To stop him, the girls must explore an underwater world and meet some very special friends...the narwhals!

Franklin Watts

Firefighters

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell
Wayland

Electricity

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Authors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Wayland

Forces

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Authors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Franklin Watts

Where Are We Going?

Elizabeth Dale, Amanda Gulliver
Contributors:
Elizabeth Dale, Amanda Gulliver
Wayland

Minibeasts

Victoria Munson
Authors:
Victoria Munson

A fun guide to the minibeasts for young children. From little ladybirds to slimy snails, discover fun facts about marvellous minibeasts. Find out where minibeasts live, what they eat and how they move about.Which minibeasts taste with their feet?Which minibeasts love cabbages?Simple descriptions mixed with beautiful photographs make this a great children's first guide to minibeasts. If you like this title, why not search out the others in the series: Birds, Mammals, Flowers, Seashore and Trees.

Wayland

Birds

Victoria Munson
Authors:
Victoria Munson