Sam Hay - Too Many Nightingales! - Hachette Children's Group

Too Many Nightingales!

By Sam Hay
Illustrated by Roger Simo

  • Hardback
  • £8.99

Inventive and amusing twists on classic fairy tales for 5-7 year olds told by top authors

Follow this fabulous twist on the Hans Christian Andersen classic ' The Nightingale'. Maybe you can have too much of a good thing ... when the King and Queen discover a beautiful nightingale singing in their garden, they adore it. But whatever the King and Queen like, the people love! Suddenly the kingdom has gone nightingale crazy! There is only one thing to do - the nightingales must go!

Hopscotch Twisty Tales combine carefully controlled text levels and a word count of under 500 words with highly entertaining and original stories. They are perfect for children starting to read independently aged 5 or who read book bands 7-8. Each book also contains fun puzzles at the back to reinforce story sequencing and character and dialogue work.

Biographical Notes

Sam Hay is the author of the UNDEAD PETS series for Stripes/Penguin US and the SCREAMING SANDS series for Catnip. Her first book with Franklin Watts will publish in Race Ahead with Reading in October 2015, her first picture book will publish in 2015 with Egmont, as well as a chapter book series STELLA AND THE NIGHT SPRITES, with Scholastic US. Previously, Sam has written some animal short stories and early readers for Macmillan, and young novels for A&C Black. All her published books can be viewed on her website - www.samhayauthor.com . Sam worked in television and now works closely with primary school children, visiting schools to encourage literacy. Sam lives in Wales with her husband and kids.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445147550
  • Publication date: 28 Apr 2016
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
Wayland

Light

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Authors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Wayland

Sound

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Authors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw

Orchard Books

Bridesmaid Surprise – Two magical adventures in one!

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks
Orchard Books

Jasmine Whizzpaws’ Rescue Race

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

Daisy Tappytoes Dares to Dance

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

Polly Bobblehop Makes a Mess

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

An enchanting series full of adorable animals, magic and friendship - from the creator of RAINBOW MAGIC, the UK's bestselling series for girls aged 5-7.Welcome to a magical world where animals talk and play - just like you and me!Best friends Jess and Lily love all animals. But when they follow a mysterious golden cat into Friendship Forest - a place where animals live in tiny cottages and sip dandelion tea at the Toadstool Cafe - their animal friends suddenly become much more magical!

Orchard Books

Imogen Scribblewhiskers’ Perfect Picture

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

An enchanting series full of adorable animals, magic and friendship - from the creator of RAINBOW MAGIC, the UK's bestselling series for girls aged 5-7.Welcome to a magical world where animals talk and play - just like you and me!Best friends Jess and Lily love all animals. But when they follow a mysterious golden cat into Friendship Forest - a place where animals live in tiny cottages and sip dandelion tea at the Toadstool Cafe - their animal friends suddenly become much more magical!

Orchard Books

Bobbi the Bouncy Castle Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel and Kirsty on their sweetest-ever fairy adventure!Bobbi the Bouncy Castle Fairy is the bubbliest of all the Funfair Fairies! But when Jack Frost steals her magical object, even she is a bit deflated. Can Kirsty and Rachel help bring back the bounce before the funfair goes flat?

Orchard Books

Fatima the Face-Painting Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel and Kirsty on their sweetest-ever fairy adventure!Fatima the Face-Painting Fairy loves decorating people with beautiful patterns and makeup. But when Jack Frost steals her magical item, the funfair faces disaster! Kirsty and Rachel must help her get it back.

Orchard Books

Paloma the Dodgems Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel and Kirsty on their sweetest-ever fairy adventure!Paloma the Dodgems Fairy loves crashing around in bumper cars! But when Jack Frost steals her magical object, the bumps stop being fun. Kirsty and Rachel must help defeat him, before the funfair is totally wrecked!

Orchard Books

Rae the Rollercoaster Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel and Kirsty on their sweetest-ever fairy adventure!Rae the Rollercoaster Fairy makes sure that rollercoasters everywhere are lots of fun. But when Jack Frost steals her magical object, she's in for a bumpy ride! Can Kirsty and Rachel help get things running smoothly again?

Hodder Children's Books

Sea Monster Escape!

Mo Farah, Kes Gray, Marta Kissi
Contributors:
Mo Farah, Kes Gray, Marta Kissi

From Olympic gold medal winner Mo Farah and bestselling author Kes Gray, comes a fun fiction series which will get kids reading, and running too!Mo and his friends are having fun running on the beach at the seaside. But what's that? Could it really be a sea monster? RUN!The perfect book to read and share aloud.

Orchard Books

Grimlock's Bad Friend

Orchard Books

Maria the Mother's Day Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

Star Science

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks

A magical series where best friends become Secret Princesses! This book is a special long length for even more magical fun. Best friends Charlotte and Mia can't bear it when Charlotte's family moves far away. But when they become trainee Secret Princesses they begin an amazing adventure together - and they can see each other whenever they like!Once in a blue moon, a tiara shaped constellation forms high in the sky above Wishing Star Palace. The four girls that make a wish on these special stars get their wishes granted by the Secret Princesses ... but Princess Poison is determined that this year the wishes won't come true ...Have you read all four books in series four: The Moonstone Collection?

Hodder Children's Books

The Unicorn's Foal

Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott, Erica-Jane Waters
Contributors:
Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott, Erica-Jane Waters

The fourth in a magical, exciting adventure by Olympic gold medallist Jessica Ennis-Hill. Perfect for fans of Rainbow Magic and My Little Pony! What if you had a special bracelet that let you become invisible whenever you wanted? Evie's grandma has sent her another parcel. Inside layers of tissue and colourful ribbons is a beautiful bracelet! A unicorn foal is lost in the park! Evie's going to need the bracelet - and a brave heart - to help him. But she's always ready to have some magical adventures! Evie shares Jessica's determination and drive - an inspiration for kids everywhere.

Orchard Books

Isla Waddlewing Breaks the Ice

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

An enchanting series full of adorable animals, magic and friendship - from the creator of RAINBOW MAGIC, the UK's bestselling series for girls aged 5-7.In the magical land of Friendship Forest, Lily and Jess are going to a magical Ice Show! But wicked witch Grizelda is planning to spoil the special day with a nasty spell. Can adorable penguin Isla Waddlewing help save Snowdrop Slopes before it melts away?

Hodder Children's Books

The Girl with the Lost Smile

Miranda Hart
Authors:
Miranda Hart
Hodder Children's Books

The Famous Five Treasury

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Orchard Books

My A to Z of Fairies

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper