Clare Hibbert - Fish - Hachette Children's Group

Fish

By Clare Hibbert

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

An exciting introduction to the weird world of animals in their natural surroundings.

Fish come in all kinds of shapes, sizes and colours...but why? Some use colours and patterns to camouflage themselves from predators or prey, or to attract a mate. Others lurk in the dark ocean depths and use bioluminescence to lure their prey. From strangely-shaped bat-fish to useful cleaner wrasse fish and the huge sunfish, discover some of the world's strangest fish and learn all about why they are so weird!

Really Weird Animals, six books that take a close up look at some of the oddest animals on Earth. For children aged 7+.

Biographical Notes

Clare specializes in non-fiction books for children of pre- and primary school age. Her favourite subjects are animals, history, art and culture. She has been shortlisted for the prestigious Aventis Junior Science Prize, and won a dozen Practical Pre-School Gold Awards. When she's not writing, Clare likes spending time with her family, taking long walks, going to the theatre and watching contemporary dance - her favourite dancer is Akram Khan.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445138220
  • Publication date: 23 Apr 2015
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
Franklin Watts

Insects, Bugs and Other Invertebrates

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert

Find out all about the incredible invertebrates that lived on the planet millions of years ago. From giant millipedes to super-sized scorpions, discover the wondrous world of prehistoric life. This stunningly illustrated series looks at life in the prehistoric era, focusing not just on dinosaurs, but looking at the world as a whole. The prehistoric era is absolutely fascinating for children and adults alike, and is useful for schools studying history chronologically. Amazingly detailed and accurate illustrations bring the prehistoric era to life. Engaging reading for children aged 7+.

Franklin Watts

Animals

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert
Orion Children's Books

The Cloak of Feathers

Nigel Quinlan
Authors:
Nigel Quinlan

Every hundred years, in the magical town of Knowmealldown, fairies known as the Good Folk join the villagers for a Great Festival. It's a raucous, beautiful, enchanted celebration.Well, it's supposed to be.Except every time Brian helps to organise the Great Festival it's a disappointment. Worse, this time the Folk Princess has been stolen. Can Brian thwart the Princess's evil captor in time to avoid the wrath of the Folk King and Queen, and finally deliver a Festival to remember?A magical adventure filled with myth, mischief and misunderstandings, perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Diana Wynne Jones and those who love modern fairy tales with a comic twist.

Wren & Rook

Women in Sport

Rachel Ignotofsky
Authors:
Rachel Ignotofsky

Women in Sport celebrates the success of the tough, bold and fearless women who paved the way for today's athletes. The sportswomen featured include well-known figures like tennis player Serena Williams and broadcaster Clare Balding, as well as lesser-known pioneers like Gertrude Ederle, the first woman to swim the English Channel, and Keiko Fukuda, the highest-ranked female judoka in history. From the creator of the bestselling Women in Science, this richly illustrated book highlights the achievements and stories of fifty notable sportswomen from the 1800s to today, including trailblazers, Olympians and record-breakers in more than forty sports. It also contains infographics on topics such as muscle anatomy, pay and media statistics for female athletes, and influential women's teams.

Franklin Watts

Seaside Holidays Then and Now

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert
Franklin Watts

Seaside Towns

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert
Franklin Watts

In Your Body

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert
Franklin Watts

In Your Food

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert

Did you know there were tiny living things in your food that you can't see? Some are plants, others are mould, others are tiny little insects! But what do they do and what do they look like? Find out about the good ones and the bad ones! Full-page photographs of these alien-like creatures in high magnification reveals their horror (or even their beauty). This book supports natural history studies and the KS2 and KS3 science curriculum where appropriate.It is part of a series, Micro Monsters which takes a close up look at the tiny creatures that are around us all the time and which we cannot see with the naked eye. Some are harmless, some are just pests, and some are deadly. From bedbugs to zooplankton and from bacteria to water fleas, all microscopic life is here. The revelation of the places these creatures inhabit will have readers squirming in their seats as they find out how these mini monsters can help and hinder humans.

Franklin Watts

Dinosaurs

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert
Franklin Watts

Space

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert

Franklin Watts

Dog

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert

If you've ever wondered what it is like to be a dog, then this is the book for you. It's full of fascinating insights into the different ways that these loyal and intelligent animals experience the world.

Franklin Watts

Cat

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert
Franklin Watts

Rainforests

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert
Franklin Watts

Volcanoes

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert

Dig deep into the explosive world of volcanoes and then become a word wizard and dazzle everyone with your newfound knowledge.Write On is a high interest information series with a difference, designed to help the newly independent reader become a confident writer. Eye-catching photos and accessible text help build knowledge. Top writing tips and 'wow' words inspire easy to achieve writing projects, a fantastic way to improve literacy skills. A great book for 7-9 year olds or those working at Key Stage 2.

Franklin Watts

Big Cats

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert

Get your teeth into facts about big cats and then become a word wizard and dazzle everyone with your newfound knowledge.Write On is a high interest information series with a difference, designed to help the newly independent reader become a confident writer. Eye-catching photos and accessible text help build knowledge. Top writing tips and 'wow' words inspire easy to achieve writing projects, a fantastic way to improve literacy skills. Perfect for 7-9 year olds or those at Key Stage 2.

Franklin Watts

Endangered Animals

Franklin Watts, Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Franklin Watts, Clare Hibbert
Franklin Watts

Pond Wildlife

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert
Wayland

Stone Age to Iron Age

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert

Find out all about the first Britons, nomadic hunter-gatherers who came from mainland Europe to settle in England bringing wooden spears, flint handaxes and animals with them. Stone Age to Iron Age tells the story of how these people settled and began farming the land. They built villages of timber and stone houses such as Skara Brae on Orkney. Stonehenge is perhaps the most famous monument of this period, a technological marvel of the time built by raising over 80 blue stones to create the 'henge'. The Bronze Age bought with it metalworking using copper, tin and gold to make tools and beautiful everyday objects. The Iron Age was known for its hill forts, farming and art and culture. Contains maps, paintings, artefacts and photographs to show how early Britons lived. Ideally suited for readers age 8+ or teachers who are looking for books to support the new curriculum for 2014.

Franklin Watts

Trees

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert

If you love trees, want to identify common trees or just want to get outdoors and understand nature, this book is for you. It is packed with photos of trees and their flowers and seeds and shows you how you can be a great tree spotter. It explores the different parts of the tree and looks out their life cycles including pollination, seed formation and seed dispersal. Plus there are fun puzzles and challenges throughout the book, which will help you develop your observation and spotting skills, ready for the great outdoors.It is part of The Great Nature Hunt a series of books for children aged 7+ which are a great resource for the Science curriculum. They help children make systematic and careful observations, gather data and record their findings. Each book is full of puzzles and challenges through which children can learn, while having fun.

Franklin Watts

China

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert