Niki Walker - Why Do We Fight?: Conflict, War and Peace - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Why Do We Fight?: Conflict, War and Peace

By Niki Walker

  • Hardback
  • £12.99

A bold and important book that will make kids really think about why we fight.

It's a big world out there, but what's going on around the world can feel closer to us and more accessible than ever. Information about wars and conflicts on the other side of the world can be in our homes and on our tablets and smartphones instantly. Whether or not your country is directly involved in a conflict or war, nearly every disagreement, every standoff, every war affects our lives in some way. With so many conflicts happening around the world, it makes you wonder - Why Do We Fight?

Why Do We Fight? is an important, topical book that helps readers aged 12 and up to understand that while conflict may be inevitable, war isn't. The reader is shown how small disagreements can escalate to become bigger and more serious ones, by exposing the common elements of conflict: such as prejudice, history, geography and economics. The reader is encouraged to compare world conflicts with the ones in their own lives, to better understand why we fight and, most importantly, what we can do to avoid it.

Biographical Notes

The author, Niki Walker, is constantly curious about what's happening in the world and why. She has written over twenty books for young people. She has also contributed to projects for CBC, Oxford University Press, McGraw-Hill Ryerson and more. She lives in Toronto, Canada.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445134437
  • Publication date: 25 Sep 2014
  • Page count: 80
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
An excellent book to stimulate classroom debate — Parents In Touch
Wayland

The Digestive System

Wayland

Brilliant Women

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw, Rita Petruccioli
Contributors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw, Rita Petruccioli
Orion Children's Books

A Strange Kind of Brave

Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Authors:
Sarah Moore Fitzgerald

What doesn't kill you makes you ... stronger? A poignant and gripping story about the power of fear, food and love - from bestselling Waterstones Children's Book Prize shortlisted author Sarah Moore Fitzgerald.Jake McCormack is the villain of Clonkirk. He's just killed a boy - deliberately run him over with his truck, on the bridge, in front of everyone. And he knows he'll get away with it.Luca, 14, is the new boy in town. He's looking for a fresh start after a terrible thing happened to him at his old school. Clonkirk is terrible, hopeless place, but Luca and his mum are going to give it a go. They've opened a new Italian restaurant, and his new friend Allie has come to work there. Allie is honest and kind and the best friend Luca's ever had. Allie, 14, has lived in Clonkirk all her life. She remembers when another villain ruled over the town and when Jake arrived to take over. Luca is the best thing to have happened to Clonkirk in years. She'll try to warn him about Jake. She'll try...

Wayland

The Skeleton and Muscles

Hodder Children's Books

Devoted

Jennifer Mathieu
Authors:
Jennifer Mathieu

An empowering, feminist coming-of-age story about self-discovery, from the author of MOXIE - a Zoella Book Club book ...Rachel Walker's family and community have turned away from the world.Every part of Rachel's life is controlled, from what she reads to where she goes and what she wears. Her parents dictate how her life must be: marriage, modesty, children and obedience to her future husband. But when a former member of her community, a girl who escaped, moves back to her small Texas town, Rachel's world turns upside down.She realises that her life is her own. But can she find the courage to fight for it?

Wren & Rook

You Are Awesome

Matthew Syed
Authors:
Matthew Syed
Wayland

Vote for Me!

Louise Spilsbury, Mike Gordon
Contributors:
Louise Spilsbury, Mike Gordon
Orion Children's Books

Saint Death

Marcus Sedgwick
Authors:
Marcus Sedgwick

A potent, powerful and timely thriller about migrants, drug lords and gang warfare set on the US/Mexican border by PRINTZ MEDAL winning and CARNEGIE MEDAL, COSTA BOOK AWARD and GUARDIAN CHILDREN'S FICTION PRIZE shortlisted novelist, Marcus Sedgwick. Anapra is one of the poorest neighbourhoods in the Mexican city of Juarez - twenty metres outside town lies a fence, and beyond it, America - the dangerous goal of many a migrant. Faustino is one such trying to escape from the gang he's been working for. He's dipped into a pile of dollars he was supposed to be hiding and now he's on the run. He and his friend, Arturo, have only 36 hours to replace the missing money, or they're as good as dead. Watching over them is Saint Death. Saint Death (or Santissima Muerte) - she of pure bone and charcoal-black eye, she of absolute loyalty and neutral morality, holy patron to rich and poor, to prostitute and narco-lord, criminal and police-chief. A folk saint, a rebel angel, a sinister guardian.

Hodder Children's Books

Green Lizards vs Red Rectangles

Steve Antony
Authors:
Steve Antony
Hodder Children's Books

Orangeboy

Patrice Lawrence
Authors:
Patrice Lawrence

WINNER OF THE WATERSTONES CHILDREN'S BOOK PRIZE FOR OLDER READERS, SHORTLISTED FOR THE COSTA CHILDREN'S BOOK AWARD AND THE YA BOOK PRIZE"A truly brilliant book." Malorie Blackman"Incredible book. Thank you Patrice Lawrence for such a fresh and riveting piece of fiction." Ben Bailey Smith (Doc Brown)"What a book! Such a gripping, gritty storyline, with such wonderful, believable characters. Loved it." Tanya Landman, author of Buffalo SoldierNot cool enough, not clever enough, not street enough for anyone to notice me. I was the kid people looked straight through.NOT ANY MORE. NOT SINCE MR ORANGE.Sixteen-year-old Marlon has made his mum a promise - he'll never follow his big brother, Andre, down the wrong path. So far, it's been easy, but when a date ends in tragedy, Marlon finds himself hunted. They're after the mysterious Mr Orange, and they're going to use Marlon to get to him. Marlon's out of choices - can he become the person he never wanted to be, to protect everyone he loves?

Wayland

Food Relationships and Webs

Carol Ballard
Authors:
Carol Ballard

Find out how the passage of energy from one organism to another creates a food chain. This book explores how the need to find and consume food creates an interlinking chain between organisms, from the producers of energy to the consumers. It also looks at what happens when a food chain breaks down and the disastrous consequences this can have for the organisms in the chain. Includes fieldwork investigations that show how to identify food chains and webs and fascinating fact boxes that offer in-depth information on topics such as echolocation. An activity project shows students at Key Stage 3 how to build their own food web.The six books in the Living Processes series look at the processes all living organisms must carry out in order to stay alive. From feeding and drinking through to breathing and reproducing, it explores the differing ways in which organisms carry them out.

Orion Children's Books

The Apple Tart of Hope

Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Authors:
Sarah Moore Fitzgerald

'A moving and poignant tale about the redemptive power of friendship' - Louise O'Neill, bestselling author of Asking for ItOscar Dunleavy is missing, presumed dead. His bike was found at sea, beyond the pier, and everyone in town has accepted this as a teenage tragedy. Except for his best friend, Meg. Oscar's kind, always cheerful, and makes the world's best apple tarts. Meg knows he isn't dead ... ...and she's is going to prove it.

Orion Children's Books

The One Safe Place

Tania Unsworth
Authors:
Tania Unsworth
Hodder Children's Books

The Shadow of Mordican

Louise Lawrence
Authors:
Louise Lawrence
Orion Children's Books

Back to Blackbrick

Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Authors:
Sarah Moore Fitzgerald

The stunning debut novel from DUBRAYS No.1 Bestseller and SUNDAY TIMES Children's Book of the Week Winner Sarah Moore Fitzgerald. Partnered with ALZHEIMER'S RESEARCH this is a compassionate, humorous and moving story which tackles some big questions. 'The ghosts in your life don't ever really go away. Every so often they will whisper to you ... Don't worry about it too much.'When Cosmo keeps his promise to his granddad to go to Blackbrick, he finds himself in the forgotten corner of a distant past, one that his granddad has, strangely, never really talked about. Here friendships come to life, there are new beginnings, a lifetime of memories and everything is still possible...An extraordinary debut novel with a fantastic voice perfect for fans of Annabel Pitcher and Siobhan Dowd.

Orion Children's Books

The One Dollar Horse: Race the Wind

Lauren St John
Authors:
Lauren St John
Hodder Children's Books

Magenta in the Pink

Echo Freer
Authors:
Echo Freer

Magenta has finally got it together with her neighbour - and nearest thing to a best friend a boy can be - Daniel. But nothing is ever easy for Magenta - as she prepares to take the starring role in the school play, will the course of true love never run smooth?

Hodder Children's Books

Magenta Goes Green

Echo Freer
Authors:
Echo Freer

Magenta's in trouble with Daniel again - this time, for snogging the school new-boy Chad Albright on a charity Blind Date. As if this wasn't bad enough, she's been picked to go on the school outward-bound camp. It's not really her cup of tea - mix Magenta with any physical activities, and here comes disaster ...

Hodder Children's Books

Shades of Magenta

Echo Freer
Authors:
Echo Freer

Magenta can't hide her disappointment: her dream destination turns out to be a holiday camp in the middle of nowhere. But she's looking forward to topping up her tan and starring in the talent contest ... not to mention a bit of holiday romance.Soon Magenta's back on form, with parachute pandemonium and disaster on the diving board ... Will gorgeous Daniel be able to stop her getting into deep water?

Hodder Children's Books

Magenta Sings The Blues

Echo Freer
Authors:
Echo Freer