William Hussey - The Nightmare Eater - Hachette Children's Group

The Nightmare Eater

By William Hussey

  • Paperback
  • £5.99

A spooky, genuinely scary read from the author of Witchfinder.

Imagine your very worst fear. The kind of fear that visits you in the middle of the night and leaves you gasping for breath. The kind of fear you keep buried deep, deep down. Tomasz Kaczmarek knows all about that kind of fear. And he's about to find out what happens when your very worst fears come true...

Biographical Notes

William Hussey was immersed in all things spooky from an early age, growing up in a house next to a churchyard with its own resident ghost. His grandads helped instil his love of storytelling by making up scary stories of ghosts, vampires and werewolves to entertain him on long walks in the countryside. William studied law at university, but soon discovered that he'd rather be a writer. He wrote two books for adults before embarking on writing the spooky Witchfinder series for children.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445123110
  • Publication date: 12 Sep 2013
  • Page count: 64
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
Franklin Watts

Roman Britain and Londinium

Ben Hubbard
Authors:
Ben Hubbard
Franklin Watts

The Stone Age and Skara Brae

Ben Hubbard
Authors:
Ben Hubbard

Travel back in time to Skara Brae and find out all about life in the Stone Age.Like modern travel guides, the books in this series highlight must-see features and explain local culture. Each highlighted destination contains an explanation of what took part in these areas, as well as a look at important artefacts found there providing a bigger picture of life in the past. Typical travel guide notes include, 'best time to visit', 'what to eat' and 'where to stay'. Perfect for the KS2 history curriculum.

Hodder Children's Books

The Wizards of Once

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell
Orchard Books

Scorpion Strike

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

X-Men meets Beast Quest at the school for superheroes! An epic new adventure series from bestselling author Adam Blade - with amazing comic-book style illustrations. Welcome to Hero Academy! Join Jack and your other new classmates at this secret school, where the lessons are more exciting than Maths and PE. When a portal from the evil underground realm of Noxx is discovered beneath the school, Team Hero needs your powers. The next invasion is upon us ...There are FOUR thrilling adventures to collect in this series - don't miss out! Book 1: Fight for the Hidden City, Book 2: Scorpion Strike, Book 3: Falcon of Fury, Book 4: Rise of the Shadow SnakesAnd don't forget Adam Blade's other series: Beast Quest and Sea Quest

Orchard Books

Falcon of Fury

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orchard Books

Rise of the Shadow Snakes

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Franklin Watts

Stone Age

Anita Ganeri
Authors:
Anita Ganeri
Franklin Watts

Bronze Age

Anita Ganeri
Authors:
Anita Ganeri

Discover the Bronze Age and write about it!Find out about the Bronze Age to discover how the skill of making bronze changed the way people lived, fought and farmed. Read about amazing archaeological discoveries and discover beautiful objects made by Bronze Age craftspeople.Writing History is a series of fantastic guides to history with a difference! Each title explores different types of writing in six key historical periods: the Iron Age, Anglo-Saxons, Ancient Egypt, Ancient Greece, the Stone Age and the Bronze Age. The books use a variety of ways of presenting information such as diaries, letters, stories and even poems. Examples of original sources are also given. Children are encouraged to have a go themselves with their own writing projects using the information they have read. The series is ideal for readers aged 9+ studying history topics at Key Stage 2.

Wayland

I'm a JavaScript Games Maker: The Basics

Max Wainewright
Authors:
Max Wainewright
Wayland

I'm a JavaScript Games Maker: Advanced Coding

Max Wainewright
Authors:
Max Wainewright

Once you learn to code using JavaScript, the world of gaming opens up. If you already know a bit about JavaScript, it's time to pick up the pace! In this book, learn how to build mind-bending games, that you'll want to play for hours and will amaze your friends. Along the way, learn about core coding and gaming concepts like variables, random numbers, key presses and arrays.The Generation Code series is a hands-on guide to computer coding, designed to train you in the coding languages used by real-world computer programmers. You'll discover how to code exciting programs, web pages, apps and games, and learn how the tools and functions you're using can be applied to other situations.Other books in the Generation Code series:I'm an Advanced Scratch CoderI'm a Python ProgrammerI'm an HTML Web Page BuilderI'm an App DeveloperI'm a JavaScript Games Maker: The Basics

Franklin Watts

Ancient Greece

Anita Ganeri
Authors:
Anita Ganeri

Discover Ancient Greece and write about it!Find out about life in ancient Greece, from Greek culture and language, to philosophers, myths and gods. Read about the origins of democracy, the all-important Olympic Games and the famous Battle of Marathon. Ideal for readers aged 9+, the Writing History series combines written evidence from the past with engaging writing activities to explore the fascinating worlds of ancient civilisations. Children can learn exciting facts and be inspired to write their own historical documents including diary entries, recipes, letters, speeches and much more!

Franklin Watts

Ancient Egypt

Anita Ganeri
Authors:
Anita Ganeri

Discover Ancient Egypt and write about it! Find out about life in ancient Egypt, from Egyptian fashion and culture, to ancient gods and important Pharaohs. Read about hieroglyphs and the Rosetta Stone and discover Tutankhamun's famous tomb. Ideal for readers aged 9+, the Writing History series combines written evidence from the past with engaging writing activities to explore the fascinating worlds of ancient civilisations. Children can learn exciting facts and be inspired to write their own historical documents including diary entries, recipes, letters, speeches and much more!

Wayland

I'm an HTML Web Page Builder

Max Wainewright
Authors:
Max Wainewright

HTML is one of the most commonly used coding languages in the world - once you've grasped it, the incredible possibilities of the internet lie before you. In this book, learn how to build and customise your own web pages, complete with fancy fonts, funky icons and embedded videos and maps. Once you've mastered HTML, go further and discover how the style language CSS can make your pages look even better.The Generation Code series is a hands-on guide to computer coding, designed to train you in the coding languages used by real-world computer programmers. You'll discover how to code exciting programs, web pages, apps and games, and learn how the tools and functions you're using can be applied to other situations.Other books in the Generation Code series:I'm an Advanced Scratch CoderI'm a Python ProgrammerI'm an App DeveloperI'm a JavaScript Games Maker: The BasicsI'm a JavaScript Games Maker: Advanced Coding

Wayland

I'm an App Developer

Max Wainewright
Authors:
Max Wainewright

Building an app and seeing it available for others to download is an incredible rush. Using free language App Inventor 2, discover how to design apps for gaming, drawing, and to help make everyday life easier. Along the way, get to grips with key coding concepts like inputs, if statements and touches.The Generation Code series is a hands-on guide to computer coding, designed to train you in the coding languages used by real-world computer programmers. You'll discover how to code exciting programs, web pages, apps and games, and learn how the tools and functions you're using can be applied to other situations.Other books in the Generation Code series:I'm an Advanced Scratch CoderI'm a Python ProgrammerI'm an HTML Web Page BuilderI'm a JavaScript Games Maker: The BasicsI'm a JavaScript Games Maker: Advanced Coding

Wayland

I'm a Python Programmer

Max Wainewright, Maria Cox
Contributors:
Max Wainewright, Maria Cox
Wayland

I'm an Advanced Scratch Coder

Max Wainewright, Maria Cox
Contributors:
Max Wainewright, Maria Cox
Orion Children's Books

White Storm

M. G. Harris
Authors:
M. G. Harris

Ben Carrington is a member of an elite, top-secret rescue organisation - Gemini Force. When he finds himself and his friends in danger, Ben must compete with hostile ice and storms to pull off their most gruelling mission yet. Impossible rescues. Maximum risk. This is Gemini Force 1.An action-packed new installment, perfect for fans of Charlie Higson, Anthony Horowitz and Robert Muchamore.

Quercus Children's Books

Wilf the Mighty Worrier Saves the World

Georgia Pritchett, Jamie Littler
Contributors:
Georgia Pritchett, Jamie Littler

SHORTLISTED FOR THE LAUGH OUT LOUD BOOK AWARDS!Meet Wilf. He worries about everything. He is a Mighty Worrier. And now the most evil man in the world has moved in next door...When Alan, a self-styled Evil Lunatic, moves in next door with his grumpy robot sidekick and his silent right-hand-dog, Kevin Phillips, Wilf knows he will have to find a way to overcome his fears. And soon he realises: only he can stop Alan's ridiculous yet still Quite Evil plan to destroy the world...Join Wilf for a fantastically funny adventure, illustrated throughout!

Wayland

Poison!

Andrew Fusek Peters
Authors:
Andrew Fusek Peters

A short thriller that's high on suspense! This is a perfect page turner if you want to finish a story in one sitting, especially for reluctant and struggling readers. Cool, edgy computer hackers, Kiran and Ros are teens on a mission to fight crime and injustice with the help of a shape-shifting data beast they've created.In Poison!, Kiran and Roz set out to prove that a chemical company is polluting the river near their school and the poisoning the fish that live in it. With the help of the data beast they attempt to bring the murky activities into the light - and the beast goes on a dangerous mission to save the threatened fish.Reading level for this book:-ATOS: 2.6Lexile ® Measure: 360LBook Band: 11 Lime

Wayland

Monster Savings

Andrew Fusek Peters
Authors:
Andrew Fusek Peters

A short thriller that's high on suspense! This is a perfect page turner if you want to finish a story in one sitting, especially for reluctant and struggling readers. Cool, edgy computer hackers, Kiran and Roz are teens who set out to fight crime and injustice with the help of a shape-shifting data beast they've created.In Monster Savings, Kiran and Roz take on the might of shopping phenomenon everythingonearth.com, a company that sells anything to anyone, but evades tax and avoids giving its workers fair pay and conditions. It's the data beast's most perilous mission yet - will it survive?Reading level for this book:-ATOS: 2.6Lexile ® Measure: 360LBook Band: 11 Lime