William Hussey - The Nightmare Eater - Hachette Children's Group

The Nightmare Eater

By William Hussey

  • Paperback
  • £5.99

A spooky, genuinely scary read from the author of Witchfinder.

Imagine your very worst fear. The kind of fear that visits you in the middle of the night and leaves you gasping for breath. The kind of fear you keep buried deep, deep down. Tomasz Kaczmarek knows all about that kind of fear. And he's about to find out what happens when your very worst fears come true...

Biographical Notes

William Hussey was immersed in all things spooky from an early age, growing up in a house next to a churchyard with its own resident ghost. His grandads helped instil his love of storytelling by making up scary stories of ghosts, vampires and werewolves to entertain him on long walks in the countryside. William studied law at university, but soon discovered that he'd rather be a writer. He wrote two books for adults before embarking on writing the spooky Witchfinder series for children.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445123110
  • Publication date: 12 Sep 2013
  • Page count: 64
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
Hodder Children's Books

A Boy Called Ocean

Chris Higgins
Authors:
Chris Higgins
Hodder Children's Books

The Outcast

Taran Matharu
Authors:
Taran Matharu

The highly anticipated prequel to the New York Times bestselling Summoner trilogy.Arcturus is just an orphaned stable boy when he accidentally summons a demon. As Hominum's first common summoner, he becomes the key to a secret that the powerful nobility would do anything to keep hidden.He is immediately whisked away to Vocans Academy where the lost arts of summoning, spell craft and demonology are taught to the noble children of the Empire. In no time, Arcturus finds himself surrounded by enemies as noble teachers and students question his right to be there.But before he can even attempt to make friends, his life is turned upside down once again, for the Empire is in turmoil. Rebellion is simmering among the masses, and it will not be long before it boils over. Arcturus must choose a side . . . or watch the Empire crumbleSet before the events of SUMMONER: The Novice this is the perfect introduction to the New York Times bestselling SUMMONER series.

Hodder Children's Books

Survival

Jenny Oldfield
Authors:
Jenny Oldfield

A family marooned on an island finds loveable dolphins to help them survive: classic adventure from million-copy-selling Jenny Oldfield. Shipwrecked near a tiny island in a vast ocean, the Fisher family are guided to safety by a small pod of dolphins. Fleur, Alfie, Mia and their parents must learn to build shelter, find fresh water and hunt for food. Each of the children forms a special bond with one of the family of dolphins. Fleur adores the fun-loving, tail-walking Jazz. Mia names her dark-grey dolphin friend Stormy. And Alfie is saved from the shipwreck by Pearl, who always looks out for him. Alfie and Mia don't realise how much they rely on their older sister until she is taken ill with a mysterious sickness. They'll do anything to save her - and perhaps the dolphins, too, can help Fleur pull through. Jenny Oldfield strikes gold in this beautifully illustrated, exciting adventure story, the third in the Dolphin Island series.The full series: Shipwreck, Lost at Sea, Survival, Fire!, Missing, Storm Clouds.

Hodder Children's Books

Fire!

Jenny Oldfield
Authors:
Jenny Oldfield
Orchard Books

Bridesmaid Surprise

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks

Secret Princesses is a gorgeous series about magical princesses and best friends. Bridesmaid Suprise is a bumper long book with two stories for even more magical fun! In this two-story adventure, trainee Secret Princesses Charlotte and Mia have to grant two very special wishes. Izzy's mum and Chloe's dad are getting married, but the two girls don't want to be stepsisters! Can Mia and Charlotte grant their wishes and help them get along? And can they stop mean Princess Poison before she ruins the wedding? Join Charlotte and Mia in this brilliant adventure full of princess sparkle and wedding excitement!

Hodder Children's Books

Springtime Stories

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

Delight in this collection of 30 short stories, full of the buzz and excitement of spring - the perfect Easter present! Head off on a sparkling springtime adventure with the world's best-loved storyteller. From the little boy who helps a lamb in trouble to the fairies hidden inside Easter Eggs, excitement and magic are never far away in this collection of stories to read and share. These fun, entertaining stories are ideal for newly confident readers and are the perfect length for reading aloud at bedtime or in the classroom. Enid Blyton remains one of Britain's favourite children's authors and her bumper short story collections are perfect for introducing her to the latest generation of readers.Enid Blyton ® and Enid Blyton's signature are Registered Trademarks of Hodder & Stoughton Limited. No trademark or copyrighted material may be reproduced without the express written permission of the trademark and copyright owner.

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Hounds and Hauntings

Janine Beacham
Authors:
Janine Beacham
Orion Children's Books

The Trials of Morrigan Crow

Jessica Townsend
Authors:
Jessica Townsend
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Rubies and Runaways

Janine Beacham
Authors:
Janine Beacham
Quercus Children's Books

Miss Match

Crystal Cestari
Authors:
Crystal Cestari

Fans of Geek Girl and Girl Online will love this magically messed-up romance.Amber Sand has a gift. Five seconds of eye contact, and she can see your soul mate. She's seen it all, every kind of happy ending there is. Except for one - her own. So when Charlie Blitzman, the most-desired boy in school, enlists Amber's help, she finds herself falling for him. Problem is, her pesky gift doesn't agree - Charlie and Amber are just not meant to be, or are they?How can Amber, an honest peddler of true love, pursue a boy she knows is not the one for her?

Hodder Children's Books

The True Colour of Forever

Carrie Firestone
Authors:
Carrie Firestone

An unlikely clique of teens embark on a summer of twitter fame, rebellious good deeds and desperate love in this thought-provoking second novel by the author of The Loose Ends List.After high school senior Sadie helps a baby in distress, she becomes an internet sensation and is introduced to other 'hometown heroes'. Despite all their differences, the five teens hatch passionate plans to secretly right local wrongs. But when they breach the boundaries of their world, they discover that there might be truth in the saying 'no good deed goes unpunished'. For fans of The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks and The Boy Most Likely, this novel combines humour, romance and wisdom while taking on timely issues including teen drug abuse, bullying, ethnic discrimination, and the importance of being kind and doing good.Praise for The Loose Ends List:'A poignant and important story about compassion, love, and the decision to live life on your own terms - right up to the very last minute: all aboard' - Kirkus Reviews'Fans of Jenny Downham's Before I Die or Jonathan Tropper's This Is Where I Leave You will enjoy this unique story about dying on one's own terms. Mentions of drinking, drugs, and sex make this title appropriate for older readers (...) With its fresh, original plot and thought-provoking themes, this title will have a high teen appeal.' - School Library Journal

Orion Children's Books

Crooked Kingdom

Leigh Bardugo
Authors:
Leigh Bardugo
Orchard Books

Seven Trees of Stone

Leo Hunt
Authors:
Leo Hunt
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Black Cats and Butlers

Janine Beacham
Authors:
Janine Beacham
Orchard Books

Fern the Green Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

When Rachel and Kirsty meet on the ferry to Rainspell Island one summer holiday, they have no idea that such magical adventures with the fairies await them! Join Rachel and Kirsty as they search a secret garden and a magical maze to try to find Fern the Green Fairy.

Orchard Books

Hayley The Rain Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

Hodder Children's Books

Orangeboy

Patrice Lawrence
Authors:
Patrice Lawrence
Orchard Books

Madara the Midnight Warrior

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orchard Books

The Wearle

Chris d'Lacey
Authors:
Chris d'Lacey

The Wearle came to Erth to find out what happened to their previous colony, who never returned. Gabrial, a young blue dragon, is desperate to prove his worth. But the dragons aren't alone in the mountains. Out beyond the scorch line, Ren, a young hom boy, is fascinated by the 'skalers'. Little does he know that his fate and theirs are linked in ways he could never have imagined.A stunning new fantasy series from the New York Times bestselling author, Chris d'Lacey.

Orion Children's Books

The Tail of Emily Windsnap

Liz Kessler, Sarah Gibb
Contributors:
Liz Kessler, Sarah Gibb