Nicky Singer - The Survival Game - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444944549
    • Publication date:26 Jul 2018

The Survival Game

By Nicky Singer

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

In a world full of checkpoints and controls, can love and hope defy the borders? A searing, timely story, as arresting as it is beautiful.

In a world full of checkpoints and controls, can love and hope defy the borders? A searing, timely story, as arresting as it is beautiful.

Mhairi Anne Bain owns only two things: a gun with no bullets and her identity papers.

The world is a shell of what it once was. Now, you must prove yourself worthy of existence at every turn, at every border checkpoint. And if you are going to survive, your instincts will become your most valuable weapon.

Mhairi has learnt the importance of living her own story, of speaking to no one. But then she meets a young boy with no voice at all, and finds herself risking everything to take him to safety.

And so Mhairi and the silent boy travel the road north. But there are rumours that things in Scotland have changed since she has been away. What Mhairi finds there is shocking and heart-breaking, but might finally re-connect her to her sense of self and to the possibility of love.

An extraordinary story about survival and what it costs, about the power of small kindnesses to change everything.

Biographical Notes

Nicky Singer is an author and playwright. She has written a number of books for children and adults, across fiction and non-fiction. Her first children's novel Feather Boy won the Blue Peter 'Book of the Year' Award, was adapted for TV (winning a BAFTA for Best Children's Drama) and commissioned by the National Theatre as a musical.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444944525
  • Publication date: 26 Jul 2018
  • Page count: 384
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
'A powerful story. It's searingly beautiful but both terrifying and deeply sad. Nicky Singer writes with lyricism...But The Survival Game isn't just beautifully written...it's raw and energetic, lyrical and beautiful, intense and passionate. It also asks important questions and requires the reader to interrogate her or himself...It's an absolute tour de force.' — The Book Bag
A wonderful, surprisingly delicate story about a teenager making her way home to Scotland in a world remade by climate change (aimed at YA readers but, like all good children's books, good for adults too) — Lucy Mangan, i Weekend
A haunting novel, beautifully written that will stay with you long after the last page — WRD Magazine
extraordinary novel — The Letterpress Project
Recent news about the treatment of refugee children makes this a particularly pertinent read. Singer's gripping and provocative book poses big ethical questions, and has an ending likely to polarise readers. — Fiona Noble, The Observer
Hodder Children's Books

Queen of Ruin

Tracy Banghart
Authors:
Tracy Banghart

The breathtaking sequel to Grace and Fury. A fierce tale of sisterhood, courtly intrigue, and heart pounding action, perfect for fans of Red Queen and The Selection.Nomi and Malachi find themselves powerless and headed towards their all-but-certain deaths. Now that Asa sits on the throne, he will stop at nothing to make sure Malachi never sets foot in the palace again. Nomi's sister, Serina, is far away on the prison island of Mount Ruin - but it is in the grip of revolution and Serina leads. The women there have their sights set on revenge beyond the confines of their island prison. They will stop at nothing to gain freedom for the entire kingdom. But first they'll have to get rid of Asa, and only Nomi knows how.Separated once again, this time by choice, Nomi and Serina must forge their own paths as they aim to tear down the world they know, to build something better in its place.

Hodder Children's Books

The Paper & Hearts Society

Lucy Powrie
Authors:
Lucy Powrie
Orchard Books

Monty and Sylvester A Tale of Everyday Astronauts

Carly Gledhill
Authors:
Carly Gledhill

Join best friends Monty and Sylvester on a mission to deepest darkest space in this brilliantly funny picture book!4, 3, 2, 1 ... Blast off! Monty and Sylvester have been in training (for at least 20 minutes) for a very BIG challenge: the first mouse and bear mission to outer space! Will they discover a new planet? Will they encounter alien life? Or will this be one giant leap too far for the intrepid duo...?A laugh-out-loud tale about friendship, the imagination . . . and moon cheese.

Franklin Watts

Pollution

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell
Orchard Books

Elsie the Engineer Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel and Kirsty for the biggest adventure of all - following your dreams!Rachel and Kirsty are so excited to meet the Discovery Fairies, who look after some of the most exciting jobs in the world. But when Jack Frost steals Elsie the Engineer Fairy's magical item, engineers everywhere lose their very special skills! Can the girls help Elsie defeat him and save the magic of engineering from being destroyed?

Orchard Books

Aisha the Astronaut Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

Orla the Inventor Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

Dani the Detective Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Orchard Books

Rainbow Magic: Sasha the Slime Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Franklin Watts

Climate Change

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

A powerful look at the biggest environmental issues facing our generationEarth is now warmer than at any time in the past 650,000 years, putting it at huge risk from natural disasters from flooding to desertification. How can we reverse climate change before it is too late? Our Earth is facing huge environmental challenges, from plastic pollution choking our oceans to critical loss of biodiversity. Ecographics aims to raise young readers' awareness of these challenges with the latest headline-grabbing facts and stats, pertinent case studies and powerful photos. Important reading for children aged 9 and up.

Franklin Watts

Biodiversity

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

A powerful look at the biggest environmental issues facing our generationEarth's rich biodiversity at risk everywhere, from the icy poles to the dense rainforest, as deforestation, climate change and pollution threaten fragile ecosystems. Can we reverse the damage before it is too late? Our Earth is facing huge environmental challenges, from plastic pollution choking our oceans to critical loss of biodiversity. Ecographics aims to raise young readers' awareness of these challenges with the latest headline-grabbing facts and stats, pertinent case studies and powerful photos. Important reading for children aged 9 and up.

Wren & Rook

This Book is Not Rubbish

Isabel Thomas, Alex Paterson
Contributors:
Isabel Thomas, Alex Paterson

OUR PLANET IS IN PERIL AND IT NEEDS YOUR HELP! But the good news is that there are loads of easy ways that you can make a difference! From throwing a planet party and ditching straws, to banning glitter and becoming an art-activist, helping to save the planet is not as difficult as you think. Covering issues like plastics, pollution, global warming and endangered animals, this is a one-stop guide to becoming an eco-warrior, not an eco-worrier. Discover how to ditch the plastic, reduce your rubbish and start making everyday steps that will make all the difference. It's time to take control of your future and help clear the world of all this rubbish!

Hodder Children's Books

Winnie's Great War

Lindsay Mattick, Josh Greenhut, Sophie Blackall
Contributors:
Lindsay Mattick, Josh Greenhut, Sophie Blackall
Franklin Watts

The Toxic Cookie Monster

Tony Bradman, Wil Overton
Contributors:
Tony Bradman, Wil Overton
Franklin Watts

Dr Vlogger

Tony Bradman, Wil Overton
Contributors:
Tony Bradman, Wil Overton

Kid Force 3 are Jayden, Layla and Caleb. They aren't regular kids, they're super kids - each with an amazing superhero power.In this adventure, Dr Vlogger has taken over control of all electrical gadgets, and wants to take over the world. Kid Force 3 fly out to put in bug in his plans.This title is published by Franklin Watts EDGE, which produces a range of books to encourage children's reading development. This series is suitable for guided reading with children aged 5+, and contains accessible storylines in a familiar setting with science fiction themes. It can also be used with older, independent readers who have low reading confidence or who are struggling to enjoy books.

Franklin Watts

Trans Global

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head
Hodder Children's Books

Colour Me In

Lydia Ruffles
Authors:
Lydia Ruffles

THE CATCHER IN THE RYE meets TURTLES ALL THE WAY DOWN from the acclaimed author of THE TASTE OF BLUE LIGHT. Praise for The Taste of Blue Light: "Beautiful. Visceral. Gripping." Louise O'NeillFIX ME. DRAW ME WHOLE. COLOUR ME IN.Nineteen-year-old actor Arlo likes nothing more than howling across the skyline with best friend Luke from the roof of their apartment.But when something irreparable happens and familiar black weeds start to crawl inside him, Arlo flees to the other side of the world, taking only a sketchbook full of maps.With its steaming soup and neon lights, this new place is both comforting and isolating.There, Arlo meets fellow traveller Mizuki. Something about her feels more like home than he's felt in a while. But what is Mizuki searching for?HOW FAR CAN YOU OUTRUN YOURSELF . . .BEFORE YOU LOSE YOUR WAY BACK?

Hodder Children's Books

The Night Before the Night Before Christmas

Kes Gray, Claire Powell
Contributors:
Kes Gray, Claire Powell

A brilliantly funny picture book about what happens the night before Christmas Eve - from the bestselling author of Oi Frog!'Twas the night before the night before Christmas (That's Christmas Eve Eve). And Santa was wiping his brow on his sleeve.Green elves were sewing, Blue elves were counting, Red elves were carving, The pressure was mounting! It's the day before Christmas Eve and Santa is ever so busy ... he's got presents to wrap, reindeer to wake and a sleigh to start. But has he forgotten something? And, more importantly, will he be ready in time?Inspired by Clement C. Moore's classic festive poem, this hilarious, rhyming picture book is sure to have you ho ho ho-ing!

Hodder Children's Books

Seaside Sprint!

Mo Farah, Kes Gray, Marta Kissi
Contributors:
Mo Farah, Kes Gray, Marta Kissi
Franklin Watts

Cool Stuff to Sew

Stephanie Turnbull
Authors:
Stephanie Turnbull

Think you could be the next big thing in sewing? Master some sewing basics and then try your hand at making your own bag, some amazing decorations and all the other crafty creations in this book.You don't need to spend a fortune on your own cool, custom-made stuff. Ingenious ways to use inexpensive materials - many of which you may already have lying around mean you can bake, sew, make and grow loads of brilliant things. Four lovely step-by-step books that encourage readers to use the materials and environment around them to encourage creativity. Can also be used to demonstrate ways to recycle and reuse everyday materials and encourage discussions around wasting food and other resources.