Jennifer Mathieu - Moxie - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444940640
    • Publication date:21 Sep 2017

Moxie

A Zoella Book Club 2017 novel

By Jennifer Mathieu

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

When an unlikely teenager stands up to sexism in her high school she unwittingly starts a feminist revolution that shakes her whole town. It's time to fight like a girl! Perfect for fans of Holly Bourne.

'I LOVE THIS BOOK SO MUCH!' Zoella

'... this is my new favorite book. I'm proud to be a Moxie girl!' Jennifer Niven, author of All the Bright Places and Holding Up the Universe

Vivian Carter is fed up. Fed up with her high school teachers who think the football team can do no wrong. Fed up with sexist dress codes, hallway harassment and gross comments from guys during class. But most of all, Viv Carter is fed up with always following the rules.
Viv's mum was a tough-as-nails, punk rock Riot Grrrl in the '90s, and now Viv takes a page from her mother's past and creates Moxie, a feminist zine that she distributes anonymously to her classmates. She's just blowing off steam, but other girls respond and spread the Moxie message. As Viv forges friendships with other young women across the divides of cliques and popularity rankings, she realises that what she has started is nothing short of a girl revolution.

TIME TO FIGHT LIKE A GIRL

A page-turning read with a feminist message, for anyone who has ever had to deal with #everydaysexism

'MOXIE is sweet funny and fierce. Read this and then join the fight!' AMY POEHLER

Biographical Notes

Jennifer Mathieu was born on the East Coast of America, to a mom from Cuba and a dad from Chile. Jennifer teaches English to middle and high schoolers in Texas, where she now lives with her husband, son and rescue dog. She used to make her own zine, and is writing about all her favourite things in Moxie - punk rock, lady rights, the 90s, zines, Texas, and an interesting female protagonists. She writes contemporary YA fiction that treats teens like real people.

www.jennifermathieu.com
twitter: @jenmathieu
Instagram: @authorjenmathieu
Facebook: writerjennifermathieu

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444940633
  • Publication date: 21 Sep 2017
  • Page count: 400
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Vivian Carter and Moxie are strong and smart and so, so inspiring. She is my new hero and this is my new favorite book. I'm proud to be a Moxie girl — Jennifer Niven, author of All The Bright Places
Moxie is YA lit at its most rock'n'roll. A must read for all riot grrrls. — NME
A feminist call-to-arms for next gen riot grrls everywhere — The Bookseller
Moxie is a brilliant novel about real girls kicking ass... an inspiring read that brings feminism to girls and boys in a brilliantly fun way. — Buzzfeed UK
I couldn't help but feel empowered — Wishes on Eyelashes blog
An extremely readable and inspiring story of a fight for justice. — The School Librarian
Vivian Carter and Moxie are strong and smart and so, so inspiring. She is my new hero and this is my new favorite book. I'm proud to be a Moxie girl — Jennifer Niven, author of All the Bright Places
A feminist call-to-arms for next gen riot grrls everywhere — The Bookseller
Moxie is a brilliant novel about real girls kicking ass... an inspiring read that brings feminism to girls and boys in a brilliantly fun way. — Buzzfeed UK
Vivian Carter and Moxie are strong and smart and so, so inspiring. She is my new hero and this is my new favorite book. I'm proud to be a Moxie girl
Moxie is YA lit at its most rock'n'roll. A must read for all riot grrrls.
A feminist call-to-arms for next gen riot grrls everywhere
Moxie is a brilliant novel about real girls kicking ass... an inspiring read that brings feminism to girls and boys in a brilliantly fun way.
I couldn't help but feel empowered
An extremely readable and inspiring story of a fight for justice.
Pat-a-Cake

Show and Tell

Pat-a-Cake
Authors:
Pat-a-Cake
Pat-a-Cake

Bestest Friends

Pat-a-Cake
Authors:
Pat-a-Cake
Pat-a-Cake

Icky Sticky Stickers

Pat-a-Cake
Authors:
Pat-a-Cake

It's time to go to the School of Roars! Join the monsters for a roarsome day at school.Stick, puzzle and play with these icky sticky stickers, just like Icklewoo's. Meet the monsters and their families and learn all about the roarsome School of Roars.Featuring themes of sharing, friendship and problem-solving, this School of Roars sticker book is perfect for little monsters everywhere!Also available: School of Roars: Bestest Friends, School of Roars: Show and Tell

Hodder Children's Books

Jennifer Mathieu UNTITLED

Jennifer Mathieu
Authors:
Jennifer Mathieu

Hodder Children's Books

Afterward

Jennifer Mathieu
Authors:
Jennifer Mathieu

From the author of MOXIE, comes a moving story of self-discovery and the hope that comes with friendship.Ethan Jorgensen went on a bike ride four years ago, and has not been seen since ...When Caroline's little brother is kidnapped, his subsequent rescue leads to the discovery of Ethan, now fifteen years old. Caroline, can't help but wonder what happened to her brother who has non-verbal autism and is not adjusting well to life back home. And there's only one person who knows the truth: Ethan.But Ethan isn't sure how he can help Caroline when he is fighting traumatic memories of his own time in captivity.One thing's for sure. Both Caroline and Ethan need a friend, and their best option just might be each other ...

Hodder Children's Books

Devoted

Jennifer Mathieu
Authors:
Jennifer Mathieu

An empowering, feminist coming-of-age story about self-discovery, from the author of MOXIE - a Zoella Book Club book ...Rachel Walker's family and community have turned away from the world.Every part of Rachel's life is controlled, from what she reads to where she goes and what she wears. Her parents dictate how her life must be: marriage, modesty, children and obedience to her future husband. But when a former member of her community, a girl who escaped, moves back to her small Texas town, Rachel's world turns upside down.She realises that her life is her own. But can she find the courage to fight for it?

Wren & Rook

The A–Z of Wonder Women

Yvonne Lin
Authors:
Yvonne Lin
Hodder Children's Books

Songs About a Girl: Songs About a Boy

Chris Russell
Authors:
Chris Russell

Music, boy bands, first love and heartbreak in the explosive finale to the Songs About A Girl trilogy - a modern love story for anyone who has ever dreamed of being 'with the band'. From a Zoella Book Club friend.Just as Charlie allows herself to succumb to Gabe's charms, the explosive revelation about her mother's death threatens to pull them apart.Meanwhile, a media circus has exploded around the future of Fire&Lights - when they announce a US tour to show the world that they are stronger than ever, Charlie gets the opportunity to accompany them. New York City, here she comes! But it's not all fun and games. Charlie is still feeling all kinds of awkward around Gabe and knowing that her mother's last days were in America touring with her band, Charlie uses the opportunity to uncover some more truths about her mother's death.As Fire&Lights try to win over the world again, and as Charlie and Gabriel uncover the true story that links their pasts, will Charlie finally be able to follow her heart?'Sweet, sensitive and a joy to read ...' Non Pratt, author of Remix and Unboxed

Hodder Children's Books

Colour Me In

Lydia Ruffles
Authors:
Lydia Ruffles
Orchard Books

Evolution

Teri Terry
Authors:
Teri Terry
Hodder Children's Books

Arrowheart

Rebecca Sky
Authors:
Rebecca Sky
Hodder Children's Books

Run, Riot

Nikesh Shukla
Authors:
Nikesh Shukla

From the editor of The Good Immigrant, an adrenaline-fuelled, powerful YA novel about young people taking charge of their own destiny. A novel about standing up and being counted.Aspiring MC Taran and her twin brother Hari never wanted to move to Firestone House. But when the rent was doubled overnight and Dad's chemo meant he couldn't work, they had to make this tower block their home. It's good now though; they feel part of something here.When they start noticing boarded-up flats and glossy fliers for expensive apartments, they don't think much of it - until Hari is caught up in a tragedy, and they are forced to go on the run. It's up to these teenagers to uncover the sinister truth behind what's going on in the block, before it blows their world apart.

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Summer of Us

Cecilia Vinesse
Authors:
Cecilia Vinesse
Franklin Watts

Positively Teenage

Nicola Morgan
Authors:
Nicola Morgan
Hodder Children's Books

The Outcast

Taran Matharu
Authors:
Taran Matharu

ONLY THE CHOSEN FEW HAVE THE POWER TO SUMMON DEMONS ...The highly anticipated PREQUEL to the New York Times bestselling Summoner trilogy - an extension of the eBook novella Origins, The Outcast continues Arcturus's story in a feature length novel.Arcturus is just an orphaned stable boy when he accidentally summons a demon. As Hominum's first common summoner, he becomes the key to a secret that the powerful nobility would do anything to keep hidden. And with rebellion simmering among the masses, the nobility is more desperate than ever to keep in control.Arcturus is immediately whisked away to Vocans Academy where the lost arts of summoning, spell craft and demonology are taught to the noble children of the Empire. In no time, he finds himself surrounded by enemies as noble teachers and students question his right to be there. But before he can even attempt to make friends, Arcturus unexpectedly finds himself right in the centre of the conflict, on an adventure that takes him deep into the Orc jungles, where allies and enemies are blurred. As his newfound summoner skills are put to the test, Arcturus must choose a side . . . or watch the Empire crumble.Set before the events of SUMMONER: The Novice this is the perfect introduction to the New York Times bestselling SUMMONER series.

Quercus Children's Books

We Are Young

Cat Clarke
Authors:
Cat Clarke
Hodder Children's Books

The Truth About Alice

Jennifer Mathieu
Authors:
Jennifer Mathieu
Orchard Books

Deception

Teri Terry
Authors:
Teri Terry
Hodder Children's Books

The Taste of Blue Light

Lydia Ruffles
Authors:
Lydia Ruffles
Orchard Books

Contagion

Teri Terry
Authors:
Teri Terry

Don't miss this startling first book in a breathtaking new trilogy from Teri Terry, queen of the teen psychological thriller and author of the bestselling Slated trilogy!URGENT!An epidemic is sweeping the country.You are among the infected. There is no cure, and you cannot be permitted to infect others. You are now under quarantine. The very few of the infected who survive are dangerous and will be taken into the custody of the army.Young runaway Callie survived the disease, but not the so-called treatment. Her brother Kai is still looking for her. And his new friend Shay may hold the key to uncovering what truly happened. From the author of the international sensation Slated comes the first book in a powerful new story of survival and transformation; love and power.