Jessica Ennis-Hill and Elen Caldecott - The Silver Unicorn - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

The Silver Unicorn

Book 1

By Jessica Ennis-Hill and Elen Caldecott
Illustrated by Erica-Jane Waters

  • Paperback
  • £5.99

The first in a magical, exciting series by Olympian and World Book Day ambassador Jessica Ennis-Hill. Perfect for fans of Rainbow Magic and My Little Pony!

The first in a magical, exciting series by Olympian and World Book Day ambassador Jessica Ennis-Hill. Perfect for fans of Rainbow Magic and My Little Pony!

What if you had a special bracelet that gave you the power to talk to animals?

One morning Evie gets a parcel in the post from her Grandma Iris in Jamaica. Inside layers of tissue and colourful ribbons is a beautiful bracelet!

Evie's going to need the bracelet - and a brave heart - when her friend meets a frightened silver unicorn. But she's always ready to have some magical adventures!

This is the first in a sensational seven-book series by Jessica Ennis-Hill, World Book Day ambassador and inspiration for kids everywhere.

The full list of titles:

1. The Silver Unicorn
2. The Enchanted Puppy
3. The Sprites' Den
4. The Unicorn's Foal
5. The Clocktower Charm
6. The Fire Bird
7. The Golden Sands

Biographical Notes

Jessica Ennis-Hill grew up in Sheffield with her parents and younger sister. She was introduced to athletics by her parents and turned pro in 2005. She has been World and European heptathlon champion and won gold at the London 2012 Olympics and silver at Rio 2016. She still lives and runs in Sheffield and enjoys reading stories to her son every night. You can find her on Twitter @J_Ennis.

Elen Caldecott co-wrote the EVIE'S MAGIC BRACELET series with Jessica Ennis-Hill. She lives in Bristol with her husband and her dog, Peggy. She has written several warm, funny books about ordinary children doing extraordinary things. You can find her on Twitter @ElenCaldecott.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444934397
  • Publication date: 09 Mar 2017
  • Page count: 144
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
The first in a gentle, inclusive fantasy series ... featuring new school nerves and a grandmother's magical gift ... it's refreshing to see a mixed-race British heroine with a solid Yorkshire vocabulary, in a book which is clearly a labour of love — The Guardian
Hodder Children's Books

Anyone For Strawberries?

Alex T. Smith
Authors:
Alex T. Smith

Meet Claude - the ordinary dog with an extraordinary life. Now the star of his very own TV show! Whether he's on Pawhaven beach or visiting Armslength Keep all sorts of wacky adventures happen to him and his best friend, Sir Bobblysock.Claude and Sir Bobblysock are looking forward to a nice breakfast of strawberries but there are none to be found! Everyone has snapped them up to eat at the Pawhaven Tennis Championship. Claude has to win the championship to make sure Sir Bobblysock doesn't miss out on eating some yummy strawberries, but can he do it? A fantastic new storybook based on the Disney Junior TV show.

Wayland

Experiments for Exploring Outer Space

Mark Thompson
Authors:
Mark Thompson
Wayland

Experiments for Surviving in Space

Mark Thompson
Authors:
Mark Thompson

Find out what its like to live in space with these fun experiments. There are lots of things to think about if we want to be able to survive in space. What will you eat? How will you cook? How will you grow food? Many of these things become a lot harder in space not just because of the lack of air but also because you will probably be weightless and floating around inside the spaceship. There are dangers in space too like rocks flying around that could hit the unexacting astronaut and radiation from the Sun. Have fun carrying out these twelve activities to help you explore what it might be like to live in space.Easy to follow, step-by-step instructions show you how to investigate everything you ever wanted to know about space.Uses readily available, cheap materials.This series covers key areas of the curriculum such as forces, rocks and soils, healthy diets, exercise, recycling and waste management, magnets, solar power, gravity, distance, maps and constellations.

Orchard Books

Doggy Drama

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Orchard Books

Runaway Hamster

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Orchard Books

Querzol the Swamp Monster

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Battle Beasts and fight Evil with Tom and Elenna in the bestselling adventure series for boys and girls aged 7 and up!The kingdom of Avantia is shocked by the return of the king's brother, Prince Angelo, believed killed in battle many years ago. But when he banishes Tom and Elenna from Avantia they travel to the Wildlands in search of the truth about Prince Angelo. First of all they must tackle Querzol, a man-eating mangrove tree! There are FOUR thrilling adventures to collect in this series - don't miss out!

Orchard Books

Krotax the Tusked Destroyer

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Battle Beasts and fight Evil with Tom and Elenna in the bestselling adventure series for boys and girls aged 7 and up!Exiled from Avantia, Tom and Elenna are on a quest to discover the truth about King Hugo's brother, Prince Angelo. In a frozen wasteland, our heroes face a battle with Krotax - an armoured mammoth! There are FOUR thrilling adventures to collect in this series - don't miss out!

Orchard Books

Rainbow Magic: Sasha the Slime Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel, Kirsty and Sasha for some fun with slime!Sasha the Slime Fairy's special magic helps everyone have loads of fun making and playing with slime. From glitter slime to goo slime, all types of slime are Sasha's favourite! But when Jack Frost steals her three special pieces of slime, the magic starts to go awry. Can Rachel and Kirsty help her get them back before the slime adventure comes to a sticky end?

Hodder Children's Books

The Wizards of Once: Twice Magic

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell
Hodder Children's Books

The Grerks at No. 55

Kes Gray, Chris Jevons
Contributors:
Kes Gray, Chris Jevons
Hodder Children's Books

The Golden Sands

Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott, Erica-Jane Waters
Contributors:
Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott, Erica-Jane Waters

The seventh in a magical, exciting series by Olympian and World Book Day ambassador Jessica Ennis-Hill. Perfect for fans of Rainbow Magic and My Little Pony!What if you had a magic bracelet that meant you could see golden magic everywhere?Evie's grandma has sent her another parcel. Inside layers of tissue and colourful ribbons is a beautiful bracelet! And when Evie and her friends find themselves on the most exciting beach holiday of their lives, they'll need all their magical know-how for their most dangerous challenge yet ... Evie shares Jessica's determination and drive - an inspiration for kids everywhere.The full list of titles: 1. The Silver Unicorn2. The Enchanted Puppy3. The Sprites' Den4. The Unicorn's Foal5. The Clocktower Charm6. The Fire Bird7. The Golden Sands

Hodder Children's Books

The Fire Bird

Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott, Erica-Jane Waters
Contributors:
Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott, Erica-Jane Waters

The sixth in a magical, exciting series by Olympian and World Book Day ambassador Jessica Ennis-Hill. Perfect for fans of Rainbow Magic and My Little Pony!What if you had a magic bracelet that meant you could fly?Evie's grandma has sent her another parcel. Inside layers of tissue and colourful ribbons is a beautiful bracelet! This one is the most exciting yet - it lets Evie and her friends soar through the sky. And when they find a phoenix high above the city, they've got a magical creature to rescue! Evie shares Jessica's determination and drive - an inspiration for kids everywhere.The full list of titles: 1. The Silver Unicorn2. The Enchanted Puppy3. The Sprites' Den4. The Unicorn's Foal5. The Clocktower Charm6. The Fire Bird7. The Golden Sands

Hodder Children's Books

The Clocktower Charm

Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott, Erica-Jane Waters
Contributors:
Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott, Erica-Jane Waters

The fifth in a magical, exciting series by Olympian and World Book Day ambassador Jessica Ennis-Hill. Perfect for fans of Rainbow Magic and My Little Pony! What if you had a special bracelet that allowed you to do magic, just by thinking about it? Evie's grandma has sent her another parcel. Inside layers of tissue and colourful ribbons is a beautiful bracelet! Evie's going to need the bracelet - and a brave heart - when she investigates a spooky old clocktower. But she's always ready to have some magical adventures!Evie shares Jessica's determination and drive - an inspiration for kids everywhere.The full list of titles: 1. The Silver Unicorn2. The Enchanted Puppy3. The Sprites' Den4. The Unicorn's Foal5. The Clocktower Charm6. The Fire Bird7. The Golden Sands

Franklin Watts

Poppy's Project

Jackie Walter, John & Gus Art
Contributors:
Jackie Walter, John & Gus Art
Hodder Children's Books

The Unicorn's Foal

Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott, Erica-Jane Waters
Contributors:
Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott, Erica-Jane Waters
Hodder Children's Books

The Sprites' Den

Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott, Erica-Jane Waters
Contributors:
Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott, Erica-Jane Waters

The third in a magical, exciting series by Olympian and World Book Day ambassador Jessica Ennis-Hill. Perfect for fans of Rainbow Magic and My Little Pony! What if you had a magic bracelet that allowed you to conjure anything you wanted - out of thin air! Evie's grandma has sent her another parcel. Inside layers of tissue and colourful ribbons is a beautiful bracelet! Evie's going to need the bracelet's powers - and a brave heart - to deal with some mischievous sprites. But she's always ready to have some magical adventures! Evie shares Jessica's determination and drive - an inspiration for kids everywhere.The full list of titles: 1. The Silver Unicorn2. The Enchanted Puppy3. The Sprites' Den4. The Unicorn's Foal5. The Clocktower Charm6. The Fire Bird7. The Golden Sands

Hodder Children's Books

The Enchanted Puppy

Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott, Erica-Jane Waters
Contributors:
Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott, Erica-Jane Waters
Franklin Watts

Be a Rugby Expert

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason
Orchard Books

Kate the Royal Wedding Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

Kate the Royal Wedding Fairy makes sure that all weddings are happy and magical! But when mean Jack Frost steals the True Love Crown, the Fairyland royal wedding is sure to be a disaster. Can Kirsty and Rachel find the crown so the royal couple will live happily ever after...?

Franklin Watts

Neil Armstrong and the Moon Landings

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

Neil Armstrong & the Moon Landings brings the heady days of the space race to life, describing the exciting events that led to the great astronaut Neil Armstrong becoming the first man to set foot on the Moon.This simple, friendly children's first history series, aimed at readers aged 5 and up, takes a close look at some key events and personalities through history and reveals how and why they are still important to us today. A perfect support to learning about history at Key Stage 1, each book uses a rich variety of historical sources, from diaries to paintings, to bring events to life, while simple historical vocabulary is introduced and explained. Each book also features a simple timeline and explores how we find about the past. All text has been carefully checked by a historian.